Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Simply the best with wi-fi

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Fireplace
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom Luxurious Apartment

Beautiful apartment on the lower ground floor with your own front door in the elegant entrance hallway of a grand Georgian House, very quiet and private and exceptionally safe. Outside patio with table and chairs. It is possible to leave the bedroom doors (which open onto the patio) open all day and night, it is that safe! Super large bathroom with underfloor heating,large bath and walk in power shower. A spacious dressing room with lots of hanging space.The dressing room seperates the two bedrooms. Fully fitted kitchen with a Panasonic music system. Sitting room with dining table and chairs for 6 persons. An L shaped sofa system which is large enough to sleep an extra person if necessary. 42 ' 3D Plasma tv, with Freeview cable tv (100's of channels). Coal effect fire within the fireplace. Very atmospheric room. A most romantic apartment for a couple but also perfect for families. This is like having your own personal hotel suite in London, warm and cozy in winter, cool and welcoming in summer.

Added attractions within the area are:- swimming in summertime in the Hyde Park serpentine lake, there is also a private and safe little play area and paddling pool for toddlers and little ones, as well as a great adventure playground for the older child in Holland Park. Barnes wetlands is also close by (15 minute bus ride), this is a bird-watchers paradise, you would never dream you were so close to London. Kew Gardens is 20 mins by tube. Wining and Dining in the most exclusive of restaraunts or casual cafes and picnics in the park. Boris bicycles everywhere, this is the best way to see the parks. Roller blading also in Kensington Gardens near the Albert Memorial statue, this is a meeting place for the keen roller bladers to show off their skills. Horse riding in Hyde Park from stables just the other side of the park in Bayswater. Little Venice canal boats, will take you to Camden for a different shopping experience. Portobello Road is a must on a Friday or Saturday, not just for antique collectors, it is a wonderful day out for all the family and you cannot fail to enjoy the atmosphere.

More Details

Owner
The Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2017

About The Manager

Helpful and reliable.

The Manager purchased this apartment in 2012

Why The Manager chose London

Unique and quirky.

What makes this apartment unique

So Central. Top postcode .

Walk to everything.

Amenities

Kensington & Chelsea Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Luxury
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Underfloor heating. A generous supply of towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , trundle bed, can be double or two singles
  • Top quality bedlinen supplied, bright rooms both with double doors to the patio. Doors can be left open all day and night.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
There is a narrow staircase down to the apartment, which is the only reason elderly may find it difficult. But once in the apartment, it is on one level and totally suitable. Cream carpets in bedrooms, so well behaved toddlers please.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Simply the best with wi-fi
average rating of 4.612903 based on 31 reviews
4

Excellent location, comfortable, enjoyed the "bird cage" patio

  • 4 of 5

Would rent here again

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Providence
4

Wonderful!

  • 4 of 5

We just returned from six nights at this property and definitely recommend it. We are a family of four, with two sons ages 6 and 8. It's in a wonderful neighborhood conveniently located blocks away from the tube, several bus lines, three museums (Victoria and Albert, Natural History, and Science), and Kensington Gardens. There's several nice restaurants in the area and we particularly enjoyed The Queen's Arms pub. We enjoyed the apartment very much, as we had space to relax and spread out. Much better than a hotel room!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall A Lovely Place But A Few Problems, Too.

  • 4 of 5

On many levels it is hard to fault this South Ken apartment. The location is lovely -- not in the heart of the South Ken business district -- but close and easy access to everything -- a nice walk to museums and near to the tube stop, many restaurants, a grocery store, etc. Also, you will love the beauty and quiet of this area. The Manager is very friendly and was marvelous about communicating quickly. The rooms in the apartment are much smaller than they appear in the photos but, certainly clean and adequate and perfect for a single person or a couple. A family would probably be a bit cramped. The kitchen is wonderfully equipped, so if you like to cook (as my husband does) you are all set. The wif-fi worked perfectly which was also a big plus. However . . . there are a few problems with this apartment. As has been stated before, there can be a bit of a musty smell. Not overwhelming, but it is there. I think this is because the shower in the bathroom (like many UK or European showers) does not have a door on it so, when you shower, no matter how careful you try to be, water comes pouring out onto the floor. This necessitates the use of many, many towels to mop up the water (and, admittedly, the Manager provides tons of clean towels!) every time you shower. Americans just do not "get" the fact that most UK and European showers have a huge opening where water pours out (and that includes me) but it is what it is. However, it is easily a fixable problem and I think that would also solve much of the moldy smell if the apartment management chose to fix it. The other problem is the living room couch which is, without a doubt, the worst, most uncomfortable couch I have ever sat on in my life. No way could anyone take a nap or comfortably sit on this thing for any length of time. The reason is that it is not a traditional sectional couch but rather a built-in wooden structure with giant cushions sitting on top. It's way too stiff and wide to comfortably sit upon while you have snacks or drinks (you are either on the edge of the couch or miles away from the table) and the cushions keep separating (as they would) so you have to keep pushing them together again. We ended up sitting on the dining rooms chairs anytime we wanted to relax and have a drink, a snack or watch a film because the couch was impossible on so many, many levels. Please, please dismantle this thing and go buy a normal couch for your guests to sit upon.

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and I will do my utmost to rectify the problems you found. I only wish you had told me whilst you were here so I could have made your stay more comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful location and incredibly attentive host.

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of 4, with a 3 year old and 1 year old and we stayed in this South Kensington apartment for 3.5 months whilst I was on sabbatical. From the very first contact, Yvonne was quick to respond and very flexible and eager to accommodate our needs. Nothing was too much trouble for her, with many additional 'services' offered to make our stay simpler and more enjoyable. Her genuine interest in our well-being whilst staying in her apartment was clear to us and I have no doubt that she would extend this care to other guests.

The apartment is wonderfully located in South Kensington, in a quiet street of terraces typical of the area. Public transport, shops, pubs and restaurants are all a stone's through away. The V&A and Natural History Museums are within a 5min walk (excellent places to visit for children and adults) and Kensington gardens are not much further away. Chelsea is a 10min stroll, as is the Kensington high street for shopping.

The apartment itself is well furnished and cosy and can easily accommodate a family of 4 if the children are still young.

Highly recommend Yvonne and her South Kensington apartment.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Frans for your positive review, most appreciated. I wish you and the family well Merry Christmas and a Happy 2017.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location in Kensington.

  • 5 of 5

My family of four ( 2 boys) had a fabulous stay in at the beginning of July. The location of the flat from the Gloucester Road underground station was absolutely ideal for us ( maybe a two minute walk), especially with children (11 & 8). Being near the Museum of Natural History was great, as it was a quick walk and great place for the children. Overall, this location could not have been better for a travelling family as there are plenty of nearby restaurants and a convenient market on Gloucester Road.

Yvonne, the manager, was great to deal with and she was always quick to reply. One of the better VRBOs we have had.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We loved staying here!

  • 5 of 5

On a "senior" trip with an 18 year old and 3 senior ladies, we started our 3 week trip to Europe in London staying in this apartment for 5 days. We could not have been happier with the accommodations! We booked the apartment months in advance of our trip, and Yvonne was such a help with all the questions we had pre-trip. Once the date arrived, we were scheduled to fly into London arriving at 8am. Unfortunately our plane was detoured to Shannon, Ireland due to problems with the plane's radar.....instead of arriving at 8am we finally arrived at 11pm. Yvonne stayed in touch with us all day and in touch with our airport limo so that we would have transportation when we finally arrived. Upon our arrival, we were met by her son who had shopped for coffee, etc. for us knowing that we would wake up the next morning tired without our coffee! The neighborhood is perfect, clean and centrally located with lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Although the steps going downstairs to the apartment are a bit narrow, once you get settled in that's not a problem. A great place to come "home" to after a day of sightseeing! We definitely loved London and our apartment.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Heathrow
Nearest Ferry
70 Miles
Dover
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Marylebone
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
M4
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Too many
Nearest Beach
60 Miles
Brighton

Location, Location, Location: This luxurious apartment is in a quiet and exclusive area of South Kensington. Just a 2 minute walk away from London's finest museums in Exhibition Road (Natural History museum, Science museum and Victoria and Albert museum). It is also very close to Imperial College University. Just 5 mins from Gloucester Road tube station (District, Piccadilly, and Circle lines), 10 minute stroll to the world famous stores of Knightsbridge; Harrods and Harvey Nichols and the fashionable boutiques on Beauchamp Place, Sophisticated or as 'laid back' as you like, with pubs and cafes galore, as well as many top class restaraunts. 3 mins from supermarkets (Waitrose) for your everyday needs. This place is a walkers dream. Or rent a Boris bike and cycle through Hyde Park to Bayswater and Portobello Road. Go the other direction and you reach Oxford St. There is a charming walk to High St. Kensington, through Kynance Mews and past some of Kensingtons finest houses and garden squares. Hyde Park (5 mins) Visit the Princess Diana Memorial fountain also in Hyde Park. Or take a bus and see Big Ben and The London Eye. Buckingham Palace is a 20 minute walk.

Brompton Oratory, London's first post Reformation catholic church is 5 mins away as are other numerous places of worship. The Albert Hall for concerts throughout the year including the summer Proms is just 5 mins away. You couldn't be closer to the action.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kensington & Chelsea Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Feb 16 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$176
$1,233
 
 
Summer
Apr 1 2017 - Oct 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$239
$1,673
 
 
Autumn/Winter
Oct 8 2017 - Dec 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$277
$1,510
$5,033
 
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,265
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$252
$1,510
$5,033
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Payment is only accepted in the quoted currency. A 25% deposit payable on booking.Remainder of rental fee payable 6 weeks before rental period starts or by negotiation.The price quoted is for a maximum of 4 persons, a fifth person would incur a charge of £10 per night.The price includes gas, electric, bedlinen, towels.Wifi is free.Telephone use extra..Cleaning fee added for less than 5 nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties