Indian Shores condo rental - Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4

Please scroll down to see the link to comments from our previous guests. They all loved it and you will, too!

Wake up on Indian Shores' intercoastal waterway... view playful dolphins from the comfort of your king-size bed... watch the boats head out to the Gulf... Walk the powdery-white sands... Relax on the private balcony overlooking nesting sea-birds...

• Waterviews, waterviews, waterviews!

• Just steps to beach (approx. 150 yards)

• Washer/Dryer in unit

• Computer with high-speed cable internet and WiFi

• Unlimited long-distance calls (USA and Canada)

• Upgraded digital cable TV package

• Private 1 car garage with 2 remote openers

• much more!

Keywords: Waterfront Condominium

Isabel is from Spain and we met while I lived and worked there for ten years. During our years there we enjoyed traveling throughout Europe and especially staying in the quaint Bed and Breakfasts that are so typical there. We made notes of all of the things we liked and disliked about everywhere we stayed and planned to one day have somewhere unique and cozy of our own to offer to vacationers.

In 2000 work brought us to St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2004 we purchased a condo in Indian Shores, just a few miles from our home. We decorated it with nothing but the best (Isabel is an Interior Decorator and has her own business). As guests began to know us and word began to get around we soon had a steady flow of visitors and a full calendar. Just repeat visitors were nearly keeping the unit booked. In 2008 we decided to buy a second unit, with the exact same floor plan and the same extraordinary views, just a few steps away. We call them our Gulf Retreat 1 and Gulf Retreat 2.

Darryl Glenn purchased this condo in 2004

We love Indian Shores because it is the quietest, most relaxed part of Sand Key, the barrier island that runs along the Gulf shore from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater. It is the narrowest part of the Sand Key, only 150-200 yards across where we are located. That means you can enjoy both the Intracoastal Waterway and the Gulf of Mexico only a few steps apart.

Indian Shores is the last part of the coastline in Pinellas County that preserves a small-town feel. Gulf Blvd. is still just a two-lane road and the speed limit is 35 m.p.h. There's is only one traffic light in Indian Shores. There isn't as much asphalt as you see to the south or north of us, a lot fewer high-rise buildings and none of the tourist traps. While you will find all the restaurants and conveniences you need near-by Indian Shores is still primarily a residential, family-oriented community.

Our view is of the Intracoastal Waterway, the body of water that separates Sand Key from the mainland. We love it because of all the boat traffic - it's fun to watch. The dolphins are always a joy to see, too. They are most active early in the morning or at sunset. Manatee are a little harder to spot, but are always around, too.

When the tide is low there is a sandbar that emerges from the water just off our balcony. The seabirds all come to feed there and it's wonderful entertainment.

And the Intracoastal Waterway is beautiful to behold at night, when the lights from the boats and other properties reflect off the surface. You must see it to appreciate it!

And of course the beach is just across the street. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there walking. It's never crowded and always relaxing. We have beach toys, inflatables, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler... everything you need except a good book and suntan lotion! And we even have a handy cart to put everything in and wheel it across the street!

121 Reviews of Property 43893 in Indian Shores, Florida

100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
average rating of 4.9690723 based on 121 reviews
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Muncie,Indiana
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
Thank-you again for the use of your beautiful condo. It was even better the second time....the extras you had this year were a nice bonus (computer,wagon for beach,laundry supplies,ect...)Watching the boats and dolphins on the balcony is a family favorite. The condo was comfortable,affordable(great price for such a wonderful place)great location for semi private beach......I have highly recommended this rental to anyone who is headed this way for vacation.....guaranteed to have a great time!!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Muncie,Indiana
5

Guestbook Comment

Thank-you again for the use of your beautiful condo. It was even better the second time....the extras you had this year were a nice bonus (computer,wa...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
Thank-you again for the use of your beautiful condo. It was even better the second time....the extras you had this year were a nice bonus (computer,wagon for beach,laundry supplies,ect...)Watching the boats and dolphins on the balcony is a family favorite. The condo was comfortable,affordable(great price for such a wonderful place)great location for semi private beach......I have highly recommended this rental to anyone who is headed this way for vacation.....guaranteed to have a great time!!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
westdesmoines, ia
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
Hi Darryl,

We loved your condo, it was very nice and the extra beach toys in the garage came in handy. Also, it was very convenient to everything in the area. We had a great time. Also, we loved how your condo was decorated. Thank you so much! Chris
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
westdesmoines, ia
5

Guestbook Comment

Hi Darryl, We loved your condo, it was very nice and the extra beach toys in the garage came in handy. Also, it was very convenient to everything i...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
Hi Darryl,

We loved your condo, it was very nice and the extra beach toys in the garage came in handy. Also, it was very convenient to everything in the area. We had a great time. Also, we loved how your condo was decorated. Thank you so much! Chris
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Naperville, IL
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
We had a wonderful week in Darryl and Isabel's condo! The pictures cannot possibly show how beautiful this condo really is. It gives you a very comfortable and "home" feeling the second that you walk in. It is very convenient to the beach and the beach is never crowded. The Intra-costal waterway gave us a great view of boaters as well as many fish, birds, dolphins and manatees! On top of all of this, we got engaged at this wonderful place! We will definitely be staying here again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Naperville, IL
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a wonderful week in Darryl and Isabel's condo! The pictures cannot possibly show how beautiful this condo really is. It gives you a very c...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
We had a wonderful week in Darryl and Isabel's condo! The pictures cannot possibly show how beautiful this condo really is. It gives you a very comfortable and "home" feeling the second that you walk in. It is very convenient to the beach and the beach is never crowded. The Intra-costal waterway gave us a great view of boaters as well as many fish, birds, dolphins and manatees! On top of all of this, we got engaged at this wonderful place! We will definitely be staying here again soon!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Linlithgow, Scotland
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2006
  • Stayed: Jun 2006
We had a great stay in Darryl & Isabel's condo. It's even better than the pictures on the website suggest. A great location on the intra-coastal waterway. Always something going on and we were lucky enough to see dolphins on 2 occasions.

We were the first to test drive the beach kart and used it most days - why go to any other beach when it's so easy to load it up and cross the road.

We also appreciated the PC with broadband.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Linlithgow, Scotland
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a great stay in Darryl & Isabel's condo. It's even better than the pictures on the website suggest. A great location on the in...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2006
  • Stayed: Jun 2006
We had a great stay in Darryl & Isabel's condo. It's even better than the pictures on the website suggest. A great location on the intra-coastal waterway. Always something going on and we were lucky enough to see dolphins on 2 occasions.

We were the first to test drive the beach kart and used it most days - why go to any other beach when it's so easy to load it up and cross the road.

We also appreciated the PC with broadband.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
St Catharines ON Canada
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2006
  • Stayed: Apr 2006
April 1 2006

After 10 weeks we are so sad to leave this beautiful
home away from home. As we entered we were
pleased to see that the condo is exactly as the
pictures portray it.

We enjoyed morning coffee on the dock watching
the birds and dolphins. Long walks on the beach.
Pilates and Yoga classes through the Southcoast
YMCA and catching the sunset over the gulf.

The private garage is a real plus. Our balcony was
very quiet and private.

We discovered a great new Italian restaurant called
"Al and Stellas" on Gulf Blvd in Indian Rocks. Stella
is actually in the kitchen. Salt Rock Cafe is great as
is Boulevard Bistro and E&E Stakeout.

If you eat in the kitchen is very well equipped.

We had a wonderful time. Darryl was most helpful.

Thanks

Vince and Mickie
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
St Catharines ON Canada
5

Guestbook Comment

April 1 2006 After 10 weeks we are so sad to leave this beautiful home away from home. As we entered we were pleased to see that the condo is e...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2006
  • Stayed: Apr 2006
April 1 2006

After 10 weeks we are so sad to leave this beautiful
home away from home. As we entered we were
pleased to see that the condo is exactly as the
pictures portray it.

We enjoyed morning coffee on the dock watching
the birds and dolphins. Long walks on the beach.
Pilates and Yoga classes through the Southcoast
YMCA and catching the sunset over the gulf.

The private garage is a real plus. Our balcony was
very quiet and private.

We discovered a great new Italian restaurant called
"Al and Stellas" on Gulf Blvd in Indian Rocks. Stella
is actually in the kitchen. Salt Rock Cafe is great as
is Boulevard Bistro and E&E Stakeout.

If you eat in the kitchen is very well equipped.

We had a wonderful time. Darryl was most helpful.

Thanks

Vince and Mickie