Duboce Triangle apartment rental - Old magnolia trees line the street
Old magnolia trees line the street
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Duboce Triangle Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2; additional bed available)

Located in the heart of San Francisco, This unit is located in a perfect setting for exploring the City. Visitors without cars will find a wide range of transportation options: all MUNI train lines are within a couple blocks, including the Historic F line which travels down Market Street to Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, farmer's markets, shopping, museums and more. For travelers wanting to visit Union Street, the Marina and Presidio MUNI bus service is available on the same block; the same bus runs through the Castro and Noe Valley in the other direction. Even traveling to and from the airport is just one train connection away. Rental cars are available from several ZipCar locations within a couple blocks. Car owners will find street parking and a public garage is one block away. The clean (newly painted, new wood flooring) apartment is located in a historic Queen Anne Victorian in the Duboce Triangle neighborhood with a wrought iron gate.

A Comfortable Place in a Great Location: This apartment has its own private entrance. This studio apartment features a comfortable queen size bed, designer sheets, a separate, private bath and separate, kitchenette and a fireplace. An additional twin bed is available for an additional fee. Stroll to nearby outdoor cafes, a French bistro, a wide range of diverse bars and dance clubs, the historic Castro Theater, the historic Mission Dolores and much more.

Amenities: Your hosts will welcome you with fresh linens and towels and freshly ground coffee, and are happy to direct you to all of the wonderful amenities San Francisco has to offer. Your hosts both speak English, and one speaks German (Deutsch), and the other speaks Mandarin and Taiwanese.

More Details
Hide Details

A trained hospitality and restaurant professional, the owner lives in the same building and manages multiple rental units.

Laurence Chang purchased this apartment in 2004

This building is located in the very heart of San Francisco, with access to great transportation all over the city and much to do within walking distance. The neighborhood is safe, pedestrian-friendly and public transportation options are abundant.

This Queen Anne Victorian is located on a street lined by old Magnolia trees. The Castro district, restaurants, shops, parks all surround this location.

80 Reviews of Property 297503 in Duboce Triangle, California

Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
average rating of 4.85 based on 80 reviews
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Warwick, England
5

Beautiful apartment in an amazing city! Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My wife and I stayed in this apartment for our honeymoon for 10 days and had a lovely time. The apartment is conveniently located close to shops and restaurants (we enjoyed Squat and Gobble just down the street), and also very close to transport links like the F line and MUNI station. The Castro area is a good base to explore the city from, whilst being a little off the usual tourist track. The apartment itself is very well-appointed, clean and comfortable - we particularly appreciated having a fridge and cooking facilities, and best of all wireless internet which was easy to use. Nick and Laurence were exceptionally helpful and attentive hosts, helping us with restaurant recommendations and directions whilst we were there. They also kindly stored our bags for us on our last day so that we could continue to explore the city before leaving for the airport. We would definitely stay here again and will be recommending the apartment to our friends and family :)
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Australia
4

Enjoyed our stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Nick was a great host, he gave a good balance of being available to give information about local activities without being in our face all the time. Location was great and the apartment was comfy for two adults and a baby. The only negative was that the people in the apartment behind us were pretty noisy. I would stay here again and I would recommend to friends/family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Lisa - We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would stay here again and would recommend this to friends/family. While most of our visitors are courteous and quiet, we were disappointed to learn from your review after you left that you experienced a noisey neighbor and we would certainly have wanted the opportunity to address the situation while you were here. We strive to make our visitors' stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are available to offer assistance (whether restaurant recommendations, directions etc, or other help), while also trying not to be intrusive and respectful of our visitors' privacy. Thank you for your review and feedback.
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Boston
5

Helpful owners, wonderful apartment and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We stayed for a couple of days at the start of April. Coming from Boston, where it had still been snowing a week earlier, the whole Castro area was an amazing relief. The apartment was small but well-formed and had a surprising amount of natural light for the location. Nick and Laurence were unfailingly helpful, from a list of recommended restaurants in the area to looking after our bag the afternoon we checked out. We had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Atlanta, GA
5

Great central location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We have to say this is a very nice studio to come back to at the end of a long day of exploring San Francisco and the N. California coast. We liked the fact that the F line streetcars, restaurants and shops were only a block or two away. We actually did a few hikes from the apartment to the Castro, Haight Ashbury, and Golden Gate Park since none of these areas were very far away. We found good Italian restaurant(Sausage Factory) down the street and Castro Coffee is great little place to get a cup of joe and bagel before a day out on the town. Our hosts were very gracious and provided us with everything we needed. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
5

Charming Studio in Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My partner and I just stayed at Laurence and Nick's garden apartment for 4 nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our selection. The photos don't do it justice - the place is a studio and small, but it's tastefully appointed and more room than any hotel rooms. The mini fridge and small appliances are a great convenience and the bathroom was wonderful. Being quite familiar with San Francisco, we selected the apartment based on it's location, and it did not disappoint. One block up the hill from Castro St. Muni station, the F streetcar and the Castro bus stop literally at your doorstep.

Beyond the apartment and the location itself, Laurence and Nick are great hosts and provide tips, advice and make themselves available for anything. The perfect level of being available and helpful without being intrusive. It was nice to know they were there and ready to help if needed. I'd highly recommend this apartment, especially for those who are new to SF travel or are looking for a great home base to explore the wonderful city.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Birmingham, Alabama
5

I Left my Heart in this San Francisco Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Ok, I know it is a little chessy, but I had to use it at some point. My husband and I rent an apartment in a big city every year for Christmas. We are never disappointed, and this year is no exception,. In fact, I have to say it is one of the best experiences we have had renting an apartment. Nick and Laurence's apaprtment is walking distance away from public transportation, the nightlife, cafes, and interesting shopping. But even though it is so close to these things, it is very quiet as it is on a residential street. You can hardly believe that minutes away there are so many activities you can do. Nick and Laurence were extremely helpful and gave us many good tips about their city. Being from the South I was amazed at the "Southern Hospitality" they gave us here on the West Coast. If you are looking for a nice place to stay during your visit to San Francisco, this is the place. Skip the big hotel chains and take a chance on this unique apartment.

One note for future renters. Although there is public parking close by - there is no need for a car!!!

Thanks Laurence and Nick for helping make our Christmas 2010 memorable!

Joy and Will - Birmingham, Alabama
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
5

Great stay in the Castro

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Nick and Laurence were so helpful even in the planning stages, letting us know about parking and the neighborhood. We were traveling with dogs, and we loved how dog-friendly they and the neighborhood were, and it was great to not be in a touristy part of the city. Once we arrived, they provided us with more recommendations about the neighborhood and local parks. While it was convenient to public transportation, we did have a car, and parking in the area was very easy. Finally, we loved the studio - it was comfortable for the two of us and our two dogs. Overall, we had a great experience!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
New York, USA
5

Castro Studio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We really enjoyed our 3 day stay in this cozy basement studio while in San Francisco. The property is conveniently located in a quiet residential area of Castro, but within a walking distance to numerous restaurants, clubs and public transportation. Getting to various parts of SF was super quick and easy. Furthermore, our hosts, Nick and Laurence, were always eager to help with directions and other questions, but at the same were always mindful of our privacy. We will definitely try to stay here again when we come back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Fife, Scotland
5

Home from home in precisely the best location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
In the UK we have a TV program called "Location, Location, Location": and this studio is indeed in the perfect location. It's in a real neighborhood, with useful shops and genuine character, but only a short walk from the MUNI lines (underground and streetcar) to the center of the city (and the beach!) as well as really great breakfasting and dining restaurants and local stores. For breakfast/brunch, though there were many options, we gravitated to Cafe Flore on the corner of Market and Noe most mornings: as a result, the kitchen didn't get the use it deserved... there are plenty of decent restaurants within walking distance and many more easily accessed via MUNI.

Our one worry before we came was a lack of storage: lo and behold there's now a large wardrobe! The bathroom was perfectly appointed and the whirlpool bath was a delight after walking in Muir Woods and at Lands End.

We brought our laptop and were delighted that the wireless internet connection functioned perfectly and without a break throughout our stay. You can connect - and stay connected - with confidence.

The apartment was spotlessly clean and, though it is small, it's beautifully appointed. The photos on the website do indeed reflect the layout and size of the property. Laurence and Nick were very helpful throughout our stay. We will try and come back again, time and work permitting, and would not hesitate to recommend it as a vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Netherlands
5

we had a great time, thanks a lot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We had a great time at Castro. The apartment is really, really nice and the location is perfect. Thanks a lot!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway