Canal District studio rental - Our house, where the studio is situated, is the third house from left
Our house, where the studio is situated, is the third house from left
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Canal District Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, 1 Bathroom (Sleeps 2)

Our Prinx studio is situated within the Amsterdam historical city center in a canal house at the canal Lijnbaansgracht.. It overviews a small neighbourhood street with typical historical houses .

Most attractions are within walking distance. The Museum Area: Rijksmuseum (National Gallery: Rembrandt among others) and Van Gogh Museum are just 100 meter away from the house. The Central Station can easily be reached by several tram lines.

While during the day a lively Amsterdam’s historical and cultural neighborhood, the location is quiet. You will be surrounded by typical historical houses. The rest of the canals are just around the corner. The canal Spiegelgracht, 20 meters away from the house, is famous for its art galleries and antique shops. In the neighborhood you can also find many breakfast cafes and restaurants. The studio has been very recently renovated (2008) and has, besides the bathroom, a living-dining area -with cooking facilities- and a bed area. WI-Fi included.

Why the Owner Chose Amsterdam: : The city of Amsterdam has one of the most important intact historical city centers in the world. The historical city center is dominated by the famous canal houses, crowned by ornamented gable tops, that have been built as residences for the wealthy merchants and citizens. During the commercially successful Golden Age, late 1500 until late 1600, Amsterdam becomes the staple market of the world. The city gets the unique ring of canals and the characteristic appearance is established. The historical and monumental character of Amsterdam’s city center is specially determined by the 1600th and 1700th century houses. But also Amsterdam’s warehouses are worth being mentioned here. Its architecture is unique in the world. The city contains around 6,700 historical monuments, has about 100 kilometers of canals and 400 stone bridges.

The Unique Benefits of this Studio: : Year Purchased: 2007 - Most attractions are within walking distance. The Museums (Rembrandts and Van Gogh) are just 100 meter away from the house. While during the day a lively Amsterdam’s historical and cultural neighborhood, the location is quiet. You will be surrounded by typical historical houses and the rest of the canals are just around the corner. The canal Spiegelgracht, 20 meters away from the house, is famous for its art galleries and antique shops. In the neighborhood you can also find many breakfast cafes and restaurants.

Owner Description/Comments: : Ton speaks Dutch, English, Spanish and German. Hector speaks Spanish, Dutch, English, and a very little bit Italian.

More Details
Hide Details

Ton (left) speaks Dutch, English, Spanish and German. Héctor speaks Spanish, Dutch, English, and a very little bit Italian.

Ton & Hector purchased this studio in 2007

The city of Amsterdam has one of the most important intact historical city centers in the world. The historical city centre is dominated by the famous canal houses, crowned by ornamented gable tops, that have been built as residences for the wealthy merchants and citizens. During the commercially successful Golden Age, late 1500 until late 1600, Amsterdam becomes the staple market of the world. The city gets the unique ring of canals and the characteristic appearance is established. The historical and monumental character of Amsterdam’s city centre is specially determined by the 1600th and 1700th century houses. But also Amsterdam’s warehouses are worth being mentioned here. Its architecture is unique in the world. The city contains around 6,700 historical monuments, has about 100 kilometers of canals and 400 stone bridges.

82 Reviews of Property 325284 in Canal District, Netherlands

Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 82 reviews
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Great Studio Apartments”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we could not have been more pleased with these accomdations. Yes, the stairs are steep but if that aspect does not bother you this is a very good location and more than comfortable. We arrived eariler than their check-in time stated but it was no problem at all. In fact they sent a email reconfirming our arrival and gave us their phone number should we have any problems. Our apt was clean and comfortable (we faced the back-not the canal side) and we loved being so close to the museums. Great value and great location and very nice staff (Anouk was quite charming).

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r119096273-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Great location and amazing room.”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Super clean and very nicely decorated. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It is on a quiet street but only a football field away from great nightlife, museums and a bike rental place. A must stay for the money.


http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r119096273-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“4 Nights in Amsterdam”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed at the Prinx Apartments for 4 nights from the 17/9/11. We stayed in the canal side apt which is very spacious. It has a small kitchen with hob/microwave and fridge and a walk in shower. There was hot water all the time and no waiting for it to get warm. When the heating is on it gets lovely and warm but if the sun is shining the big picture windows means you probably won’t need any central heating on.

We booked it due to the reviews and we weren’t disappointed. The main attraction is you are in a traditional canal house in a good location not far of the main square of Leidsplein which is packed full of bars/restaurants. Although it is far enough away to be peaceful we did experience some noise from the Saturday night revellers and one evening a party of revellers went past in a hired boat which was fun to listen to and only lasted a few minutes. That wasn’t a regular thing as the canal is a small side canal and not one the main tourist boats go on.

We explored a lot of Amsterdam in the 4 days we were there and I would recommend this area as North of Dam Square to Central Station is a bit tacky.

Our hosts let us stay on the day we left as our flight wasn’t until the evening and no one else was taking the apartment until today and were friendly and helpful although we only met Ton not Hector.

If I have any negative comments the bed was only two singles put together and it didn’t make a king sized bed and there was no headboard. The mattress was basic but comfortable and the TV was in an odd place in the fire surround and would have been better with a LCD TV on the fireplace wall. I found the towels a bit hard but my wife said she found them really good for drying yourself.

For those reasons I’m only going to score the apartments 4/5 but would recommend them due to the location and experience of staying in a canal house in a good part of Amsterdam.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r119096273-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Great Location,Very Clean”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We just completed a 3 night stay here in Amsterdam. Our studio apartment on the 2nd floor was small but in a comfortable way. Everything worked well including wifi, refrigerator, shower and drain. The only suggestion would be to install a room safe as we had to carry all our valuables with us. The location can't be beat. It's only 3 blocks from one the main dining areas in Amsterdam, the Leidesplein. It's also only 2 blocks to the Rijkmuseum (which houses numerous Rembrandts), the Van Gogh museum, the House of Bols (a museum dedicated to drinking alcohol) and the Heineken Experience. Ton, one of the owners, greeted us and gave us a few pointers and then pretty much let us be, which we appreciated. Please be advised this is NOT a hotel which will coddle you for the duration of your stay. If that is what you require then you may want to look elsewhere.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r119096273-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“This place is the best.”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My partner and I have stayed at Prinx Apartments two years in a row for Amsterdam Pride. It's clean & quiet, and the location is unbeatable. You can walk practically everywhere, and getting there from Schipol is a snap. The canal apartment in particular is very charming and having a kitchen at your disposal is incredibly convenient. Ton & Hector are gracious, unobtrusive hosts. And the icing on the cake is that compared to many other accommodation options in Amsterdam, Prinx is very reasonably priced. Stay here....you'll love it.

Room Tip: There are only a few apartments. Book early!

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r117544864-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Perfect home away from home”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Prinx Studio Apartments are wonderful! Fantastic location close to the Rijksmuseum and Leidseplein, overlooking a beautiful canal: close to everything, yet still quiet and serene.

The apartments are beautiful and exactly as pictured on the Prinx website. They are spacious, spotlessly clean, and with the most comfortable beds we encountered in four countries. The kitchenette was a very nice perk.

Hector and Ton, the owners, are helpful, friendly and welcoming. We will be back!

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r117544864-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Great stay and host hospitality.”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I loved my stay at Prinx. It was a great room, in a great location, with great amenities!

The promo pictures are 100% accurate. We stayed 4 nights in the rear room. It was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. It was near an Albert Heijn supermarket where we picked up everything we needed. The room has a stove and everything you need to cook most meals. The oven micro combo was difficult to figure out so i left it alone. The fridge had two OJ juice boxes and a champagne bottle. The hosts seem to keep grocery items others leave behind for your benefit. There was tea, spices, unopened sauces, and other items. We followed suit and left behind the olive oil we purchased and used to cook chicken twice.

The bathroom is nice. It has a shower only with a squegee which youll need for overspray. There is a bidet and a towel warmer. They included two towels and washcloths. Because of the towel warmer they stayed fresh the whole stay. It also makes a good clothes dryer if you hand wash something.

There is no AC. 1 of the 3 windows open as the windows are "historic" and cannot be changed. There are 3 radiators which heat the room great. We went in Spring and this set up was fine. I don't know about the hotter months. It was between 30 - 70F during our stay. Cold nights were comfortable.

The location is easy to find using their directions. We came from central station and left from AMS airport using Ton's directions. Be sure to research the metro cards you can load; good all over NL. It is easy to get to everything and in the middle of the Leidesplein night life. It's just far enough that we only heard one group of late night drunks at about 2am once.

The house the room is in was just like the Google street view. They have a table in the common room with many NL and Amsterdam tourist guides and books like Fodors. We borrowed some during our stay. We only saw Ton a couple of times. He was friendly and gave maps and directions. It seemed very private without snooping from the hosts.

TV was great and good picture with US channels and others. Wifi worked great. It was easily streaming video and is password protected. Ton stuck around to make sure we could log on.

Having stayed here made me feel like a citizen living in an apartment. It was a much different experience than any hotel. I would use Prinx again in a second.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r117544864-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Great stay and host hospitality.”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I loved my stay at Prinx. It was a great room, in a great location, with great amenities!

The promo pictures are 100% accurate. We stayed 4 nights in the rear room. It was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. It was near an Albert Heijn supermarket where we picked up everything we needed. The room has a stove and everything you need to cook most meals. The oven micro combo was difficult to figure out so i left it alone. The fridge had two OJ juice boxes and a champagne bottle. The hosts seem to keep grocery items others leave behind for your benefit. There was tea, spices, unopened sauces, and other items. We followed suit and left behind the olive oil we purchased and used to cook chicken twice.

The bathroom is nice. It has a shower only with a squegee which youll need for overspray. There is a bidet and a towel warmer. They included two towels and washcloths. Because of the towel warmer they stayed fresh the whole stay. It also makes a good clothes dryer if you hand wash something.

There is no AC. 1 of the 3 windows open as the windows are "historic" and cannot be changed. There are 3 radiators which heat the room great. We went in Spring and this set up was fine. I don't know about the hotter months. It was between 30 - 70F during our stay. Cold nights were comfortable.

The location is easy to find using their directions. We came from central station and left from AMS airport using Ton's directions. Be sure to research the metro cards you can load; good all over NL. It is easy to get to everything and in the middle of the Leidesplein night life. It's just far enough that we only heard one group of late night drunks at about 2am once.

The house the room is in was just like the Google street view. They have a table in the common room with many NL and Amsterdam tourist guides and books like Fodors. We borrowed some during our stay. We only saw Ton a couple of times. He was friendly and gave maps and directions. It seemed very private without snooping from the hosts.

TV was great and good picture with US channels and others. Wifi worked great. It was easily streaming video and is password protected. Ton stuck around to make sure we could log on.

Having stayed here made me feel like a citizen living in an apartment. It was a much different experience than any hotel. I would use Prinx again in a second.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r117544864-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

“Awesome Canal Apartment”

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This is one of the best places that I have ever stayed. The apartment is located in a historical building but includes all of the necessary modern amenities. The canal view was breathtaking, and the room was quite large. Ton and Hector were lovely hosts that answered any questions that we might have about Amsterdam. The only issues were: the noise at night, which wasn't bad compared to other areas in Amsterdam and easily taken care of with earplugs; and the small bathroom. However, I still give this apartment an Excellent review because of the location, the owners and the apartment itself. I highly recommend it.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d653492-r105166714-Prinx_Studio_Apartments_Amsterdam-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html#REVIEWS
business
Your Studio in Canal House in Amsterdam Historical City Centre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p325284
+31 61 785 0399
Canal District Amsterdam
5

An excellent canalside location for the museum area of Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The Prinx Studios are located almost within sight of the Rijksmuseum and therefore just a stone's throw away from the Concertgebouw and the Stedelijk Museum. The area is quiet and relaxed, and the studio has an enjoyable view of the canal and its water traffic, which is pleasure to sit back and watch after a day's sight seeing.

Ton greeted us with warmth and courtesy, introducing us to all the apartment facilities as well as the various local shops that we might have cause to use. He stressed that he would be on hand for queries but whilst that was a very helpful assurance, in practice, he was careful to give us space and privacy. The studio itself had all the conveniences that we needed, a comfortable and stylish bed-sitting room, with a table at the window overlooking the canal, a well equipped kitchenette and a neat and clean showeroom.

We found it to be a wonderfully restful place to return to at the day's end, with restaurants within easy reach and streets and canals to wander out to, in the evening. We can wholeheartedly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3