Copacabana villa rental - The Pool
The Pool
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps21
  • 6 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Copacabana Villa Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms + Library - 6 full bathrooms

- FULL VILLA (HIGH SEASON) – 6 BEDROOMS - $1,100 USD WEEKDAYS - $1,400 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS (UP TO 21 PEOPLE).

- FULL VILLA (LOW SEASON) - 6 BEDROOMS - $900 USD WEEKDAYS - $1,100 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS. (UP TO 21 PEOPLE).

- ½ RENTAL VILLA (ALL YEAR-ROUND) 3 BEDROOMS - $550 USD WEEKDAYS - $700 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 5 NIGHTS (UP TO 6 PEOPLE).

NOTE - WORLD CUP 2014 and OLYMPICS 2016 the villa is rented.

1. It is a 4 story 2007 built private home on a gated street in the middle of the tourist zone of Copacabana.

2. There are 4 suites with elegant baths + 2 poolside small cabanas which shared baths.

3. The Metro is across the street and the Copacabana beach 3 blocks away. Main shopping street is 50 feet away.

4 . The house is rented with staff and can include a very full American breakfast. There is a cook who will for a fee prepare snacks, lunches, and other meals. You can rent the house without staff except a daily maintenance man.

5. There is a private third floor pool BBQ and sun deck.

6. The house is run by a multilingual concierge who will arrange all transfers, tours, reservations, and child care.

7. The house is equipped with a kitchen,china, crystal, silver to provide food service for up to 80 guests for functions.

8 It's a family home - cozy enough for two couples to have a great vacation spot and personal attention BUT like any family home there are lots of cabanas sofas etc where we can welcome a student group or bunch of friends.

9. We could provide a short rental for special shooting, etc. but there is a minimum of 3 days for a rental.

The villa has directly across the street a small posada of 7 rooms - so we can combine on one street - 14 bedrooms for the large family or group of friends.

Guests who inquire about the property should know that we are in a quiet neighborhood with great neighbors and it is our policy that during the week - the house outdoor terrace is a quiet zone after 10pm. During weekends we also require respect for our neighbors tranquility.

Basically the villa is organized on 4 levels around a central atrium. All rooms open to this vaulted space via balconies, gardens, or a glass roof which electronically opens to the night sky and marvelous moon views.

Level one is a stone entrance foyer off the little street with entrance doors from a former old Gloria mansion. A great modern kitchen contains every possible culinary gadget, huge island with bar stools,complete business center, and enough an porcelain to serve 100. Off the kitchen is the new decorated atrium (morning room) and a family dining room. The atrium fireplace and over mirror is undergoing completion by the artist who completed faux painting in the restored Teatro Municipal Opera house. The ceiling opens electronically and the second floor balcony gives way to 3 bedroom suites - all with sitting areas and marble deluxe baths with jacuzzi. The dining room is great for a family having breakfast or a sit down for 24. Off these rooms is the wood paneled library with TV/Cinema area and our very special antique Titanic model which the house staff presented this July to the foundation.

There is a small stone powder room off the back stone stairway. All of the major public floor rooms have fireplaces and and make for a great family space. At Christmas - the 15 foot Christmas tree is decorated by the children of the villa staff and we have our annual holiday party and open house.

The second floor suites open by three pairs of antique french doors or stained glass windows to the atrium. Each room makes for a great private sleeping and entertaining space as sofas and easy chairs make it quite comfy. Since the villa is occupied most of the year - these 3 suites are continually in the process of being re-invented.

The third floor is accessed by a stone stairway (with our little Budda in the corner) and panels of native birds and stained glass and a collection of both naif art and the original interior sketches for the house on the walls.

Once you open the door to the third and fourth floor levels - you see the pool with its lion fountain,

a small sitting area with our bird menagerie in cages and the all local birds drinking out of the feeders. Our roof seems to be the greenest spot in the neighborhood and attracts lots of birds and butterflies. The garden is ALWAYS a work in process as the plantings change continually. We try to keep it in flowers year around with hanging planters, plaques of bromeliad and orchids. The barbecue is there and the staff lights the gas lanterns at sunset.

Off the first part of the garden is a trellised walkway of local honeysuckle and some fresh fruit trees as well as a little herb garden. There are two cabanas and small duplex rooftop cottage off of this walkway which are kind of like 18th century wood ship cabins. They share a bath with shower. They have desks with plenty of storage, hundreds of books, and are comfy and cool little spots - full of character. The cabanas can sleep 2 or 3. The cottage consists of - a king size loft above and huge living room below which sleeps 4 on the banquette single beds or the banquettes can be combined into a king. This house has a separate bath and shower with chicken coop type windows which look thru the glass roof all the way to the first floor.

The villa is available as a rental with only one maid to change linens and make beds for guests who want total privacy. On the other hand - the villa has a huge staff for the family or group who wants and needs lots of attention. The daily rental fee depends on the services guests need ( basically price changes when the group is a huge number of guests) and is priced very well as compared to even a three star hotel. We aim to top the service offered anywhere else in our city. We try to make guests feel comfortable from answering their first inquiries to saying goodbye and putting them in a car to return home. We provide a HUGE BREAKFAST EVERY MORNING, and can cater barbecues, and full sit down or buffet dinners. We are quite used to corporate, business, diplomatic, and family parties. We know the best purveyors for buying fresh ingredients, fine meats, great fish, etc. It is a fun spot and we love to throw a party for you.

Now that prices in Rio de Janeiro have become in the league of New York City, Tokyo, or London - we feel it essential that guests have some reasonably priced options for meals. It also seems like guests who have all the intention of eating out every night - change their plans once they get settled into the villa. So we have become quite deft at putting meals together without a lot of notice. We have two lovely street fairs each week with butchers, fishmongers, greengrocers, with dozens of stalls and like to take our guests their to choose whats will be on the table that night.

The Abraços Foundation and Adan have a staff of drivers, tour guides, packaged tour operators, and can help with detailed planning for your trip - from airport pick up until you depart (and even ship those things your forgot back home !!) Guests have the advantage of organizing their schedule when they book or meeting with Adan when they are here to buy tours (Note: prices are 15% lower when purchased in advance of arrival).

Adan handles all the email requests and helps guests who do not know the city and country (or south America) on how to arrange their time based on their interests. We are affiliated with a great Rio travel agency who assists with flights, cruises, etc.

One of the Villa craftsmen is a jazz musician and knows the RIo night life scene. Another consultant is a set designer for Brazilian movies and knows what is hot in town at the moment.

IT has been a busy past three months with a total redo of the villa + movie shoots + a lot of big events BUT we will have a complete on-line villa manual, and menus.

BEFORE YOU MAKE AN INQUIRY-

1. we are totally rented for all of the WORLD CUP PERIOD - We are also 100% rented for OLYMPICS 2016. IF you write thevillainrio@gmail.com (our concierge) he may assist you in locating smaller properties for both CUP and OLYMPICS.

2. We can not offer rentals less than 5 days for large groups - it is just too time consuming to do a changeover after 21 guests have been with us for a short period. There are no short term stays for large groups at regular rental fees, You can stay for three nights BUT WE WILL CHARGE MORE PER DAY FOR THOSE RENTALS.

We can offer a short term rental at a higher fee that reflects our increased costs.

3. Although we can house up to 21 - there is only room for 7 OR 8 couples in privacy. 23 is the maximum but 14 to 16 more ideal unless the group includes children and one uses sofas in the suites or bunk beds.

4. We can offer for the very large group the villa + our other penthouse also advertised on homeaway.com + neighboring pousada and hostels We have arranged stays for a group as large as 55.

5. Rental rates VARY according to the number of guests and services requested. We are indeed an economical alternative for a large groups and offer features not easily available in most apartments or villa rentals.

6. We LOVE a party BUT DO NOT rent to groups who do not abide by the villa quiet hours. We are in a family neighborhood and love our neighbors. We do not rent to any group without questions as we wish to make sure our staff, our villa, and our neighborhood are respected. We have furnished the villa with love and care and special objects and want guests to love our ambiance.

More Details
Hide Details

101 Reviews of Property 174529 Copacabana, Brazil

The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
average rating of 4.9569893 based on 101 reviews
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Tampa, Fl
5

Perfect for a crowd....and kids!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Having grown up in Rio it was hard to comprehend how a place like this could be tucked away in the frenzy that is Copacabana. Three generations of our family ages 2 - 82 , for a total of 9 people, were comfortably accomodated in the villa. We hosted an extended family reumion for approximately 50 relatives , all Rio natives, who were blown away by the architecture and comfort of the house.
As has been mentioned in previous reveiws, the staff was very helpful, the beds very comfortable, all bathrooms have hair dryers, soap and shampoo, so leave that stuff at home to make room for some wares bought at the Hippy Fair which is 2 stops away on the subway (40 steps from the villa's front door).Cabs were plentyful and easy to catch and are the best method of transport around Rio.
We ate several times at Cevada wich is a typical Rio "buteco" offering great "chopp" and "pastel" ( go for the Brie and apricot pastel or the empada aberta de siri) , we also visited Restaurante Polonesa which is a great neiborhood restaurant. There are 2 good bakeries a block from the villa ( Parme and Fornalha) as well as grocery stores, dry cleaners and anything else anyone would need!
As I mentioned we had 3 kids in the house , two 5 y/o's and a 2 y/o and the older kids made friends with some of the neighbor kids and played soccer in the alley with occasional supervision. The parakeets on the 3rd floor were also a hit with the young ones...:)
The only caution I would give with kids in the house is that the recessed lighting on the stairs gets VERY hot and both older kids sustained minor burns on their legs from sitting on the steps and touching their legs to the light - lesson learned for all of us!
The stairs were a bit tiring for the older set,and they kept the up/down trips to a minimum, but should definitly be a consideration for the elderly and those with any knee or mobility issues.
In our case this was a great way to go as a group and have a place to congregate, while still having space for our little family units. I hope to return to the villa in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoy families and learned something new from these wonderful guests. Adan, our concierge, will disenable the circuit breaker from the step lighting so this can not happen. We usually leave them on at night for guests who come in late or want to go to other floor to make it a safe journey. But during children waking hours we will block them. Always something to learn as an amateur innkeeper.
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

David & Jackie Rogers

David & Jackie Rogers
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a great paty house! The staff is one of a kind and we think of them as family extended!! Michael, any time you want to experience appalachio on Cincinnati, gime me a shout. Michael, your consideration and humanity towards us is second to none! Thank you.
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

David and Jackie Rogers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a great paty house! The staff is one of a kind and we think of them as family extended!! Michael, any time you want to experience appalachio on Cincinnati, gime me a shout. Michael, your consideration and humanity towards us is second to none! Thank you.
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

Leslie; Dr. Paul Maynard and Baby Juliette

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had a wonderful stay, the staff was so friendly and couteous, the villa is spectacular! We would love to take Pedro home with us - what a great chef abilities he has :) Thank you Mike!
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

Splendor at the Casa in Rio!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This stay was the highlight of our entire trip! Not only is Rio amazing and beautiful, but the Casa is so central that you can see all of Rio from it as a base.

The casa itself is a beautiful grand mansion with regal, plush and comfortable furnishings. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff and amenities that made our stay so special. The food and cooking was as good as any 5 star hotel and yet as a home, the casa is so much more friendly and welcoming.

From the beautiful living rooms, library and kitchen to the sumptuously appointed suites, each with en-suite baths that have marble for days, to the rooftop pool and retreat - the whole casa was an endless surprise and delight. Be sure to go up on the roof deck to see the moon and night sky with a glass of Champagne on your first night! We will go back just as soon as we can and recommend it to anyone looking for something unique and in great taste.
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

you wont't believe how good it is

you wont't believe how good it is
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Elegant, Gothic and Modern. A true gem based in the heart of Rio. When you walk in your greeted by sheer opulence. you feel right at home and have a lot of privacy. The rooms were fantastic. Clean with beautiful linen. The roof garden and pool on the top was divine. Visually you couldn't ask for more. Be sure to book this villa with the chef and staff. Don't worry there not randoms from an agency, they are integral to the running of the place and you can see that the place and its up keep are special to them. Not only that, but they take care of you and are genuinely nice people. A true gem. I will definitely be going back.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

MY 5 FAVORITE THINGS ABOUT THE VILLA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
1. waking up and having my starbucks coffee in front of the pool listening to the parrots as the sun rises

2. great waffles and more starbucks

3. falling asleep floating on a raft in the pool

4. another late afternoon Starbucks while watching the news in the library

5. watching all the hummingbirds feeding on the pool deck at sunset



The whole smiling staff and this beautiful house get my vote anyday. Pedro's caipirinhas are the best in Brazil
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Bronx, New York
5

Villa far exceeds its many recommendations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Our cruise travel agent booked our group of 6 into the villa for four nights during carnival before we departed on our round the tip of South America cruise. The villa, the Rio de Janeiro tours, and the magic of Carnival surpassed our cruise. The villa is probably the most spectacular private home we have ever visited and the neighborhood, location, staff, incredible attention and our marvelous villa tour guide could not have pampered us more. Holland America could learn a few things from the villa management. We had doubts about security issues in Rio but could not have possibly felt more safer or in better hands.
After we left the villa and boarded the Veendam – we compared our Rio experiences with other passengers who had elected for a pre cruise Rio stay. It seems as if the carnival parade seats Jonatas located for us were better than they had and were a bargain in comparison. Thanks to all of the staff for a great experience.
It is your smiling faces we will remember most of our three weeks in South America.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

Rio " as if we were natives"

Rio " as if we were natives"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Arriving at the Villa after a long cruise gave us the feeling of being in a wonderful home when Rio was its busiest with Carnival, we had the best of all worlds. The staff treated us royally acting like they couldn't do enough for us. Jon was our guide and we really feel we know Rio now and he safely got us to and from Carnival. The pictures of the Villa show just had perfect every detail is in the home. We had every modern convenience with cable TV, wireless internet, wonderful books on Rio plus guide books and on and on. The villa is in a neighborhood where you can go antiquing, walk to the beach, an ideal location. What a perfect end to our trip! We would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a unique experience in Rio.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

50th Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Here it is, Ceci:

I wanted to celebrate my 50th Birthday in Rio with my family and friends. A friend recommend the Villa. This cozy spot is tucked away on a gated side street. From the moment we arrived until we left the staff was wonderful.

We had the pleasure of meeting Mike the owner of the Villa and he was quite simply amazing. He was all that one can hope for in a Host. We had a little run in with some little ruffians (kids really and barely in their teens) trying to mug us on the beach one night. Once Mike heard of it and he was coming to Brazil. He ensured that he came by the Villa to make my 50th Birthday Celebration extra special. Not only did he cook a B-day dinner for us, he also made my favorite cake (German Chocolate) for dessert and gave me a bottle of Don. This man who we just met made us all feel like family. I actually ended up crying.

We explored the area with the taxi driver Jon referred us to and he (Fabian) was great. He took us all around and waited for us. We visited Christ the Redeemer, the Maracana Stadium, the city of Santa Teresa which Mike recommended and had dinner there. Everything along with the beach, mall, more restaurants, was wonderful.
Close to the end of our stay, Mike took us to the hippie fair which was awesome, similar to an open air market. We enjoyed the local crafts and came away with great items for great prices. I enjoyed the place so much that I'm going back again in a month.

If you ever get the opportunity to go to Rio please check out this Villa and stay there if you can. You surely won't regret it. A lot of things were within walking distance, the beach, restaurants, shopping, etc... We actually walked from the villa to Copacabana Beach, Ipanema Beach, then on to the Leblon Mall. It was a great walk by the beach, seeing the beautiful sand art, local vendors, nice architecture. Also, we can also say that it was great exercise for us as we really enjoyed the local cuisine, LOL. I can go on and on. It was quite simply a wonderful experience.
Helpful votes: 2/3