Copacabana villa rental - The Pool
The Pool
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps21
  • 6 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Copacabana Villa Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms + Library - 6 full bathrooms

- FULL VILLA (HIGH SEASON) – 6 BEDROOMS - $1,100 USD WEEKDAYS - $1,400 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS (UP TO 21 PEOPLE).

- FULL VILLA (LOW SEASON) - 6 BEDROOMS - $900 USD WEEKDAYS - $1,100 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS. (UP TO 21 PEOPLE).

- ½ RENTAL VILLA (ALL YEAR-ROUND) 3 BEDROOMS - $550 USD WEEKDAYS - $700 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 5 NIGHTS (UP TO 6 PEOPLE).

NOTE - WORLD CUP 2014 and OLYMPICS 2016 the villa is rented.

1. It is a 4 story 2007 built private home on a gated street in the middle of the tourist zone of Copacabana.

2. There are 4 suites with elegant baths + 2 poolside small cabanas which shared baths.

3. The Metro is across the street and the Copacabana beach 3 blocks away. Main shopping street is 50 feet away.

4 . The house is rented with staff and can include a very full American breakfast. There is a cook who will for a fee prepare snacks, lunches, and other meals. You can rent the house without staff except a daily maintenance man.

5. There is a private third floor pool BBQ and sun deck.

6. The house is run by a multilingual concierge who will arrange all transfers, tours, reservations, and child care.

7. The house is equipped with a kitchen,china, crystal, silver to provide food service for up to 80 guests for functions.

8 It's a family home - cozy enough for two couples to have a great vacation spot and personal attention BUT like any family home there are lots of cabanas sofas etc where we can welcome a student group or bunch of friends.

9. We could provide a short rental for special shooting, etc. but there is a minimum of 3 days for a rental.

The villa has directly across the street a small posada of 7 rooms - so we can combine on one street - 14 bedrooms for the large family or group of friends.

Guests who inquire about the property should know that we are in a quiet neighborhood with great neighbors and it is our policy that during the week - the house outdoor terrace is a quiet zone after 10pm. During weekends we also require respect for our neighbors tranquility.

Basically the villa is organized on 4 levels around a central atrium. All rooms open to this vaulted space via balconies, gardens, or a glass roof which electronically opens to the night sky and marvelous moon views.

Level one is a stone entrance foyer off the little street with entrance doors from a former old Gloria mansion. A great modern kitchen contains every possible culinary gadget, huge island with bar stools,complete business center, and enough an porcelain to serve 100. Off the kitchen is the new decorated atrium (morning room) and a family dining room. The atrium fireplace and over mirror is undergoing completion by the artist who completed faux painting in the restored Teatro Municipal Opera house. The ceiling opens electronically and the second floor balcony gives way to 3 bedroom suites - all with sitting areas and marble deluxe baths with jacuzzi. The dining room is great for a family having breakfast or a sit down for 24. Off these rooms is the wood paneled library with TV/Cinema area and our very special antique Titanic model which the house staff presented this July to the foundation.

There is a small stone powder room off the back stone stairway. All of the major public floor rooms have fireplaces and and make for a great family space. At Christmas - the 15 foot Christmas tree is decorated by the children of the villa staff and we have our annual holiday party and open house.

The second floor suites open by three pairs of antique french doors or stained glass windows to the atrium. Each room makes for a great private sleeping and entertaining space as sofas and easy chairs make it quite comfy. Since the villa is occupied most of the year - these 3 suites are continually in the process of being re-invented.

The third floor is accessed by a stone stairway (with our little Budda in the corner) and panels of native birds and stained glass and a collection of both naif art and the original interior sketches for the house on the walls.

Once you open the door to the third and fourth floor levels - you see the pool with its lion fountain,

a small sitting area with our bird menagerie in cages and the all local birds drinking out of the feeders. Our roof seems to be the greenest spot in the neighborhood and attracts lots of birds and butterflies. The garden is ALWAYS a work in process as the plantings change continually. We try to keep it in flowers year around with hanging planters, plaques of bromeliad and orchids. The barbecue is there and the staff lights the gas lanterns at sunset.

Off the first part of the garden is a trellised walkway of local honeysuckle and some fresh fruit trees as well as a little herb garden. There are two cabanas and small duplex rooftop cottage off of this walkway which are kind of like 18th century wood ship cabins. They share a bath with shower. They have desks with plenty of storage, hundreds of books, and are comfy and cool little spots - full of character. The cabanas can sleep 2 or 3. The cottage consists of - a king size loft above and huge living room below which sleeps 4 on the banquette single beds or the banquettes can be combined into a king. This house has a separate bath and shower with chicken coop type windows which look thru the glass roof all the way to the first floor.

The villa is available as a rental with only one maid to change linens and make beds for guests who want total privacy. On the other hand - the villa has a huge staff for the family or group who wants and needs lots of attention. The daily rental fee depends on the services guests need ( basically price changes when the group is a huge number of guests) and is priced very well as compared to even a three star hotel. We aim to top the service offered anywhere else in our city. We try to make guests feel comfortable from answering their first inquiries to saying goodbye and putting them in a car to return home. We provide a HUGE BREAKFAST EVERY MORNING, and can cater barbecues, and full sit down or buffet dinners. We are quite used to corporate, business, diplomatic, and family parties. We know the best purveyors for buying fresh ingredients, fine meats, great fish, etc. It is a fun spot and we love to throw a party for you.

Now that prices in Rio de Janeiro have become in the league of New York City, Tokyo, or London - we feel it essential that guests have some reasonably priced options for meals. It also seems like guests who have all the intention of eating out every night - change their plans once they get settled into the villa. So we have become quite deft at putting meals together without a lot of notice. We have two lovely street fairs each week with butchers, fishmongers, greengrocers, with dozens of stalls and like to take our guests their to choose whats will be on the table that night.

The Abraços Foundation and Adan have a staff of drivers, tour guides, packaged tour operators, and can help with detailed planning for your trip - from airport pick up until you depart (and even ship those things your forgot back home !!) Guests have the advantage of organizing their schedule when they book or meeting with Adan when they are here to buy tours (Note: prices are 15% lower when purchased in advance of arrival).

Adan handles all the email requests and helps guests who do not know the city and country (or south America) on how to arrange their time based on their interests. We are affiliated with a great Rio travel agency who assists with flights, cruises, etc.

One of the Villa craftsmen is a jazz musician and knows the RIo night life scene. Another consultant is a set designer for Brazilian movies and knows what is hot in town at the moment.

IT has been a busy past three months with a total redo of the villa + movie shoots + a lot of big events BUT we will have a complete on-line villa manual, and menus.

BEFORE YOU MAKE AN INQUIRY-

1. we are totally rented for all of the WORLD CUP PERIOD - We are also 100% rented for OLYMPICS 2016. IF you write thevillainrio@gmail.com (our concierge) he may assist you in locating smaller properties for both CUP and OLYMPICS.

2. We can not offer rentals less than 5 days for large groups - it is just too time consuming to do a changeover after 21 guests have been with us for a short period. There are no short term stays for large groups at regular rental fees, You can stay for three nights BUT WE WILL CHARGE MORE PER DAY FOR THOSE RENTALS.

We can offer a short term rental at a higher fee that reflects our increased costs.

3. Although we can house up to 21 - there is only room for 7 OR 8 couples in privacy. 23 is the maximum but 14 to 16 more ideal unless the group includes children and one uses sofas in the suites or bunk beds.

4. We can offer for the very large group the villa + our other penthouse also advertised on homeaway.com + neighboring pousada and hostels We have arranged stays for a group as large as 55.

5. Rental rates VARY according to the number of guests and services requested. We are indeed an economical alternative for a large groups and offer features not easily available in most apartments or villa rentals.

6. We LOVE a party BUT DO NOT rent to groups who do not abide by the villa quiet hours. We are in a family neighborhood and love our neighbors. We do not rent to any group without questions as we wish to make sure our staff, our villa, and our neighborhood are respected. We have furnished the villa with love and care and special objects and want guests to love our ambiance.

More Details
Hide Details

101 Reviews of Property 174529 Copacabana, Brazil

The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
average rating of 4.9569893 based on 101 reviews
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Stoney Stanton
5

This is why I love HomeAway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The house
We walked around that first night and my wife said exactly what I was thinking ¨its clear that the owners love this place and use this as a second HOME! because the fixtures, fixings and furniture really creates a warm and beautiful homely environment.
So many rental properties are just used to make ¨a fast buck¨ but that couldn't be further than the truth here.
My 5 year old was so happy, she loved her room, the pool, the maids! pretty much everything about the place.

The people
After a 23 hour long journey form England we arrived late in the evening after being collected from the airport and was greeted by Jon a very nice chap that then gave us a tour and all the information we would need for are stay and he was only a phone call away if we needed him.

We woke up late morning to find the table spread for me my wife, daughter and I, the chef ready to cook what ever we desired. The maid cleaning, even though the place was already pristine and this continued throughout our week stay.

We kept in contact with Mike (the owner) a great guy, very friendly and always there to help, gave many suggestions and constantly made sure we had everything and were happy.

Location
Request a collection from the Airport because although only 30mins away the Brazilian taxi driver's are shocking when it comes to street names and locations!

The famous Copacabana beach is a few minutes' walk away and is fantastic!

There are many restaurants as you would expect, just check the menu first as some of these are very expensive! better yet, get Mike to give you his recommendations. We loved the seafood at 'Mario's on the main strip.

While walking around late at night with my family, we always felt very safe and comfortable in Copacabana.

Overall
I noticed this property was available for a week so I made a cheeky offer on the Monday evening and arrived there late Tuesday. I wouldn't expect to get the same deal if I booked it in advance because this property is constantly in demand but if it is available last minute, speak with Mike to see what he can do! you never know you could surprise your loved ones with a wonderful trip to Rio' as I did!

Here's my homemade movie of the house! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qT3Ki0Wo3Ow&feature=channel_video_title
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
New Canaan CT USA
5

RIO villa in Copacabana

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This lovely villa is perfect for 3 couples and some kids or singles also. It is beautifully appointed; staff is delightful; safe; located 1/2 block from Metro which is great; walk to beach. Breakfast is a wonderful beginning to day, and the French Toast is the best food we ate in RIO--that good! We hosted a party one night for 40 and it was perfect for the caterers use, and for the guests. Highly recommended
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Placerville, California USA
5

EXPECTED ALOT. EXCEEDED EXPECTATION.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My family and I returned to Rio after 50 years. We had lived in Leblon as military dependents. My father was in the Navy.
Returning to Rio after so many years was a dream realized. I met with many old friends and visited my home and local hangouts. Each time we
had someone come over to the villa their reactions were calculable. No one could believe that such a home was located in the middle of Copacabana. A rare gem.
We did entertain our friends there on evening and the staff prepared a feast. Speaking of the staff, wow. Could not ask for any better. Part of the family experience and always there. No requests went unanswered. Just beautiful people.
This is not your typical rental. This is Mike's home. He shares it and all of his energy with those who are fortunate enough to come. Every time we would go out, coming back was like being in our own home.
We did have an opportunity to meet Mike the day we left and as expected he was quite a character. Jovial and always helpful.
The bottom line is that I do travel extensively and have never felt so comfortable away from home. I would steal his staff if I could. My family and myself look forward to the day we can return and again enjoy Mike's exquisite home.

Michael Stafford
Rio April 23/30 2011
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
United States
5

Beautiful Home, Magical Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This beautiful home, with its fine appointments and magestic living spaces, combined with the detailed attention of it´s owner and extremely capable staff, turned what could have been a very ordinary Rio lodging experience into one that will never be forgotten. We required special treatment and services during our stay, including a reception for up to 75 people. Both owner and staff executed this function impeccably! Throughout our one-week stay, the staff accomodated our continuously changing schedules to perfection, with full breakfasts every morning and a clean home to come back to after every day spent in this breathtaking city. We highly recommend this wonderful vila and hope it can become an integral part of your magical experience in Rio.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Speaking for both the staff and myself - we appreciate deeply your choosing the villa and especially the vote of confidence you placed by having us do our first big dinner function. Although I graduated from hotel/restaurant school some 40 years ago - I have never worked in the field and went immediately to dental school. Develping a menu and coordinating this reception was sheer fun. I would have loved to have been there to see the staff work their magic but the photos I have seen showed me the "WOW" of your party.
We have 5 weddings coming up this year and 2 more diplomatic functions and because of your giving them the chance - I think there is nothing that the villa staff can not do. Rafael, the chef from BlueHill in NYC, after he visitd the kitchen that night was truly amazed.
Thanks from Michael, Jonatas, Denise, Anna, Selma, and Marcello as well as all of the drivers and ancillary bartenders and waiters.
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Savannah
5

Great Experience in Copacabana

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The house was amazing and the service even better. A quick walk from the gated house gets you to the beach, with plenty of great restaraunts on the way. Carratoa (an authentic brazilian steak house 2 mins away was wonderful) Jonatas, Denis and our driver Matos were excellent hosts for their beautifl city. Nothing can describe sitting in the rooftop pool with the gas lamps lit on a beautiful brazilian night. I would do this again in a heartbeat and recommend it for groups, business, or families. Thank you Michael!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Canada
5

Outstanding Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Location very central Copa Cabana
Staff - excellent adn very accomodating, friendly, helpful, service oriented, just excellent.
Good breakfast, big and beautifull everyday.
Denise did a dinner party for us that was fabulous
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Denver, Colorado
5

We wish we could have stayed longer...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Our group really enjoyed their stay at your “Rio Luxury Villa”. Your staff were wonderful and work with and helped make our time in Rio just perfect. The Villa’s interior was amazing and very unique. It was a lovely, cool, and quiet haven….We wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you for helping to make our first trip to Rio so memorable and special. God Bless. Sincerely,
Beth and friends.
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Boston
5

Stay - Thanksgiving 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Since i am going to be spending much time in Rio as my company is involved with the upcoming World Cup - my wife and I decided to bring our family down for the holiday.
I know Rio well and usually stay in Ipanema hotels and I am an old hand at renting thru Homeaway having used them for years in renting European and UK properties. This is the first time I have reviewed a listing.  I am hooked on this villa and given the prices of hotel suites will use the villa when available for my upcoming business trips as I feel so at home there.
I  like this little street and even though I favor eating/shopping in Ipanema and Leblon I prefer to stay at this little quirky villa.  

In short - the place is perfect.  Everything works and is first class. and the housekeepers smile and morning breakfast are great way to start a day.  Communication with the owner from the first inquiry and all follow up ensured a great Thanksgiving.  Every morning was a full table with  the most incredible breakfast - from biscuits, waffles, the best French toast, juices, fruit.    It is a hard balance perhaps to have a house staffed yet never underfoot - they get it just right.  My wife and kids fell in love with the place and the young people who run it and want to go back.

Everything works perfectly and the beds, baths, kitchen are all A+.  The pool is small but what a place to hang out especially at night when they light the gas lamps.  The top floors are just short of overgrown with all kinds of flowering trees, orchids, a trellis roof of honeysuckle which reminded us of New England.  Every room in the house has orchids.  One night with  a full moon they opened the atrium to the sky and it was incredible.  Even though it is in the middle of a big city - the top floors are totally quiet at night.

With our booking we received mucho information such as what to bring, his favorite restaurant list, where to shop.    Staff arranged airport pick-up, one tour day with their driver, and cooked a Thanksgiving dinner for us. The house is full of books, movies, and everything one could want.  Our laundry was returned the same day.

The antiques mall of perhaps 100 stores was one block away as was the incredible new Rio subway line.  We were in Ipanema in 3 minutes.  Beats Rio traffic. There is absolutely nothing that this kitchen does not have.


Last night was a surprise bottle of champagne from the owner.  Pretty hard to trump this experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
US
5

Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Beautiful home with friendly staff. Great location six blocks from beach, located on a private, gated alley. Staff prepares delicious coffee and breakfast in the mornings. Master bedroom is beautiful, sunny and air conditioned though women should be aware that there's a lack of closet and dresser space. There are two teeny closets and a small night stand, so a different bedroom might be preferable with someone bringing many clothes. Bedroom is great otherwise. So glad we decided to stay here!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
San Diego, CA
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
I really enjoyed my stay. The house help made an amazing breakfast each morning and was very helpful when I needed anything.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers