check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rick Gonsor

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.

37 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Little Switzerland Cabin Rental Photos and Description

1 queen bed 1 full bath; 1 queen 1 bath down stairs

Come nest with the wrens! Cozy cabin with two levels, each with its own entrance. This layout allows privacy for couples and families. LCD high defintion TV in all bedrooms and living room. Lots of wood and glass, massive stone fireplace on each level, decks, kitchens and bathrooms on both levels. Hot tub on deck. Located minutes from the village of Little Switzerland. Gem mining, horseback riding, water falls, hiking, golf and shopping all nearby. Hope you don't mind sharing the property with the family of wrens who nest in a birdhouse right next to the cabin door

Minimum age 12 years old. Payment options include payment by cashiers check or personnel check. Contact for payment details.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Rick Gonsor (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Rick Gonsor

Long time resident of Little Switzerland. I designed and built my vacation rental cabins keeping in mind what I would be looking for in a residence for my self / rental property in the mountains. Enjoy the natural beauty, quality of life and sustainability this area provides. Spend most of my time outdoor hiking and tending the garden..

Why Rick Gonsor chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

The Perch Cabin has a prime location and all the amenities including a panoramic view that's unrivaled..

What makes this cabin unique

Located on a private road 2/10 of mile with in easy walking distance to the village of Little Switzerland

Reviews

4.8
based on 37 traveler reviews

The Perch Cabin with Hot tub and Panoramic view atop Grassy Mt.
average rating of 4.783784 based on 37 reviews
Middleton, WI
5

Spectacular View

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had the most relaxing vacation at Rick's cabin. We loved hanging out on the deck; we had to pry ourselves away from the view. We enjoyed the Blue Ridge parkway, trips to Mt. Mitchell, Crabtree Falls and Carolina Hemlock State park. Rick was most helpful with recoomendations for places to go and places to die. We enjoyed eating out on the deck, it was great to have the charcoal grill. We weren't sure if we'd use the hot tub on the deck, but decided to try it. Loved it! Would have been a mistake to miss out on it. It was really hard to leave, glad we took a lot of pictures to relive the memories.

There was an excellent Wi-Fi connection. We found that there was good cell phone coverage with Verizon.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks again for your business and very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Perch. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and hope to see you again in the not to distant future. Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

INCREDIBLE VACATION

  • 5 of 5

It was my wife and I's second stay at the Perch Cabin and it was just as great as the first. I couldn't say enough great things about this property and Rick! We are already planning to be back next year!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I made a trip to the mountains to get away from the Florida heat and humidity along with the everyday grind. We had a fantastic trip to The Perch in Little Switzerland. Rick was extremely pleasant to deal with from the beginning to the end. He was prompt in responding to emails and phone calls, check in was very easy and the home was just as advertised! We took advantage of the Blue Ridge Parkway, took a trip to the Biltmore only an hour away, bird watched from the balcony and enjoyed the hot tub most evenings! One morning while watching birds we heard crunching branches 30 ft below us and spotted what we were guessing to be a Momma black bear and a cub or two! Also, be sure to visit the Little Switzerland Cafe for lunch! Enjoyed ourselves and already discussing our next visit!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bradenton fl
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend Brian and I stayed in Rick's cabin for 1 week. The view was breath taking. No streetlights made star gazing a great experience. The hot tub was clean. We utilized the grill and cooked dinner together instead of always eating out. He had a few games there so we played those and just spent some quality time together. There was plenty of towels, and everything we needed to feel at home. Rick was pleasant and a very nice guy. I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone who wants to get away from the real world for a bit. No cell phone service was actually great for the first time in my life. If u Stand in the bathroom by the window or back porch you will get service sometimes but I loved my phone not ringing or getting texts constantly. Overall it was the BEST vacation we have had. So thank you Rick for accommodating us. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Perch Cabin. Looking forward to seeing you all in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hubert, North Carolina
5

Perfect Thanksgiving!

  • 5 of 5

We could not have found a more ideal place for the holiday. Rick is a pleasure to deal with and we appreciated the advice about visiting Crabtree Falls. We had everything we needed there, the hot tub was wonderful and we loved Spruce Pine. It was wonderful and we can't wait to get back!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at The Perch for one week celebrating our anniversary. The cabin is great and Rick is wonderful to work with. The view from the deck is amazing!!!! The view is different every day. We loved being in the hot tub overlooking the mountains. The cabin had all the comforts of home and was so clean. The fireplace was nice on cool evenings. It is so peaceful and absolutely beautiful on Grassy Mountain. We will definitely stay there again. Thanks Rick for a wonderful week!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks again so much for your business. Happy you enjoyed your stay at the Perch and hope to see you again in the not to distant future. Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
ashville
Car: necessary

Perch Cabin is located at 305 Grassy Mt. Rd. 2/10 of a mile from the village of Little Switzerland.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Little Switzerland Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$819
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $275
Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.75%

Payment by credit card online payment. Cashiers check or personnel check received 2 weeks prior to arrival. 60 day cancellation for full refund. Cleaning fee $75. Minimum age 12.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Little Switzerland Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
  • all bedrooms have premium quality bedding and high defintion TV,s
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
one queen and one queen downstairs. hot tub on deck. Internnet WIFI available.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties