Islamorada house rental - Wide unobstructed views of the Atlantic from the wraparound decks of our home!
Wide unobstructed views of the Atlantic from the wraparound decks of our home!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Islamorada House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, plus Queen pull out sofa in Liv Rm

THE VIEWS DON'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS! We are the ONLY truly OceanFRONT home for rent - and one of the few 3 bedroom homes- in exclusive ANGLER'S REEF, a boutique complex of 52 homes inspired by Native Conch & British West Indies architecture with quaint streets & walking paths at Mile Marker 84.5 in Islamorada. We accommodate up to 6 adults and 2 children in 3 private bedrooms plus a queen pullout sofa in the living room.

Relax in the lushly landscaped pool area or on 500' of stunning private beach. A boat slip is also available with direct ocean & easy Gulf access - Alligator Reef is just 3 miles offshore. (Maximum allowed boat length is 31 feet including engines, max draft is 3.5 feet and max height above the waterline of 10.5 feet.) Or launch your kayak & try your luck on Islamorada's famed bonefishing flats. Brand new in 2008, this home is fully equipped with all the best - even an electric fireplace for cool winter evenings! Large wraparound decks with numerous French doors take in the panoramic ocean views from nearly every room. Watch sunrises from your bed! Tile showers, Viking appliances, granite kitchen counters, 4 Flat Screen TVs, & more! See link to our many GUEST REVIEWS (above) & VIRTUAL TOUR (way below)! We are the closest home to the Beach -- just 200 ft away. And just 200' from the pool (close enough for convenience, but far enough to enjoy a quiet afternoon on your deck if you choose!)

Please see our Availability Calendar for open weeks. We keep it very up to date with the exception of leases in process which do not show as booked until the lease and deposit are received.

To view an all-inclusive quote for your week, please click on the Instant Quote button to the right near the top of the page. (Please note that Mini-Lobster Week -- the last Wed and Thurs in July -- is $200 extra.)

(***ALSO: See our magnificent homes for rent on the Outer Banks of North Carolina, HomeAway #121031 and #129841, on the 11th Green of the prestigious Currituck Club Golf Resort - and both homes have great views of the Atlantic!)

For Fishing People: PLEASE SEE OUR MANY GUEST REVIEWS for the best descriptions of what to expect at Anglers 140! Islamorada is synonymous with great fishing - gulf, backcountry or ocean. There are plenty of guides, charters, 'head boats' and boat rentals You can also try for tarpon, permit, snook, spanish mackerel & more at nearby bridges or the many other access points. The kids can even catch mangrove snapper or redfish for dinner right in the boat lagoon. Jack crevalle, moonfish, grunts, mullet & barracuda are there too - just bring a light rod or two (Basic fishing instructions at the house - detailed instructions can be emailed!)

You'll see the flats guides poling within 200 yards of the Anglers Reef beach! If you don't bring your own boat or charter with a guide, you can rent a kayak, launch from the beach, and try your luck fishing right out front for bonefish, permit, tarpon, sharks & barracuda. Or check out the mangroves near the Snake Creek bridge for snapper & snook!

For Non-fishing People: One of the reasons we chose Anglers Reef is that both the development and the Islamorada area offer a lot to do for people who are NOT into fishing. Besides the gorgeous pool area and great views from our decks and the private beach, nearby is great shopping & restaurants (3 you can walk to!), plus Founders Park, the Diving Museum, and of course Theater of the Sea just 1/2 mile away!

Onsite: Enjoy the wraparound decks and the views of the turquoise waters; swim in the large heated pool or just relax on our large wraparound decks overlooking the Atlantic; take a quiet stroll thru the complex; take in some sun on the private beach.

Restaurants: a short walk north are Hog Heaven, Smugglers Restaurant and the Island Grill. A few miles south is upscale Pierre's on the Gulf and the more casual Morada Bay beach cafe or Islamorada Fishery (all next to Worldwide Sportsman for fishing tackle, clothing, and a large indoor aquarium); also a few miles south is Holiday Isle, the Green Turtle Inn & many more eateries.

Attractions: Swim with dolphins at Theater of the Sea 1/2 mile south. Founders Park is just a mile north. Islamorada Chamber of Commerce visitors center is also nearby for more local information, as well as postcards, T-shirts and books.

Shopping: So much so close!

Grocery & Other Shopping: There are small markets in and around Islamorada, including the Trading Post 2 miles south, but you may want to do most of your grocery shopping at either the Winn Dixie a few minutes north (around Mile Marker 91 in Tavernier, west side of the highway - NOTE: There should be a Winn Dixie discount card attached to the house keys) Or at the Publix a few miles farther north in Key Largo around Mile Marker 101 (east side at a traffic light in a shopping center with a KMart). Buy your beer and wine there too - less expensive than liquor stores. CVS 1 mile south also has some well-priced beer/wine & basics.

If you are going south, Marathon (about MM 50-ish) has a Publix, Winn Dixie, KMart , and a Home Depot.

Also, if you are taking the FLA TPK down, at Florida City right where you get off onto Rt 1 is a BJ's Wholesale (membership required). There is also a Walmart there (but it seemed a little sketchy to us so we do not go there).

Lots of clothing and gift shops right in Islamorada!

More Details
Hide Details

We are beach people from NJ who love water views! We've owned oceanfronts and currently live in a bayfront home, but none of our home views can match the colors of the Islamorada Flats right outside our Anglers Reef home - from deep blues and greens to tans and aquas. That's why we chose this complex and this particular home.

Steve Sepanak purchased this house in 2008

Having visited for a month in the Middle Keys, we searched north and south for the right area for a purchase. Islamorada quickly became the obvious choice for many reasons:

1. An easy ride from Miami or Ft Lauderdale airports.

2. Great upscale shopping and restaurants.

3. Upscale communities like Anglers Reef

We specifically chose Anglers Reef for:

1. The great design, beauty and security of this gated complex.

2. The deep private channel through the flats to the ocean.

3. Easy gulf/backcountry access via Snake Creek.

4. The location of this specific home within Anglers -- on the southeast corner of the development, the closest home to the beach, and one row back from the pool (close but quieter than overlooking the pool!).

5. The design of the home, with amazing views from every room, one of the few with large wraparound decks, and the convenience of the 3rd bedroom.

Everyone raves about the views and the location. They love to relax on our large decks with a cup of coffee watching the sunrise and the flats fisherman, enjoy a dinner of fresh-caught fish, or a cocktail (or two) in the evening.

We also have the 3rd bedroom (plus the pullout queen sleeper sofa in the living room) so we can sleep 6 in comfortably in bedrooms or 8 total with the sleeper. There is an electric fireplace in the living room for some unique ambiance on cool mornings or evenings in the winter. There is a fully equipped kitchen with Viking appliances, a full-size washer and dryer, flatscreen TV's in all bedrooms and in the living room, and a quality Weber BBQ grill on the deck.

As a result, we do have many repeat guests - so please book your week early!

49 Reviews of Property 186650 in Islamorada, Florida

Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
average rating of 5.0 based on 49 reviews
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Virginia
5

We did everything...and nothing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We had a great stay at 140 Anglers Reef – a wonderful house and location!

We quickly fell into that vacation rhythm - Every morning my husband and daughter sat on the upstairs balcony to watch the sun rise over the ocean, sometimes we had breakfast on the porch outside the dining room.

My husband and daughter fished for hours off the docks, while I lounged around – my daughter caught dinner one night (two mangrove snapper which we wrapped in foil with butter on the grill) – I think their technique involved smaller hooks and shrimp for bait.

Dining: We ate so well the whole week. We had stopped at Publix in Key Largo on our drive down and were well set up for chow at home (and your kitchen was perfectly equipped!) – but we did indeed eat out several times: Island Grill was fun – good food and pleasant live music, we also had the lunch of our lives at Lazy Days, another great lunch was at Pierre’s on the beach.

Activities: We really enjoyed Theater of the Sea – for those people who do not like mega theme parks and are willing to slow down – the shows are fun and the staff is very friendly. My daughter and I swam with the dolphins, which was fabulous (I think going off-season allowed us to have more time in the water with Duffy and Stormy). We rented a boat from Holiday Isles and road out to Alligator Reef – it was a warm but windy day, so not the best for snorkeling, we also rented sea kayaks from the Kayak Shack down by Robbie’s (yes we fed the tarpon and pelicans too!) – the guy who runs the Kayak Shack is great, really takes care of his boats and gave us lot’s of info – we paddled out to Indian Island/Key and then the mangroves – fabulous. We also visited some friends who live on a canal in Tavernier and had the pleasure of a visit with a young manatee.

Most of all, your place is so gorgeously furnished and well positioned for taking in the views that we enjoyed just being there as much as all the nearby Keys sites.



Thank you for all your help in arranging our vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

Great house and location...and kitchen!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We enjoyed ourselves, and your house very much. In fact, the beauty of the house, its location and the amenities were absolutely one of the highlights. We wanted some place where our whole family of 5 adults could feel comfortable, be together, yet have enough space for private time. Your home fit the bill perfectly. We spent a lot of time there. In particular, I brought new recipes to try and we ate in most of the time. I was delighted with the kitchen. I found everything I needed.

I made an entry in your visitors' log, but to recap, we especially enjoyed:

- Feeding time (3:30) at the bird refuge.
- A day in the Everglades, especially the slough walk around the Royal Palm area.
- Diving with Quiescence Divers. They limit passengers to 6 per boat and are very good about accepting cancellations if one is not comfortable with weather conditions.
- Dinner at Pierre's. A meal at the Island Grill also was quite good, and fun.
- Bonfires on the beach. We heard that wood can be purchased at the nursery nearby to the north, but we bought ours at Robert Is Here in Homestead (and burned your old Christmas tree).
- Kayaking out from the house.
- Snorkeling at John Pennencamp. We snorkeled at Cannon Beach and did not take a boat. It was quite good as long as you went out over the "sunken ship". So, a small area, but plenty of fish very close up.

You might let folks know about the Winn Dixie preferred customers card you leave on the key chain with the house keys. We used it to get the member discounts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
United Kingdom
5

Vacationers from the UK

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We had a wonderful time and your home provided everything we needed as well as the Keys being an interesting and relaxing place. We are not normally the type of people who return to the same place, we like to experience the variety of different locations, but we are seriously considering returning perhaps October next year (if 140 Anglers Reef is available of course!).

Besides relaxing at Anglers Reef enjoying the beach, snorkelling and kayaking from there (Danny kindly provided his kayak), enjoying the swimming pool (it was like enjoying our own private pool at this time of the year) and of course fishing from the slip (caught a couple of small ones but we need a bit more practice).

We visited Marathon and Sombrero beach. We visited Key West and did the tourist thing of the 90 minute road train tour. Of course we had to experience the Theatre of the Sea and our daughter Claire was able to achieve her aim of swimming with the dolphins, it was an enjoyable day without having to travel a long way. We even ventured all the way to the Everglades and Gatorland.

John PenneKemp Park was really good and we particularly enjoyed a snorkelling trip (two and half hours) to a reef 5 miles out. Recommend it. Got some good underwater photos. Ash, who doesn't snorkel, found walking around the park very interesting with lots of wildlife including the brightly coloured iguanas roaming.

Dave didn't get round to diving but there is always next time. We also wanted to do some fishing but found the chartered boats a bit too expensive. It wasn't until our last day that we found out about 'public' fishing trips for just $40 and would you believe it some other visitors who had a boat there for the weekend we were leaving offered to take us out but it was too late.

We thought The Island Grill walking distance from the house was a good value for money with friendly ambience and live music. We also visited the The Green Turtle and Lazydays which although were good lacked a little atmosphere, possibly the time of year. Everyone seems to dine a lot earlier than ourselves in the UK - so as not to be rushed we would advise that you arrive around seven in the evening to eat.

We found the Boardwalk Pizzeria on our way to the house, which was very satisfying.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Texas
5

Anglers Reef 140 house on the ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Got in just fine. Directions were great. House is very nice. Wanted to let you know we enjoyed the house. It is a great location and worked great for us.

Rented kayaks from Robbie's, enjoyed a trip out to Indian key, good snorkeling off the back side of the island. Enjoyed Bahia Honda beach and a snorkel trip out to looe key, great snorkeling.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Florida
5

Feedback from Native Floridian

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
As I mentioned, we greatly enjoyed our stay in your home. We are native Floridians and go to the Keys for the beautiful water. My husband and son are scuba divers, and my twin 12-year old girls are getting quite good at snorkeling. My guys claim that the water in the Keys is just as beautiful and the reefs as alive with sealife as anywhere in the Bahamas or other Caribbean spots.

We like to take our boat down but this year we rented a boat for the week and that worked out fine. Our week included the start of the general lobster season. It was great fun. The girls snorkeled and spotted lobsters in about 10-12 feet of water and then my husband and son were sent to retrieve them from their hiding spots. They got several lobsters but let them go because they were too small. They did get two good-sized lobsters and they were delicious!

Our favorite spots for eating out on Islamorada are Tower of Pizza and the seafood restaurant adjacent to World Wide Sportsman. The strombolis at Tower of Pizza are huge and really good.

We usually like to go down to Key West for the day but this time we were just too lazy. There's something about the Keys that makes your metabolism slow down. We also have to say your home is great for those long afternoon naps.

Anglers Reef is a beautiful development and your home has to be the prettiest one there. It was great having three bedrooms and plenty of room. The pool was perfect and the whole development immactulately kept. The view from your wrap-around porches is especially memorable - the water color changes from the channel to the open water.

I better stop here. I've got Keys fever again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Southern California
5

The Best Vacation Spot in the Keys

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We had the pleasure of finding this little treasure and jewel of a home. Located in a nice enclave of new homes, we managed to get the best home in the entire complex. The views were simply incredible - views from everyroom in the house and privacy without compare.
The home is tastefully decorated and with every amenity available.
We enjoyed our coffee with views of the sun rising and dinners or cocktails with views of the setting sun.
The boys fished off the slips and caught 6 fish... it was a kodak moment to see their faces light up as they reeled in their catch.
We kayaked right off the beach - (Cowboy Outfitters delivers and picks up free).
We couldn't have found a better place. We have stayed at many of the 5 star resorts in the area and nothing and I mean nothing compares to this home.
We miss it already and can't wait to go back.
Thanks Pat and Steve for a wonderful vacation :)
See you next year.

The So Cal Clan,
Carlos, Norma, Kyle, Connor and Brandon

p.s. prime location in the Keys - close proximity to Key Largo and Marathon and approx. 2 hr drive to the furthest point in The Keys, Key West.
Islamorada has it all parasailing, snorkeling, diving, attractions, jet skiing, kayaking and so much more.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Florida
5

Aug 9th Guest Email

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We had a fabulous time. We actually had 38 people from our town staying in Islamorada at the same time.

Your home is absolutely beautiful. It doesn’t lack a thing. The whole house is filled with top of the line furniture, appliances, cooking utensils, etc. I love the built ins in the closets. They made it very nice and easy for unpacking and the laundry baskets were very handy.

The cleaning ladies were so great. After we had arrived they drove back by to make sure that the house was clean enough and to see if we needed anything.

The location of your home is so convenient to everything. We went to Theatre of the Sea, the sand bar and of course had delicious meals at Lorelei’s, Islamorada Fish Company, Island Grill, Hog Heaven and a new favorite of ours is The Green Turtle Inn , especially for breakfast and lunch. The Green Turtle Inn is just past World Wide Sportsman on the left next to Red Bone Art Gallery which is another place that we really enjoyed (Fabulous Unique Art Work).

The weather was pretty much perfect along with the seas. We loved to snorkel at Hens & Chicken’s. We also got to go off shore fishing a few times. They caught about 20 mahi total. We also did ok with the lobster (15).

Thank you for the pleasure of renting your Islamorada home. We will be calling you when we plan our next trip down. (absolutely love the Keys and need to stay longer next time)

Thank you for everything,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Kentucky
5

Guest emailed feedback

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Hello! We have settled back into the routine but we did have a wonderful time at your house. We had some rain on Monday so we drove down to Sombrero Beach and played in the water..We ate at Lazy Days restaurant and the food is great...also a great casual atmosphere. Tuesday we took the girls to Theatre of the Sea..they swam with sea lions..another great day.. We ate at the Island Grill...fabulous.. Wed we drove to Key West and did all the tourist things there. Thurs we arranged with Easy Adventures to take us fishing and snorkeling . Another good trip...Ate at Island Grill again...Friday we rented kayaks from Cowboy's which is south of Anglers Reef..They deliver them and pick them up at the complex..They also furnish the life jackets etc. Larry and our son thought that was heaven!! One night we ate at Bentleys which was $$$ but VERY good. The last night we drove to MM 100 south to Mrs. C's Kitchen..it was a locals type place but the shrimp and scallops baskets were fabulous as well as the specials. You can see we tried to play hard and eat all the seafood we could get!! Down time was spent at the pool..there were very few people there and we basically had it to ourselves. Also on the way to Key West we packed a picnic and ate at Smathers Beach in Key West which was pretty neat. Your house was perfect for our needs...the only thing I didn't pack was a hair dryer....but those might get taken if you provided them. I would definitely recommend your house to others...we felt like the location was perfect for the type of things that we like to do. thanks so much for letting us stay there..Diane
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Palm Springs, Florida,southeast,USA
5

Our family summer vacation of 2008

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Let me begin this review by saying "you'll be back"! Our family of 4 vacation with our sister and her family of 4.Our children are of college age and they still want to vacation with thier parents.

The directions were perfect and very clear. The description of the house and all the amenities were right on target.

The property was very clean and since it is very new the house was very well maintained. I can see it would stay that way in time since of it's special location.

As far as the customer service from the owner we did have an issue and they came to the rescue immediately. We were very impressed!

I've already recommended this property to family and friends.Since many of them have vacation plans already the possibilities of the future summer vacations are likely.

Our family have been visiting the Keys for many years and know them very well.

As far as activities, there are many. The Hogs'Breath Saloon at the bottom of the bridge before Angler's Reef on the Ocean side is worth going to. Very clean and the people there are very welcoming.

Going south on the same side in Islamorada is Holiday Isles where you can rent charters, eat at several resturants, beach it, nighttime music and dance etc. Good for adults and children.

There is Robbie's of Islmaroda m.m. 77.5 the right side the gulf side. You can rent kayak's and jet ski tours, watch and feed the tarpon and much more.

Theatre of the Sea is a few minutes from Angler's Reef where adults and children alike would enjoy the show.

I could go on and on but I will end the activities with going to Key West for a day trip. It's one of my favorite spots and so much to do. The best is the shopping and the resturants are many to choose from.

All in all I think you can say we loved this vacation home.
And if you don't want to venture out, do as we did every day, we lived at the pool and the view is all you'll need.

I hope this will help you in making a decision in the future and I won't doubt you'll agree!

Regards,

Liz & Al, Toni & Mike
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7