Harlem townhome rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

Harlem Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Apartment - 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 3)

Sankofa Guest Apartment is an ideal location whether visiting NY for business or pleasure. This beautiful self contained apartment with a private entrance, is on the top floor our privately owned brownstone located in Central Harlem. There is no elevator.

The neighborhood is quiet, safe, residential, historic, eclectic, and right in the heart of Harlem. Take advantage of all Harlem has to offer-- delicious dining, Central Park, neighborhood tours, gospel brunches, church, jazz clubs, museums,and friendly folks. There is something for everyone.

After a day of fun in Harlem, lower Manhattan or the other boroughs, unwind in an oasis of tranquility at Sankofa Guest Apartment. The accommodations are immaculate, quiet and safe, with plenty of light and sunshine.

The bedroom which overlooks the garden has three windows, a comfortable queen size bed with a pillow top mattress, 600 count sheets, ample closet space, a comfortable lounge chair, Bose Wave Music system with an alarm clock. You can also play your iPod through the Wave music system.

The bathroom is adjacent to the bedroom. Liquid Soap, plush towels, bathrobes and 'complimentary slippers' are provided during your stay.

One of the hall closets houses a washer/dryer and laundry detergent.

The all stainless steel kitchenette is complete with everything you need to prepare a meal.

The living room has a small library, 27 inch flat screen cable HDTV with premium channels, two sofas--a twin sleep sofa with air dream mattress, and regular sofa plus other seating. There is a dining area with seating for four adjacent to the kitchen pass through.

If you value peace, beauty, quality, convenience and value for your money, why not make an inquiry?

Please check calendar for availability before making and inquiry.

More Details
Hide Details

81 Reviews of Property 173458 in Harlem, New York

Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
average rating of 4.975 based on 81 reviews
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Brisbane Australia
5

A Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
It is hard to know where to begin!! Our wonderful holiday in New York was truly enhanced by our stay at "Sankofa". Norma and Edith were warm and hospitable and full of great advice and suggestions. The apartment itself is a real haven with fabulous decor and every possible amenity - comfort plus!! My friend and I tossed a coin for the bedroom and I won the sofa! - it was very cosy and comfortable and I slept like a dream. Everything is very accessible from "Sankofa" - public transport is minutes away - we were always quite late coming home so we would catch the No.2 bus on Madison Avenue and it would practically drop us at the front door. We hope we can return some day - maybe next time with our families.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Houston, Texas USA
5

Spring Break 2010 - Sankofa Guest Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Words simply cannot describe the “Sankofa apartment experience”. This has been one unforgettable spring break, not only for our 15 year old son, Madison but also for my husband Jerry and I as well. The brownstone apartment was everything we could have ever asked for and more. It was so relaxing that we actually found it difficult to get out and sightsee each morning. Seven days at the Sankofa apartment rolled around so fast!! We simply hated to leave. Every single amenity was made available to us by our wonderful hostesses, Edith & Norma during our entire week in Harlem. One of the highlights of our vacation was a walking tour of Harlem and experiencing first hand the rich history, culture and impeccable architecture of the neighborhood. The walking tour guide just happened to be made available for us in the apartment by our lovely hostesses. Upon arrival, a wonderful assortment of treats were left in the beautifully appointed kitchen to enjoy at our leisure. I just can not stop talking about Sankofa! Please keep our reservation open every spring break!! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Sydney Australia
5

Winter in New York

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Choosing an apartment in New York for ten nights in winter carries some risks. Having a comfortable place to return to at the end of a long day is all important. Fortunately we chose well.

We were certain from the moment we arrived that it was going to be an enjoyable stay. The apartment was warm and scrupulously clean, there was food in the fridge, plenty of information re sights and restaurants, even bathrobes and slippers - an unexpected but welcome touch.

Certainly, Sankofa doesn't have the convenience of midtown Manhattan. It nevertheless is well located for both the subway and buses. Trains are no more than five minutes walk, buses about two minutes, even trudging through the snow. Having a well equipped kitchen rather than eating out every night made staying there even better. Edith was a wonderful host and extremely helpful on the few occasions we needed some help or advice.

For those with any misgivings about Harlem, forget it. We found it a very safe area to walk both day and night.

Overall a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Nova Scotia, Canada
5

We now have a home in New York City!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
There are so many wonderful comments about Sankofa and Harlem on this site that I figured we would be happy enough staying there for our five days in New York. I never thought that it would be the highlight of our whole trip! Edith and Norma are the two sweetest people in all of New York City and we met a LOT of exceptionally friendly locals.

Not only was the apartment warm and inviting, but Harlem itself is a haven of lovely people and rich history. Visitors who aren't familiar with New York City (as I wasn't until this trip) or more specifically Manhattan, may not even consider staying in Harlem. This is a mistake! I, a woman in my thirties, my mother (59) and my aunt (70) are all from small towns in Nova Scotia, Canada. Not once did any of us feel unsafe or intimidated walking the streets of Harlem, day or night. People were curteous and willing to help if we needed directions or recommendations on where to eat or shop.

So much has already been written about the apartment I'm not sure what more I can add. The beds are exceptionally comfortable, the decor authentic and original, and the attention to detail is outstanding. All the little things were taken care of so we never felt like we were away from home. After several very full days of exploring New York, it was a treat to come "home" and relax instead of going back to an mundane hotel with none of the ammenities you get here.

I got to spend my birthday staying in a wonderful apartment owned by two fabulous ladies in one of the most exciting and friendly cities I have ever visited! What more could a girl ask for? I can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Melbourne, Australia
5

Fantastic stay in Harlem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Thanks Edith and Norma for such a memorable stay in your beautiful apartment. We were truly sad to leave. We loved every moment of staying, especially the warmth and generosity of our hosts. We would recommend staying in Sankofta to all our friends and family.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Fort Collins, CO
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We came to stay at Sankofa through most of October. It was our first time to be both on the east coast and in New York. The prospect of visiting such an infamous city can be a little intimidating, but the gods smiled on us in our choice of Sankofa. It was clear from the moment we contacted them that they would do whatever they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Gracious, warm, funny, open, well-informed, and sensitive - Edith and Norma are everything we could have hoped for from hostesses and local guides. We are happy to recommend their guest abode to you.
(Here are a few words about sleeping at Sankofa: the mattress was very comfortable, not too hard or soft, high quality linens and plenty of pillows - take your pick. The bedroom overlooks the backyard and little can be heard beyond the distant sounds of traffic. The street is quiet at night. You are reasonably assured of a good nights' sleep. Any bed beyond my own that I can fall to sleep in immediately and stay asleep, gets a high rating from me - Sankofa was A+. There is a very quiet and efficient air-conditioning unit high on the bedroom wall with a remote control. I like to sleep in a cool room).
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
brisbane, qld , australia
5

Our New York

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We chose Sankofa after reading the comments of the previous reviewers and we found it's excellent reputation to be completely deserved.
The apartment is immaculate,spacious and beautifully appointed with
that intangible"something special" which is rarely found in a private home,let alone an apartment in a big city.
Edith and Norma are gracious ,welcoming hosts who as far as we were concerned had thought of everything to make their guests stay as stress free and comfortable as possible-even down to providing umbrellas for the less than perfect days.
To be able to do our washing without going out,and to have enough food provided for the the first day or so was especially welcome after a long trip.
We found we could walk to Central Park if we wanted and the transport options were plentiful to travel further afield .
We especially liked the M2 bus for the scenic ride.
It's also easy to catch the Metro North trains to upstate NY-the trip to Cold Spring along the Hudson River is lovely.
Sit on the left and look out for Westpoint Military Academy on the opposite of the river from the town of Garrison.
Thes trains depart from the Lexington Ave. stop on 125st E where its also possible to catch a subway train directly to the Staten Island Ferry via Grand Central Station,itself worth a visit.
Sankofa is a superb apartment. beautifully run by two delightful ladies in an interesting and exciting part of New York.
We can highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Melbourne, Australia
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Even before we arrived we knew that Sankofa was going to be something really special. Edith and Norma, our hosts could not have been any more helpful, even agreeing to let us order event tickets prior to our arrival using their address for delivery and answering what were almost daily questions from us. Sankofa is everything the pictures show and so much more. The apartment is an absolutely beautiful oasis in the hubbub of New York. The neighbourhood is full of interesting people and everything you might want to see is a very short subway ride away. Edith has a wealth of knowledge and she went out of her way to provide us with information and help for subways, buses, landmarks, shows and many other things. When we return to NY, Sankofa will most definitely be our home away from home. Thank you so much for making our trip such a memorable one.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Gothenburg SWEDEN
5

Our home away from home !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Since New York is one of our favorite places,we have been there many times but never before have we stayed in Harlem. From now on we will not stay anywhere else !
Here is why :
Sankofa Guest Apartment turned out to be the perfect choise. Not only is this beautiful apartment filled with craft, art and books, you can also find maps, booklets and brochures with all the information about New York that you can possibly wish for. And more : comfortable beds,
well aquipped kitcken and bathroom and a very cosy, comfortable livingroom. Really the perfect "Home away from home".
You will find what you need for breakfast the first days, already in the
kitchen !!
A big supermarket just minutes away as well as the subway station. And the subway takes you to Times Square in 15 minutes. Add another 5 - 10 minutes and you are in Greenwich Village, Soho or Chinatown.
If you want to eat out, there is a selection of restaurants and bars just around the corner from Sankofa. The people are so friendly ; more than once we were met by ; "Goodmorning ladies ! " in the street, from complete strangers ! Is this typical for Harlem ? It certainly doesn´t happen in our hometown !!
And our hostesses ! So sweet and helpful ! We can honestly say that
we felt sad leaving Sankofa. It´s a relief to know that we will see Edith and Norma again, next time in New York !!!!
Lena
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Houston, Texas
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I stayed at the Sankofa Guest Apartment from 9/27 - 9/31 of 2009 and I had the best time. The apartment was beautiful and the pictures do not do it justice. It was a warm welcome from the interesting shuttle ride from the airport. Edith and Norma thank you so much for your hospitality and for being so helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit. After a long day of walking Harlem and a hot shower relaxing by the window while watching tv was great. Again, thank you so much for your hospitality. I look forward to returning.

Karen Chadwick
Houston, Texas