check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

In Town, No Additional Fees

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Mirror Lake House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Highlands Hideaway is the absolute perfect if you are looking to be in town! Main Street shopping, Civic Center, Mirror Lake, Bascom, Old Edwards's all right there.

Bringing the family and friends…so do we. This home is perfect with two bedrooms down stairs and two bedrooms upstairs. When it is time to go to bed, you have your privacy with the split plan. King bed in master and two twins in the second bedroom upstairs. A queen bed with private half bath and a two twin bedroom downstairs. Yes, the master has a TV….but your in the mountains, turn it off.

Do you like too cook…how about doing it in a stainless steel kitchen with granite. I know your coming to the mountains, but with this home you can enjoy the amenities while still experiencing the old highlands charm. We kept the wood floors, the mahogany cabinets and the wormy chestnut paneled walls. The plumbing, electrical, appliances and granite are all new, but you will still know you are in the mountains.

Do you like are large living space? There is plenty of room in this home. Our living room has plenty of seating and even room for a game table, perfect for gatherings by the wood burning fireplace. Yes there is a TV with cable just incase you have a rainy day during your stay.

Outside? There is a garage and two driveways incase you have guest that need parking. There is also a playhouse out back for our girls, located next to the campfire pit. There is even a horse hitching post if you bring one with you!

The view? You are surrounded by natural beauty. The property is lined with rhododendron for privacy, when you look out the front or the back or sit on one of the porches, you are surrounded by green. Totally Beautiful.

Our past guest have been wedding parties, family reunion guest, retirement gatherings, large families and couples just on a romantic getaway.

You can rent with the rental company or you can save with the owners, just send us an email.

With this location you can't go wrong.

Keywords: 4 br, cabin, walk to town,

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

About The Owner

Mountain and Beach family who currently live in Tuscaloosa Alabama because that is where the road took us. We have traveled to various places in the Smokey Mountains and have found the Highlands to be our favorite. This will be where we choose to live and play with grand kids one day.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

Why The Owner chose Highlands

This is a four bedroom property that has been visited by many large families, wedding parties, and even honeymooners wanting a mountain retreat. The home is a split living plan so it accommodates two families nicely and allows for common areas in the kitchen and great room. It is also great to put the kids upstairs and leave the adults downstairs to continue the games and fun that can only be experienced in the mountains. This home has all new amenities but kept a lot of the old highlands charms. So, it's cozy and comfortable but current and up to date. The outside is important in the mountains. You can drive or walk to everything that is awesome in Highlands. There is a fire pit area outside and even a play house for the kids. Go to one end of the street and feed the ducks or to the other end and take the green way to the Bascom or Main Street. The civic center is right there too! There is non covered deck to see the stars, and a covered deck to enjoy when it is raining. PERFECT!

What makes this house unique

Walk to town, drive to town, on a city street, not a dirt road. Close to water, close to town, close to civic center, close to greenway, close to bascom, close to old edwards....did we mention 4 bedrooms, fire pit, play house, and plenty of parking for the large family!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed our stay at your house! Thank you. Perfect location, we enjoyed taking the green trail to town. Mirror Lake was great too!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 1


based on 15 traveler reviews

In Town, No Additional Fees
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 16 reviews

coming back in fall

  • 5 of 5

I will be back for fall, I can't imagine what the area will look like when the leaves are changing. The owner gave me a whole bunch of suggestions for hiking and dinner. Loved it all. We were here for a wedding....our friends stayed at a property that cost more per night then our entire stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Found it!

  • 5 of 5

This will be our return vacation! Perfect size, natural setting, close to town. We could walk everywhere but enjoyed walking around the area of this house. You are close, but you feel like you are away from everything too. It was perfect to go to town to get wine and then come back to sit by the fire pit. LOVED IT! Found our return vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had fun! Safe Travels
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The Highlands is hard to beat! The house was perfect for our two families. The layout of the home works well with a large, newly renovated kitchen with granite counter tops and a large table that was able to accommodate everyone. The home was very spacious and comfortable. The children loved running around in the yard while we sat on the nice size porch with comfortable furniture. We took many walks to town and the trails close to dog park were beautiful. Could not have asked for better accommodations.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back in the Highlands
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We love the Highlands! We were looking for something where our grandkids could play in the yard and the rest of the family could go play as they wish. I watched the kids, the teenagers went canoeing in mirror lake and my son walked the dogs to the dog park. We went to an art show at the Bascom too. My grans loved the nature center. The house was perfect for us with plenty of parking and plenty of room to spread out. We enjoyed the kitchen with great appliances, sometimes that's hard to find in a rental in Highlands. My only complaint is that we wanted more time.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wedding Weekend

  • 1 of 5

Very disappointing rental! It is NOT walking distance to town or Old Edwards. You must drive to get there. Air conditioning did not work, and no one came to fix it. Power went off, no one came to fix it. We were getting ready for a wedding when this happened. There are lots of beds, but not comfortable. The bathroom downstairs is dirty...don't plan on drying your hair or putting on make up. The mirror is 10 by 10 and for someone 6 feet tall. I couldn't see myself. Take your own towels for a large group and soap and toilet paper. They give you the minimum...there was not one extra blanket and sheet. We had to dry off with dish towels and paper towels one night. Honestly, if you like to camp, you will love this place because it's like camping out. There is no view. You do feel you are in the woods. The place is dark and dreary. I wish I had booked a place with a view and better facilities. I only booked this because the owner said it was walking distance to town...and that was not true. I never saw a fire pit, but I need see cob webs, pollen caked on patio furniture, and listen to the front door get stuck opening and closing every time it opens and again, it's like camping out. Unfortunately, I'm not a camper. There are so many places to stay in Highlands...look carefully. I made a big mistake. I reread the reviews after I got home...I just wanted to be sure I hadn't misunderstood them. I couldn't believe them. They are not accurate. Trust me, this was not a good experience. I can't check one way in which I would recommend this property. I'm sorry. This was not my plan for our trip. Everyone else in our party stayed in other places...they were beautiful and clean. We just picked the wrong place.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry. It seems your experience of our in town home fell short of our expectations and the experiences of our other guest as well. We do see where the team responded to your request regarding the beds being too small, but they did find them to be standard sizing of twin, queen and king as noted on the listing for the home. In addition, we hope you are aware that the team responded to your request regarding the air. They found that the inside temperature was not warm enough for the thermostat to initiate the cooling system, which is often the case in the moderate temperature and humidity of a mountain town such as the Highlands. They also note that you mentioned it was your first VRBO experience and that you anticipated linen refresh, toiletry refresh and daily cleaning. They apologized and explained that this service was available, but that it was not requested at time of reservation. Once the team realized that this was your expectation, it does show that they attempted to relocate you to a hotel to accommodate the needs of the two persons on the reservation. They were then notified that you had an additional 6 guest and attempted to accommodate the reservation and the additional guest in a hotel as well, and to provide you with the best experience possible. We strive to accommodate everyone’s needs and unfortunately we were not able to in this instance. Please accept our apology.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Jacksonville, Florida

Outstanding Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5

The owners went above and beyond to accommodate us throughout our 6 weeks' stay in their beautiful home. They were immediately accessible and took care of our every need, and more. We loved the area for its serenity and peacefulness. Very few cars passed and walking on the roads over to and around Mirror Lake was a pleasure! We especially enjoyed being so close to downtown and the recreation center where we played tennis and joined in playing with the Mountain High Dulcimer Group in Kelsey Park. The house was spacious and clean. We enjoyed the new granite countertops and upscale appliances. The owners are THE BEST to deal with and made sure our visit was pleasant. We enjoyed the beautiful wood floors and charming character of the home. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. See you soon in the Highlands!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Downhill Skiing within 45 minutes


Rates & Availability

Mirror Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

Full Refund within 30 days Of reservation. Cancellations within the 30 days of rental require full payment but owner agrees to repost dates as open to re rent property. Renter agrees to pay full payment or difference between agreed price and new rental should one book. Security deposit will be withheld if there is any property damage during rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Mirror Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • New plumbing. Bathtub/Shower upstairs with toilet and vanity. Clawfoot tub/shower down stairs with toilet and vanity. Half Bath connected to down stairs master with toilet and vanity.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Master, Queen size Beds (1) 2nd master down stairs, Twin or Single Beds (4) 2 down stairs, 2 upstairs
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
One King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, Four Twin Beds, outdoor firepit

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties