Jordaan apartment rental - warehouse from 1735
warehouse from 1735
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Jordaan Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

' Our apartment is situated in a house on the Prinsengracht, one of the most beautiful and lively canals in the city centre. Dated 1730 and fully renovated, it stands in the residential and smart shopping area called Jordaan. Jordaan is the most popular and historic part of town with small cafes, bars, restaurants, boutiques, and on Saturdays and Mondays organic and antique markets. The house has a spectacular view of the Nordenkerk (North church) and of many boat houses. Sunsets are breathtaking. Within walking distance of Central train station (10min), Anne Frank’s House (1 min), Damsquare (8 min), shopping streets (9 straatjes, Haarlemer street, Kalver street )(5-10 min) and museums (Rijks museum, Vangogh museum, Hermitage ) (20-30 min). To really see Amsterdam one needs to do a canal tour. We have our own small boats so we can arrange private boat trips - also in the evenings when most bridges and private and public houses are illuminated – or picnics on the Amsterdam canals. One can rent bicycles everywhere. Public transportation is close and car traffic is almost nonexistent. Amsterdam is a very quiet city compared to other major ones. '

Keywords: Warehouse, Jordaan,prinsencanal,Centrum,cosy apartment,best location,near Annafrank house,canal district,safe ,

More Details
Hide Details

We are a couple loves traveling and always trying to rent an apartments during our trips just to feel as we are living in that country. First thing we do is trying to find a local markets ,do shopping and cooking at our new home.So when we have the second apartment in the same building we decided to give this opportunity to our guests in the best part of Amsterdam.So our guests are being also our neighbors.It became a hobby for us while I am working as a dentist and my husband works as an engineer.

C.Atay Hermsen purchased this apartment in 2011

We live also in the same building so we decided that 2 apartment is to much for us and began to rent it to our guests since 2010

This is the most popular area called Jordaan with many small cafes and restaurants.During the day it is always alive with street musicians,boats or somedays with local markets .At nights it is so peaceful and safe and you hardly hear trafic although the apartment is located centrum centrum. It is 2 minutes walking distance to Anna frank's house and 20 minutes to the museums. There are many uniek shops around and 2 parks .Train station is 10 minutes walking distance. So you dont need any public transport. The view from the apartment is delightful with boat houses and the view of Norden church. All the day you can watch passing of boats on the prinsencanal.My favourite ritual is going to saturday market just across the house to buy weekly fresh flowers and fish to cook for weekend.We are sure you will also enjoy beeing here as we are enjoying since 12 years.

77 Reviews of Property 378585 in Jordaan, Netherlands

A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
average rating of 4.974026 based on 77 reviews
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Wonderful stay in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was a great place to stay. Beautiful apartment in a great location. Cido was a wonderful hostess and gave us ideas for places to eat and things to do. Would stay here again if I ever find myself in Amsterdam again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Wonderful Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a charming, comfortable apaartment with a location that is second to none.

We could have spent our entire tine in Amsterdam in the Jordaan. It is absolutely the best location in Amsterdam.

The apartment location within the Jordaan is perfect,

Cido and Rob,,,,thank you for helping to make our stay a memorable one.

Cheryl and Marty
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Sweeter than Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Location, location, location. We stayed 5 nights in this quiet, convenient apartment which had the nicest hostess we've every experienced. Lovely 3rd floor apartment in the Jordaan, on a canal, across from a Unesco Square with great restaurants and coffee houses. Be prepared for the 3 flights of stairs.

If you decide to never leave the immediate area you'll be more than happy with the local markets (for eating in), or try Caffe Toscanini - an upscale gem of a restaurant. You can also walk 2 blocks to the Anne Frank Museum then up to the top of the Westerkerk Church Tower for the best views of the city right next door. We opted to have Cido take us on a wonderful tour of the canals in her aluminum boat. Well worth it.

We wholeheartedly endorse this rental. Our friends couldn't believe the value once they'd seen it - they had gotten an incredible rate at a 4 star hotel less than a kilometer away and had less than 1/3 the space for more than we were paying. We had a kitchen and a full living room with a view across the canal. Not to mention the award winning garden in the back! '

Thank you Cido for making our visit to Amsterdam so warm and friendly. We want to come back soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

TPTS...ThePlaceToStay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I suppose renting shares the same cliche' values as buying a home...Location, Location, Location. Our rental location was perfect. We walked and biked to everything within minutes and were far enough away from the bustle to relax after a hard day of site-seeing. Stores for food were close as well as excellent cafes.
Cedo and Rob were wonderful hosts, accommodating and helpful in every way. We felt 'instantly' at home upon our arrival and entire stay.
The rental was immaculate, tastefully decorated and an openness that added to the romantic location of this canal house.
If/when we return to Amsterdam, we will be staying here.
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
New Zealand
5

Great Amsterdam Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great two-night stay at this homely and well located apartment. Cido and Rob were very helpful and hospitable, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience of exploring the canals of Amsterdam with them in their boat. I highly recommend this apartment.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

This is the way to vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was the first time we used Home-away and it was the best experience we could have ever had. The apt. was even better than we hopped for. Traditional, clean, roomy and centrally located. Cido and Rob were excellent hosts with all the information you need to make your stay wonderful. Beautiful view of the canal and weekend market. Plenty of historical sites, corner cafes within 5 minutes walking distance. We will be going back as often as we can! I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to experience the local life style in a comfortable setting within walking distance of everything you will want to see or do in Amsterdam.

Stan and Joan
USA
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
Colorado
5

Truly a Gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved our stay in this modern, well equipped apartment. Bright, full of sunshine, sparkling clean with excellent views of the canal below. We felt right at home, the owner's are wonderful and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyeable. The location on the Prinsengracht canal was quiet, away from the noise of the main streets, yet a very close walk to everything in Central Amsterdam, including the Central Station, Dam Square, the Ann Frank House, museums, and shopping. We prefer not to eat out and found the kitchn well stocked with everything we could possibly need to prepare meals, and neighborhood grocery stores located directly across the canal from the apartment. The keys to the apartment even had the discount card for the grocery store attached! The apartment is on the third floor, up some steep steps, but I must say, I did not gain a pound on this vacation despite the stroopwaffles and Dutch pancakes. It might be a difficult climb if you have a large suitcase, but we are light travelers so no problem. Laundry in the building so no need to bring a large suitcase. Cido and Rob could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and arranged a canal tour our last night in Amsterdam. Thanks so much for making my 60th birthday a memorable occasion! I will definitely recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Amsterdam!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The owners, Cido and Rob, were very hospitable and especially helpful. The apartment was very clean, warm, and comfortable for two. My husband and I were lucky enough to stay for four nights. The view of the canal and street beyond were fantastic. The neighborhood was ideal. Right away, we felt welcomed and at home. I would highly recommend this apartment to any couple looking for a temporary home in Amsterdam. My husband and I certainly will contact Cido and Rob before our next trip to Amsterdam.
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The owners, Cido and Rob, were very hospitable and especially helpful. The apartment was clean and comfortable for two. The view of the canal and street beyond were fantastic. On two mornings, we were able to watch the market set up across the canal (as well as enjoy the market buzz). The neighborhood was ideal. I would recommend this apartment to any couple looking for a relaxing, temporary home in Amsterdam. We will certainly contact Cido and Rob before our next trip to Amsterdam.
business
A Gem in Amsterdam ,Home Sweet Home on the Most Charming Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378585vb
0031-0-643064652
Jordaan Amsterdam
5

Most beautiful view on the canal.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 children (12 and 14) spent four lovely days in this apartment overlooking the canal. It is beautifully decorated and just as in the photos. All the appliances are modern and everything is available to cook at home in style with lovely serving pieces, fresh flowers and plenty of space. We were spoiled to have a large modern bathroom, WiFi and television, plenty of books to read on travel in Holland, DVDs for the the children to watch and plenty of sun. This is what we loved most about our stay here - it is a beautiful bright apartment with great ventilation. We walked everywhere and enjoyed a wonderful boat ride with Rob at dusk as the bridges were lighting up and enjoyed all the knowledge he shared about the city. Our hosts were gracious, warm and friendly and their door was always open. The booking was easy. We took the bus from the Central Train station to Marken to enjoy a few hours and lunch on this charming Island. At night we crossed the street to enjoy the best Apple Tart at the Winkel Cafe with a Cappuccino to refuel for the next day's adventures. Print an enlarged view of the walk from the train station to the apartment. Although it is short, if this is your first time to the city the canals, numerous bike riders, streets and small views on typical maps can be a little disorienting. Thanks Cido and Rob!
Helpful votes: 1/1