Playa Cofresi villa rental - Spacious 6 BR Vacation Villa with private pool, attentive staff, steps to beach
Spacious 6 BR Vacation Villa with private pool, attentive staff, steps to beach
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps19
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Playa Cofresi Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 6.5 Baths, (Sleeps 17+)

An affordable Caribbean vacation does exist! If you are looking for a relaxing beach holiday-- somewhere slightly off the beaten path-- while staying at a comfortable family-friendly vacation villa with private pool and with attentive maid/ housekeeping/ chef service, look no further. Affordable luxury does exist. Villa Vista Del Mar is a spacious 6 BR, 6.5 bath vacation villa. A short walk takes you to a lovely Caribbean beach protected by a reef so that the surf is gentle, ideal for swimming. No worries about rip tides, undertow or strong currents. Sandy beaches are dotted with Palm and Sea Grape trees to provide plenty of sun and shade.

This comfortable vacation villa has 7700 sq. ft. of useable space: 4300 sq. ft. of interior living space and a 3400 sq. ft sun terrace surrounding a 34 foot private pool. Multiple porches & balconies including ensure everyone can spread out to find their own space. A first floor master bedroom makes it convenient fro elderly guests to relax. You may find it difficult to pull yourself away from floating in the pool while sipping a pina colada, or from taking a nap in the hammock. You can chill out on the massage table as the masseuse takes over. Expansive yards and gardens (including a banana and mango tree) on 3 sides of the villa allows privacy from neighboring homes.

If you prefer a more active vacation there are abundant tours, adventures, golf, casinos & restaurants. Visit Ocean World Dolphin Park where you can swim with dolphins, sharks and sea lions; or try your luck at Ocean World Casino where you can dine in a 5 star restaurant and watch Las Vegas style shows... all just a 10 minute walk from our beach home. Explore historic Puerto Plata, 4 miles away. Or venture off on Jeep Safaris, Catamaran trips, White water rafting, scuba diving, snorkeling and much more.

Sample the menus at dozens of local restaurants…. You will fine everything from Dominican specialties such as langostino, conch and chivo or the usual favorites such as Filet Mignon, Chicken and Pork dishes, to kid friendly hamburgers, tacos and pizza. There are countless adventures and activities for you to discover-- all from the comfort of our beach villa in Playa Cofresi...

While at the villa you will be pampered by dedicated long term staff. The full time housekeeper, Nelsida, will cook and serve your meals, snacks and drinks and then whisk away the dirty dishes. She will keep the villa tidy and tend to your laundry. All you do is RELAX. When there are 6 or more guests, a second full time maid is provided to ensure all guests- moms included- enjoy a truly carefree vacation. In facr many females cry when it is time to leave because they cannot take Nelsida home with them

Julio, our full-time personal houseman, keeps the gardens, pool, and home in pristine condition. He owns a large van to provide airport meeting service for our guests. And because he is our private full time houseman he can be hired to errands such as providing an initial food package set up or going food shopping during your vacation.

And 'just in case' we have a full time manager available 24 hours a day to address your needs. If you need anything, the staff is there to help.

A local Cofresi tour operator provides advice and booking services for a wide variety of tours and activities: everything from horseback riding to jeep safaris, catamaran trips, scuba diving, white water rafting, swimming with dolphins, go kart racing, mini golf, spa services, golf tennis, and much more.

Playa Cofresi is ideally located for all types of vacationers... Stay in our lovely cove and enjoy the local amenities, or use it as a base to explore the many interesting sights along the North Coast. Whether you are looking to just float in the pool, nap in the hammock and relax or want to go out and experience life to the fullest Villa Vista del Mar caters to everyone.

You'll find the Dominicans are well-deserving of their reputation for friendliness and hospitality; they go out of their way to make you feel welcome in their country. It doesn't matter if you don't speak Spanish. Many Dominicans now speak and understand a good deal of English, especially in the tourist areas. But you will also quickly find that a smile or kind gesture will open many doors for. Guests have always managed and enjoyed the experience of being exposed to the culture of this beautiful country and its people.

So if you have an adventurous heart and truly enjoy being a part of the country you're visiting, come to Villa Vista del Mar at Playa Cofresi. Break away from the cookie cutter confines of an all inclusive and become immerged in the local culture. Be prepared to relax while the staff takes over the mundane responsibilities. Enjoy life as you fall asleep to the sound of the ocean and wake up with the songbirds.

Keywords: Luxury Vacation at Affordable Price,

Fully Staffed Oceanside Vacation Villa, Comfortable Private Family Style Vacation Home with Pool

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I grew up vacationing at beaches. We are beach bums. I spent my summers at the New Jersey shore and my husband at the beaches of Cape Cod MA. Although we may debate which is the better place in the States (NJ shore or Cape Cod), one thing we both agree on is that Playa Cofresi, Dominican Republic is the most relaxing and most unique place to vacation. Whether we are looking for simple quiet relaxation floating pool or dozing in the hammock, looking to swim & snorkel at local beaches, or want to venture off on more exciting adventures in the countryside there are always plenty of options. Of course having an attentive maid serving non-stop drinks and food is a big plus!

Our 3 children have grown up at Cofresi and think of it as their 2nd home. They benefitted from the “fun aspects”; the privileges of having a staffed Caribbean vacation home. But they have also had the opportunity to experience a different culture, to observe how people from other countries live and to understand that there are many different ways to enjoy life despite economic status. This educational aspect has been priceless.

In 2006, Donald Smith (Cindy's father) passed away and the property & rental management transferred to Cindy. In memory of Don's passion for his beloved Cofresi home, for his devotion to his Dominican family, and for his love of this colorful country we will continue to cultivate his dream. We hope you will stay at our beautiful family home so that you can share our enthusiasm for this wonderful vacation destination.

Cindy & John Charters purchased this villa in 1982

Villa Vista del Mar at Playa Cofresi has been our family's second home since 1982. We first traveled to this secluded unspoiled area back in the days when there were few tourists, supermarkets did not exist in town, horse-drawn carts were a common sight, and cows wandered about on our dirt roads.

This all began when Lenore and Donald Smith, Cindy's parents, went on a business trip to the Dominican Republic in 1981 and visited the North Coast where they were told they would find some of the Caribbean's prettiest beaches. They became enchanted with Playa Cofresi and on the 'spur of the moment' decided to buy property.

The original house was built in 1982 when there were just a handful of homes in this pastoral ocean-side community. When they retired in 1995, they spent more time in Cofesi made major additions & and improvements to the villa to provide more spacious accommodations for their extended family.

The property continues to grow and change with the needs of our family and guests.

If you are looking for a relaxing, comfortable and affordable vacation... maybe something slightly off the beaten path you have come to right place. Villa Vista del Mar was built for comfort, fun and safety; and with expansive yards on all sides you will not feel the intrusion of neighboring homes.

We have been in the hospitality business for over 30 years and have tried to think of everything to make your vacation run as smoothly and as carefree as possible. Our experienced extensive full time staff will pamper you to no end, but will also retreat to their quarters to allow you to have privacy. The maids will attend to all cooking, serving, cleaning and laundry starting in the morning with made-to-order breakfast and freshly squeezed orange juice. Throughout the day they will 'twist your arm' asking you if you'd like another pina colada while you are floating in the pool. Your most difficult decisions will be to decide what to eat and when to eat... The pampering does not end until they leave for the day... Or until your vacation ends

Our full time houseman is available for airport transfer service, to run errands, to go food shopping and more. We have a manager available 24/ 7 for those “just in case” scenarios, and a local tour operator who will come to the house to help you with the multitude of activities, tours and adventures. You will be well taken care of by the many people who have become our 2nd family. There is a detailed Villa Orientation Book, Suggested Meal Planning Guide, Local Restaurant recommendations, Descriptions of Tours & Activities and more.

When you arrive at the villa all you have to do is unpack and relax. Slow down. Go with the flow. Listen to the waves and songbirds. Admire the panoramic ocean and mountain views. Life is different, more relaxed. You will become quickly acclimated to the phrase 'no problema'. Hopefully you will enjoy every moment at your own private Caribbean home away from home.

101 Reviews of Property 2516 in Playa Cofresi, Dominican Republic

Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
average rating of 4.969697 based on 101 reviews
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
Columbia, SC USA
5

Everything We Expected It Would Be and More!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This trip was planned to celebrate my 50th birthday. My sister-in-law and I share the same birthday, so we decided to get-away from it all. We found that the Villa Vista Del Mar offered everything we were looking for; a relaxing environment with wonderful views of the ocean from the balcony -- and the sunrise was absolutely breath taking!

The extraordinary house staff definitely went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was exceptional -- as stated in other reviews, we too hated to leave them.

The villa provided all of the amenities of home with the added luxury of being a pampered vacationer!

We are already planning our next stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
New Jersey
5

Everything Promised and More

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Cindy -
The Villa was everything you promised us it would be ....and more. I could go on and on, but the reality of having to take care of myself and family (work, cooking, cleaning, shopping, etc...) now that Julio and family are not in New Jersey with us.... is very time consuming. Your staff spoiled us all and getting back to "real life" at home, has been an adjustment. I have told everyone who will listen what a magnificent home you have and how fabulous our entire stay was. I have sent out the web address to over a dozen friends. Thank you a thousand times for being such a wonderful "vacation angel".
Hope to be in contact again soon for another fabulous stay.

Sincerely,
Adele
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Adel,
Thank you for taking the time to write. I also dearly miss the attention and services provided by Nelsida, Mercey, Julio etc once I am forced to come home from vacation. It is truly decadent to let someone else do all the work... all the food shopping, cooking, cleaning, serving, laundering. Sometimes for just a nanosecond I feeel guilty, but I quickly get over that! The hard part is to "re-eduacte " my children upon our return to the real world.
Cindy
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
Boston area
5

Perfect Pampered Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
It is impossible to put into words the experience I had at your beautiful villa. The Orientation book states “Mothers will especially enjoy this vacation”. That was an understatement! My husband, 3 children and I stayed at your villa (1st international trip) and can honestly say I was able to sit back & enjoy every moment- Nelsida and Mercey made sure of that. The house itself is amazing, spacious, comfortable; we spent most of the time lounging on the sun deck & swimming. Our favorite spot at night was to sit in the big “lounge couch” staring at the stars. For once I was able to relax, be part of the group instead of worrying about the details.

Gus, the tour guy was a great help. He came to the villa & did all the work. We went on the Jeep Safari, an amazing must- do adventure starting with a ride through the country (we brought candy to toss to the children who chased the truck- they were adorable) to the grand finale of the waterfalls. All 5 of us climbed up to the 7th level (I heard there were 22 total!) and cascaded back down. All I can say is WOW. This was a trip we will NEVER forget.

We also spent an entire day at Ocean World and loved it so much we easily could have spent 2 days there. We also did the Go-Karts and spent a day at Costamber- a great beach with lots of cold Presidente

I cannot tell you how much we loved Nelsida, Mercey & Julio. We originally planned on eating out a few meals but once we tasted their homemade treats we chose to stay in every night. It was the best cooking in the DR! It is decadent being served hot coffee, breakfast-to-order, pina coladas, endless snacks, delicious meals and then go to your room to find clean laundry on your bed. They were so kind and attentive. It was fun to watch my daughter speak Spanish and translate for us. My husband and I do not speak any Spanish but we never had a problem communicating. You truly have wonderful people working for you; they absolutely made this a carefree, stress-free, fun vacation.

My one regret is that I booked for only one week. Next year it will definitely be 2 weeks. And yes I was one of those mothers who actually cried when it was time to leave. With your extensive Guides and answering my endless questions beforehand I felt fully prepared. Your staff took over immediately upon our arrival and made us feel like royalty. And your home was as comfortable as could be. This was a vacation I will never forget. Thank you for an experience of a lifetime.

Saly
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Sal,

Thank you for your enthusiastic feedback. Sometimes I feel like a broken record claiming “Moms especially will have the opportunity to enjoy a vacation” but it is true. It is true for me when I go to the villa and I have heard it countless times from numerous guests.

I am very fortunate to have dedicated, attentive and loyal staff. They make my job much easier and defintely know how to pamper the guests without being intrusive. The guide books were written after many years of hospitality experience and in response to similar questions asked time and again by potential rentors. All optional services that are offered were implemented based on past guest suggestions, and new services continue to be developed such as having the maids available to stay through dinner. The policies seem to work extremely well-- It is as close as you can get to an ‘all inclusive’ but with the freedom of having an entire villa to yourself.

I try hard to offer a comfortable family friendly home full of amenities and to have all the mundane tasks taken care of so all guests (moms included!) just have to show up with bathing suits & sun lotion and then jump right into a vacation. I am happy your family had a nice experience, and will look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards, Cindy
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
Cary, NC USA
5

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed in the villa June 5 - June 12, 2010. This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic so we did lots of searching for a private house with air conditioning (extremely important) in the bedrooms, a little bit of space and a pool. After narrowing our choices to a handful of homes, we sent a detailed list of questions to the contacts for each home. Without a doubt, Cindy provided the most complete, helpful information! We exchanged many emails where each question, even if repetitive, was answered completely. I also spoke with her on the phone for further questions and she was very helpful.

There are a couple of services that Cindy provides that were extremely helpful to us. (1) Airport transfer. Driving is at best a game of chance there and we were happy we arranged for the airport pickup. Julio (the houseman) was waiting at the Puerto Plata (POP) airport upon our arrival holding a placard with our name. We quickly departed the airport in air-conditioned comfort! (2) Cindy offers 2 food services although each service is completely customizable. We opted for the 3-4 day food pickup. As a family, we agreed on the types of foods and specific meal requests. We had a strict vegetarian in our group and this was no problem communicating to either Cindy or the house staff. Cindy provides a helpful sample selection of meals and drinks although you are free to add items not on the list. The net result is we enjoyed a variety of home cooked meals!

The staff was simply wonderful! Every morning we awoke to fresh coffee, and a freshly prepared breakfast on the covered patio. Lunch was served in the same place and dinner was left on the stove for us since the staff leaves around 4:30 pm. Each day, dirty clothes were removed from the clothes hamper and returned cleaned and folded.

Since we were looking for R&R on the vacation, we spent a lot of time at the house lounging by the pool. There are lots of paper-back books in the house (several shelves full) as well as board games. We played scrabble several times a day and enjoyed the house's reliable wi-fi (there are several wi-fi repeaters throughout the house so a signal was available pretty much everywhere).

We went on 3 excursions: the city tour (ok but one of the stops included the Brugal Rum Factory which was partially closed and thus, we couldn't take a tour there), catamaran adventure (very nice!) and the waterfall tour (very nice but note that it's pretty strenuous!).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Jeff,

Thank you for your informative guest comments. I take great pride in my dedicated staff and know that they work hard so that every single guest can have a relaxing vacation.

One thing I want to clear up and I hope there was not a miscommunication— there is always one maid willing to stay late to serve and clean the dinner dishes. Guests just need to request this service (ask Julio, or let me know before hand) and give at least a days notice. I realized this was an important service for many groups that arrive late to the villa on day of arrival, or return late from an excursion, or for families with small children... or even just for guests that prefer to eat in. Again, although the maids typically leave around 4:30 or 5:00 they are willing and expected to stay later (7:00- 7:30) when asked.

Secondly, I take every inquiry seriously and am always happy to answer questions. I realize for many people this is a new experience and they are unsure about renting a private home over the internet. Of course I expect alot of questions.... and hopefully I have the answers.

I have been on the “receiving” end while trying to explore private homes to rent. The lack of response, the canned answers that do not answer my questions and the lack of follow up from many owners is disappointing and frustrating. For that very reason I try to be informative, honest, available and quick to respond. Thank you for noticing. I frequently say, “Feel free to ask away”

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts. As always I am glad to hear when my guests enjoy their visit to Villa Vista del Mar.

Best Regards,
Cindy
Helpful votes: 19/19
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
NJ
5

Can not wait to return

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We stayed here last year Aug of 09. I could have not asked for a better vacation, We take 2 vacations a year and I tell you by far this was the most pampered I have been in a long time. The food , the home, the hospitality, the service all A++++++++++++. You have to experiance for yourself you will not be dissapointed. It is truly a home away from home, where you do not have to lift a finger. Julio, Mercy and Nesida are a class act. The whole process was a pleasure from the booking to the actual stay. The house is spacious and well kept, nicely furnished with all the comforts of home, The pool was kept pristine, and the food just kept coming.... You are truly SPOILED..I just can go on and on.... Looking forward to our return
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
Ithaca, NY
5

Pampered at Your Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Hello,
we rented your house in February of 2010, and I wanted to send you a long overdue quick note letting you know what a great time we had (Bunn/Brous/Burress crew).

Your staff was amazing. They stayed late on days they knew we were sightseeing, and we were definitely pampered, with laundry taken care of, drinks poured, food made, etc.

We were a bit unclear about how to be sure that they had enough food to eat, but they assured us they were eating.

Thank you for sharing your comfortable home with us, and your lovely staff, which became like family to us!

Sorry it took so long to write. I guess I was daydreaming of pina coladas (and it doesn’t hurt that my four-year-old keeps asking when we can go back to the Dominican Republic every week or so!)

Melissa
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
Maryland
5

A Wonderful Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
This villa was perfect for our family. The accomodations and staff were just what we had hoped they would be. We were an extended family of 15, with 6 of the family being age 10 and under. It all lived up to the owner's description, and she could not have been more helpful answering our questions and working out the details. The pool was great. Everything very clean. An ideal rental. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
NYC
5

Girl weekend paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
When eight women got together in a land far far away, no one thought each and every one of us would be totally happy. But one by one we fell for the charms of this one! One loved the cooking, one loved Julio, one loved the hammock, one loved the maids' generosity and kindness, one just loved that there was a lounge chair for everyone, and everyone loved the pina coladas. This is a great vacation spot for group bonding, and we all loved every moment of it. Thank you to everyone who makes the villa so special!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
Maryland
5

Great Caribbean Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Hi Cindy,

Everything was great. Julio and Nelsida are great people. We were treated like royalty from the time we arrived until Julio dropped us off at the airport. Thanks for opening up your home to us. The best food we had the whole trip was everything Nelsida prepared for us.

Thanks again,

John
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Affordable Luxury at 6 BR Staffed Caribbean Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p2516vb
+1 7814496312
Playa Cofresi Dominican Republic North Coast
New York
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Hi Cindy...

Just a note to tell you what a great family vacation we had at the Villa. It was everything we hoped for. Julio and the staff were marvelous. They were friendly (and downright loveable), efficient, and most helpful.

The food was good too. Everyone (including the kids) loved the pina coladas.

The villa itself is so lovely and well cared for.

The kids loved the pool and spent as much time as they could in it-along with the fabulous water balloons.

And thank you for you guidance and non-stop willingness to answer our questions.

Fondly,

Lynda & Jill
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11