check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Kauai Oceanfront with Breathtaking View. 2015 Renovation.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath

Come to `Ikena Kai to experience the life-enhancing mystique of Kauai’s spectacular North Shore.

This tastefully decorated, non-smoking, one-bedroom suite is perched on a cliff and offers a stunning 180-degree view of the ocean and majestic waterfall-laced mountains that will capture your imagination and take your breath away. The view from `Ikena Kai is beyond compare. It's the ideal place to relax and unwind or have the time of your life as you enjoy the many nearby activities. The suite is fully furnished with everything you need for a carefree vacation.

`Ikena Kai was completely renovated in January 2015 and is now one of the most beautiful condo rentals in Pali Ke Kua or all of Kauai. Our renovation includes new travertine-style porcelain tiles in the living area, newly painted walls, new window coverings, furniture from Room & Board, West Elm and others, Bose SoundTouch WI-FI music system, LG flat screen TV, Caesarstone Quartz Countertops, GE stainless steel appliances (fridge with purified water dispenser, dishwasher, stove, and microwave), new carpet in bedroom, new Westin Heavenly Bed, premium sheets and linens, completely new bathroom including new porcelain tiles, toilet, sink).

Start your day with a breakfast of fresh fruits grown by local farmers. Then, stroll through our lush tropical vegetation as you use our private paved path to visit a magnificent golden-sand swimming/snorkeling beach with sparkling blue and emerald water. Fall asleep to the sound of the surf or watch the whales and dolphins play. As the day ends, take a moment to admire our gorgeous sunsets from your lanai. Then, enjoy fine dining at our onsite restaurant or one of the nearby restaurants - or cook your own meal in our fully appointed kitchen. Throughout your stay, find everything you need at the Princeville Shopping Center. When you feel like exploring, take a short drive to one of the many exquisite beaches along Kauai’s North Shore or to the quaint, historic town of Hanalei.

The following serves as notification of our 'registration identification number' in compliance with Hawaii Act 326: W00703854-01.

Please note that you are renting a condo unit. This is not a hotel. We do not have daily maid service. We do not have concierge service. We do not offer a fully stocked kitchen with food (though some condiments may be left from other guests). Our commitment is to provide a clean condo unit that is as described in this listing.

We require signing of a lease to confirm the booking. Sample lease is available upon request.

IMPORTANT: PLEASE READ

In November, HomeAway introduced a new algorithm that punishes owners who receive messages that do not result in a booking.

Please do not send a message to us if any of the following apply:

1. Please do not write if you would like to book dates that show as BOOKED on the calendar. We are committed to honoring our existing bookings and we will not cancel a confirmed booking to make room for a new booking. Please look at our calendar and inquire only if you want to book a date that shows as open in the calendar. If you write to inquire about dates that show as booked, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking.

2. Please do not write to ask if you can cancel your booking and get a refund. As stated in the listing, we have a no-refund and no-cancel policy. When you book this unit, we will honor your reservation (see 1 above), and as a result, we will not have the chance to rent it to anyone else. In exchange for the fact that we make the unit unavailable and forgo the opportunity to rent to others, please honor your commitment to us. If you want the ability to cancel and get a refund, then please purchase trip insurance. You can get it from companies like Allianz and TravelGuard. They can reimburse you if you cancel for a covered reason. If you write to inquire about having us waive our cancel policy, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking.

3. Please do not write to ask if you can have a discount. We recently invested more than $100,000 in renovating this unit and are continuing to spend whatever it takes to keep the unit in excellent condition. We cannot afford to continue in this business unless we are able to get enough revenue to cover the expense of offering the unit. The posted rates are the rates at which we will accept bookings, not lower. If you write to inquire about a discount, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking.

4. Please do not write to ask if we can accommodate more than 3 people. This is a small unit intended for 1-2 adults. In some cases, one adult or grown child might be able to stay on the sofa, but this is not ideal. It is not feasible to accommodate more in this space. If you write to inquire about having more than 3 people in the unit, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking.

5. Please do not write to ask if we want to buy goods or services from you. If you write to try to sell something to us, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking. In such a case, we will mark your message as spam.

6. Please do not write to ask that we wire funds to any foreign or domestic bank account as a condition of getting a booking from you. If you do this, you are wasting your time, as we will not wire funds to anyone for any reason. Asking us to wire funds to a foreign country as a condition for accepting a booking from you will only hurt us because of the HomeAway algorithm, and it will not benefit you in any way, because we absolutely will not wire funds overseas to anyone, for any reason.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2017

About The Owner

I've owned this unit since 1999 and have been visiting Kauai since 1994. I live in San Francisco and run a software and consulting company that focuses on payment strategy, fraud risk, and analytics.

The Owner purchased this condo in 1999

Why The Owner chose Kauai

Ikena Kai was renovated and upgraded to the highest standards of design and quality in 2015.

Ikena Kai offers a unique sense of space and privacy since it's located on the ground floor of a 4 unit building - only 1 neighbor to the left, and no adjacent units to the right.

Pali Ke Kua is one of the most respected and sought after condo complexes in the island. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the location offers easy access to North Shore attractions.

What makes this condo unique

There are few places in the world that offer a view like Ikena Kai.

The panoramic north facing view defies description and includes endless deep blue ocean, endless deep blue sky, massive crashing waves (in season), and the famous Bali Hai mountains.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Kauai Oceanfront with Breathtaking View. 2015 Renovation.
average rating of 4.8 based on 25 reviews
4

Thanks

  • 4 of 5

Thanks, we had a perfect time in your place.

appartment was clean, perfect situated with a great view and closed to Hanaley and other hot spots.

only when the had a Party upstairs, it was not so quiet.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

NO AIR CONDITIONING!

  • 2 of 5

My boyfriend I booked 4 nights arriving the Thursday before Labor Day weekend 2016. Mitch, the owner, is extremely responsive and very organized and he operates this process in a very professional manner with a lease and all. We booked this place because of the great reviews, the location and the fact Mitch recently spent $100,000 upgrading the condo. But nowhere in the property description are you informed that the unit does not have air conditioning. I am giving this condo a very low review so that people have all the information when they book so they aren't surprised when they show up! When we were on Kauai, it was 90-95 degrees during the day with 90-98% humidity. I'm not sure if the humidity was so high because of the hurricanes that were blowing through, but this condo was not pleasant when we arrived, the air was completely stale with zero breeze and we were there only briefly on a day it was cloudy, so I can't imagine how hot it would be with the sun beating in the windows.

Within minutes of walking in the front door (which is below the parking lot level which blocks any breeze from the south) you can see there is no air conditioning so I emailed the manager, who wrote back immediately asking if we wanted a fan. He assured us at sunset the wind would shift off the ocean (from the north) and cool down the unit. But with hurricanes potentially rolling in we were concerned about windows being our only relief especially if it was windy and raining. My boyfriend, who needed to get up really early for some important work calls, was panicked that he wouldn't be able to sleep! I felt awful that I booked a place that I didn't know, didn't have air conditioning. But, I was also a little disappointed that the place just didn't look as good as the pictures portrayed or the $100,000 renovation led me to believe. The sliding door frame was rusted and the couch cover looked dirty, and the patio furniture worn.

Fortunately, we were able to check into a 5 star hotel just up the road and make light of this extremely expensive fully non-refundable mistake!

Mitch- You let people know there is no maid service, I also think you should clearly specify that there is no air conditioning so potential tenants can decide BEFORE their money is lost, that they want the "option" to control the temperature on their vacation in their living quarters.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christine, `Ikena Kai does not have air conditioning. If you read the description, you will see that air conditioning is not listed. We provide all the amenities listed but we do not provide amenities which are not listed. Nowhere in the description did we promise air conditioning and you never asked about air conditioning before booking. Both I and my manager asked you to turn on the ceiling fans, open the louvres, and wait a few hours, because typically a cool breeze develops in the evening, and the unit is usually cooler by early evening. Instead of giving this a chance, you abandoned the unit after only 15 minutes. During our dialog, you didn’t mention any of the other complaints that you are bringing up now, and we have had multiple 5-star reviews from satisfied guests after your visit. As of January 2017, we replaced the lanai furniture with new furniture (same brand and model as shown in photos). In response to your complaint, we also steam cleaned the covers on the sofa. The frame of the building has metal components that can rust from constant exposure to salty air from the crashing surf. Our renovation focused on a complete replacement of all interior components of the unit, but we did not replace all structural elements of the condominium complex itself. You will find some rusty components on all metal features of all Kauai properties located near the ocean. This is a consequence of being so close to the ocean. The 5-star hotel that you switched to charges 3x more than we do, does not offer a kitchen so you can prepare your own meals, has limited rooms with views (none like ours), and forces you to live in a small square box with recycled toxic air that is processed through a commercial air conditioning system. This is not the experience we strive to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time staying here! The view is stunning and watching the sunset becomes a nightly event! The area is beyond beautiful and we plan on returning. Thank you Mitch for making a place like this available!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic view, great location and awesome condo.

  • 5 of 5

When we first arrived we couldn't stop looking out over Hanalei Bay. This is a must stay for anyone on Kauai.

The sunsets are amazing and the fit out of this condo is modern and awesome.

We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Views & Amazing Condo

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at Mitch's beautiful condo for 5 nights and it was just what I needed in the way of relaxation, given my stressful job. The condo has been renovated to a very high standard and the views are simply breathtaking.

I did not have a car, but if you stay here you will need one, as Princeville is located on the North shore, but the St. Regis Hotel is located approximately a short ten minute walk away and has an excellent spa.

I had an excellent tour of Kauai from a local tour guide and loved it so much that I will be returning, but for longer this time to write my book and I cant recommend the quiet and serenity of Mitch's condo enough.

Thank you for an amazing stay!

Kelly Ann

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Breathtaking views, nicely updated throughout, clean, comfortable,

  • 5 of 5

This was a magical stay for my husband and I. Your condo with its breath taking views was exactly what we were hoping for...we sat on the lani every morning with our coffee and every evening with a glass of wine. Soaking in the mountains, the ocean and the lush tropical paradise.

Thanks Mitch! We will be back!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
LIH
Car: necessary

Nearby activities: cycling, helicopter tours, surfing, body boarding, kayaking, diving, snorkeling, hiking, horseback riding, windsurfing and fishing. The `Ikena Kai Suite at Pali Ke Kua is located in the prestigious Princeville Resort. Princeville is a quiet resort community that is also home to the well-known 18-hole Prince and 27-hole Makai golf courses and the 5-star Princeville Hotel. The resort offers shopping, fine dining, gorgeous sunsets and spectacular views of Hanalei Bay and the Bali Hai Mountain, made famous in the movie, 'South Pacific.' The North Shore of Kauai is best known for the quaint historic town of Hanalei, exquisite beaches, lush tropical vegetation, and majestic mountains laced with waterfalls - all of which can be enjoyed from `Ikena Kai.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $145 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.42%

1. Check in time is 3pm. Check out time is 10am.

2. After booking is confirmed through VRBO/HomeAway, a lease will be sent. Signed lease is required to fully confirm booking. Sample lease can be sent in advance upon request.

3. Payment is due in full at time of booking. No changes. No refunds. Guests are encouraged to get travel insurance to protect from loss in case trip cannot be completed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Princeville Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties