Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy early 19 century cottage in the market town of Devizes nr Bath

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bedroom cottage ideal for walking,cycling holiday and sightseeing

Brewery Cottage has been recently renovated and provides all modern convenience and central heating and wifi yet retains its period charm..

Entering from the street you will find the cozy sitting room with open fire [ available from 30th sept -24th march ] There is also an electric stove

Here you will find a TV, video and CD player. There is ample seating.

The kitchen leads off this room and here you will find full halogen hob cooker and oven dishwasher microwave and all modern conveniences.

A door form here leads into the charming courtyard garden with table and chairs. Here you will also find ample storage for bikes as the cottage has a side entrance into the back garden, ideal by for wet dogs which are always welcome

There is a free off road private car parking space very close by.

The bedroom had a double bed and a small single

More suitable for a child

Whatever you enjoy, whether it's walking, visiting ancient monuments and museums or shopping, you should find something to do free here to help your budget.

You could for example spend a morning wandering round the village, of Lacock visiting the quaint bakery and several other shops and there are several pubs and tea shops if you get hungry. If you want to explore the countryside round the village you can take a fairly short easy walk from our information folder.

The Kennet and Avon Canal runs right across Wiltshire from Bath to Devizes, and is within easy walking distance of Brewery Cottage . A walk along the towpath is an enjoyable way to spend a day and it won't cost you anything unless you get tempted by the tea shops along the way!

The towpath is also an excellent cycle path and it provides 56 miles of flat cycling through lovely countryside, perfect for an gentle day out. Bicycles can be hired in various locations along the canal.

Brewery Cottage was used by the brewery workers who worked in a brewery which used to stand opposite the cottage.

In the late 18th century Figgins and Gent Brewery was in Bridewell Street. By 1819 the Bridewell Street brewery had come into the hands of James and Joseph Dredge, represented in 1844 by Joseph Dredge and Co. The only brewery left in Devizes today is the famous Wadworth's who make an equally famous beer 6X which is still delivered around the town by dray horse. They have a visitor's center and tours of the Victorian brewery are well worth taking.

More Details

Owner
Bernie Perry
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2017

About Bernie Perry

I am a retired Dietitian who is lucky enough to spend part of the year in southern France where I also have a holiday house to let

Bernie Perry purchased this cottage in 2010

Why Bernie Perry chose Devizes

Brewery Cottage is a Victorian Cottage in a lovely unspoilt market town close to where my family live

What makes this cottage unique

The Cottage is so convenient and so cosy with such good travel links shops bars and restaurants close by

Guestbook comments from the owner

I've just spent a few days in this lovely home it is so well placed for all amenities and is warm and comfortable !

It reflects the style Bernie has lovingly put into it and everything has been thought of

We will be back

Thank you Bernie
Nov 2017
  • 1 of 8

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
bristol
Car: not necessary

Brewery Cottage once the home of workers from the local brewery is in Wiltshires. The market town of Devizes . There is an excellent heritage museum in the town. The location is ideal for the Bath Christmas Market with the excellent bus links directly into Bath [avoid the parking ].

Devizes is close to many famous sights including Bath,Stonehenge, Lacock [the location for many period dramas including Cranford] and Salisbury voted best preserved town in UK.It is also situated on the Kennet and Avon canal and the amazing flight of locks at Caen Hill.

Recently the film War Horse was also filmed in the area in the beautiful Cotswold village of Castle Combe.

The area has many walking and cycling opportunities and there are ancient ruins like the stone circles at Avebury and numerous White Horses to explore, dogs are welcome to stay as well.

The town has all facilities for shopping and eating within a short walk of the house .

The very good local bus and proximity to good rail links mean a car is not always essential for a holiday or short break here and the main line to London is about 20 minutes away at Chippenham [London Paddington can be reached in 1 hour 20 min]

Amenities

Devizes Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Town
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 child bed
  • The bedroom is a large sunny room with plenty of storage and with clothes hanging rail and small extra bed
Entertainment:
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Patio
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis
Notes:
There is a parking space off street in a private car park very close by The cottage also has wifi fitted

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
17% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Cozy early 19 century cottage in the market town of Devizes nr Bath
average rating of 4.542857 based on 43 reviews
South Wales, UK
5

Just right for two!

  • 5 of 5

Very well equipped, cosy, comfortable, clean and central cottage suitable for a couple (and a small child if you have one). The kitchen is small but I don't know how it could be arranged any better. The only challenge was the washing up. A dishwasher would be more useful than a washing machine (however, I think the property may have been rented out as a home before). The road outside can get a little busy but this did not disturb us.The paintings, furniture and decorative touches are in keeping with the cottage and it did not seem too cluttered to us.The parking permit parking spaces are a short walk from the cottage at the back of the Conservative club which was secure and quiet. The town is within a 2 minute walk.Could have done with Owners contact number in case of emergency-not on app or in cottage although could have contacted neighbour (although info says to contact owner first, could have only done this on via messaging on app).Info file rather lacking- could do with local services info and recommendations perhaps. However these are just suggestions. We had a lovely chilled pre Christmas break.Thank you so much!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi I’m so pleased you had a good time but you obviously missed the dishwasher which is unusually part of the cooker ! It is underneath the oven ! I will note that there is no contact tel no and sort out the information book Many thanks Bernie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Rather disappointing really.

  • 3 of 5

This could be a nice place to stay but a couple of things let it down. A previous reviewer said that there was traffic noise and I must agree with them. Number 6 is right on the part of the road where motorists are either accelerating from second to third gear or changing down to stop at the junction. The noise is really intrusive, particularly if you're downstairs, literally a metre from the car driving up the street on the other side of the front door (which doesn't appear to be usable for some reason). Also, I know that when booking a property you are at some extent accepting the tastes of the owner, but there must surely be some compromise between personal taste and the needs of the tenants. In this cottage, there is not an horizontal space that is not crammed with tat. Every shelf, worktop or set of drawers has potted (artificial...ugh!) flowers, ornaments, mirrors, lamps, etc which means there's hardly anywhere to put your own stuff. Every available wall surface has multiple amateur paintings or mirrors nailed to it, really, really unwanted and unnecessary - it creates a very irritating and claustrophobic environment. The kitchen is so overloaded with 'stuff' you can't be bothered to cook and where do you put your dirty dishes prior to washing anyway? We're not big people, but we struggled to move round because of all the pointless furniture, cushions, lamps etc. Half of it could be chucked out and the property would benefit from it.

Additionally, the Wifi was not working while we were there, we had a major problem in that the brakes on our car developed a fault that had to be fixed before our 200 mile motorway journey home and really needed to research local mechanics so as not to be in the hands of cowboys or ripoff merchants. I spoke to the owner who was sympathetic, but no compensation was offered and as we were paying £87 (not cheap, we've stayed at much better places for less) per night for a Wifi inclusive package, I feel this should have been offered.

On the plus side, the location and the shower are brilliant.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh dear I guess these visitors didn’t enjoy their stay? Taste is an individual thing but the cottage being early Victorian is decorated with many artefacts from that era . Statistics show this is appreciated by most people ! The cottage is well documented in pictures on the web site to show the styling and decoration ! As for the WiFi I’m sorry to say talk talk were told so many times about this before finally an engineer arrived and fitted a new router I’m afraid a holiday house has no better service than any other house so this is beyond my control and there are other options for WiFi in the town If asked I could have suggested my local garage ? I dispute the road noise ! This is a small road in a market town which does have some traffic but not noticed too many boy racers revving up outside ! Choose a remote country location if you prefer no traffic at all ! The kitchen is small but certainly well equipped for cooking for 2 as the house only accommodates 2 people ! I guess the moral of the story is read the information and you won’t be disappointed ! Ps the front door is very usable
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spotless, charmingly decorated, everything you need for a week long stay, close to city center

  • 5 of 5

Devises is a great town to base yourself in. A bus ride to Bath or Salisbury, bike rentals available and wonderful historic buildings and museums in town. Lots of shopping venues. The Thursday market is wonderful.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brighton, Michigan
5

Charming, comfortable and homey, Brewery Cottage was a perfect home base in Wiltshire. Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We felt right at home in Brewery Cottage as soon as we walked in the door. We really enjoyed our stay there, even though the weather was dreary most of the time. There are so many beautiful touches throughout the home, and the backyard garden made it even more special. The kitchen space is compact but well organized and the bedroom and bath upstairs were very comfortable. We also really appreciated the free parking space provided just around the corner. The owner was very responsive when contacted with a question, and helped us get sorted when my husband was sick at the end of our stay there. Devizes is a very interesting and pleasant town to visit as well, although it wasn't our primary destination. We enjoyed the Wiltshire Museum there (wonderful paleolithic and neolithic items as well as Roman and Anglo Saxon) and the canal is fun to see as well. We highly recommend Brewery Cottage and hope to return again some day.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Becki Thank you for your lovely words and I do hope Max your husband soon recovers ! The cottage had so much of me in it it's good to know it's appreciated by my lovely guests xx❤️
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cosy & pleasant but dishwasher not working & bed too soft.

  • 4 of 5

Nice location and well equipped.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the dishwasher but the parts are on order so will be repaired soon ! Bernie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice cottage, lovely area

  • 5 of 5

Very well appointed and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you I'm pleased you liked it Bernie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $39.97

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.