Hana house rental - Hale Manu
Hale Manu
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Hana House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Maui County Permit # BBHA 2012/0002

Conde Nast Traveler Magazine 'Deal of the Month' & 'Hawaii's Hidden Values'. Please visit our website for November and December Specials.

Hale Manu, which means the 'Bird House', is our larger two-bedroom guesthouse, privately located in the rear of our property with phenomenal ocean views. The spacious Hawaiian styled architecture includes open beamed, vaulted ceilings, a large center cupola for great airflow, an open floor plan and a large lanai for evening dining under the stars or morning coffee with the sunrise.

Over time, we have completely renovated and professionally decorated the home, including a large fully equipped kitchen (a kitchen inventory is available on our website), an all tile bathroom with new fixtures, queen sized beds with high thread count all cotton bedding and teak steamer chairs, gas barbeque and an additional table for dining on the lanai. The ocean facing bedrooms are conducive to romantic sultry evening breezes.

We take a lot of pride in our homes, as is evident from the many comments provided by previous guests (please see our online guestbook accessible from our website). Hale Manu is thoughtfully furnished with a fun vintage Hawaiian flair, including a beautifully refurbished 1930's vintage rattan living room set we found and shipped all the way from a small Texas town and original oil paintings by local Hana artists. Sink yourself into the furnishings and grab a book off the bamboo shelves to relax the night away or choose a DVD from the small collection we supply. We also have a collection of coffee table books about Hawaii and Polynesia and, since the home is the “bird house” we have bird books, binoculars for the avid bird watchers. We have done our best to consider all the details, like comfortable linens, nice soaps, whole bean quality coffee and green tea for your first day and for those of you who need to stay connected, we have high speed wireless internet access and unlimited, free mainland United States phone service. We also have the modern conveniences such as a washer/dryer, microwave and more.

Hale Manu is perched at the rear of our fully landscaped, two-acre property, providing PRIVACY. Since we live at the front of the property, we work diligently to maintain our homes and provide excellent accommodations. We are also available to answer questions about Hana and steer you in the right direction to your ultimate vacation, whether that means an active time snorkeling, surfing, horseback riding and hiking or just relaxing at the nearby beaches and swimming holes. Hamoa Beach, considered the nicest in town, is just minutes away. We provide boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, beach chairs, beach towels, beach mats, a beach umbrella and a cooler. We can also direct you to local in-house massage therapists or to the local spa for pampering.

The Guest Houses at Malanai are named after the gentle cooling breeze, (named Malanai) known for this area of Hana. We are located just three miles (a five minute drive) outside of Hana Town in the Maka’alae district, which is considered the most highly desired area of Hana. You are sure to fall in love with the picturesque and pastoral landscape, the ever-changing ocean colors and the gentle sound of the waves lulling you to sleep at night. We hope you choose Hale Manu at the Guest Houses at Malanai for your dream vacation in the islands! Please see our website for details on our EXTREMELY competitive rates and policies and feel free to email us with any questions. For a limited time we are offering Springtime specials. Please see our website.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Leokane Pryor has long family history in Hana. He is a relative of the colorful Sam Pryor, who was not only responsible for bringing Charles Lindbergh to Kipahulu (just down the road), but was also well known locally for raising Gibbon apes and many other animals which he loved. Charles, Sam, his wife Mary Tay and many of the Gibbons are buried at the famous church in Kipahulu. Leokane has followed in the family tradition by creating his own unique history in the area. He can be heard performing Hawaiian music most Wednesdays and Sundays at the Travaasa Hotel-Hana and he is well known throughout the islands for his beautiful falsetto voice and story telling.

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

Leokane and Chris purchased this property in 2001 and have worked continuously to create a paradise for themselves, their family and friends. Two of the homes on the large property are available for rent, making this unique experience available to the public. As one of only three legally permitted vacation rental properties in the area, The Guest Houses at Malanai are often booked months in advance and well deserving of their consistent #1 TripAdvisor rating and stellar reviews.

The Guest Houses at Malanai are located in the Maka'alae area of Hana, about 3 miles south of Hana Town. This area is generally considered the most desirable of Hana due to its close proximity to world famous Hamoa Beach and the Venus Pool, as well as the gentle breezes and open landscape which keep it cooler and more comfortable than other locations in the area. Maka'alae was once the fishing village of the area and boasts some of the most breathtaking coastline of all Maui. During whale season, it is the perfect place to see their migration and sometimes even hear them playing at night.

72 Reviews of Property 185587 in Hana, Hawaii

By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
average rating of 5.0 based on 72 reviews
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Santa Barbara, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2006
  • Stayed: Oct 2006
We have been looking for the perfect place to stay in Hana for a while and now it feels like we finally found it! This place has it all: ambience of the South Seas and great Hawaiiana touches; an easy walk to the Venus Pool, a short drive to the Bamboo Forest and Red Sands Beach; and gorgeous ocean sunsets that make you want to linger and relax. The owners have done a great job with the decor - careful attention to details, a well equipped kitchen, and beautiful touches throughout. You CAN have comfort, exotica and feel deep in nature at the same time! What a gem!

Rachel and Avrom Altman
Santa Barbara, CA
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
san diego
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2006
  • Stayed: Sep 2006
Delayed reaction in my feedback of wonderful Hale Manu, but back in early Aug 2006 we stayed there for several nights, luckily during the full moon and a very special birthday, and the place was just perfect and comfortable! The hosts were so attentive, and had flowers and birthday gifts waiting for us, which was so thoughtful. We'll be back and hopefully gdt to meet up with Leokane this time! Thanks SO much Chris, we LOVED it! Aloha from San Diego, Mike and Dave
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Bethesda MD
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2006
  • Stayed: Sep 2006
What an oasis. Our time at the Birdhouse was like a sojourn out of time. One of my children was not feeling well while we were in Hana. The Birdhouse was a magical place to recover: the flowers sprinkled everywhere, the avocados, the nearby Venus Pool, the view out our bedroom window of the full moon over the ocean, even the geckos added to the charm. I loved Maui, but I loved Hana best of all and will always remember our time playing house in our lovely little house on the hill.
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
New York, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2006
  • Stayed: Sep 2006
We had a great time. It felt like staying at friends'
2nd home and I guess that invariably, your renters
become friends with you. The houses are very
comfortable and for cooks like us, very well
appointed and great to indulge our passion. We
rented both houses and so we took numerous
walks through the yard back and forth, picking
fresh avocados that fell to the ground outside the 2
bedroom cottage as well as passion fruit, bananas,
papayas and the like, all of which are in the garden,
practically an arm lenght's away, there for your
tasting pleasure.The citrus were not quite in
season... a pitty, because according to Leokane,
they are fantastic. Try a fresh avocado with lemon
or lime, olive oil, salt and pepper and you won't
need any other snack when you're lounging on the
deck, watching the ocean waves not too far away.
At night the place is amazingly quiet and you will
see more stars than you've ever imagined possible
in your entire life. It's hard to get that picture
unless you're 10,000 ft up a mountain and no city
glare in sight, yet here you get it with the ocean
practically at your feet and a gentle breeze swaying
the palm trees just above you, the only thing
restricting your view being their giant leaves.
Hamoa beach is a dream, as is the Tuesday night
Luau there, a must if all you've seen in the past are
the highly commercialised luaus everywhere else in
these islands.
Relax, unplug, and kick back. This is the place to
do it.
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Sedona , AZ
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2006
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
To you Leokane , and Chriss .
Thank you ,our stay at the Hale Manu in
hana , it was by far the best I have
experienced ,the house gave us a taste
of what it would be like to be
surrounded with familly and a taste of
being totally laid back and totally
relaxed with no worries of any king .
Again from our hearts to yours Mahalo .
Love Joumana
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Frazier Park, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2006
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
The 2 bedroom plantation house is where my husband, my infant son and our two friends stayed for the week during the month of June. Though a bit hot during the day, the cottage was fully outfitted with everything we needed to be totally comfortable on our vacation. The guys were fabulous, the wine selection at the local store was great, the Spa at Hotel Hana Maui was INCREDIBLE (I recommend the Thai massage) and the Venus pool just up the road was so much fun to jump into. I can't wait to take my son back when he is a wee bit older and do it all again. You will have a wonderful time barbecuing on the lanai at Hale Manu!
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Santa Barbara, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
We absolutely loved our stay in Hana. I traveled with my two boys. We went to the Maui Stables and took a three hour horse back ride. It was awesome because our guide (whose name was Hana) told us stories and history the entire ride about the area and they even did authentic historial chants before we went up the mountain. The bathroom was the nicest bathroom right there outside in the wilderness.

Hamoa Beach was exceptional. I think one of my boys was about to cry before we left--they both liked it in Hana so much. We also visited Charles Lindberg's grave (right by the Maui Stables) and I even took our cute little red jeep and attended mass at the Catholic Church on Saturday afternoon.

The house did have everything and we really enjoyed the books there on Hawaii. It was like a small library.

Mahalo,

Theresa, Bjorn and Nicholas

P.S. A "must get" is the Hana Audio Tour CD which has a beautiful song by
Leokane Pryor--he also sings at the Luau at the Hana Maui resort.(next trip)

We also discovered a local narrative history book about Maui entitled Maui Remembers, which has a few pages on Hana and the history and is available at Borders for $22.95.

Aloha til next time. We are in love!
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Seattle, WA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2006
  • Stayed: Jun 2006
We had a wonderful time. The two bedroom house is the best equipped house that we have ever rented. Everything one might need was there.

We especially enjoyed the lovely rural atmosphere, the flowers and trees, the music of the birds, and the view of the ocean. It was a unique environment - peaceful and lovely.

We definitely would like to come back.
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Seattle
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2006
  • Stayed: May 2006
Thank you so much for sharing Hale Manu with us. It was like staying with friends, and we felt at home immediately. The house is warm, stylish and inviting, as well as perfectly stocked with every amenity one might need.

Our toddler loved playing in the yard and picking avocados that fell to the ground. He adored seeing the oranges, bananas and fruit trees. We ate every meal outside on the deck and always felt relaxed by the beautiful views of the gardens, pastures in the distance and the waves crashing at the ocean below.

At night the house was so quiet and peaceful. Our final night there was a full moon rising over the ocean that loomed larger and more romantically over the horizon than one could describe. Sleeping there was a dream, being able to see the palm trees swaying illuminated by moonlight and hearing the surf crash in the distance.

We are so happy to have spent a few days in Hana. It was like a vacation from vacation, compared to the hustle and bustle of the other side of the island.

Thanks again, Chris and Leokane, for making our trip so memorable!
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
San Francisco, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2006
  • Stayed: May 2006
Hale Manu was beautiful and we enjoyed our trip
very much! The place was so nice and comfortable
and we instantly made ourselves at home. We
would definitely love to come back to enjoy more of
the beaches; traveling with a small child proved to
be more work than expected!!! Again, thank you so
much for everything you did and we enjoyed
ourselves tremendously. A much needed paradise
to go back too!!!!