check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kauai Oceanfront with Breathtaking View. 2015 Renovation.

24 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
4 nights


Princeville Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath

Come to `Ikena Kai to experience the life-enhancing mystique of Kauai’s spectacular North Shore.

This tastefully decorated, non-smoking, one-bedroom suite is perched on a cliff and offers a stunning 180-degree view of the ocean and majestic waterfall-laced mountains that will capture your imagination and take your breath away. The view from `Ikena Kai is beyond compare. It's the ideal place to relax and unwind or have the time of your life as you enjoy the many nearby activities. The suite is fully furnished with everything you need for a carefree vacation.

`Ikena Kai was completely renovated in January 2015 and is now one of the most beautiful condo rentals in Pali Ke Kua or all of Kauai. Our renovation includes new travertine-style porcelain tiles in the living area, newly painted walls, new window coverings, furniture from Room & Board, West Elm and others, Bose SoundTouch WI-FI music system, LG flat screen TV, Caesarstone Quartz Countertops, GE stainless steel appliances (fridge with purified water dispenser, dishwasher, stove, and microwave), new carpet in bedroom, new Westin Heavenly Bed, premium sheets and linens, completely new bathroom including new porcelain tiles, toilet, sink).

Start your day with a breakfast of fresh fruits grown by local farmers. Then, stroll through our lush tropical vegetation as you use our private paved path to visit a magnificent golden-sand swimming/snorkeling beach with sparkling blue and emerald water. Fall asleep to the sound of the surf or watch the whales and dolphins play. As the day ends, take a moment to admire our gorgeous sunsets from your lanai. Then, enjoy fine dining at our onsite restaurant or one of the nearby restaurants - or cook your own meal in our fully appointed kitchen. Throughout your stay, find everything you need at the Princeville Shopping Center. When you feel like exploring, take a short drive to one of the many exquisite beaches along Kauai’s North Shore or to the quaint, historic town of Hanalei.

The following serves as notification of our 'registration identification number' in compliance with Hawaii Act 326: W00703854-01.

Please note that you are renting a condo unit. This is not a hotel. We do not have daily maid service. We do not have concierge service. We do not offer a fully stocked kitchen with food (though some condiments may be left from other guests). Our commitment is to provide a clean condo unit that is as described in this listing.

We require signing of a lease to confirm the booking. Sample lease is available upon request.


In November, HomeAway introduced a new algorithm that punishes owners who receive messages that do not result in a booking.

Please do not send a message to us if any of the following apply:

1. Please do not write if you would like to book dates that show as BOOKED on the calendar. We are committed to honoring our existing bookings and we will not cancel a confirmed booking to make room for a new booking. Please look at our calendar and inquire only if you want to book a date that shows as open in the calendar. If you write to inquire about dates that show as booked, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking.

2. Please do not write to ask if you can cancel your booking and get a refund. As stated in the listing, we have a no-refund and no-cancel policy. When you book this unit, we will honor your reservation (see 1 above), and as a result, we will not have the chance to rent it to anyone else. In exchange for the fact that we make the unit unavailable and forgo the opportunity to rent to others, please honor your commitment to us. If you want the ability to cancel and get a refund, then please purchase trip insurance. You can get it from companies like Allianz and TravelGuard. They can reimburse you if you cancel for a covered reason. If you write to inquire about having us waive our cancel policy, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking.

3. Please do not write to ask if you can have a discount. We recently invested more than $100,000 in renovating this unit and are continuing to spend whatever it takes to keep the unit in excellent condition. We cannot afford to continue in this business unless we are able to get enough revenue to cover the expense of offering the unit. The posted rates are the rates at which we will accept bookings, not lower. If you write to inquire about a discount, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking.

4. Please do not write to ask if we can accommodate more than 3 people. This is a small unit intended for 1-2 adults. In some cases, one adult or grown child might be able to stay on the sofa, but this is not ideal. It is not feasible to accommodate more in this space. If you write to inquire about having more than 3 people in the unit, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking.

5. Please do not write to ask if we want to buy goods or services from you. If you write to try to sell something to us, HomeAway will reduce our ranking for failing to convert that inquiry into a booking. In such a case, we will mark your message as spam.

6. Please do not write to ask that we wire funds to any foreign or domestic bank account as a condition of getting a booking from you. If you do this, you are wasting your time, as we will not wire funds to anyone for any reason. Asking us to wire funds to a foreign country as a condition for accepting a booking from you will only hurt us because of the HomeAway algorithm, and it will not benefit you in any way, because we absolutely will not wire funds overseas to anyone, for any reason.

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2016

About The Owner

I've owned this unit since 1999 and have been visiting Kauai since 1994. I live in San Francisco and run a software and consulting company that focuses on payment strategy, fraud risk, and analytics.

The Owner purchased this condo in 1999

Why The Owner chose Kauai

Ikena Kai was renovated and upgraded to the highest standards of design and quality in 2015.

Ikena Kai offers a unique sense of space and privacy since it's located on the ground floor of a 4 unit building - only 1 neighbor to the left, and no adjacent units to the right.

Pali Ke Kua is one of the most respected and sought after condo complexes in the island. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the location offers easy access to North Shore attractions.

What makes this condo unique

There are few places in the world that offer a view like Ikena Kai.

The panoramic north facing view defies description and includes endless deep blue ocean, endless deep blue sky, massive crashing waves (in season), and the famous Bali Hai mountains.


based on 24 traveler reviews

Kauai Oceanfront with Breathtaking View. 2015 Renovation.
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 24 reviews


  • 2 of 5

My boyfriend I booked 4 nights arriving the Thursday before Labor Day weekend 2016. Mitch, the owner, is extremely responsive and very organized and he operates this process in a very professional manner with a lease and all. We booked this place because of the great reviews, the location and the fact Mitch recently spent $100,000 upgrading the condo. But nowhere in the property description are you informed that the unit does not have air conditioning. I am giving this condo a very low review so that people have all the information when they book so they aren't surprised when they show up! When we were on Kauai, it was 90-95 degrees during the day with 90-98% humidity. I'm not sure if the humidity was so high because of the hurricanes that were blowing through, but this condo was not pleasant when we arrived, the air was completely stale with zero breeze and we were there only briefly on a day it was cloudy, so I can't imagine how hot it would be with the sun beating in the windows.

Within minutes of walking in the front door (which is below the parking lot level which blocks any breeze from the south) you can see there is no air conditioning so I emailed the manager, who wrote back immediately asking if we wanted a fan. He assured us at sunset the wind would shift off the ocean (from the north) and cool down the unit. But with hurricanes potentially rolling in we were concerned about windows being our only relief especially if it was windy and raining. My boyfriend, who needed to get up really early for some important work calls, was panicked that he wouldn't be able to sleep! I felt awful that I booked a place that I didn't know, didn't have air conditioning. But, I was also a little disappointed that the place just didn't look as good as the pictures portrayed or the $100,000 renovation led me to believe. The sliding door frame was rusted and the couch cover looked dirty, and the patio furniture worn.

Fortunately, we were able to check into a 5 star hotel just up the road and make light of this extremely expensive fully non-refundable mistake!

Mitch- You let people know there is no maid service, I also think you should clearly specify that there is no air conditioning so potential tenants can decide BEFORE their money is lost, that they want the "option" to control the temperature on their vacation in their living quarters.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: `Ikena Kai does not have air conditioning. We make no effort to conceal this fact. If you read the description, you will see that air conditioning is not listed. We provide all the amenities listed but we do not provide amenities which are not listed. None of the units at Pali Ke Kua were built with air conditioning and only a few owners have installed it. We thought about installing it but chose not to because it would be marginally effective given the open design of the unit and there is no space to install an air conditioner or the required wiring, pipes, and vents, so all that equipment and hardware would need to be placed in the living quarters. We did, in fact, spend $100,000 on this renovation, and we did all of the things that were promised in the description. Nowhere in the description did we promise air conditioning, so I don’t see how or where you were “lead to believe” that we have air conditioning. If you’d asked before booking, I’d have told you the truth, as I am completely honest with all prospective guests. I only want to have guests who will be happy with what we offer, the last thing I want is a 2-star review from a guest who feels they were misled, and this ought to be clear as yours is the first 2-star review we’ve received since buying this condo in 1999. For the past few years, it’s been warmer than usual in Kauai in July/August. Sometimes guests find the unit to be warm when they arrive at 4pm on a hot summer day after a long trip and hauling luggage. We tell them the same thing that both I and our manager told you: Please open the louvres, turn on the fans, and be patient for a few hours. Normally, the wind does shift to a cooler breeze in the evening, and as guests settle from the stress of the journey and the breeze starts flowing, they become comfortable. You didn’t even give us a chance. You didn’t turn on the fans, you didn’t open the louvres, and you left the unit after 45 minutes. You claim that the wind is blocked from the south, but this is untrue, and you didn’t stay in the unit long enough or even bother to open the louvres to find out how the wind would flow through the unit if you’d followed our recommendations. You didn’t mention the door frame, couch cover, or patio furniture. We continue to receive 5-star reviews from guests who’ve stayed with us after you, so this leads me to believe those were not the reason for your 2-star review. We will, however, check/clean/replace these items as necessary.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time staying here! The view is stunning and watching the sunset becomes a nightly event! The area is beyond beautiful and we plan on returning. Thank you Mitch for making a place like this available!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic view, great location and awesome condo.

  • 5 of 5

When we first arrived we couldn't stop looking out over Hanalei Bay. This is a must stay for anyone on Kauai.

The sunsets are amazing and the fit out of this condo is modern and awesome.

We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful Views & Amazing Condo

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at Mitch's beautiful condo for 5 nights and it was just what I needed in the way of relaxation, given my stressful job. The condo has been renovated to a very high standard and the views are simply breathtaking.

I did not have a car, but if you stay here you will need one, as Princeville is located on the North shore, but the St. Regis Hotel is located approximately a short ten minute walk away and has an excellent spa.

I had an excellent tour of Kauai from a local tour guide and loved it so much that I will be returning, but for longer this time to write my book and I cant recommend the quiet and serenity of Mitch's condo enough.

Thank you for an amazing stay!

Kelly Ann

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Breathtaking views, nicely updated throughout, clean, comfortable,

  • 5 of 5

This was a magical stay for my husband and I. Your condo with its breath taking views was exactly what we were hoping for...we sat on the lani every morning with our coffee and every evening with a glass of wine. Soaking in the mountains, the ocean and the lush tropical paradise.

Thanks Mitch! We will be back!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, Colorado


  • 5 of 5

This is an exceptional unit in an ideal location! The kitchen is very well appointed and easy to cook in. The view of the Pacific every morning and evening is breathtaking! We got engaged on this trip, and this unit was absolutely perfect! It is very romantic and definitely a couples place. Thanks for the amazing trip :)

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Car: necessary

Nearby activities: cycling, helicopter tours, surfing, body boarding, kayaking, diving, snorkeling, hiking, horseback riding, windsurfing and fishing. The `Ikena Kai Suite at Pali Ke Kua is located in the prestigious Princeville Resort. Princeville is a quiet resort community that is also home to the well-known 18-hole Prince and 27-hole Makai golf courses and the 5-star Princeville Hotel. The resort offers shopping, fine dining, gorgeous sunsets and spectacular views of Hanalei Bay and the Bali Hai Mountain, made famous in the movie, 'South Pacific.' The North Shore of Kauai is best known for the quaint historic town of Hanalei, exquisite beaches, lush tropical vegetation, and majestic mountains laced with waterfalls - all of which can be enjoyed from `Ikena Kai.


Rates & Availability

Princeville Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.42%

1. Check in time is 3pm. Check out time is 10am.

2. After booking is confirmed through VRBO/HomeAway, a lease will be sent. Signed lease is required to fully confirm booking. Sample lease can be sent in advance upon request.

3. Payment is due in full at time of booking. No changes. No refunds. Guests are encouraged to get travel insurance to protect from loss in case trip cannot be completed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Princeville Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers