New Orleans house rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

New Orleans House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths

Luxury Creole Cottage located in the French Quarter, on Dauphine Street, one block from Bourbon Street and three blocks from Jackson Square. This historic home, built in 1875, has been lovingly restored while maintaining its Old World charm. Two bedroom and two baths, as well as a large living room and den, are meticulously maintained. The kitchen and baths are newly renovated, with marble and granite, including stainless steel appliances in the kitchen. The furnishings are antique and the house has been decorated by a professional designer.

One bedroom contains a queen bed and the other contains two queen beds. The beds have new pillow top mattresses and all cotton linens. There are two adjoining full baths next to the bedrooms. It has a fully equipped kitchen. The amenities will make your stay equal to a luxury hotel. There is a relaxing patio, enclosed by brick and wood fencing, a perfect place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee or an evening cocktail or glass of wine.

The house is near all of the French Quarter's attractions: Restaurants, Nightclubs, Harrah's Casino, Jackson Square, The French Market, Aquarium, River Walk, Canal Place, Preservation Hall, Royal Street antique shops and Bourbon Street jazz clubs.

To be honest, the house is not really suitable for families with young children. The antique furniture and fabrics are not child friendly. It is best suited for adults who are looking for a beautifully decorated retreat. It is perfect for two couples.

We also have for rent a perfect beachfront condo in Perdido Key (Pensacola, FL) VRBO Listing # 294983, and two lovely mountain homes in Highlands, North Carolina, VRBO Listings # 303786 and # 298029.

Keywords: French Quarter, New Orleans, one block from Bourbon Street, Luxury Cottage, Antiques

More Details
Hide Details

We bought this lovely Creole cottage in 1990 and restored it to its original uniqueness. It is family owned and we have used it as a second home as well as sharing it with friends and extended family over the years.

MaryAnne purchased this house in 1990

New Orleans is a charming city with a sophisticated European feel. The city is imbued with an ambiance like no other city in the country. I went to college in New Orleans, Tulane University, and fell in love with the city and decided that a place in the Quarter would be a perfect location to enjoy the food, the wonderful architecture and, most of all, the people of the city. My brothers agreed, and we found this Creole cottage in 1990 and we have enjoyed it immensely ever since.

You walk out the door and are surrounded by the French Quarter experience. Bourbon Street is one short block away, Jackson square is three blocks away. You can walk to all of the legendary and iconic sites within the Quarter, enjoying the restaurants, bars and historic buildings, all right outside your door. There is no better location because you are in the almost exact center of the French Quarter.

42 Reviews of Property 294622 in New Orleans, Louisiana

French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
average rating of 5.0 based on 42 reviews
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
5

A Wonderful Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We spent the better part of five weeks in this lovely French Quarter property. The location was excellent, in the heart of the Quarter, with numerous attractions a short walk away. The home itself is spacious, with interesting decor truly reflecting the cottage's location and history. A particularly interesting touch was the collection of family photos on display, adding a personal dimension. Despite the formality of the decor, we found the house to be very comfortable: mattresses are high quality, bathrooms are modern with good fixtures, and the kitchen is fitted out with everything needed to do one's own cooking. (Not that we did much of that, with all the wonderful restaurants in the city!)

The owner was extremely helpful and gracious; she did everything she could to make us feel at home during our extended stay.

We will consider ourselves lucky if we get to stay in this property again on future trips to New Orleans.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Chicago, Illinois
5

The Best of the Best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
I actually considered writing an awful review just so that I could have this home to myself everytime I travel to New Orleans. I just returned from my 11th trip to New Orleans and 11th stay at a guest home. This home absolutely blew away it's competition, if it had any to begin with. The home is larger in person than the pictures make it out to be. The layout of the home was ideal for a group with split bedrooms and you can tell that an interior designer spent a lot of time, thought and money on the finishes. Everything was done with a meticulous eye for detail and any tolietry you forgot to pack in your suitcase can be found in the home. The side by side washer dryer and chef's kitchen were an added bonus and were used throughout our trip. Because my friends trusted me to find a home for us to stay, I really turned out to be the hero of this trip. Congratulations to the owner for hitting the nail on the head and capturing the true essence of such a historical, beautiful and well preserved city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Decatur, Al
5

Great weekend in NOLA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We have visited NOLA many times but after this weekend I'll never stay in another hotel. The cottage was perfect our trip. Two couples stayed here 3 nights and the only thing we could find wrong was we had to leave to come home. Beds were great, lots of room to spread out, watch TV, sit by the fire or have a relaxing drink oin the courtyard. We will go back to this home the next time we're in NOLA.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Scottsdale, Arizona
5

The Big Easy made easy!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This home is everything that one could ask for, and then some!! The location could not have been better nor could the beds have been more comfortable or the home been more inviting. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home away from home with us. I have told several friends about this fabulous find and I hope to visit again too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Denver, CO
5

Wow! We had an amazing time at this beautiful house.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The owner was very helpful and accommodating.

We arrived in the afternoon and reviewed a Help document provided by the owner. We were very pleased to find that there was a grocery store only two blocks away for beer/wine and food. We bought the essentials and waited for the rest of our party to arrive. After they arrived, we decided to try a restaurant just ONE block away called, "Eat." We ate at Eat (sounds funny) and were very impressed by the quality of food for the price we paid. The restaurant had a BYOB policy, which was strange at first, but really cut down the price of the bill. They also brought out fancy metal containers filled with ice to keep the beer we brought cold.

After dinner, it was time for Bourbon street, which was also only ONE BLOCK away! Needless to say, we painted the town and walked back to the house around 4 am. The area seemed safe, no matter what the hour was, but we also tried to walk in groups during the night.

The next morning, it was time for some greasy food to help with the hangover symptoms we all were suffering from. We walked a couple blocks to a place called Clover Grill for a delicious cheeseburger with bacon and a fried egg on top. There, we met an eccentric man peddling homemade, high-end soap. After purchasing a bar of eucalyptus and jasmine soap, we were on our way back to the house for a quick nap to recharge the battery.

This was just one night. Repeat this day four times and you can kind of get the feeling of how much fun we had and how it was so hard to leave at the very end.

Did I mention the home was beautifully decorated with fine furniture and accessories? The kitchen had everything we needed to make a quick lunch or breakfast. The beds were great and gave us the sleep we needed to maximize the next day.

All in all, considering the beautiful home, the location, the helpfulness of the owner, we can't wait to return to New Orleans and stay in this house again. Actually, as it turns out, we have another wedding in New Orleans next spring, so I'll definitely be in touch!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
"Thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality in your gorgeous French Quarter house. What a treat to walk into the door and feel like we were in a movie star abode."
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
'What a wonderful weekend! In addition to being ablsolutely beautiful, your home is so comfortable, warm and inviting and made our visit just perfect. Thanks so much!"
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2009
'Another visit to your glorious home. I loved being here-pretending it was mine. I love your style."
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
"We were all so excited to hear that we had a French Quarter house for our annual Auburn girls trip. Little did we know that it was the very best place to stay in New Orleans. The decor was perfect, the location was perfect and it was soooo comfortable."
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
French Quarter Luxury Home in the Heart of the Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p294622vb
+1 714-832-0166
New Orleans Louisiana
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
"What a place! Our jaws dropped when we saw how beautiful the place is. It was so kind to make your French Quarter home available to us-I'll never forget where I spent my big birthday. We can't stop looking around the house."
Helpful votes: 2/2