Santa Fe house rental - Sunset at Rass Mandal
Sunset at Rass Mandal
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Santa Fe House Rental Photos and Description
5br/3ba sleeps a maximum 12 (1 King bed; 2 Queen beds; 6 twin beds)

Rass Mandal is a unique adobe vacation residence situated on a mountain range of pine forests with spectacular views. Entering brings you to another time and presents a serene and inspiring atmosphere for all. The house and grounds of more than 10 acres offer abundant locations for quiet time. There are numerous hiking & mountain bike trails immediately accessible, some of which take you directly to the center of Santa Fe.

Rass Mandal was featured on HGTV's House Hunter's on Vacation with the initial airing on June 22nd 2012.

I put up a short clip of the show on YouTube (please paste the link into a new window on your browser): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TU0CS9gJrvs&feature=g-upl

Additionally, you may enjoy visiting the Rass Mandal website for more pictures. Please paste the link into a new window on your browser): http://www.rassmandal1.com

Upon entering the home you encounter a large domed circular living room complete with a fireplace, eastern antique furniture and beautiful views looking out to a pool. This space is ideal for group sessions, gatherings and entertainment. Off to the left of the living room is the dining room and kitchen area. The dining table has room to accommodate 12 and is a great area for entertaining and formal meals. The kitchen is open plan and has a Moroccan style fireplace and a very comfortable breakfast nook ideal for bird watching. Behind the kitchen is a queen size bedroom and a bathroom, secluded from the rest of the house with its own private entrance.

To the right of the living room are guest quarters, each room offers views overlooking the grounds and the entire Santa Fe valley. The master bedroom is complete with a fireplace, a large meditation/work area, beautiful bathroom and sunken Jacuzzi with views. Additionally, there is a 2nd story observation deck that provides expansive views over all of Santa Fe, the Jemez Mountains and beyond. The house is not air conditioned but given the cool evenings it is not actually necessary. Fans are provided should they be desired.

Heading outside, there is a large private pool with waterfall, hot tub and sauna. The pool is heated during the summer months (June 1st - September 30th) - however it is 35,000 gallons and heating is not feasible during the other times. Generally the pool water temperature will be maintained at 78 F in July and August but ranges about 74 F - 76 F for June and September. The hot tub is kept at 104 F. All this is surrounded by a deck and patio ideal for outdoor dining and relaxation. There is also a gas-fired Fire Pit for enjoyment during the cool evenings.

Rass Mandal is simply fabulous, providing a truly unique experience in Santa Fe. It's incredible architecture, shapes, and spaces transport one to ancient India yet with all the modern conveniences in an amazingly beautiful location high in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo mountains above the City with spectacular views. While only minutes to the historic Plaza, all the downtown cultural amenities and many fine restaurants, Rass Mandal is a quiet and peaceful retreat not to be missed. I encourage you to read the reviews from our previous guests.

More Details
Hide Details

Hi, my name is Richard Woodruff and I am an American born in Jersey City, NJ and now living in Santa Fe after having spent the last 28 years living in Europe. You can find me on LinkedIn and on Facebook.

Richard Woodruff purchased this house in 2011

Rass Mandal has unique architecture and is on 10 acres with fabulous unending vistas. It is in the mountains for easy access to hiking and mountain biking yet only about 10 minutes from the center of Santa Fe. The feeling in these hills is truly refreshing and energizing!

Staying at Rass Mandal provides a unique atmosphere that is not found at most vacation rentals. The house and grounds offer abundant space for renewal & reflection as well as exercise & sharing.

69 Reviews of Property 922520 in Santa Fe, New Mexico

Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
average rating of 4.96875 based on 69 reviews
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Great time at Rass Mandal!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
A group of five of us had an awesome time at Radd Mandal. We relaxed and caught up for 3 days and enjoyed the stunning landscape, pool, hot tub, and sauna. We highly recommend it!

Also, the owner, Richard, was extremely helpful and available all weekend to answer any questions we had. Also, if you look around the house, you will find variosu funs surprises!
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
4

A Restful Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Rass Mandall is a very unique space that has a special "energy"of it's own. It had the look, feel and environment perfect for our yoga retreat. The decor is unusual by typical American standards, reflecting an Eastern cultural feel. The owner is very gracious and diligent in providing all the necessary accommodations, details, local information and household comforts. The location is a short drive (or long hike) into Santa Fe, providing the convenience of town, with the solitude and exceptional views of the mountainous countryside. I would recommend Rass Mandal, especially for small group retreats.
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
Annapolis, Maryland
5

Annapolis Yoga Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was my second visit to Rass Mandal, and it was even more spectacular than the first. Richard, the owner, continuously adds new features which makes the home even more special.
New this year was the absolutely amazing fire pit. We were the virgin users, and it was a great experience being in the night sky with the stars and the beautiful blue flames.
The other interesting thing he added was homing doves. He had just set them up when we arrived, so they were still "homing" in their nest, but all other guests from this point on will be able to see them flying around their nest among the evergreens.
I will continue to bring people to this unique residence, as it is a wonderful place for us (and anyone) to relax, enjoy nature, and be in a beatiful quiet space.
Owner's Response: Hi Susha,
Thanks so much for all the kind words and I sure look forward to welcoming you and your group back! Perhaps you should also consider September as it is just beautiful at that time of year as well. Hopefully I will complete some improvements to the Yoga Pavilion before your next sojourn.
All the best,
Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Dream Vacation Rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
What a pleasure it was staying here! The house is just incredible, and Richard has gone the extra mile to make sure it is appointed with everything you could possibly need. It is more like staying at a friend's house than a rental.
The grill ran out of propane while we were grilling one night, and Richard was on our doorstep with a new tank within 30 minutes. Now that is customer service!
It was a little chilly when we were there so we didn't get to enjoy the pool or outside deck as much as we would have liked, but the sauna and hot tub were great (we are in the market for a 2 person sauna like this one).
The view is amazing as well. It is so quiet and peaceful up at the house, yet you are only 15 minutes away from the Plaza and downtown Santa Fe.
We were all sad to leave and look forward to our next opportunity to stay here. This was a 30th birthday celebration, and Rass Mandal couldn't have been any more perfect!
Owner's Response: Hi Michael, It was so nice to meet you and your group! Your amazing photo of the fountain freezing that first night :-) I will definitely try to drop by your coffee shop should I ever get up to Oregon. With Rass Mandal renting as it is, the possibility is very likely. I hope you find your way back to Santa Fe one day. All the best, Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Beyond expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Should you visit Santa Fe, staying at Rass Mandal is a must.
Rass Mandal sits on top of the mountain among tranquility and is an indoor /outdoor luxury beyond our expectations.
We had a fantastic spring break. Mostly because of Rass Mandal and Richard’s accommodations.
Richard was kind to accommodate our late arrival and he was considerate to arrange for our large group.
We utilized almost all the amenities that were provided at the Rass Mandal, Including Sauna, Hot tub, Yoga pavilion, not to forget everything in the kitchen...

We have gone thru quite a few vacation rentals in the past. Rass Mandal was by far the best.
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Beyond expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Should you visit Santa Fe, staying at Rass Mandal is a must.

Rass Mandal sits on top of the mountain among tranquility and is an indoor /outdoor luxury beyond our expectations.
We had a fantastic spring break. Mostly because of Rass Mandal and Richard’s accommodations.
Richard was kind to accommodate our late arrival and he was considerate to arrange for our large group.
We utilized almost all the amenities that were provided at the Rass Mandal, Including Sauna, Hot tub, Yoga pavilion, not to forget everything in the kitchen...

We have gone thru quite a few vacation rentals in the past. Rass Mandal was by far the best.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the excellent compliments on Rass Mandal. I would love to have you back should you ever find your way back to Santa Fe for a visit. Namaste, Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

spectacular home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What a spectacular home perched on top of a beautiful mountain overlooking SantaFe! We are still in awe of the homes many breathtaking views and comforts. Our family gatherings here were so warm and comfortable. We gathered in the kitchen nook every morning and evening which had a beautiful view of the moutains.We played board games with the kids in another cozy nook off the main dome room that overlooked the mountains. Everyone in our family had a beautifully decorated cozy room.We all felt so fortunate to have experienced Rass Mandall and the tranquility of its surroundings. Thank You Richard....we appreciated your thoroughness on every detail about Santa Fe and the house. We hope we are fortunate to return to Santa Fe and stay at Rass Mandall! Thanks again, The McSwains & Family
Owner's Response: It was great having you and your family enjoy Rass Mandal! Hoping you return one day! All best, Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Rass Mandel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I'd never been to Santa Fe before and my fiftieth birthday was coming up last fall. I got together 9 of my closest friends and we stayed at Rass Mandel, nestled in the hills above town, for the weekend. It was a very magical time! The retreat is gorgeous, spacious (5 awesome bedrooms, large beautifully decorated living spaces, a well-appointed and perfect kitchen, and a wonderful series of decks, tables, swinging chairs and a pool - with a wonderful city view.)
It was everything we hoped for and very conducive to deepening great friendships and creating some create memories. There's even a yoga pavillion on the grounds - practicing yoga outside, early in the morning was truly envigorating.
Yes, we'll be back again for sure!
Tracy Greenhalgh, Englewood CO
Owner's Response: HI Tracy,
Thanks so much for your great review - I am certain it will help future guests determine if Rass Mandal is right for them. Looking forward to having you back and all best, Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I love to travel and in our 10+ years of marriage our favorite destination has always been Spain. However since having twins 2 years ago our lives have changed and traveling from our home in LA all the way to Europe has not been possible. Deciding that we really needed to get away we did a search and found Rass Mandal. Online it looks gorgeous but WOW, if you can believe it, it looks even better in person. The home is a palace. Every detail is perfection. From the moment you walk in you can feel that this space is loved. Beautiful and unique, it is a work of art. We were looking for an exotic, breathtaking and relaxing vacation and we definitely found it. And to make the experience even better, Richard our host, was exceptional. His generosity and warmth really make this destination special. It is now one of our favorites.
Owner's Response: Hi Edean,
Wow - I really enjoyed reading your review - what lovely things to say! Looking forward to your and Sam's return one day in the near future. BTW: The fire pit is now up and running perfectly and thanks for the tips.
All best,
Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
Cleveland
5

Family vacation at Rass Mandal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We, seven, all had a superb vacation at Rass Mandal. We loved the venue, the views, 'our' spacious and beautiful 'home'. The owner, Richard, was very helpful and pleasant.
We hiked from the house higher into the mountains or into town almost every day. We cooked in the well appointed kitchen, relaxed in front of the fireplaces and in the hot tub, and enjoyed the views from early morning until late at night. We would recommend Rass Mandal to others. We would like to return there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Linda,
It was wonderful to welcome you and your family and you even had some snow to enjoy on your hikes! :-) See you hopefully for your next holiday in Santa Fe.
All best, Richard