check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Moya Anderson

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Autumn and winter short breaks available now

17 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

North Berwick Apartment Rental Photos and Description

4 bed double upper villa in the heart of North Berwick,

Situated right on the seafront, a short walk to the town centre. You have the two upper floors of a Victorian Villa to call home for the duration of your stay in North Berwick.

You'll instantly feel at home in this comfortable well equipped house combined with spectacular views and proximity to the beach, town centre and local facilities.

Why not enjoy a relaxing break before the school holidays to take advantage of the best rates! Just give me a call or drop a line to get the best price for a short break or longer stay.

Local Highlights

East Lothian is the sunniest and the driest area of Scotland, and the mild climate in this sheltered corner of the country makes it a popular year-round holiday destination.

The coastline is punctuated with places of interest, including castles at Tantallon and Dirleton dating back to the 13th century. The area's many other attractions include beaches, historic homes and ancient monuments, good walking and cycling routes, and the best collection of golf courses to be found anywhere.

For those who like exploring our past, the Iron Age sites at Chester's Hill Fort and Traprain Law are worth a visit, and the county's interior is dotted with delightful villages where you can stop for refreshment at the many pubs and coffee shops.

The Bass Rock, 2 km offshore, is home to one of the world's largest gannet colonies and dominates the sea view from North Berwick, whilst Aberlady Bay (the UK's first local nature reserve) hosts thousands of migrating birds each autumn.

Edinburgh is just half an hour away by train. Scotland's capital city offers many attractions, but is at it's busiest for three weeks every August during the Edinburgh International Festival, North Berwick also joins in with a Fringe by the Sea festival just minutes from our front door.

The North Berwick area

North Berwick is a thriving coastal town with a long and colourful history. The growth of the 'Royal Burgh' is closely linked to the establishment of the railway line in the late 19th century, a time when North Berwick was a fashionable destination for the well to do in society, and became known as the 'Biarritz of the north'.

These days the town is home to a population of around 7,000 and is one of six main towns in East Lothian. Local infrastructure includes a high school, sports centre and swimming pool, health centre, shops, banks, pubs, restaurants, etc. There are golf, rugby, sailing and tennis clubs, and many other tourist attractions. Excellent transport links mean Edinburgh is easily accessible by road or rail.

Local attractions include Tantallon and Dirleton Castles, the Museum of Flight, Glenkinchie Disitillery, and the Scottish Seabird Centre. Boat trips to the Bass Rock and other islands are available from the old harbour in summer months.

At the heart of Edinburgh's golf coast, North Berwick is home to the West Links, the oldest piece of golfing land outside St Andrews and one of the finest courses to be found anywhere. Muirfield, Gullane, Dunbar, and the new courses at Archerfield and Renaissance are all just a short drive away.

For those who simply want to relax and unwind, there are miles of beautiful sandy beaches, good places to walk or cycle, and friendly pubs and restaurants.

Local annual events include:

- The Loony Dook (1st Jan, 2012) - watch 100's of crazy people get cold and wet in the sea !

- North Berwick Highland Games (2th Aug, 2014)

- The Fringe by the Sea (6th-12th Aug, 2014)

- Frequent Golf, Tennis and Sailing championships

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Moya Anderson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Moya Anderson

Hi there, my husband and I lived here very happily for 8 years and still love the place very much and hope that you will now enjoy staying here as much as we do!

Moya Anderson purchased this apartment in 2002

Guestbook comments from the manager

lovely feel to house clean ad attention to detail. We feel we have had a long restful holiday though its only been a few days
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.5
based on 17 traveler reviews

Autumn and winter short breaks available now
average rating of 4.529412 based on 20 reviews
5

Very clean and welcoming, comfortable and spacious, well maintained. Fantastic location, sea views.

  • 5 of 5

We are a group of adults with special needs and carers. We hired the house to enjoy some quality holiday rest time for our residents.

Everything we needed was to hand and the house was well laid out for us.

The house was well advertised with local sights shopping etc. Would have liked more photos of house before we went, but it proved very suitable.

Cafe Punk was a great hit with great food and amazing cakes.

The house overlooks the sea and the views are stunning, very relaxing. Good not think twice about returning.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic property

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful rooms and views. We had a great stay and Moya was very helpful on several occasions. Totally recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply wonderful 😎☀️❤️

  • 5 of 5

Cannot thank Moya enough for allowing myself and my family to spend 2 fabulous nights in this wonderful holiday apartment.

We were a group of 9 adults and each and every single one of us were blown away by the location, space, facilities the apartment provided - and a view that we all had to be torn away from on departure yesterday.

In an earlier review there was a few little niggles, I can confirm there was no such issues during our stay, atleast 2 hair dryers were provided in bedroom cupboards and the fridge and all facilities were fresh and spotlessly clean.

We loved the layout, gathering for breakfast in the mornings round the big table in the kitchen/dinning room on the upper floor and spending our evenings relaxing on the comfortable furniture in the sitting room watching the sun go down.

Minutes walk away from the pretty shops and many other tourist attractions.

Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a sunny May weekend, I've already been checking availability for our next visit.

Thanks again Moya,

Elaine Pearson & Family

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Craigard

  • 5 of 5

We recently had a wonderful stay at Craigard in North Berwick. A beautiful house with bags of character it had everything we could have wished for . The weather was very mixed and at times cold but the house was toasty warm . The owner had ensured that stair gates were fitted prior to our arrival as we had three very young children in our party. The views from the sitting room and kitchen are spectacular. One of our highlights was watching the constantly changing weather through the large windows. The house is directly opposite the beach marvellous for the children who just loved it. A big thank you to Moya for all her help we would certainly stay here again .North Berwick is a wonderful place to holiday lots to do whatever age shops restaurants bars it has it all and the friendliest locals you could ever wish to meet. Highly recommended

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Just Average...

  • 3 of 5

This rental is a great location, close to town and beach. It should be noted that it is a very vertical property with a lot of stairs putting the lounge on one level and the kitchen on the next making it difficult for socialization. Reviewing the rental as a 3 star for several reasons. A) The refrigerator was filthy and stunk of fish; B) The television would not turn on despite several attempts by various adults from Scotland; C) no hairdryer(s) even though it's listed in amenities; D) One of the ovens was not working. Otherwise, great view of the beach and Bass Rock.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect house for families, gorgeous town

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here with our toddler and another couple and their toddler. The layout could not have been better - two bedrooms and a bathroom on each floor meant we could share the holiday home but maintain privacy, not wake each other up in the mornings etc.

The house has everything you need for a comfortable stay, and it's a great size.

We absolutely loved the location. It's walking distance from the train station (about 20mins) and very close to a gelato parlour (delicious), chip shop (also delicious) and pub (...delicious!). The best aspect is its proximity to the sea. It's bang on the seafront, so thanks to my early-waking toddler, I got to enjoy a spectacular sunrise from the kitchen at 6.20am. It was totally worth it. The harbour is just a few minutes walk, and it's so picturesque.

We didn't have time to visit the seabird centre as we went to the museum of flight instead, but we spent lots of time on the beach, and in the nearby park (lodge gardens) which is a lovely landscaped garden with a really good play area.

The only drawbacks for me were that the house was very warm - there's a big skylight upstairs so the sun provides enough heat, but when we arrived, the radiators were all on high and the oven was on (?!? Lucky it didn't cause a fire!!) so it took nearly all weekend to get back to a reasonable temperature. If you're not staying with small kids, this wouldn't be such an issue as you could throw the sash windows open without a worry.

Overall, a really lovely stay. Many thanks!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Kilometres
Edinburgh
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
North Berwick Town Centre
Nearest Ferry
120 Kilometres
Newcastle
Nearest Golf
200 Metres
Glen Golf Club
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
North Berwick
Nearest Motorway
10 Kilometres
A1
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
North Berwick Town Centre
Nearest Ski
55 Kilometres
Hillend Dry Ski Slope
Nearest Beach
3 Metres
You are on it
Car: not necessary

Sea Front Villa on the 'Rivera of the North' North Berwick's East Beach. Enjoy uninterrupted views of the Firth of Forth across to Fife, the Isles of Fidra, May and the Bass Rock. A stone's throw to some of the best golf courses in Scotland.

Photos

Rates & Availability

North Berwick Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Autumn 2016
Sep 10 2016 - Dec 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$194
$972
 
 
New Year 2016/17
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 6 2017
4 night minimum stay
$259
 
 
Spring 2017
Jan 7 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$227
$1,037
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,490
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$194
$972
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $26 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

All costs are included. This includes, bedding, towels( though not beach towels) electricity, gas, broad band and sky tv.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

North Berwick Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 20 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • There is a bathroom on each floor of the property. The upper floor has a luxury bathroom with separate shower cubicle. Towel radiators in both bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , can be double or twin room
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , can be double or twin room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , can be double or twin room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , double bed can reduced to single size
  • The beds in the 3 larger rooms are all 'link and zip' this means that they can be either king/super king size beds or single beds depending on your requirements. The Single room also has the possibility of being pulled out to make a cosy double bed. If you have an extra guest or two you are also welcome to use the sofa bed in the sitting room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
As the property is on the 1st and 2nd floors of a sea front villa, it does mean that the views are wonderful and uninterrupted, but it also means that there are quite a lot of stairs: so for those with very young children we have stair gates available. We would also like to point out that it may not be best suited to those with mobility issues. We like to welcome you with a taste of products from the local area. You will find enough of everything to get you well started on your vacation, from coffee and tea to soap and laundry products. Here are a few comments from guests that stayed at Craigard this year: May2012 'Great weekend visit. House location is first class as are the facilities in the house. Will most certainly recommend this house to our friends' The Mcleans, Ross's and Slaters July 2012 'We would have paid for the views alone! Lovely feel to the house, spotlesslesly clean and great attention to detail, we feel we had a long relaxing holiday even though its only been a few days. Good Luck with the venture!' J Hunter and family July 2012 'Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Very well equipped flat. Girls enjoyed the DVDs-nice touch- as well welcome pack. Great Location. We will definately be back. Many thanks' The Johnstone family July 2012 We arrived in a rain storm and woke up in brilliant sunshine. The sea views are magnificient. Very relaxing!The flat was extreely comfortable and the beds extremely so Many thanks Alice Clegg July /August 'Thank You Really fantastic comfortable house. The views oo la la! The beds OMG The weather has been great, lots of beaches around north berwick, North Berwick beach the best.' The Buckley Connollys August 2012 'fantastic time just a shame we couldnt have stayed longer. Fantastic house and would love to come back, The Clarksons'

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties