La Jolla house rental - Private deck is ideal for outside dining.
Private deck is ideal for outside dining.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
Cozy cottage with 2-bedrooms and 2-baths, comfortably sleeps 4 people.

Location sets this charming rental from many others. In the heart of La Jolla; a five minute walk to marvelous boutiques, galleries and sensational restaurants. World-renowned La Jolla Cove and WindanSea beach and surfing are within easy walking distance.

After a busy day of sightseeing or shopping, sit back and enjoy an ocean sunset from your living room. A large, private deck offers the best of Southern California outdoor living. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, this 2nd floor guest house is secluded from busy street noise.

This pristine home has two bedrooms and two baths will sleep four in a queen and two twins or king bed option. Features include rooftop ocean view, large private deck, open beam ceiling, operable skylights, hardwood floors, carpeted bedrooms, fireplace, a private bath in the master bedroom, and a fully outfitted kitchen.

The property owner/manager lives in an adjacent house and can provide you with helpful recommendations on local attractions, restaurants and shopping.

Amenities include a living room gas fireplace, central heating and air-conditioning, phone, cable 27' TV, VCR/DVD player, fully equipped kitchen (microwave, dishwasher, cooking utensils), linens and towels, washer and dryer.

Nearby activities are within walking distance or a short drive: first-rate boutiques and galleries, incredible restaurants, topnotch museums, world-renowned attractions (San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World, Scripps Aquarium), diverse sightseeing (Gas Lamp Quarter, Old Town, Tijuana, Mexico), first-class public golf (Torrey Pines Golf Course), public tennis courts and Olympic size swimming pool, fitness clubs, wildlife viewing (whales, seals, tide pools), ocean kayaking, deep-sea/surf/freshwater fishing, snorkeling-Scuba diving, surfing.

Beautiful and picturesque, La Jolla's possibilities for adventure are as limitless as your imagination. High atop the cliffs, golfers tee off on world-class courses, while sightseers explore caves, museums and other intriguing landmarks.

More Details
Hide Details

Husand and wife own and manage this vaction rental.

Lisa Maher purchased this house in 1989

Converted a long-term rental unit into a weekly vacation rental.

94 Reviews of Property 320957 in La Jolla, California

Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
average rating of 4.9722223 based on 94 reviews
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Lexington, KY
5

Beautiful Gem in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
As someone who used to live in La Jolla, I can say with confidence that this wonderful bungalow is perfect! It is in a great location - in 10 minutes or less on foot you can enjoy shops, restaurants, beaches, and entertainment. It is both clean and stocked with everything you need - and if it isn't there, the owners will do their best to accommodate you. Speaking of the owners, they are delightful. We enjoyed talking with them, and they were both friendly and helpful without being intrusive. This will be our destination of choice on our next visit to the San Diego area, and we highly recommend it. My only hesitation in writing this review is that it's booked when we want to stay next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Thank you for such a wonderful experience in your bungalow. We so enjoyed ourselves this trip and your place was the perfect respite to return to at the end of every busy day. You are such gracious hosts and you have attended to every detail – we wanted for nothing. Also, the location is perfect – close to everything. Thank you again for everything. We definitely will return.
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Aspen, CO, USA
5

A perfect vacation get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This cheerful, delightfully furnished and perfectly appointed, contemporary vacation home is located in the heart of La Jolla, one of California's most celebrated beach resorts.

We went ocean kayaking and surfing, visited the Wild Animal Park, and went to Balboa Park, Sea World and the San Diego Zoo. Add to all of this, some of the best restaurants and shopping anywhere.

We recommend the Maher's relaxing vacation get-away without qualifications.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Louisiana
5

The most relaxing vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2007
Definitely one of the nicest places we have ever stayed! Michael and Lisa are wonderful hosts! They're extremely accommodating and offered us tips on what to do in La Jolla. They went out of their way to make our vacation the most enjoyable ever. The condition and cleanliness of the property is impeccable (interior and exterior). We felt at home immediately. We will definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Wayland, MA
5

Our Second Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
This was our second visit to the Mahers guest house. We really love it there. They are such exceptionally nice people. Their warmth and friendliness can be felt in the guest house. They are completely responsive to any questions or concerns you have.

It's nice to kind of have our own place. And the location is absolutely perfect. We have family about 15 minutes away, all of La Jolla is accessible - shops and beaches, yet we're in the middle of a nice residential neighborhood. There was always parking (free!) available on the street

The deck is a remarkable asset for the property. It's quite attractive, private, and very comfortable. We were able to comfortably entertain family on a couple occasions. And, of course, the weather's always beautiful so it's always nice to be on the deck. During our previous stay a couple years back, we were there on the 4th of July and you could see two separate fireworks displays from the deck.

The only suggestion for improvement we'd have is for the guest house to have improved air conditioning. You don't always need it in La Jolla, but what they have there isn't very effective. And the plumbing is a bit quirky.

But those concerns are at the margin. We wouldn't have returned there if we didn't really, really like the place. Our kids (now both teenagers) love it, too.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Lebanon, NJ
5

Great place; great location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Renting via the Internet can be tricky, but not at this lovely home in La Jolla. Michael and Lisa are the perfect hosts - gracious, caring, available close-by if needed, and working hard behind the scenes to keep everything in perfect order. The description of their property is very accurate. Our only surpise was that it was nicer than the pictures! Everything is super clean, in good working order, and tastefully appointed. We were in town for a wedding and all our visiting relatives wished that's where they were staying.

Can't beat the location. You really can easily walk to town and to the beach. Parking is easy and a car is helpful to get you into San Diego and to see the sights.

I'll definitely return! It's a jewel.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
It was our good fortune to discover your cozy bungalow – it was perfect for the four of us. I love the location and the beds were so comfortable. We hope to be back again! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Chestertown,MD
5

Our La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
I usually don’t provide reviews of vacation homes, but this vacation home is an exception. It’s really our home away from home. The real stand out features of the home are its owners, Lisa and Michael. The little touches they provide make this vacation house a home. We have rented this home for three years now and each time it’s just as good as the first time we rented. The location is an easy walk to all of La Jolla Village. The upper deck overlooks the village homes and the view from inside the home provides a glimpse of the ocean.

The home is comfortable for a week or several months stay. We have looked at other locations in this price range in La Jolla and found that non other unit comes close.
carol and rich
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
Thank you so very much for sharing your wonderful guest house. We had a delightful time. We especially appreciate your thoughtfulness in preparing for the comfort of your guests. As a former owner of a beach house rental, I give you the greatest praise for what I never was able to achieve: comfort of guests with just the right amount of help when needed. We look forward to recommending to friends and hope to return ourselves for another stay.
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We were so comfortable and relaxed in your guest house. Thanks so much for making this place a “home away from home”. This location worked perfect for us. We loved the weather, we loved the beach and San Diego was delightful.