check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Rachel Myerowitz

Member since: 2000
Speaks: english

Eve's Country Retreat

7 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Ellington House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 8 (max 10)

Retreat to this peaceful and very spacious country home nestled in rolling Connecticut Valley farmlands within walking distance to the green, library, and 18th and 19th century historic homes of the town of Ellington (1786). Enjoy the serene interior of this sun-flooded home, furnished with antiques. Delight in the magnificent view from the porch or patio that are surrounded by old established trees and gardens.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Rachel Myerowitz (Owner)
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english

Reviews

4
based on 7 traveler reviews

Eve's Country Retreat
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews
Orlando, FL
2

Easter in Ellington

  • 2 of 5

I knew the house was old and was prepared for that, however, it was not clean. Basically you are at the mercy of whomever stayed there prior to your visit. If they followed the rules and cleaned and vacuumed, you will find the house that way. I was up until well past 1:00 a.m. the night before our departure cleaning. Also, I was prepared for an older home, however, we we traveling with our Grandson and I was very thankful that he was not crawling yet because the carpets are so old that the nails from the track pins are all showing through around the perimeter of the rooms. Thankfully they are rusted through so you can see them and avoid them, however a child may not be that observant. The furniture is not only old but very uncomfortable in the spacious living room. The den area is far more comfortable. It was very convenient and the beds were also comfortable. There is one TV and it only got 3 stations (we were traveling with a teenager) and the wifi was horrible. I do feel however that the accommodations, for the size house and so on, were reflective of the price in most ways. The owner is pleasant and does not try to hide the fact that this place has stood still since the mid 1950's however, there are concerns if you are traveling with young children. There were 6 of us in our party and we had plenty of room. It was obviously a beautiful home at one point and whomever built it spared no expense. I read the reviews and value people taking the time to write them. I am trying to be fair and factual with mine. I tried to figure out how to give a 1/2 star but was unsuccessful. 2.5 would be my rating. I would probably not rent this home again which is unfortunate since we travel to CT a couple of times a year.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Have you ever rented a vacation home that did not include a mandatory cleaning fee? Kind of unheard of, right? To make our mid- century modern vacation home affordable to a larger swath of society, we offer our renters the option of doing their own cleaning prior to their departure or paying a cleaning fee. The renter above appears to have regretted selecting the option of “clean it yourself”. Have no fear -Eve’s will continue to provide this great way to cut vacation costs. In addition, the renter states that “Basically you are at the mercy of whomever stayed there prior to your visit. If they followed the rules and cleaned and vacuumed, you will find the house that way.” This is in fact not the case as the owner is aware of variable standards of cleanliness so for consistency, the house is cleaned routinely by a professional crew after departure of each and every renter. Our 50- year old wall to wall, 100% wool carpeting is much appreciated by our renters, especially those with small children, not only because of its beauty but also because parents are freed from worry of exposing their babies to volatile organic compounds, high levels of endocrine-disrupting organotins, flame retardants, permethrin (a pesticide), and formaldehyde, contained in the new synthetic carpets. They are more than willing to view some worn spots and the occasional tac pin (all nailed down and harmless) in return for this peace of mind. Oh and by the way, the wifi we have the highest speed available from the provider in the neighborhood(Frontier) and it works wonderfully. This renter must have been having a bad Wifi weekend!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ellington, CT
5

A wonderful place

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for over 2 months between selling our house and buying our new one. It is a wonderful property with tons of charm. The communication with Rachel, the owner, was fantastic. Any questions we had were answered quickly. She was extraordinarily accommodating and flexible as our closing date was changed multiple times.

Our family of 5 had plenty of room and everything we needed was there for us, it was just perfect. Rachel is a wonderful host, we made a friend through this process.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Quiet getaway in unique and beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Eve's Country Retreat this past weekend and had a lovely time. It is clean, well-kept and very charming. There are beautiful details in the house that are unlike any other place I have seen, and it is very spacious. There is a charming fireplace and a lot of space for large groups. The owner was very easy to communicate with and was very accommodating. We would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
St. Augustine, FL 32086
5

Don't Miss this Unique Experience!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I are from East Windsor, CT. Last November we retired to Florida, knowing our daughter was to be married in South Windsor on September 6, 2014. With various friends and relatives coming for the wedding, we looked for a vacation rental that could accommodate not just us, but our other children, cousins and various friends on various nights. This property could not been more perfect. It is huge, with plenty of room to sleep a crowd! More than that though, it is a charming example of tasteful, high-end mid-century construction and decor which includes family photos that bring you back to to this family's life when the owners lived here years ago with their Mom and Dad. Little seems to have changed since the house was built in 1958, but that makes it all the more fantastic. I was immediately transported back to my childhood during the fifties and sixties. The kitchen is well equipped with retro yet fully functioning appliances including garbage disposal, double oven and dishwasher. There are four separate living spaces, some of which can double as sleeping quarters. Our family and our guests were enchanted by the beauty of this home, including the outdoor terrace, covered porch, stunning front entry, pastoral views and family treasures throughout. The dining room is nothing short of magnificent. The day after the wedding there were nine of us around the antique table having a family breakfast; and that beautiful table could have easily accommodated more. There are bikes and table games and a wonderful yard, all in a quiet country setting that also appears to be unchanged from years ago. I can't comment on the tv as we were all having too much fun to turn it on, but the wifi worked perfectly. My out-of-state company remarked repeatedly how awesome the house would be for a family reunion. We may follow up on that! As a last remark, the owner is pleasant and easy to work with. The day after we left she sent me an email stating she had already mailed us our security deposit. If you like humdrum hotel rooms that all look the same and provide the identical experience time after time, you probably should stick with that when visiting the Hartford area. However, if you want a truly memorable experience for you and your family, pass on hotel and go instead to Eve's Retreat! It is part comfy accommodation, part museum, and part nostalgic trip into the life of a family in an earlier time.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Spartanburg, SC
1

A big let down

  • 1 of 5

I did not expect to have so many major quality issues with this house. The first big disappointment was learning that we couldn’t open the sliders (and see through the scratched screens) from the living room to get some fresh air into this musty house (we purchased and used significant amounts of Febreze and deodorizer). The second surprise was the musty smell of all the living room furniture. After looking at the yard further, I realized that a large yard exists beyond the overgrown hedges and plants off of the living room patio. Then an even bigger surprise occurred upon discovering that your thermostat doesn’t work right and the vents probably haven’t been cleaned in twenty years. It took 12 hours to get the downstairs temperature down to 72 degrees and I assume that the A/C unit needs servicing.

The Wi-Fi instructions do not exist as specified and because I am technically inclined, I figured out how to connect to the network which is just a little faster than an old dial up modem (400 kbs/second) and I waited for minutes to load up a web page. The next surprise was discovering that we couldn’t call out locally as specified in the lease. You shouldn’t advertise telephone or internet access, since both are severely restricted and/or inferior. Then I discovered your antique analog TV, with it’s digital converter box and no instructions. You also shouldn’t advertise that you have a TV, since it is very substandard as televisions go.

Overall cleanliness of ythis house was poor and some of the blankets and bed covers are stained. We have also found large carpenter ants in the bathrooms. If it weren’t for our need to have a family gathering spot for my mother-in-law’s funeral, I would have locked up and we would have stayed in a hotel.

We did not expect that we would have to wash sheets and towels at departure, or understand that we also were expected to be the cleaning service. No proper cleaning supplies were provided. At least do proper maintenance (Washer & Dryer, bathroom showers leak, Doors...) and provide the services that you advertise. This is the worst property I have stayed at since we began using VRBO.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was part of an email that I received from this renter two days after his arrival. However, he failed to mention that I immediately emailed back and offered a full refund for the remaining 5 days of the rental agreement, recommended an inn close by that might be more to his liking and offered use of the house without charge for the day of his family gathering. Strangely enough, this renter refused my offer and stayed. I have rented this property for 14 years and in all that time only received compliments (see reviews) about the beauty of this spacious, mid-century, custom built, sun flooded home, furnished with antiques and with more windows than walls. Only once did renters request to leave the property and that was after a severe winter storm which left the neighborhood and this home without heat and electricity for a week. I might add that most of my renters are repeaters and most seem to take delight in the country charm of the house rather than play building inspector and spend a vacation checking the interior of the heating vents, speculating when the air conditioning was last serviced, counting scratches on screens and measuring the height and width of the gorgeous rhododendrons, azaleas and rose bushes in the vast back yard. But there is one in every crowd!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Thank you from Wellington, FL

  • 5 of 5

My family of six recently visited CT to celebrate our parent's 60th Wedding Anniversary. Eve's Country Retreat was quite lovely and very spacious for all of us. As family members arrived on different days from Florida, we had to drive back to the airport for pickup twice. The house was located not far from the airport and the drive through the county roads was beautiful.

We want to Thank You for sharing your cozy home with our family. We have wonderful memories and photos to remind us of the great time we had in Ellington. It was nice to have our "home away from home" and was fortunate to find Eve's Country Retreat. The home appears exactly as it shows on the website, but is even cozier in person. You surely provide the comforts of home with the bedding, towels, kitchen and laundry facilities, and so much more. We greatly appreciate everything and will keep Eve's Country Retreat in mind for our next visit to CT.

Warm Regards and many Thanks from our family in Wellington, FL

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Bradley International Airport

During the Fall season enjoy the environs that are cloaked in color. In Winter relax fireside apres ski in the foothills of the Berkshires. Minutes from tennis, golfing, fishing, horseback riding, antique shopping, and swimming in a lovely lake. Visit Old Sturbridge (40 minutes), Foxwoods Casino (25 minutes), Mystic Seaport (1 hour), University of Connecticut (25 minutes), Tanglewood Music Festival (1 hour). This home is ideally located 20 minutes from Bradley International Airport and Hartford, 1.5 hours from Boston, and 2 hours from New York City.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ellington House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0

For weekend stays and stays shorter than seven night please obtain a quote from the owner via email. Nightly rate quote on the site is incorrect.

Available year-round.
$900/week, $3000/month
$250/Friday Night & $250/Saturday Night

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Ellington House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • library
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
1 king, 1 double, 4 twins, 1 sleep sofa. Table tennis, many books.

Partner Offers