Old Town (Grassmarket) apartment rental - Storytelling bedroom
Storytelling bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Old Town (Grassmarket) Apartment Rental Photos and Description
A distinctly Scottish, luxury four star 1 bedroom self catering apartment.

Our self catering Storytelling Apartment (Visit Scotland 4 star), distinctly Scottish in nature is situated right in the centre of things on Edinburgh's Royal Mile - the heart of the historic Old Town. A great base to explore Scotland's capital city. The main attractions – The Castle is a 10 minute walk up the Mile and Holyrood is 10 minutes down. You do not need a car when based here.

The flat comprises a comfortable lounge (with sofa bed) overlooking the Royal Mile, a luxurious double bedroom, brand new shower room and separate fully equipped kitchen. Ideally suited to 2 people the apartment is an excellent base for a romantic weekend however with sofa bed it can accommodate up to 4. Please note the apartment is on the 2nd floor (US 3rd) in a traditional tenement and there is not a lift.

Included in the price are all taxes, electricity and gas, bed linen, towels, internet broadband access and a welcome basket with wine, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, croissant.

The Storytelling Apartment is the ideal Edinburgh festival flat. Like the city itself it is compact but full of memorable features. Set in a traditional stone-built tenement on the Royal Mile, it retains a distinctly Scottish flavour with modern additions designed to help you relax. So you can visit Edinburgh attractions Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle on foot then drink in the atmosphere of the Royal Mile from your window seat.

Where is Edinburgh’s Storytelling Apartment? You’ll find our luxury flat in the centre of Edinburgh’s historic Old Town. It’s the perfect location for a Scottish holiday or base to explore Edinburgh. Many of the best attractions in Edinburgh are less than 20 minutes’ walk from the Storytelling Apartment which sits halfway between Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace.

More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 400424 in Old Town (Grassmarket), United Kingdom

Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
average rating of 5.0 based on 49 reviews
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Kaiserslautern, Germany
5

Great Location--Wonderful Hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Fiona actually met us on the street in front of the apartment. The flat is exactly as advertised, clean, roomy and a great location to begin your daily excursions. Everything you need is in the room...brochures, leaflets and instructions on how to operate everything in the apartment. We took two of the tours from rabbies tours, the Highlands tour was great...St Andrews was just OK. We think it all depends on the driver and the personalities of the folks directing the tour. Food was great, across the street at the worlds end, they had Fish and Chips that could hardly fit on the plate and other dishes that were absolutely delicious. All in all, kudos to Fiona and her team at the Storytelling Apartment for making this one of our most memorable trips ever.

Dan and Kim McLean
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Oer Erkenschwick, Germany
5

Wunderschöne Zeit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Wir hatten (mal wieder!) eine wunderschöne Zeit in Edinburgh. Das Appartement übertraf unserenEwartungen; es war nicht nur sauber und mit allem Komfort eingerichtet, sondern bis ins kleinste Detail sehr gemütlich. Beth und Fiona sind zwei herzliche Gastgeberinnen. Durch die zentrale Lage des Appartements konnten wir schnell unsere Ziele erreichen und hatten nach den Fußmärschen immer gute Gelegenheit auszuruhen. Besonders genossen haben wir den Sitz am Fenster (really great!), um das Treiben auf der Straße zu beobachten. Bemerkenswert war, daß Fiona etwas Irn Bru bereit gestellt hatte! Danke!! Insgesamt eine sehr empfehlenswerte Wohnung. Wir kommen bestimmt wieder.
Dagmar und Dieter, Germany
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
West Chester, PA, USA
5

Absolutely Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We stayed at Fiona and Beth's flat for 8 nights in September, 2010. It is as wonderful as all the previous reviewers have stated. The rooms are bright and cheery; the kitchen is well-equipped; the bed's mattress is nice and firm with lovely linens. Everything is immaculate! (I could not detect even a hint of mustiness or dampness.Clean and fresh are the adjectives for this flat.) They also provide numerous brochures as well as a detailed list of Fiona's favorite restaurants and activities.They even kept in email contact with us during the week with news of events we might like to attend.With the welcome basket of croissants and the chilled wine in the refrigerator, you feel that you have arrived at a friend's home.
For our breakfast provisions and sundries, we went to the neighborhood shop recommended by Beth. We enjoyed our daily chats with the owner, who has a great sense of humor and knowledge of Scottish history.
I would agree with the reviewer that mentioned the street noise when the bars close. However, another tourist we met who was staying at one of the hotels near us said she could also hear street noise. When you are in the heart of the action, you can expect to hear the action! Beth and Fiona, ever thoughtful, do provide earplugs in the bedside cabinet.
The location is perfect for walking everywhere and is very close to the starting point for the tour company we used for 3 different day tours out of the city. The train station is about a 5 minute walk. We took the train to Glasgow for the day (They leave every 15 minutes for a 50 minute ride) and enjoyed a smooth ride in a wonderfully clean car.
I offer two other points I have not seen mentioned. There is a washer, but there is no dryer. I made the assumption that there was and packed accordingly. It took a while for jeans to dry! I also noticed that our travel underwear that usually dries overnight took a day to dry. This is not a criticism, merely FYI as you pack.
Second point: As you enter the building and climb the circular stone staircase, you are aware that this area is more dimly lit than we are accustomed to in the States. Don't fret. The flat is bright and cheery.
This was our first time renting a flat instead of a hotel room. We relied on the reviews of previous guests and were not disappointed. The bar has been set extremely high for any future rentals we choose to do.
Rent this flat and enjoy some great Scottish hospitality. We will be recommending it to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
New Hampshire, USA
5

Brilliant!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My Husband Tim and I stayed for 1 week in July. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to call home! We arrived unexpectedly early and Beth was more than happy to accomodate our change in plans. She greeted us with fresh cut flowers, croissants and a bottle of chilled wine. She even assisted us in locating a parking spot for our vehicle during our stay in Edinburgh. We were delighted! The apartment was spotless and had everything you would need and more - hair dryer, shampoo, lotions, towels, vacuum, washing machine, maps, music...I could go on! And Fiona was a gem! She was more than happy to share her knowledge and stories of Scotland with you. How we miss the Scotch Malt Whisky Society! Thank you, thank you, thank you Beth and Fiona!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Lorsch, Deutschland
5

Schottische Tage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Wir standen vor der blauen Tür und wurden von Beth herzlichst begrüßt. Im Apartment habe ich mich sofort wohlgefühlt, es wurde nichts zuviel versprochen. Beth hat uns durch liebevoll eingerichtete Zimmer geführt, alles war sauber und frisch und geschmackvoll. Nachdem wir noch die Telefonnummern ausgetauscht hatten (für eventuelle Notfälle-sehr aufmerksam) haben wir es uns auf dieser schönen Fensterbank bei der bereitgestellen Flasche Wein und Croissants erst mal gut gehn lassen.Die wichtigsten Lebensmittel wie Kaffee oder Milch waren auch da. Überhaupt hat es in der kleinen aber sehr feinen Küche an nichts gefehlt, sodass wir Sonntags ein excellentes Frühstück uns zubereiten konnten mit den leckeren Sachen vom Bauernmarkt Samstags. Unbedingt eine Empfehlung!! Wie so mancher Hinweis von Fiona Favorites (Danke Fiona).
Die Lage ist bestens um ED und das Festival zu erleben. So zentral, dass man sich auch zwischendurch mal zurückziehen konnte.
Wir haben alle Wege zu Fuß zurückgelegt, selbst nach Leigh. Man hätte aber auch sehr schnell den Bus nehmen können, da alles sehr übersichtlich eingerichet ist.

Für und rundum schöne Tage in ED in Beth und Fionas Apartment.

Vielen Dank
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
United States
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My husband, my 10 year old daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! The location is perfect... right on the Royal Mile and convenient for all sightseeing. The apartment itself is delightful! The only thing to beware of is when all the bars close @ 3:00 am and the crowd gets loud :) We took a train in from London and the apt is a five minute walk from the train station. Beth was waiting for us with a warm welcome smile and keys. She gave us a quick rundown of the apt, some key pointers and her cell number before she left. Fiona and Beth were both amazingly helpful and promptly answered all our questions. They also guided us on places to visit, transportation and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back one day soon.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Wonderful hosts and beautiful flat.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The description of the flat, location and reviews of the wonderful hosts were all correct. The property is clean and very well maintained. The owners provide service above and beyond what would be normal 'good service'.
I will stay here again and will definitely recommend to others.
Many thanks to Beth and Fiona.
Jessie-Lynn and Finlay
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
California, USA
5

Great Location, Beautiful Flat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We spent a week in Edinburgh and used the Storytelling Apartment as a home base for exploring Edinburgh, Glasgow, and the highlands. Beth & Fiona went out of their way to make us feel at home (Go Ross County!). The Wi-Fi, satellite TV, and laundry facilities were a godsend as well. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
Melbourne, Australia
5

I will be returning:)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
I took my mum on her first visit to Scotland and we spent a few nights at the Storytelling Apartments. It is in a fantastic location on the Royal Mile and we could not have felt more at "home".
Beth & Fiona were great to deal with via emails/sms arranging our stay and as our flight was delayed by 2 nights due to heavy snow Beth let us push our dates forward and was completely understanding about the whole drama.
Once you are settled in with the Scottish CDs playing and open your first bottle of wine (kindly supplied by Beth) you
wont want to leave.....thats why i will be returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Storytelling Apartment perfectly located on Edinburgh's Royal Mile, the Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p400424
+44 (0)787 9225 051
Old Town (Grassmarket) Edinburgh
NH, USA
5

A Winner!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
The apartment is nicely situated with windows facing directly above the Royal Mile. A wonderful window seat is perfectly positioned to allow an afternoon nap in a sun drenched spot or for early morning people watching as we sip our coffee and plan the day. Every detail has been well thought thru including a wealth of Scottish based movies and books to be entertained by. I have stayed at more than 20 different vacation spots around Europe and US and by far, the experience I had staying at the Storytelling Apartment in Edinburgh surpassed all. Fiona is a treasure who kept in close contact in planning our adventure and ensured every need was met.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 15/15