Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Private Oasis - Luxury 3BR/3BA Villa with Garden and Pool

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Villa Oasis is named Oasis after the garden. The feel is that an Oasis has been created in Cozumel's Town, San Miguel. Once you enter the property, you are surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation, the sound of a waterfall, perimeter fountains, and a 1/2 acre lot that is shaded by huge, old mango trees and tall Royal Palms. This sets the ambiance, which is cooling to your senses.

The house has three bedrooms. One bedroom has a queen bed, a second bedroom has 2 twin beds, and the third bedroom is extremely large with two built in twin beds and a queen bed. Six people can sleep very comfortably, with a maximum occupancy of 8. There are three full bathrooms in the house.

The living room and dining room are done in Mayan stone, all leading to a bougainvillea covered patio. The living room has a built-in, giant screen TV with a surround-sound system, cable TV, DVD, and CDs. The house also has high-speed wireless internet and Garden speakers for Apple music products.

The gardener comes daily to clean the yard and pool.

Sylvia the housekeeper comes daily to clean up, do the linens, dishes, and prepare breakfast if requested. She is a exceptional cook, just give her market/shopping money and your request , she'll bring the receipts and change with the groceries and cook fantastic meals in the kitchen or garden grill. Breakfast is free, Lunch tip her $10.00 usd, Dinner $15.00 usd per person. she'll do the magic.

We are 2 blocks from the main Boulevard and just 10 minutes away from Chankanaab, where you can snorkel, dive, swim with dolphins, and do much more.

What a great finale to your day, that is, sitting on the patio reminiscing about your unforgettable day at the beach or your day scuba diving, and knowing for sure you are in paradise!

COZUMEL ISLAND

San Miguel Town located on the Island of Cozumel is a small, Caribbean Town with many restaurants, shops, scuba diving shops, plaza, hotels, shopping centers and Chankanaab which is a nature marine reserve,

There are several beautiful, sandy white beaches. You can choose secluded ones or you can spend your day jetskiing, paragliding, and more. Visit Punta Sur by kayak or jeep, or see Cozumel's beginning's at the museum in town. We are a 30 minute ferry ride away from the Yucatan Peninsula's port or Playa del Carmen, where you can spend a day or two visiting the famous ruins of Tulum and Chichen-Itza. Playa del Carmen is only 45 Kilometers from Cancun International airport. The location of Cozumel offers whatever you want it to be and yet it is definitely a laid back and relaxing atmosphere.

Jeep and Car Rentals are easy and affordable the rate is approximately $35 USD per day, and can be delivered to the house.

If you can't decide between Mexico or the Caribbean, why not pick both!

Keywords: House, pool, garden, palm trees, chef

More Details

Owner
Clodia Swasey
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 13, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house was a wonderful treat, and we thank you for making it available for us to use. Clearly it is a labor of love and we feel lucky to have been able to have had it as our home for the time we were in Cozumel.
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Gonzalo Guerrero House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , private bathroom, sitting area to a backyard court.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , TV, Private bathroom /window to back yard , roomy
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Private bath, windows to backyard, but converts to king,
  • All rooms are very spacious.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Half bath is provided for service staff. Nearest Bank about 10 minutes walk from house

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Private Oasis - Luxury 3BR/3BA Villa with Garden and Pool
average rating of 4.56 based on 26 reviews
4

Villa Oasis Cozumel Mexico

  • 4 of 5

We had a party of six that stayed at Villa Oasis from 1/15/17-1/29/17. We had read all the reviews of this property prior to booking. The majority of the reviews were great. Once we committed to renting, our correspondence with Clodia and Deb began. They were very quick to respond to all of our many questions. The pictures do not do this property, especially the gardens, justice. The house is L shaped corner house, that sits on the back off the street. You enter through a gate on 10th Ave. and it opens up onto the garden and pool. So, essentially the there is no backyard to this residence...the entire garden is the front yard. The house is conveniently located close to town, and directly behind the Mega shopping center.

The house itself is a rustic beauty, there are no frills to the house. There are three bedrooms, all with dated tile bathrooms, all but one shower head was low pressure. The kitchen is very basic, and very dated. The sound system in the living room sound system, does not work, so bring your own. There are TV's in the living room and two of the three bedrooms. The air conditioners were functioning, the master bedroom air conditioner did leak on our last night. Overall, the house worked, it would be nice for the owner to upgrade the sound system and shower heads...and re-tile the bathrooms.

Silvia is the housekeeper, she is a sweetheart. Her English is very limited, but she will call a friend if she can't interpret what you're trying to stay. We did not take advantage of her Mayan cooking, although I understand it is amazing.

Overall, we loved Villa Oasis...we will definitely consider renting it for future trips to Cozumel!!

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to comment. ALL your points are well taken. 1- I'm having the plumber get hydro pressure and new heads for the middle and last bedroom. Should be fine by the weekend. 2- The sound system is tricky because of tek evolution. Most everyone brings their music. So I will have a speaker set of 2 like Sonos or Bose and leave instructions for Bluetooth pairing and a Cable for those who don't have Bluetooth. I will bring them my next trip to the US in two weeks. 3- Upgrading the kitchen. This is a tricky one. Silvia is our cook and I made it purpose built for her. I understand visitors may want to cook on their own. But what specifically would you recommend be done? 4- Re-tiling bathrooms. Yes! Summer project. Again thank you for your feedback, and best regards, Mauricio Moreno
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful villa in the center of Cozumel, a true oasis

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 6 nights over new year 2016/2017. We were two families of 7 people.

We all loved everything in the house and garden, it felt like being guest at someone's home. Silvia is an adorable women, what she didn't have in length :) she truly compensated in hospitality, smiles, adorable food. If you seeking a house with soul and not seeking the modern "boxes" this is a place to fall in love with. Deb was always helpful and we can really recommend villa oasis - we are coming back, that's a promise.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hans: We really enjoyed having your group at Oasis and looking forward to hosting you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Denver, Colorado
5

Amazing Food, Close to Everything and a Great Pool

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at Villa Oasis! It was easy to communicate with Clodia and Deb prior to our arrival and an easy exchange of the keys was made with my sister as she arrived before me. Once there we had a great time lounging by the pool and enjoying Silvia's cooking. Silvia is an absolutely wonderful woman and we loved everything she cooked for us. You can't go wrong with anything on Silvia's menu. The property is cleaned by Silvia and very early mornings we saw Chuco cleaning the pool and cleaning the garden (he's very quiet so you might miss him unless you are awake). We had a very minor issue with one of the shower heads and as soon as we told Chuco he had it fixed. All of the rooms have their own AC unit and we kept the doors shut to the bedrooms to help with cooling. With the AC and large amount of fans in the house we had absolutely no problems with the temperatures. We spent a fair amount of time enjoying the pool and the water features on the property. Great location (only a couple minutes walk to the Megastore) and you can easily walk to everything in town. We are already looking forward to our next stay at Villa Oasis!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michelle Hughes: Thank you for the feedback, we are very pleased your holiday at Oasis was enjoyable. We shall tell all , especially Silvia that she was appreciated. Come back soon! Clodia Swasey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Oasis for sure

  • 5 of 5

If you are seeking an in town experience for a large group, this is it! The trees and greenery were perfect shade in the hot hot hot weather, bathroom for every bedroom, large living spaces, great staff...the list goes on. Cozumel felt very safe, down the street from grocery stores and a few blocks from the ocean. The beaches near by were not fantastic, but a taxi or bike away in any direction was all you needed. Sylvia was an amazing cook and kept the house spotless. Deb was a great help and was sure to keep us with water and supply us with anything necessary. Great stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning.

  • 5 of 5

From the time of arrival, everything was in order. Debbie was gracious. She showed us the how to operate the pool, gave us the house rules, and most importantly introduced us to the jem Silvia. The house has a full functioning kitchen and Silvia can utilize it fantastically!! Her cooking is amazing and you get first class service at a fraction of the cost you would pay at any restaurant. I recommend to anyone interested in visiting Cozumel to consider booking this property. It is minutes from the Mega Supermarket which we love. It is also minutes from the center of town. Great location, Great Price, Great House, and Great People. If I ever get time for another vacation I will definitely go back and stay at Villa Oasis. I would give it definitely more than 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

review of house

  • 1 of 5

we arrived on July 2nd, pretty hot in Cozumel during this time, the manager right away told us not to use the AC except at night. It was very hot inside the house upon our arrival and the power surge overloaded from using more than 2 room ac's at the same time. The house is dated, TV in master bedroom did not work. The pool area is gorgeous but the house inside was very outdated. The drinkable water in the fridge smelled of burned plastic so we were not able to drink it. I do not recommend this house because it is very dated from the inside.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Charles and Mona’s family reviews are way out of sync with every other review, as a reader can see. Look at the experience of every past guest. This is because they were unusual guests as far as wasting, soiling, and breaking beyond any tolerance level a rental house can accept. This is the very first, and we hope last time in 11 years we've kept any part of a deposit. The house manager replies below, on point, in case anyone is interested in the specifics. Like using each and every AC to the max with doors open. And by the way when she's called, she promptly responds. Dear Charles and Mona: Mona indicated to the rental agent that you both had a wonderful stay at Villa Oasis. Though I have previously corresponded with you privately, I will publicly respond to your reviews. All of the bills for expenses related to your stay at Oasis are in and I am happy to tell you that a partial refund is due. The expenses, converted to USD at 18MN/1USD, are: Repair outdoor stereo speaker control $131.21 Pay 2 extras to clean after departure and repair furniture (incl. materials) $143.60 Replace broken glasses $11.30 Unnecessary service call by AC tech $77.33 Wasteful electricity usage $69.27. It is common knowledge that the Caribbean is hot and humid in summer. Outdoor temps during your stay were a notch below Cozumel's historic average of 88 day, 74 night. On your arrival day, I twice told you to conserve, to run the AC's 25-22C, and to turn off when you left the house. The next day, I told you again via email. At 22C, the units dry interior air and maintain a comfortable differential. Instead, you set the ACs at their lowest settings in an attempt to achieve a huge differential and you ran all four units at the same time. It is no surprise that this strained the system and did not provide the comfort that you desired. You also ran room ACs when you were not on the property with interior doors open and, when you left Cozumel, you left the ACs running with both interior and exterior doors open. You did not report that the TV in the master did not work. Had you, we would have responded as immediately as we did when you complained that the ACs were not working. (The ACs quit because you overloaded them.) You do not agree that the security deposit should be withheld. The electricity was a small part of the total. The mess that you left in the house required hiring additional workers and you damaged household items that required repair and replacement.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Cozumel International Airport
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Nearest Ferry
500 Metres
Ferry to Playa Del Carmen
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
250 Metres
Within 3 city blocks at least 10 restaurants
Nearest Beach
500 Kilometres
Palace Hotel
Car: not necessary

Gym/Fitness Center one block away, daily pass $6.00 include classes, equipments, trainers

Show called 'Ego' on Ave. Andres, Quintana Roo.

Closest shore/beach is 2 blocks away but too much boat and ship traffic / Nearest shore is two block away and swim able beaches is 1.5 miles

Nearest bank about 10 minutes walk

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gonzalo Guerrero House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Dec 20 2016 - Apr 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Low Season
Apr 21 2017 - Dec 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 16.0%

Rates in US Dollars. Holiday Rates 350.00 per night minimum stay of 7 nights
Holidays: Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years
10% off rate 1 - 3 week stay (exclude holidays)
15% off rate of over 20 days (exclude holidays)
Check in: 2 PM; Check out: generally 12:00 noon
Bookings can be made early, but guaranteed only within 6 months of date of arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties