Nuevo Arenal house rental - Front view of home, with surrounding rainforest and lake view!
Front view of home, with surrounding rainforest and lake view!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Nuevo Arenal House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Arenal (also called 'Nuevo Arenal') is in a less visited area of Costa Rica, between the towns of Tilaran and La Fortuna. Within easy reach are the Hanging Bridges of Arenal, Lake Arenal (windsurfing, sailing, jet-skiing, fishing), an Eco-Lodge (bird-watching, rainforest trails, hiking, horseback riding), boat trips to Monteverde, white-water rafting, canopy tours and rappelling. The amenities of both towns as well as the world-famous Tabacon Resort and Arenal Volcano lie within less than 45 minutes easy drive.

You have the best of both worlds - a secluded, beautiful and quiet paradise with all the amenities within easy reach. What is more, in Nuevo Arenal, we enjoy the perfect climate of 80ºF during the day and 65ºF in the evening, with a soft, refreshing breeze all day long.

This beautiful detached bungalow sits in its own gated grounds, complete with gardened terraces, private pool, and sweeping views of tropical rainforest jungle, Lake Arenal, and the hills of Monteverde beyond. You literally wake up to the sound of Howler Monkeys and Toucans every morning! You can linger in our pool, take a pleasant walk on our garden terraces or in the jungle beyond, or be more adventurous with the dozens of activities offered in La Fortuna, a short drive away.

In the evening, you might try one of our many restaurants nearby (the world-class 'Gingerbread' restaurant is within easy reach, and also nearby is the famous 'Caballo Negro'), or enjoy a romantic dinner at home in the seclusion of your own private mahogany-furnished dining room, as you watch the sun setting over the lake.

Our private property is perfect for couples, each of our three bedrooms having its own self-contained bathroom. You have access to the world with free WiFi Internet, telephone, fax and photocopier, computer with printer, and SKY satellite TV. There is also an impressive collection of DVD movies and an extensive library with books on local travel, cuisine, nature and history.

While many of our guests do enjoy all that the area has to offer, many choose to spend an entire week languishing by the pool, enjoying our beautiful gardens, lake/jungle view, local wildlife, birdwatching, hiking, horseback riding, or just sleeping-in!

Please see our website for more details and bigger photographs! Click on the VRBO link or see our website, displayed in the link below.

Keywords: Luxurious private detached vacation home with pool on the banks of Lake Arenal, surrounded by rainforest filled with wildlife. Near Arenal Volcano, local hot springs, zip lines/canopy and horse riding! 3 bedrooms - 2 KING SIZED. FREE WiFi!

More Details
Hide Details

We offer a unique vacation rental experience, from the moment we meet you with keys and a welcome basket, a tour of the property and generous information about our beautiful area. We have been managing this property for ten years now, and our guests return year after year.

The Owner purchased this house in 1995

The location is simply stunning; we are on the bank of Lake Arenal facing south, with towering trees to the sides and back of the property to give total privacy, yet the house is located in a gated community with good neighbors only a few moments away. Shopping and excellent restaurants are only a few short minutes' drive from Neuvo Arenal, and the area is rich in activities including zip-lining, horseback riding, white water rafting, hiking and fishing. Sometimes the nicest day of our stay is when we choose to relax at the house and watch the myriad of beautiful birds that come to our feeders, listen to the wild parrots as they fly overhead, try to spot the howler monkeys and just let the day flow by as we relax on the covered deck and enjoy the freshest air we have ever found anywhere.

91 Reviews of Property 129631 in Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica

Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
average rating of 4.986111 based on 91 reviews
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Napa, California
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We spent the week of January 11 through 18 at Casa Gavilan, and felt like we were at home the entire time. Much thanks to Ed and Leslie for local help and advice. Loved relaxing at the house as well as interacting with the local expats at Rumors bar & grill in Arenal. Thoroughly enjoyed eating at El Establo and riding with the owner, Alexander on their horses across the hills around Lake Arenal. Don't miss the various hot springs around volcano Arenal, even better in the rain!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Tomball, Texas
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Six of us stayed at Casa Gavilan between Dec. 5 and 12, 2009. We found Ian and Lynn's place to be every bit as advertised, and then some. The house is located in a quiet "sub-division" with outstanding views over Lake Arenal; the house was gorgeous, completely furnished, beautifully decorated and fully equipped. The pool was lovely; the well-kept grounds were an absolute delight; most of the shrubs were in bloom and were abuzz with hummingbirds and many others. Surprisingly there were very few mosquitoes.
Ed & Leslie Woods, the managers, were very friendly and extremely helpful. Other than the main road running around the lake the roads are dirt/gravel and we'd strongly recommend either a 4WD or at least an SUV rather than a sedan to get around; some roads, including those in the sub-division, are quite steep. There are many things to see; we especially enjoyed the Hanging Bridges, the hot springs, Arenal volcano, and Cano Negro; the area is a birder's paradise! The near-by Eco-Lodge was closed, however, maybe for renovation. Monica at the Lucky Bug seems to know all that's going on around the area and was also very helpful.
We wholeheartedly recommend this as a place to stay, and are already trying to figure out how we can go back! I only hope we succeed.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Our stay was simply fantastic.....the house is magnificient , much nicer than on the pictures. Bob was very friendly and helpfull 10/10
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Oshkosh, WI
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We just returned from a wonderful visit to Costa Rica, in part due to our stay at Casa Gavilan. Everything about the house worked out well. Ian and Lynn were always quick to respond to my email and provided much helpful information. Ed & Leslie the care-takers met us at the house and were also friendly, helpful and responsive to questions. The house itself looks nice on the internet, but was much better in real life. Every morning was lovely as we sat on the patio heard (and twice saw) Howler monkeys, watched the hummers, and enjoyed the views.

We were able to do lots of things from Casa Gavilan including ziplineing, caving, hiking, and eating good food. I highly recommend the Gingerbread House.

So, from beginning to end our stay at Casa Gavilan made for a wonderful vacation.
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
A great place for a great vacation!
The owners, Ian and Lynn, replied immediately to all of my emails with lots of helpful information. The house itself was beautiful, spotless, and inviting. We were met by the care-takers Ed and Leslie and they were gracious hosts with much helpful advice, and never over-bearing. The patio, gardens, and pool invited us to stay and relax. We enjoyed just soaking in the beauty. We heard howler monkeys every morning and saw them up close twice. We saw many birds, including hummers and toucans. Plus, it is within 5 to 60 minutes of any tourist activity you would want in Costa Rica, except the beach which is 2 hours away. We hope to return and take in more of this beautiful country from this home away from home.
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Columbus, OH
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Absolutely wonderful house and grounds, we enjoyed every minute of our time there. Ian and Lynn have the house well equipped with lots of little extras like guidebooks and coolers, as well as purely decorative touches. The location is excellent, midway between Monteverde to the south, Arenal and the hot springs to the east, and Tenorio and the Rio Celeste to the north. The property is lushly landscaped and filled with wildlife. We saw more animals at Casa Gavilan than we did in Monteverde or the National Parks! There were capuchin and howler monkeys, hummingbirds, toucans, lizards, and we even saw a 5 or 6 ft boa constrictor on a road near the house. We loved our stay, thanks Ian and Lynn for sharing your slice of paradise with us.
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Fort Worth, TX
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Casa Gavilan was incredible! Beautifully decorated, cozy, and an incredible view! Location is ideal for exploring Arenal and the rainforest. Thank you for helping to make it an incredible honeymoon!
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Chino Hills, CA USA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Our recent stay for our honeymoon at Casa Gavilan
was great! We had a great time with all of our
activities, especially the Tico food - yum! And the
house was wonderful! Ed and Leslie were also very
helpful.
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Westford, MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We had a great stay! Our two teenagers loved all the space and the DVD collection that the house offered. We zip lined, white water rafted, went horseback riding, meet very friendly people and ate some wonderful food. Can't recommend the house and area enough
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Fredericksburg, VA
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a wonderful time in Costa Rica and Casa Gavilan was lovely! Lake Arenal was the perfect place for us to stay. We had an amazing adventure eve...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We had a wonderful time in Costa Rica and Casa Gavilan was lovely! Lake Arenal was the perfect place for us to stay. We had an amazing adventure everyday...horseback riding to the volcano, the hanging bridges, zip lining, Monteverde (be sure to get a guide - Oscar, if possible - well worth the money), the beach, the mosic church in Canas, and even found the family my grandmother lived with when she was in the peace corp 25 years ago! Casa Gavilan has everything you could possibly need...400 DVDs, wonderful guide and reference books, meticulous grounds, the great bird feeders, comfy chairs and table on the patio, a lovely pool, anything you could possibly need in the kitchen, and you gotta love the washer and dryer, too! We would suggest you book your reservation today!