check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Peter and Debbie

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Rustic Elegance & Mountain Seclusion $100-$135 night Wi-Fi

17 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

Rabun Gap Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

The perfect getaway-hideaway with an incredible Mountain view from our picturesque setting above the very scenic Wollfork Valley. Family owned with attention to every detail.

Thank you for letting us enjoy your beautiful cabin. We have loved our stay & hope that we can take advantage of coming & staying in the future. This place has a great energy that relaxes and comforts all that stay. We did not get to enjoy all the sights, but there really was no need. We found that this place offered all the beauty, peace & tranquility that one could hope to find. This has been the perfect cabin escape & we leave recharged & refreshed. Thank you, Michael & Kellie, SC

Sure glad we found you! The cottage is beautiful & I have never seen any place so clean – neat and well decorated. You are delightful landlords and we really enjoyed our stay. Mary & Dick, FL

As fate would have it, we have had a memorable weekend at Cottontail Cottage. We experienced the incredible scenery, really amazing! It was also a treat to sit on the front porch and do nothing! Thank you for being so kind and we will also treasure our time here at your “little piece of heaven.” Barry and Joanna, Myakka City (Sarasota), FL.

Thanksgiving at the Cottontail Cottage. What Luck! We have been to this area many times before but it was especially rewarding to share its beauty with my parents. We could tell that you put a lot of work into your planned day tour of the falls & sights. It was an excellent day and your effort & guidance were well appreciated. We can’t decide what part of the trip was our favorite. The cabin, the view, the falls or you two making your guests feel like family. We think a little bit of all of it made for a wonderful mini vacation away from reality. Debbie and Peter, you have really outdone yourselves at Cottontail. Thank you for letting us share your little piece of heaven. Now we know why you feel that way too. God is all around you here. Rose, Alan & Jake, Tallahassee, FL – Phyllis & Alfred,

Keywords: Cabin

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Peter and Debbie (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Peter and Debbie chose North Georgia Mountains

Cottontail Cottage has been an extraordinary and wonderful experience, beginning with your warm welcome and gracious hospitality. Our weekend in Rabun County has been memorable beyond all expectations! We enjoyed the full moon rising through the gap on Friday night and the heavy morning mist on Saturday. All this beautiful nature and the warm cozy cottage will definitely have us visiting with you again. Randal & Lisa, Atlanta & Folkston, GA

What makes this cabin unique

This has been a perfect getaway in the mountains! Rabun County and Cottontail Cottage are absolutely gorgeous! Our favorite moments have been sitting on the front porch rockers taking in the gorgeous view and sitting in front of the fireplace each night. We took a few day trips which were wonderful. I think I took 3 rolls of film in the 4 days we were here. We will have to save the rest for next year when we plan on coming back to Cottontail Cottage! Thank you for your hospitality. This cottage is perfect! Mandy & Edwin, Fort Lauderdale, FL

Guestbook comments from the owner

We don’t want to leave! It’s been a wonderful little getaway! Cottontail Cottage is first class; it’s the first cabin that we’ve stayed in that wasn’t furnished with used stuff and hand-me-downs! Warm ambiance, great view and lovely accommodations. So glad we found you and can’t wait to return. Thank you, Ann, Barb and Sherri, Orlando, FL
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 17 traveler reviews

Rustic Elegance & Mountain Seclusion $100-$135 night Wi-Fi
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
5

If you are looking for

  • 5 of 5

A relaxing and a cabin in the valley, this is the place! The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need and even worked with us on our late arrival! We were two couples and the cabin is cozy but we felt comfortable and had plenty of room. Coffee in the morning with the "smoke monster" and watching the geese was a favorite thing to do. Plenty of hiking and we even went horseback riding! So if you can't decide on what VRBO cabin to chose, this is it! You won't be disappointed and Peter and Debbie, we will be back! Thanks for sharing this wonderful property. Glenn, Barbara, Jody and Allen.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

DELIGHTFUL!!

  • 5 of 5

We had so much fun, the cabin is clean and stocked full of everything you will need. We only missed a tea kettle, BUT we labored so hard and just boiled some water in a pan...haha!!

The view is lovely and serene. Bird watching is a joy from the screened porch. We were greeted by Peter with homemade cookies, fresh flowers and kind hospitality! We loved the area of Clayton and Rabun Gap, close to surrounding towns and beauty overload! I think the ONLY thing i would mention is that IF you are sensitive to moth balls and the 'aroma' they give off , just light some scented candles. We noticed some beautiful large moths hanging around the outside of the cabin so maybe that is why . It doesn't take away from the beauty , and awesome cabin experience but if you are allergic or sensitive, it's just good to know.. The cabin is still a 5 star!! Thank you Peter and Debbie for providing so much enjoyment to my family. We made some wonderful memories.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for all your kind words about Cottontail Cottage! Your's was the first request for a tea kettle.....so on your next visit you will find a brand new tea kettle at the cabin; we truly appreciate great suggestions. As for the moth balls, we had to search a little; but we found two large bags of moth balls which were most likely left by the previous guests. Some hikers believe that loading up their socks with moth balls will repel snakes, although it hasn't been proven. Had we seen the moth balls, we definitely would have removed them and we are so sorry that you didn't call us the minute you caught your first whiff, because we would have run over and gotten rid of the smell instantly. We look forward too seeing you and your family again very soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Atlanta, GA
5

runner girl

  • 5 of 5

Cottontail Cottage is a haven for peace and quiet if you need it. The minute you walk into the door you feel like the house envelopes you in a hug, you sense the peace in the house and the views are gorgeous. The owners have done beautiful job of decorating the interior with everything you might need. The house has three bedrooms which are lovely and the two baths are filled with bathe and shower. A bath is wonderful after a full day of hiking the mountains in the area. There are books on the shelves along with games for the family and lots of wood for a fire on a cold windy day. The location is central to Clayton, GA, Franklin, TN., Highlands, NC and so many other places. The kitchen has everything you need and is beautifully decorated, for those nights you just want to stay in and this house is so warm and welcoming there are many days we did just that. I highly recommend this house for couples and families. You will not go wrong staying here. We come back here as often as we can, Peter and Debbie will take great care you.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spring Break Mountain Style

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for some place new to spend our Spring Break....this was the absolute perfect choice for us! My husband, daughter, and I spent six delightful days at Cottontail Cottage in the Valley and it was everything it was pictured and described to be!

The 3 bedroom, 2 bath cabin was clean, nicely decorated and full attention to every detail! Books, puzzles, games, for cozy nights by the fire. The well equipped kitchen made it perfect to fix dinner at night. We brought throws because other cabins have not had them, but Peter and Debbie even thought of that! Their attention to detail and hospitality is unequaled!

You can choose between Ingles Market and Walmart for all your grocery needs with great local restaurants, and plenty of fast food for a quick lunch! The Rusty Bicycle has a great breakfast! We had lunch one a afternoon at Rumor Hazit...the grouper sandwich and French onion soup were amazing. One of the few places open past 5pm was the Cupboard Cafe, just north on 23 in Dillard. Food was not only wonderful but came at a great price!

In the cabin you will find a 3-ring binder where Debbie and Peter provide a detailed Restaurant and Recreation Guide.... Activities, golf, hiking, waterfalls, churches, and restaurants. We followed "A Great Day" and had just that....driving up the mountain through the lovely scenic lake house district and hiking to Minniehaha Falls and Angel Falls. This was a favorite day!!! The next day we hiked Tallulah Gorge, over 347 steps through the gorge to the falls. It was well worth all those stairs...even coming back up them. At inspiration point, some we're staying to watch the sun set behind the mountain. That will be for another day, as we weren't prepared for the additional hours! We went horseback riding at Dillard House, just off 23, north of the cabin. And then the drive up to Sky Valley! The new Chief of Police stopped were we were taking a picture at the overlook, to take it for us!

Thank you, Peter and Debbie, for the great adventure...cabin, notebook, and the special welcoming kindness you extend! We loved our stay and have already been telling our friends about you!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tampa, Florida
5

Cottontail Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a wonderful week at Cottontail Cottage in the Valley. This was our second visit to the area and the Cottage. We love the location because it is close to many activities. We loved watching the birds every morning and evening and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings. Peter was so gracious to meet us at the Welcome Center and a highlight of our trip was the delicious Chocolate Cookies made for us. What wonderful and gracious hospitality. The cottage is so comfortable and inviting with so much to do in the area. We enjoyed exploring downtown Clayton, some of the local restaurants in the area, Tallulah Gorge, Black Rock Mountain State Park, the Dillard House and our trip to Franklin, Cherokee and the Smokey Mountains. We also made two trips to Hillside Orchard Farms. The leaves were beautiful and we were able to take some awesome pictures. I would highly recommend this rental. The owners are exceptional in taking every effort to make sure their visitors feel welcome. It is like coming home.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Charming, clean, beautiful location, super owners

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed at Cottontail Cottage for four nights mid-October — we could have stayed much longer! This cottage is comfortable, clean, and equipped with most everything you need. Renting with young children is sometimes tricky, but this place was just right for us and our two little girls. They loved playing in the yard, rocking on the porch, and taking walks down to Black Rock Lake, where we spent quite a while exploring. The location is super — just a quick drive to grocery stores and food, yet the cottage is tucked away so nicely you’d never know those places are close by. The view of the valley, corn fields and cows were lovely, and we were amazed by the phenomenal views from Black Rock Mountain just a quick drive up the road from the cottage! It was such a relaxing time for us.

Peter and Debbie also provide a huge binder full of restaurant info, directions, maps, and pamphlets for local attractions. We followed Debbie’s “A Great Day” directions one day and took a beautiful drive around Lake Rabun, stopping to see the beach and hike up to Minnehaha Falls, which were STUNNING. Took the kids to Tallulah Gorge — also stunning, and everyone loved it. Needless to say, we really appreciated the insider tips on things to do and places to eat! We ate at the Rusty Bike twice, the food was great and the staff were so kind and accommodating to us and our girls. The Clayton/Rabun Gap area and Black Rock Mountain Park are just beautiful and felt much less crowded and touristy than other areas of North Georgia we’ve visited in the past.

Back to the cottage though — it was so clean, the kitchen and bathrooms had all the utensils/appliances you could need, and Peter and Debbie even took the care to label light switches so you know what’s what. We loved having a fire going each night and sitting on the porch in the mornings watching the birds (which came and went all day long!) at the bird feeder. We appreciated that the porch was screened in as well!

We have yet to encounter owners as kind and accommodating as Peter and Debbie. Peter met us at the welcome center and escorted us to the cottage himself, and showed us around, which was so helpful. It was obvious the cottage had been checked over and prepared before our arrival, and they had added special touches to make us feel welcome.

We would definitely recommend this rental and hope to be back again!

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Atlanta or Greenville
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US HWY 23/441, Rabun Gap, Northeast GA

Thanks so much for a lovely relaxing stay. We especially enjoyed the calm of a grilled dinner on the porch after our whitewater rafting trip. We’ll definitely be back – maybe next time with the kids! Perry & Cindy, Lexington, SC

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rabun Gap Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off-Season
Feb 2 2017 - Feb 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$135
From
$135
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$840
 

Additional information about rental rates

3-Night MINIMUM STAY
**Special 2-Night Romantic Getaway for Two** for **ONE COUPLE ONLY** $270 + tax
(when available or off season)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rabun Gap Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • Beautiful tiled bathrooms with fresh fluffy towels, choice of soaps and all paper products are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , with Full Bathroom
    Yellow Guest Bedroom - 1 queen
    Americana Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Day Bed for relaxing - with a trundle bed underneath.
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
See what our guests have to say about Cottontail Cottage; To two of the most wonderful people you’ll ever meet, We would like to say Thank You for letting us stay in your beautiful cabin. Out of all the cabins we have stayed in, we love this one best. We have felt so at home that we don’t want to leave, but we have to. We will be staying here again. Tommy & Wendy, Rusty & Jean, Eufaula, AL

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties