Indian Shores condo rental - Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4

Please scroll down to see the link to comments from our previous guests. They all loved it and you will, too!

Wake up on Indian Shores' intercoastal waterway... view playful dolphins from the comfort of your king-size bed... watch the boats head out to the Gulf... Walk the powdery-white sands... Relax on the private balcony overlooking nesting sea-birds...

• Waterviews, waterviews, waterviews!

• Just steps to beach (approx. 150 yards)

• Washer/Dryer in unit

• Computer with high-speed cable internet and WiFi

• Unlimited long-distance calls (USA and Canada)

• Upgraded digital cable TV package

• Private 1 car garage with 2 remote openers

• much more!

Keywords: Waterfront Condominium

Isabel is from Spain and we met while I lived and worked there for ten years. During our years there we enjoyed traveling throughout Europe and especially staying in the quaint Bed and Breakfasts that are so typical there. We made notes of all of the things we liked and disliked about everywhere we stayed and planned to one day have somewhere unique and cozy of our own to offer to vacationers.

In 2000 work brought us to St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2004 we purchased a condo in Indian Shores, just a few miles from our home. We decorated it with nothing but the best (Isabel is an Interior Decorator and has her own business). As guests began to know us and word began to get around we soon had a steady flow of visitors and a full calendar. Just repeat visitors were nearly keeping the unit booked. In 2008 we decided to buy a second unit, with the exact same floor plan and the same extraordinary views, just a few steps away. We call them our Gulf Retreat 1 and Gulf Retreat 2.

Darryl Glenn purchased this condo in 2004

We love Indian Shores because it is the quietest, most relaxed part of Sand Key, the barrier island that runs along the Gulf shore from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater. It is the narrowest part of the Sand Key, only 150-200 yards across where we are located. That means you can enjoy both the Intracoastal Waterway and the Gulf of Mexico only a few steps apart.

Indian Shores is the last part of the coastline in Pinellas County that preserves a small-town feel. Gulf Blvd. is still just a two-lane road and the speed limit is 35 m.p.h. There's is only one traffic light in Indian Shores. There isn't as much asphalt as you see to the south or north of us, a lot fewer high-rise buildings and none of the tourist traps. While you will find all the restaurants and conveniences you need near-by Indian Shores is still primarily a residential, family-oriented community.

Our view is of the Intracoastal Waterway, the body of water that separates Sand Key from the mainland. We love it because of all the boat traffic - it's fun to watch. The dolphins are always a joy to see, too. They are most active early in the morning or at sunset. Manatee are a little harder to spot, but are always around, too.

When the tide is low there is a sandbar that emerges from the water just off our balcony. The seabirds all come to feed there and it's wonderful entertainment.

And the Intracoastal Waterway is beautiful to behold at night, when the lights from the boats and other properties reflect off the surface. You must see it to appreciate it!

And of course the beach is just across the street. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there walking. It's never crowded and always relaxing. We have beach toys, inflatables, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler... everything you need except a good book and suntan lotion! And we even have a handy cart to put everything in and wheel it across the street!

121 Reviews of Property 43893 in Indian Shores, Florida

100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
average rating of 4.9690723 based on 121 reviews
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Canal Winchester,Ohio
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Darryl,
What a beautiful condo you guys have! My family and I have been coming to the Indian Rocks Beach area for vacation for several years and have stayed at many different condos and yours is by far the nicest one. It is very nicely decorated and quite large. The extras provided are wonderful, from the garage to the pool and beach supplies down to the home computer, it was all great. My initital concern was it was accross the street from the beach, however that was not an issue. It was a very short walk and the beach and the wagon you provided made for an easy trip. We were with you ten days and the entire family had a great time. My daughter was thrilled to be able to see her Yankees play at Tropicana field and we all enjoyed Busch Gardens as well as just relaxing around the pool or beach. I hope to be able to stay with you in the future.
Thanks
The Foxes
Dennis,Christine,Sydney and Alex
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Canal Winchester,Ohio
5

Guestbook Comment

Darryl, What a beautiful condo you guys have! My family and I have been coming to the Indian Rocks Beach area for vacation for several years and have...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Darryl,
What a beautiful condo you guys have! My family and I have been coming to the Indian Rocks Beach area for vacation for several years and have stayed at many different condos and yours is by far the nicest one. It is very nicely decorated and quite large. The extras provided are wonderful, from the garage to the pool and beach supplies down to the home computer, it was all great. My initital concern was it was accross the street from the beach, however that was not an issue. It was a very short walk and the beach and the wagon you provided made for an easy trip. We were with you ten days and the entire family had a great time. My daughter was thrilled to be able to see her Yankees play at Tropicana field and we all enjoyed Busch Gardens as well as just relaxing around the pool or beach. I hope to be able to stay with you in the future.
Thanks
The Foxes
Dennis,Christine,Sydney and Alex
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Oshawa, Ontario
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2007
  • Stayed: Mar 2007
Dear Darryl, Isabel, Niiki & Lucas:

Thank you for sharing your beach house with us. It is absolutely beautiful!

We have been travelling to Florida for the last 7 years and have never found a condo with such a homey atmosphere.

For anyone that wonders if it is really as nice as the pictures show, we can without a doubt assure you that it is.

Thank you to Niiki and Lucas for the visit...we were missing our grandchildren so it was a pleasure to see you.

To Darryl & Isabel - you have thought of absolutely everything to make anyone's stay enjoyable.

Hope to see you both next year!

Sincerely,

Jim & Barb
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Oshawa, Ontario
5

Guestbook Comment

Dear Darryl, Isabel, Niiki & Lucas: Thank you for sharing your beach house with us. It is absolutely beautiful! We have been travelling to...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2007
  • Stayed: Mar 2007
Dear Darryl, Isabel, Niiki & Lucas:

Thank you for sharing your beach house with us. It is absolutely beautiful!

We have been travelling to Florida for the last 7 years and have never found a condo with such a homey atmosphere.

For anyone that wonders if it is really as nice as the pictures show, we can without a doubt assure you that it is.

Thank you to Niiki and Lucas for the visit...we were missing our grandchildren so it was a pleasure to see you.

To Darryl & Isabel - you have thought of absolutely everything to make anyone's stay enjoyable.

Hope to see you both next year!

Sincerely,

Jim & Barb
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Walters, OK 73572
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Jan 2007
What a beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable home-away-from-home! The condo had absolutely everything we needed! The floorplan is spacious and perfect. We enjoyed the view from the balcony and the quick access to the beach!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Walters, OK 73572
5

Guestbook Comment

What a beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable home-away-from-home! The condo had absolutely everything we needed! The floorplan is spacious and...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Jan 2007
What a beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable home-away-from-home! The condo had absolutely everything we needed! The floorplan is spacious and perfect. We enjoyed the view from the balcony and the quick access to the beach!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
London
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2006
  • Stayed: Dec 2006
This was the first time we had rented a condo, and was not sure what we were letting ourselves in for. The pictures looked good on the website so we went for it.Boy, were we pleased that we did.
The condo is home from home, airy, spacious and great natural light.
One of the best features for us was the washer /dryer if you have a family this is a great feature.The kitchen has all the appliancies you need and more.If you don't want to go to the beach you have the pool and a nice little fishing pier.
The condo is in a great location come out and turn to your left you can drive along to St Pete's Beach and to your right Clearwater.Next to the condo is small Food Mart handy if you need something quick.Also you have varies malls which are easy to reach and most of them have a cinema attached.
Daryl is a great host the paper work was easy and effortless.
We enjoyed our stay and have book for next May.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
London
5

Guestbook Comment

This was the first time we had rented a condo, and was not sure what we were letting ourselves in for. The pictures looked good on the website so we w...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2006
  • Stayed: Dec 2006
This was the first time we had rented a condo, and was not sure what we were letting ourselves in for. The pictures looked good on the website so we went for it.Boy, were we pleased that we did.
The condo is home from home, airy, spacious and great natural light.
One of the best features for us was the washer /dryer if you have a family this is a great feature.The kitchen has all the appliancies you need and more.If you don't want to go to the beach you have the pool and a nice little fishing pier.
The condo is in a great location come out and turn to your left you can drive along to St Pete's Beach and to your right Clearwater.Next to the condo is small Food Mart handy if you need something quick.Also you have varies malls which are easy to reach and most of them have a cinema attached.
Daryl is a great host the paper work was easy and effortless.
We enjoyed our stay and have book for next May.
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Downingtown, PA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
After spending a week in Disney at the Wilderness Lodge, my husband and I were worried that our daughters (ages 8 and 11) wouldn't enjoy the second week of our vacation. We booked your unit mainly for my husband and I to recover from a week at Disney. Well, as soon as we walked through the door of your condo, we all fell in love with it. We can't say enough about the view. It is spectacular!! We spent hours sitting on the patio or by the huge windows watching the dolphins, spoonbills, heron and other wildlife. Several nights we saw fireworks. We loved spending time at the beautiful beach and the pool. We greatly appreciated the beach cart and all the beach toys! My husband and the girls rented a jet ski (from Frenchie's -- which is a well run operation--they give a discount before 11 a.m.)and had five dolphins swim right alongside of them -- which is an experience they will never forget!! We also took a day trip to the beach at Fort Desoto. It is a beautiful beach and well worth the trip. I will definitely recommend your unit and the Indian Rocks/Indian Shores area to our friends. The community is quiet, clean, and family oriented. Your unit is very comfortable, tastefully decorated, well taken care of, and had everything we needed (having the computer was a real plus as well). We all had a very relaxing and enjoyable week and look forward to returning.

P.S. Thank you for the very thoughtful gift basket!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Downingtown, PA
5

Guestbook Comment

After spending a week in Disney at the Wilderness Lodge, my husband and I were worried that our daughters (ages 8 and 11) wouldn't enjoy the seco...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
After spending a week in Disney at the Wilderness Lodge, my husband and I were worried that our daughters (ages 8 and 11) wouldn't enjoy the second week of our vacation. We booked your unit mainly for my husband and I to recover from a week at Disney. Well, as soon as we walked through the door of your condo, we all fell in love with it. We can't say enough about the view. It is spectacular!! We spent hours sitting on the patio or by the huge windows watching the dolphins, spoonbills, heron and other wildlife. Several nights we saw fireworks. We loved spending time at the beautiful beach and the pool. We greatly appreciated the beach cart and all the beach toys! My husband and the girls rented a jet ski (from Frenchie's -- which is a well run operation--they give a discount before 11 a.m.)and had five dolphins swim right alongside of them -- which is an experience they will never forget!! We also took a day trip to the beach at Fort Desoto. It is a beautiful beach and well worth the trip. I will definitely recommend your unit and the Indian Rocks/Indian Shores area to our friends. The community is quiet, clean, and family oriented. Your unit is very comfortable, tastefully decorated, well taken care of, and had everything we needed (having the computer was a real plus as well). We all had a very relaxing and enjoyable week and look forward to returning.

P.S. Thank you for the very thoughtful gift basket!