Ocean Beach cottage rental - Deck off of the Master Bedroom
Deck off of the Master Bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Ocean Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4 maximum

Please see our video at the bottom of this page.

Lotus 1, our 1932 Craftsman Cottage, is our flagship beach home.

Lotus 1 is 150 SF larger than Lotus 2, our historic, pine-panelled 1922 Beach Cottage. That's like going from a luxury suite (Lotus 2) to a grand luxury suite (Lotus 1).

The bedroom at Lotus 1 is especially wonderful. There is a private, covered deck just off of the sleeping area. With handsome louvered doors, romantic lighting and details on the bedroom ceiling which are simply wonderful -- you will most definitely enjoy your time in Lotus 1, the Craftsman Cottage.

Many of our guests have said that being at Lotus 1 is like being in a wonderful home, right at the beach.

In Lotus 1, the Craftsman cottage, there are incredible details in every room. Dramatic ceilings with open beams in the living room, a wonderful 'Greene and Greene' detailed ceiling in the bedroom, unbelievable post and beam construction, private yards and decks -- and you're right at the beach!

Our guests love this cottage! : When you enter the cottage, you immediately notice the living room's handsome, exposed beam ceiling. The detail and the color of the wood just 'takes you home.' There is a terrific large flat-panel television, an incredibly comfortable sofa (which converts into a queen-size bed) and a few other comfortable chairs. Bring your favorite DVDs or watch your favorite sports event on the large TV screen.

There is a large, beautiful redwood bar which separates the living room from the food preparation area. A portion of the bar has been configured to provide you the perfect location to plug in and open your laptop and to get a few things done. (Notice that we didn't say 'get some work done while you're on vacation.')

The kitchen is appointed with most everything you'll need to put together a wonderful dinner for yourself, your family and/or your guests. There is a superb Fisher-Paykel convection oven/microwave, a terrific glass-surface cooking range and a wonderful refrigerator.

Architect Designed Master Carpenter Built: This very comfortable, 1932 craftsman cottage was lovingly restored in 2010. The active flow of indoor-outdoor spaces was designed to accommodate San Diego's extraordinary year-round weather.

In the front is a private gated yard elevated above the street and is situated under a wonderful, large pine tree. At night, you can 'turn on the lights' and enjoy a lovely evening with small white lights. There is an awesome, large built-in bench, which can comfortably accommodate three people, wine, some magazines and/or some books. You can enjoy morning coffee or an afternoon cocktail or other libation in this wonderful, comfortable, shady spot.

At the center of the cottage is a multi-function room. The furniture includes a drop-leaf table and four comfortable teak chairs. The furniture can be arranged to serve as a more formal, overflow dining area or you could use the room as a study or for playing board games. The layout is perfect for privacy or entertaining.

Special Wonderful Features -- Especially for You: One of the wonderful surprises at the cottage is the french door in the bedroom which leads directly to the redwood deck in the rear courtyard.

This private redwood deck is sheltered with a handsome cantilevered roof. The deck is surrounded by a very nice palm tree and some beautiful nandina -- gorgeous plants which produce some lovely orange berries -- don't eat them -- but they are a very beautiful shae of orange.

This is the perfect place for a small gathering or a quiet afternoon sun bathing!

Just off the redwood deck is a patio area which hosts a handsome gas barbecue and a collection of Adirondack chairs. if you're looking for a nice spot to bask in the sun -- this is it!

The cottage is surrounded by decks on three sides, has a keyless entry system and there’s even a hidden stackable washer and dryer just off the back patio.

If you appreciate true craftsmanship, you will love this cottage. No matter where you are in this cozy abode, you will feel relaxed!

More Details
Hide Details

61 Reviews of Property 292776 in Ocean Beach, California

Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
average rating of 5.0 based on 61 reviews
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 19 - April 2011

  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Great place to stay! Loved the architectural details. It was very handy to have a kitchen available. Nice color choices in all the rooms. Close to everything which is a plus. the bed was SUPER comfy! The 7-Eleven close by was great for movie rentals and snacks. Will recommend to all my friends!
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

What a great find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I visited San Diego for a week in April. Not knowing much about the area, we chose Ocean Beach as our home base after reading about how laid-back it was. We saw Lotus Cottages on HomeAway and were attracted to its artistic look. What a great place to stay! The cottage was very comfortable and perfect for a couple. We really appreciated the detail that went into the design. The owner/manager was extremely helpful and very quick to respond, as well as prompt about returning our deposit. As a bonus, the cottage was conveniently located to everything that we wanted to do, but I would definitely recommend a car so that you can take full advantage of the city and surrounding areas. If we ever return to San Diego, we will definitely stay at Lotus Cottages once again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
5

Lotus Cottages is wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Out stay at the Lotus Cottage was simply marvelous! What a beautiful cottage. Well appointed. Simply beautiful detailing. So convenient. And the community of Ocean Beach -- WOW -- what a fun time we had!! The owners of the cottage thought of everything to make our stay convenient -- from having a teapot to having a marvelous deck just off of the bedroom.

We will stay there again !!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Please do come back and visit us again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Guest Review 18 - April 2011

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Enjoyed Lotus Cottages. Thanks for having such a cute place.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Guest Review 17 - April 2011

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Very comfortable and convenient to everything. Wonderful renovation of this property. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Guest Review 16 - April 2011

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We really enjoyed this charming cottage and loved Ocean Beach. It’s a great little town to walk and bike around. We will be back!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Guest Review 15 - March 2011

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Had a great time. Will be sure to come back to the Lotus Cottage again. Loved our trip, loved the Cottage – we will be back !!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Guest Review 14 - March 2011

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Loved having such a wonderful space of “our own.” Walking to the beach was awesome. The cottage is very comfortable and well maintained. We’re spreading the word with friends and relatives about Lotus Cottages !!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Guest Review 13 - March 2011

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We spent a week here recovering from a 7-day cruise on the Mexican Riviera. The change of pace was just what we needed: lovely accommodation, nice little town, friendly citizens.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Guest Review 12 - March 2011

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Great little place. So stinkin’ cute! I want to pack it up and take it home with me. Everything was perfect. I would absolutely recommend it to my friends. Thanks for everything.
Helpful votes: 3/3