Indian Shores condo rental - Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4

Please scroll down to see the link to comments from our previous guests. They all loved it and you will, too!

Wake up on Indian Shores' intercoastal waterway... view playful dolphins from the comfort of your king-size bed... watch the boats head out to the Gulf... Walk the powdery-white sands... Relax on the private balcony overlooking nesting sea-birds...

• Waterviews, waterviews, waterviews!

• Just steps to beach (approx. 150 yards)

• Washer/Dryer in unit

• Computer with high-speed cable internet and WiFi

• Unlimited long-distance calls (USA and Canada)

• Upgraded digital cable TV package

• Private 1 car garage with 2 remote openers

• much more!

Keywords: Waterfront Condominium

Isabel is from Spain and we met while I lived and worked there for ten years. During our years there we enjoyed traveling throughout Europe and especially staying in the quaint Bed and Breakfasts that are so typical there. We made notes of all of the things we liked and disliked about everywhere we stayed and planned to one day have somewhere unique and cozy of our own to offer to vacationers.

In 2000 work brought us to St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2004 we purchased a condo in Indian Shores, just a few miles from our home. We decorated it with nothing but the best (Isabel is an Interior Decorator and has her own business). As guests began to know us and word began to get around we soon had a steady flow of visitors and a full calendar. Just repeat visitors were nearly keeping the unit booked. In 2008 we decided to buy a second unit, with the exact same floor plan and the same extraordinary views, just a few steps away. We call them our Gulf Retreat 1 and Gulf Retreat 2.

Darryl Glenn purchased this condo in 2004

We love Indian Shores because it is the quietest, most relaxed part of Sand Key, the barrier island that runs along the Gulf shore from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater. It is the narrowest part of the Sand Key, only 150-200 yards across where we are located. That means you can enjoy both the Intracoastal Waterway and the Gulf of Mexico only a few steps apart.

Indian Shores is the last part of the coastline in Pinellas County that preserves a small-town feel. Gulf Blvd. is still just a two-lane road and the speed limit is 35 m.p.h. There's is only one traffic light in Indian Shores. There isn't as much asphalt as you see to the south or north of us, a lot fewer high-rise buildings and none of the tourist traps. While you will find all the restaurants and conveniences you need near-by Indian Shores is still primarily a residential, family-oriented community.

Our view is of the Intracoastal Waterway, the body of water that separates Sand Key from the mainland. We love it because of all the boat traffic - it's fun to watch. The dolphins are always a joy to see, too. They are most active early in the morning or at sunset. Manatee are a little harder to spot, but are always around, too.

When the tide is low there is a sandbar that emerges from the water just off our balcony. The seabirds all come to feed there and it's wonderful entertainment.

And the Intracoastal Waterway is beautiful to behold at night, when the lights from the boats and other properties reflect off the surface. You must see it to appreciate it!

And of course the beach is just across the street. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there walking. It's never crowded and always relaxing. We have beach toys, inflatables, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler... everything you need except a good book and suntan lotion! And we even have a handy cart to put everything in and wheel it across the street!

120 Reviews of Property 43893 in Indian Shores, Florida

100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
average rating of 4.96875 based on 120 reviews
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Greer, SC
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Thank you so much for everything! The condo is so clean and has everything you could possibly need. This is a fabulous place and you will not be disappointed!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Greer, SC
5

Guestbook Comment

Thank you so much for everything! The condo is so clean and has everything you could possibly need. This is a fabulous place and you will not be dis...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Thank you so much for everything! The condo is so clean and has everything you could possibly need. This is a fabulous place and you will not be disappointed!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Pgh. Pa
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Gulf Retreat was well worth the money. It was so nicely decorated and spotless, a great relief when you rent things over the internet. It was very quiet and relaxin. We would definately recommend it to all our friends and family. We hope to be able to stay there again next year!! We loved that Darryl and Isabel provided local restaurants menus and coupons for local attraction!! We felt at home and very lucky to have found this place online!!! 4 stars!!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Pgh. Pa
5

Guestbook Comment

Gulf Retreat was well worth the money. It was so nicely decorated and spotless, a great relief when you rent things over the internet. It was very qu...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Gulf Retreat was well worth the money. It was so nicely decorated and spotless, a great relief when you rent things over the internet. It was very quiet and relaxin. We would definately recommend it to all our friends and family. We hope to be able to stay there again next year!! We loved that Darryl and Isabel provided local restaurants menus and coupons for local attraction!! We felt at home and very lucky to have found this place online!!! 4 stars!!
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
Dear Darryl & Isabel:

This is our second year staying in your beautiful "beach house". It truly is a home away from home for us...it has absolutely everything you would need, the view is awesome and the cleanliness is tops. Our grandchildren visited this year and really appreciated all the water toys they found in the treasure chest in the garage!! We hope to be able to come back for many, many years. Once again, we have had a fabulous 5 weeks in your condo.

Sincerely,
Jim & Barb Andrews
Oshawa, Ontario Canada
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
What a wonderful surprise when we opened the door to your condo. Every room was decorated beautifully. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware, utensils and dishes. Every thing was clean and neat and a real pleasure to live in for two weeks. I'd say it was fit for a king. The beds were comfortable, and we could not stop enjoying the scenic view from our master bedroom, kitchen and living room windows. In the evening, especially, the lights shone on the water surrounding the condo. Such ambiance! We have paid a lot more for a lot less right in this area. The beach, right across the street is easy to get to. Thank you, Darryl, for the great time we had.
Sincerely, Frank Ianne
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
5

Guestbook Comment

What a wonderful surprise when we opened the door to your condo. Every room was decorated beautifully. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware, u...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
What a wonderful surprise when we opened the door to your condo. Every room was decorated beautifully. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware, utensils and dishes. Every thing was clean and neat and a real pleasure to live in for two weeks. I'd say it was fit for a king. The beds were comfortable, and we could not stop enjoying the scenic view from our master bedroom, kitchen and living room windows. In the evening, especially, the lights shone on the water surrounding the condo. Such ambiance! We have paid a lot more for a lot less right in this area. The beach, right across the street is easy to get to. Thank you, Darryl, for the great time we had.
Sincerely, Frank Ianne
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Brechin, Ontario
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
Thank you Darryl, your condo was very much enjoyed by all of us. I have been going to Florida for the last 25 years and your condo was easily one of the top places that we have stayed in during that time. Very comfortable, well appointed and decorated with many thoughtful additions that you do not get in many places. It was good to meet you and put a face to the voice. I hope that we will be staying in your condo again in the future and will promote it to my friends (as long as there times are different from mine).
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Brechin, Ontario
5

Guestbook Comment

Thank you Darryl, your condo was very much enjoyed by all of us. I have been going to Florida for the last 25 years and your condo was easily one of t...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
Thank you Darryl, your condo was very much enjoyed by all of us. I have been going to Florida for the last 25 years and your condo was easily one of the top places that we have stayed in during that time. Very comfortable, well appointed and decorated with many thoughtful additions that you do not get in many places. It was good to meet you and put a face to the voice. I hope that we will be staying in your condo again in the future and will promote it to my friends (as long as there times are different from mine).
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Canal Winchester,Ohio
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Darryl,
What a beautiful condo you guys have! My family and I have been coming to the Indian Rocks Beach area for vacation for several years and have stayed at many different condos and yours is by far the nicest one. It is very nicely decorated and quite large. The extras provided are wonderful, from the garage to the pool and beach supplies down to the home computer, it was all great. My initital concern was it was accross the street from the beach, however that was not an issue. It was a very short walk and the beach and the wagon you provided made for an easy trip. We were with you ten days and the entire family had a great time. My daughter was thrilled to be able to see her Yankees play at Tropicana field and we all enjoyed Busch Gardens as well as just relaxing around the pool or beach. I hope to be able to stay with you in the future.
Thanks
The Foxes
Dennis,Christine,Sydney and Alex