Winchester house rental - Front of house/parking/sandy play area with swings, basketball, volleyball, etc.
Front of house/parking/sandy play area with swings, basketball, volleyball, etc.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Winchester House Rental Photos and Description
Fun Private Luxury Home Available long term also!

Book Now for the last few weekends in Spring ! The Hot Tub is bubbling! Plan ahead for Fall 2014 because summer is booked solid!

A Stunning Lakefront home on crystal clear,sandy bottomed, 110 acre Forest Lake at the junction of NH,VT,& MA will be your long awaited retreat in the whispering pines, shimmering lakes, and beautiful foliage of New Hampshire. Bring the kids & dogs or just enjoy by yourselves. The Great room with 25' high natural pine cathedral ceiling, skylights, entertainment center and fireplace is comfortably, casually, and uniquely furnished. Fall Foliage time is spectacular, both around the lake and on the many scenic drives nearby.

It looks out over the pristine Forest Lake that lends itself to a memorable vacation with family and friends. A fully equipped gourmet kitchen that incorporates a Jennair oven/range/grill, refrigerator/icemaker and dishwasher with all utensils, equipment, spices, condiments, etc. will make it difficult to try the eclectic restaurants in Keene, New Hampshire or historic Brattleboro, Vermont nearby.

The Four Bedrooms are 2 Queen beds, a Double, and the 4 season sun-porch with 2 single beds & Queen hide a bed (Great kid or teen suite with their own TV and VCR) and a Queen hide-a-bed in the living room and crib allow for a peaceful nights rest after a nice bath in the Jacuzzi tub or sitting in the private outdoor Hot Tub overlooking Forest Lake!

An additional living room/ sitting area with wood stove, AC and new half bath with full size washer & dryer gives you a chance to plan your day fishing,which is superb, swimming off the 150 square foot floating dock, using our canoe,3 kayaks, 4 person paddle boat,rafts or floating lounge chairs on the lake, cross country or downhill skiing, snowmobiling on marked trails, antiquing and shopping in sales tax free NH, playing golf, hiking, biking, leaf-peeping, or attending one of the many auctions, flea markets concerts, shows or festivals in the area.

For a little exercise and a 100 mile view, climb Mt Monadnock, the most climbed Mtn in the world and only 15 miles from the house. Take the bikes down by the hobby farm with Llamas, goats, ducks, geese,lambs,horses etc. Horses and trail rides are less than a mile away and afterwards, rest those weary muscles in the new Hot Tub with the sun setting right into shimmering Forest Lake.

Winter brings cross country skiing right from the door,(10 sets of skis, 12 sizes of boots & lots of skates,snowshoes, hockey sticks and Ice fishing 'jigs' for your use!)big time downhill skiing within an hour, snowmobiling on marked trails,ice skating, sledding, ice fishing or just relaxing around the wood stove or propane fireplace.

Maybe best of all, just grab a book,snuggle in a chair by the fire,or on one of the 3 outdoor decks and just let your cares drift away as the sun slowly sets out over the lake!

We do tend to book up for the Summertime usually by months before, but also check out our new home on Rockwood Pond in Fitzwilliam, NH VRBO/181030.

Make sure to look at the unedited Guest Comments just below to see what our previous guests thoughts were!

Keywords: Lakefront,Fishing,swimming,boating,canoe,kayaks,gourmet,upscale,luxury,family,kids, pets,fun,year round,cross country skiing,skating,Snowshoeing

More Details
Hide Details

We used to run a Country Inn and Spa in Canada. While we certainly enjoy our homes when we can on the weekends, we really have fun providing an enjoyable and relaxing time for our guests, who do seem to return year after year. We'd like you to be one of them!

Paul & Anne Harris purchased this house in 2002

The town of Keene, NH, 9 miles north has a wide and constant variety of things to do, with it's 3 universities and very active merchants assoc. The main downtown, with 60 shops & restaurants, with no national chains is very unique. There are the 'Big Box' stores on the outskirts of Keene.

Forest Lake is very protected from prevailing winds, so it warms quickly in the Spring and freezes quickly in the Winter. As a mostly summer seasonal lake, from early fall to late Spring, you own the lake!

104 Reviews of Property 24790 in Winchester, New Hampshire

Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
average rating of 4.9903846 based on 104 reviews
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Ajijic, Jalisco
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2005
  • Stayed: Dec 2005
Staying at this wonderful cabin close to Keene and Winchester, was the perfect place, in the ideal location and we couldn't have asked for more. With so much to offer, it took us a week to start exploring the surrounding areas. We appreciated having "a home away from home!" The "poo's" say thanks as well.
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
West Haven, CT
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2005
  • Stayed: Nov 2005
What a wonderful, relaxing weekend! Gorgeous does not describe the view. We had a great time and were so happy to be able to bring the dogs! We never left the cozy, well equipped house except to take a few walks by the water. Just what we needed before the busy holiday season! Hopefully, we will be back in the spring.
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
West Roxbury & Brockton, MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2005
  • Stayed: Sep 2005
"ONE SIZE FITS ALL" - If you are reading these comments to help you decide if this is a good place to stay I can tell you that I am one picky customer and I, and my guests, were very happy with this vacation choice. You know the amenities from what the owner shares in the description. Now, I'll tell you what you don't know...This is not one of those cottages you see on the internet that has another similar cottage 2 feet away; this is a private home, and it is one of the nicer ones in the area. There is so much to do it is difficult to choose. The layout of the property is one that suits many people with many interests, at the same time. I have not spent this much time playing in the water since I was a kid. On the other hand, I was wishing for rain so I could cuddle inside. The magazines, books, cds and dvds are recent and you actually want to view them! The house has a lot of character and is fun to be in. I know, years from now, my guests will say, "Hey, remember the time we stayed at the house on the lake? I really enjoyed myself...." And THAT is the measure of success.
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Chicago Illinois
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2005
  • Stayed: Sep 2005
Comment Text: We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay! The house literally has everything you could ask for (sometimes several of a given item!) The configuration of the house was perfect for extended family (4 adults, 3 children) as one could always find a corner to get away from the crowd. Our kids loved the sleeping porch, as it was like having their own getaway, with a view of the lake! The lake was wonderful for swimming. With the combination of shallow water (that extends fairly far out) and the deeper water around the dock, our kids could play in the water all day, as well as swim or jump off the dock. It really worked well for swimmers of differing skill levels. We drove to many of the small towns around, checking out numerous ice cream stores, and some of us climbed Mt. Monadnock. But mostly, we just enjoyed hanging out in such a beautiful place. An idyllic vacation.
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Danvers, MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2005
  • Stayed: Sep 2005
This lakefront home was a true gem. It contains every conceivable luxury, from heated towel bars to sound system. The many water vehicles make it fun for kids and adults alike. The interior decorator deserves an award. And the kitchen is a dream. 5 stars for this home away from home!
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Everett MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2005
  • Stayed: Jun 2005
I barely know where to start. This place FAR surpasses what you see & read here. Every word is to the ‘T”. The call from Paul shortly after our arrival was truly a wonderful touch and just the beginning of what we were to discover. A welcome 'guest instruction book', everything perfectly labeled, the movies (vcr/dvd), cds, books, games, toys, pots/pans, utensils, the grills, fishing rods, bikes/little tot toys, hot tub, boat collection more than exceeded our expectations. Not to mention the menus, maps, ‘things to do’ brochures. We were limited with our outings due to the dog but so thoughtful. It was so great to go on a vaca with our dog (beagle)---she absolutely loved it---except for the lake (she's a city girl). Meeting Roz was an added pleasure---the housekeeper, warm friendly, very nice. We had friends up for 2/3 days (a couple like us, early 40’s with their 2 year old and another friend with his 19 year old daughter and best friend) and EVERYONE had something to do. IT was amazing! We all (and I mean all of us exc. The 2 yo) loved reading the previous guest comment books and strived to come up with a name for the house----with no real success but we all pretty much had the same adjectives: amazing, incredible, peaceful, tranquil, retreat, oasis, fun, interesting, serene--- my suggestion was “Nestled Niche” ---I could go on. For the owners: thoughtful, GENEROUS, detailed and obviously very proud of their home! The fresh flowers on the table, seemingly a small touch, were really enjoyed. I recut/watered them every 2 days and they still looked good when we left this morning :-(. Can't wait to come back---hopefully 8/06. Thanks again for a truly wonderful enjoyable, relaxing vacation.
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Enfield, CT
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2005
  • Stayed: Jun 2005
Thanks to the Harris family for sharing your beautiful home with us. Our family had a great time at the lake. There is so much to do at the house that you don't need to leave. Everyone enjoyed the boats, swimming and fishing in the lake. The water was clean and refreshing on those humid days. We were lucky to have all great sunny days with only a couple thunder showers at night. The book and movie collection kept everyone entertained in the evening. I could go on and on about everything we enjoyed. Just pack your clothes, food, sheets and towels!! This place has everything. Thanks for making our first family vacation rental a great experience. The Harris' are great people to work with!

Thanks from the Bazzano Family
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Bristol, RI
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2005
  • Stayed: Apr 2005
If your looking for a relaxing vacation, Paul and Anne's vacation home on Forest Lake is the place to go. My fiance and I had a great time. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub outside and looking at the beautiful view of the lake. Enjoyed all the activities to do right there at the house like fishing on the dock, playing ping pong and darts downstaires, and trying on the crazy hats. A great selection of books to look threw and read one on the hammack outside. Thank you Paul and Anne for a wonderful vacation, can't wait to go back next year.
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Deep River, CT
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2005
  • Stayed: Mar 2005
We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful vacation rental. We were there in the COLD month of Feburary and we were very impressed by how comfortable our stay was. From the surround sound to the gas fireplace, this rental had everything to offer and more. The photos posted on the web don't do it justice, you really have to see it to believe it! No matter what time of the year you stay, this rental has everything you will need for a relaxing get away!
business
Stunning 4 Season Lakefront with Hot Tub!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p24790vbi
2034343678
Winchester Monadnock Region
Brockton, Mass.
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2005
  • Stayed: Mar 2005
The Harris' home is everything a family in search of relaxation could ask for! It is comfortable, efficient, spacious and situated on a beautiful lot overlooking the lake.
We will definately return. Thank you Anne and Paul!!