Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful! 3 Minute Walk to Beach, Pool ... Nice Dogs Stay Free

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Just 21 miles from historic Charleston, Kiawah Island is nestled in semi-tropical wilderness, picturesque marshes with ten miles of wide, unspoiled, golden beaches. This lovely cottage is conveniently located in West Beach Village with only a short walk to the ocean, pool, Cougar Point Golf Course, tennis courts, restaurants, shops and many other activities. Our guest book in the living room is filled with enthusiastic accolades from our valued guests, many of whom return each year. We invite you to make our Kiawah home your vacation home as well.

Well behaved dogs are welcome at no extra cost. Sorry, cats are not accepted.

More Details

Owner
Sandy Meaders/Joe Kay
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2017

About Sandy Meaders/Joe Kay

My father, Joe Kay, although born in Lakeland, FL, grew up in South Carolina. After highschool in Moncks Corner, he graduated from the Citadel in 1953. My husband and I were introduced to Kiawah in 1979 and encouraged Daddy to come check out the beautiful island only 21 miles from Charleston. He purchased The Treehouse in 1986 and has shared it with renters every since!

Sandy Meaders/Joe Kay purchased this cottage in 1986

Why Sandy Meaders/Joe Kay chose Kiawah Island

Recently updated and refreshed, the Treehouse is your home away from home. Many guests tell us how much they enjoy all the amenities we provide so few extra things are brought from home. We love dogs and want you to bring your babies with you to enjoy. Dogs can run free on the beaches from October - March. Other months, you can still enjoy the beaches with your dogs on leash.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Joe, This cottage and this area has been a very enjoyable experience for our family this week. The clean beach, biking, seclusion and hospitality all good! Your cottage certainly met our family's needs. Great sun and warmth for beach and swimming.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 56

Map

Nearest Airport
21 Miles
CHARLESTON
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Freshfield Village
Nearest Golf
Across Street at Cougar Point
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Main Road
Nearest Beach
Kiawah Island Beach
Car: recommended

Kiawah offers an abundance of activities for the entire family. There is golf (we are almost across the street from the Cougar Point Golf Clubhouse); tennis (just a few blocks away); beach (2-3 minutes walk); pool (you will pass it on the way to the beach and it's free for guests); walking/ biking (over 10 miles of paved nature trails); shelling (even starfish and sand dollars can be found); fishing; sailing; boating (boat rentals at Bohicket Marina); shopping; dining (several excellent restaurants nearby); trips to historic Charleston (just 21 miles away); and many, many others.

Amenities

West Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
  • Master bedroom has private bath. Other two bedrooms share guest bathroom. Two bedrooms have sliding glass doors with entry to wrap around deck.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
2 queens, 2 twins. Community pool (free to guests), hammock, screened porch, wrap-around deck, covered parking, deck furniture includes hammock & rockers, beach chairs, outside swing, outside shower.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Beautiful! 3 Minute Walk to Beach, Pool ... Nice Dogs Stay Free
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 75 reviews
5

Staying at the Treehouse

  • 5 of 5

It was perfect. Love the location. We were in walking distance to the Straw Market and the Beach. Love the big deck with Hammock screened in porch. Very clean and Love the decor. Be Back next year.... Fun Fun Fun..

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Weren't able to go due to Irma - and no refund

  • 1 of 5

This is the first vacation we'd been able to take in 7 years, so we had been so excited about our beach trip with our dogs that we planned earlier this year. This owner's rental agreement specifically states no refund unless evacuation of Kiawah Island is ordered, and be aware that they will stand on that no matter what happens. We live in Atlanta, and I started reaching out the week Irma started heading toward Florida and Georgia saying I know what your rental agreement says, but this does not look like your ordinary storm. And the owner said, we'll be fair, as we would expect to be treated. We weren't able to go, as we didn't want to travel with our dogs in a storm and potentially get caught in an evacuation zone (particularly not with all the folks fleeing Florida who needed shelter), and we were impacted by Irma at our home in Atlanta. I know folks in all over the country who had pre-paid vacations at hotels that said no refunds ever, and every single one gave refunds if they weren't able to travel, as this was a historic storm. My last three correspondences to this owner, where I have asked about any sort of refund of our 1650 for a trip we were not able to take, have gone unanswered. Again, I know they have a clause that says you get nothing unless there is an evacuation. It just seems like this storm might be a place where they would make an exception given how much I communicated, and how far reaching the impacts of Irma were - but that did not happen for us.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After talking/texting SO many times, I'm more disappointed in this reviewer than her untrue review. Kelly was elated and thought it most fair when I REFUNDED half of her entire week's money back out of pure kindness even though there was never a mandatory evacuation (as is clearly stipulated in the contract) and the hurricane's aftermath was gone on Monday. Our Kiawah neighbors stay connected and I understand that many of their rental guests waited the weekend out and arrived on Tuesday and did get to enjoy the rest of a BEAUTIFUL week on the island. My husband and I also decided last minute to drive from Atlanta on Wednesday and had a delightful weekend at our other Kiawah rental cottage. Perhaps Kelly should rethink vacationing during hurricane season next year. Even though this is only the second time in 35 years we have had a real issue and even though many take advantage of the big price reduction, it is always a risk.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Dog friendly

  • 4 of 5

Nice location near the front of the island. Short walk to the beach. Appreciated that the house is dog friendly. They also have a fairly well stocked kitchen and chairs to take to the beach. Not fancy - has more of a rustic cabin feel.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved the tree house!

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed staying in the tree house. Owners very responsive to questions. Located on a beautiful part of the island. Beach and pool only 2 min walk.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful week with family!!

  • 4 of 5

First time to the island. We loved the uncrowded beach. The house was great. Furnished with all the supplies we needed. The screened patio and the hammock was used a lot by my daughters. The information that was supplied for our visit of restaurants was very much appreciated and used. Wonderful place that made our week fun and relaxing.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A nice, pet friendly house in a great location.

  • 4 of 5

I love the location of the house which is near the entrance to the island making it easier to get to the grocery, restaurants and Charleston. The house has a great wrap around deck and a screened porch, which is wonderful for the dogs and outdoor dining. While we were there they were rebuilding the Cougar Point golf course, so we were greeted each morning by earth moving equipment starting up between 7 and 8 AM. Not exactly conducive to a great, restful vacation. But be that as it may, the pool is close and available, and the beach is a short walk. Unfortunately there was also a new hotel being build right next to the county park which allowed us to listen to the incessant pounding of a large pile driver for 3 straight days.

We had great weather (only 1 day of rain) and the beach was great. Very few people ( school not yet out!) and our dogs loved the ocean. I personally love the bike paths, which are all away from the roads and nicely paved.

Overall we loved the house, although the living room furniture is a bit dated and worn, but the location (after all of the construction is done) and the pet friendly-ness makes this a great place to go. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I agree our living room sofas were tired so they were just replaced! Looking forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0
Tax Rate 13.0%

Holiday and Special event week rates may be higher.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.