Alexandria cottage rental - Private Entrance to Cottage
Private Entrance to Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Alexandria Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

SPECIAL: ANY NIGHTS (MAY AND JULY). EMAIL US for SPECIAL RATES!

CHARMING Cottage (Perfect for 2. Can sleep 4). AC & Heating throughout. 3 private entrances & 2 levels of absolute charm. Unpack your bags & stroll into Old Town. Park directly in front of Cottage. Walk to King St. or Braddock Road Metro. Conveniently located in a quiet/safe upper-class neighborhood.

Level 1: Combo Living Room/Bedroom w/FLAT SCREEN TV/DVD. Open & airy. Hardwood floors & Full bath. Furnishings include: KING-Sized bed w/top-of-the line Sleep Comfort Mattress, Dresser, BluRay DVD, Clock Radio.

Lower Level: FULL KITCHEN w/FLAT SCREEN TV/DVD. Marble floors throughout. Opens to a beautifully landscaped walkout (fenced-in private 15 x 15 patio). Weber BBQ Propane Grill. Beautiful landscaping. Separate Laundry Room! Our Cottage is PERFECT for all travelers desiring the feel of a 'Home away from Home', along with privacy and convenience while on travel.

More amenities & privacy than a Hotel! We offer a very CLEAN environment. Fluffy pillows, luxury towels, soaps, body wash, Q-tips, Cotton balls, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee, tea & hot chocolate. Hypo Allergen pillows are avail. Ride the TROLLEY in Old Town & enjoy many shops, cafes & restuarants, The Torpedo Factory & the Waterfront. Reagan Airport (10 mins.). Mins. to downtown Washington DC, Pentagon, Patent Office, Rosslyn, & Crystal City. We go the extra mile to make sure your stay is most enjoyable! CHECK OUR REVIEWS.

Keywords: Alexandria Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

We have been opening up our Cottage from time to time and have enjoyed meeting so many nice people. When we open up our Cottage, we want our visitors to have a unique and memorable experience. If you have a good experience with us, you'll come back and you will also tell your friends about us!

Jack purchased this cottage in 2007

Alexandria is FULL of history and conveniently located to downtown Washington, DC. We like the 'neighborhood' feel of Alexandria and the beautiful architecture, along with the convenience of the nearby King Street Metro and Alexandria Union Station.

Staying at The Cottage vs. a Hotel room. We offer the following:

Kitchen

Prepare gourmet meals or a Thanksgiving feast. The Cottage is fully equipped with all you need to prepare meals for families with small children and people with special dietary needs. Vacationing on a Budget? Eating at home leaves more money for shopping and area attractions.

Space

The Cottage allows you to relax in private (indoors or out). Enjoy the beautifully landscaped Patio with Weber Gas Grill.

Privacy

No need to hang out the “ do not disturb ” sign. For a romantic getaway or a 'get away from it all.' YOU decide when you want to wake up.

Luxurious Extras

We supply shampoo, conditioner, cotton balls, Q-tips and so much more.

Laundry

Separate Laundry Room where you can wash, dry and fold. We even supply the detergent and dryer sheets.

Convenience

Walk to King Street Metro or stroll into Old Town, Alexandria

A/C and Heating!

68 Reviews of Property 193588 in Alexandria, Virginia

LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
average rating of 4.955224 based on 68 reviews
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Gilroy, Ca
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
My sister and I stayed at "Jack's Cottage" during our recent visit to Washington,D.C. What a delightful experience! The cottage was perfect and Jack was a great host. We really enjoyed the private patio and beautiful gardens--a great place to relax at the end of a full day of sightseeing. The "Cottage" was very private, comfortable and inviting. We are already planning a return visit.Thank you Jack for making our vacation a "10".
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Our stay was very pleasurable. We liked the set up. It was small sweet and comfortable. The backyard was very nice. It was the last stop on our week long vacation and it was the most comfortable. Jack had thought of everything. Thank you so much
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Loves Park, IL
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
My husband and 2 children stayed here in early August for 7 nights. It was the perfect place to come back and relax after a long day of sightseeing. It was so clean and cute and very close to the Metro and downtown Alexandria. Jack was a great host and I highly recomend this rental if you are in the DC area! Thanks Jack!
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
San Diego, Californai
5

Thanks, Jack, for a wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Our stay was all we had anticipated, and more! Jack greeted us and showed us around this charming cottage and we were so impressed with the amenities......from incidentals such as cotton balls and Q-tips in the bathroom to a well stocked pantry - right down to spices and hot chocolate! Jack had provided us with a pitcher of orange juice, yogurt, English muffins, and jelly for our first day’s breakfast, but it lasted us several days. There was even a container of half-&-half to go with our coffee!

The yard is quiet, except for the song of birds, and we enjoyed relaxing there, enjoying the beautiful flowers and plants. The convenience of being able to prepare our own breakfast every morning, lunch a few times, and even dinner one night when were tired of restaurant food is priceless.

The neighborhood is middle-class, immaculate and very safe. It was a peasant walk to the Metro, but next time, we’ll take the bus to the King Street station. It was great walking there in the morning, but after sightseeing all day long in the August heat, we opted to take a bus back to the corner stop. There is only 3 hour, on street parking within a half-mile of the Metro station.

What more can we say.......if we go back to the DC area again, and we probably will, we’ll definitely stay at “Jack’s Cottage” !!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: ALL DAY Street parking is available off the main street, which leads to the Metro. Additionally, you can drive 12 minutes to Huntington Metro Station and park your car there ALL DAY for $4.95 (there over 3,100 parking spaces!)
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Charleston, S.C.
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My wife and I along with our two small children stayed at "The Cottage" from July 18th to July 25th. We were new to the VRBO website and were unsure of what to expect. It, by far, exceeded our expectations. "The Cottage" was tidy and meticulously clean. As advertised it contained a full size kitchen for preparing all of our meals, a patio for our evening cookouts, and a detached laundry room that was left unlocked whenver we wanted to do a load of laundry or two. The owner of "The Cottage", Jack, went above and beyond on any request that was asked and truly mae our stay at "The Cottage" a delight.
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Houston,Texas
5

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My wife and I were very impressed with the cottage. This place is very clean and neat. The kitchen has everything you will need to prepare meals. The landscaping is beautiful. The weber BBQ grill out on the patio is in excellent condition.

I cannot say enough about our host, Jack. He is an excellent host. Get ready to be spoiled at the cottage!

The King and Braddock Street metro stations are about 3/4 miles from the cottage, so prepare to walk a bit. We felt very safe walking to the metro station in this upscale neighborhood.

We rented a car to get around town. Parking in front
of the cottage was never a problem for our entire stay.

We highly recommend this property as it is an excellent value for vacation or a short get-a-way.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Wausau Wisconsin
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This was our first family visit to the Washington DC area. We were grateful for the relaxing private back yard that we came home to each evening to unwind. Jack was helpful in many ways from having maps and brochures in our cottage to help us navigate the area, to sending items back to us that we had forgotten upon leaving. The cottage was cozy, immaculate, and conveniently located. We wish we had brought our bicycles as it would have been easy to keep them in the back yard. We enjoyed the backyard immensely and had fun watching the baby robins make their first flight from the nest. We visited with some of the neighbors and found all of them to be very friendly and welcoming. We have rented properties from VRBO in the past and once again were very satisifed with our decision.
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
PA
5

Great location, great price, great host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
The title says it all. This is a convenient spot in Alexandria--parking right out front of the home every time. I was traveling with two little ones, so we used the gorgeous yard like an extra room. We grilled out and took meals on the patio several times. My toddler loved exploring the grounds as well. Upscale and safe neighborhood.

We had a great time in the area, making it to the National Zoo, USS Barry, National Cathedral, National Arboretum, National Botanic Garden, Mt. Vernon . . . all very kid-friendly outings. Vacations in DC can be cheap since so many attractions are free! The park around the corner from the house was fabulous--had toddler and elementary play areas and a sand pit with toys.

What truly makes this different from so many other rental properties is the owner. He is service-oriented and friendly, and was interested in making our stay wonderful. Because he is right next door, we were able to call on him with questions. Unlike other properties where you are dealing with an absentee owner or a rental company, here you have a personal touch.

The description is accurate--the cottage is tidy and updated, and every amenity imaginable can be found. And let's face it, the price cannot be beat. I would recommend this place to anyone. . . unless you are booking the same week as my return ;)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Delta, BC, Canada
5

Great Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Jack sure made our first trip to DC memorable. We loved the BBQ especially in the heat and it was great being able to make use of the patio area and not heat up the kitchen. The location is close enough to walk to the Metro at King Street which made it convenient so you didn't need to have a car. Look forward to returning again in the future, but not in the HUMID months! Thanks again, Jack & Nyla.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Lansing Michigan
5

Already making plans to return.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We have just returned home to Michigan and the cottage is everything Jack says it is and more. The neighborhood is beautiful and friendly. The house is great and elegant. Everything looks new. Our family of 4 would get up each morning, have breakfast at the cottage then head to the subway which took us to a short walk to the Capital. Usually we would be delayed because someone walking their dog would stop and talk to us about the area. There are so many friendly people in Old Town Alexandria. The walk to the subway is set in a very neat,clean, safe, up-scale neighborhood. Travel time to and back from the Washington Monument is about 20 minutes total. I could not imagine a nicer way to see Washington DC and areas around it. Jack is such an accommodating and gracious host. He is always helpful like a concierge but more like a friend. We wanted to stay an extra day but the cottage was spoken for. Jack was able to get us a hotel room nearby for the extra night. I had called for hours and everyone told us there was nothing available in the DC area. We stayed at a very elegant local up-scale hotel for one night. The price was three times what Jack charged us per night and the accomidations were equal at best with no kitchen. I can't say enough about the wonderful time we had at Jack's cottage. We are already talking to Jack about returning in the fall of 2010. This time we will stay longer and relax at home more. Thank you so very much Jack. We now tell our friends that we have a friend in the DC area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1