San Giovanni-Duomo apartment rental - The Florian: View of the Duomo from the bedroom
The Florian: View of the Duomo from the bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

San Giovanni-Duomo Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Unique 1 BR 1 BA Luxury Apartment Opposite the Cathedral

The apartment called 'Florian' is situated in Piazza del Duomo in the heart of Florence’s historical centre, on the 4th level of a prestigious XVI century palace that once belonged to the Ghiberti family, one of Florence’s most important historical families, with easy steps well worth the journey. Assistance is provided to help with luggage upon arrival

Spending time in my apartment is to be accompanied by the shadow of the magnificent dome of Brunelleschi, the grandeur of Giotto’s bell tower and the splendour of Vasari’s frescos, in an unforgettable dream that Florence will dream with you and bring you great joy and an even greater desire to return.

Florian directly face the Duomo, giving you the sensation that you could reach out and touch its magnificent green and white marble facade.

Piazza del Duomo is now a pedestrian area.

The apartment has been completely restored in Florentine style, but with all modern comforts.

Florian is a romantic and welcoming apartment comprising: A cozy living room with a comfortable sofa bed (120x195), a small and fully-equipped kitchen with a balcony that offers a charming view of Florence, a bedroom with two single beds (85x200) that can be transformed into a double bed. A small entrance hall with a splendid view of the Duomo and one modern bathroom with shower complete the description of the apartment.

Amenities:All modern comforts are provided: air conditioning, LCD TV, satellite TV, washing machine, dishwasher, microwave oven, coffee machine, A/C adaptor, safe, telephone, access to internet Wi-Fi DSL security door and entry phone.

Activities: In my flat you will find everything you need for a comfortable holidays.

Florian is situated in the historical heart of Florence and all the museums, art galleries and monuments are few minutes on foot.

There are also banks, post offices, a hospital, chemistry's, supermarkets, shops and restaurants.

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Luca and I was born in this magnificent palace in front of the Duomo and now with pleasure I propose my apartment for those who are attracted by the beauty of Florence and its history.

Luca purchased this apartment in 1810

The entire top floor of the building belonged to my family for over 200 years

The best location in the Florence’s historical centre

57 Reviews of Property 318191 in San Giovanni-Duomo, Italy

The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
average rating of 4.980769 based on 57 reviews
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
San Diego, CA
5

A Perfect Place to Stay in Florence!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
As many other reviewers have noted, this apartment is extremely well-located, super clean, tastefully appointed, and practical (with dishwasher, clothes washer, A/C, and wi-fi). After walking around the charming city of Florence all day, enjoying its many wonders, it was a real pleasure to return to this apartment (well worth the climb up the stairs...helps justify eating more pasta and pizza!). Luca was wonderful to work with...friendly, helpful, very organized about the reservation, thorough in his explanation of the apartment, and he had some good recommendations for dining nearby (try Antico Noe, for example). Thanks, Luca, for a great experience!! I will definitely recommend your apartment to anyone needing a place to rent in Florence! Noi ci vediamo dopo!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Vancouver, BC Canada
5

Very good location & beautiful suite

Very good location & beautiful suite
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed at Luca's apartment for 5 nights during our stay in Florence. The apartment is located right next to the Duomo and within walking distance to almost everywhere. If you are arriving from SMN station, it takes about 15 mins walk to the place. The apartment is on the top floor of the building, and if you have big luggages please be prepared to walk up 5 floor to reach the lovely suite.
The unit was clean and tidy and everything was as described in the picutres.
Upon arrival Luca greeted us there and showed us everything in the apartment, the unit has everything you need and Luca was so nice to showed us one by one from door lock to gas stove ,from shower box to washing machine. He was really a nice guy !!
There are few restuarants down stairs and they open until late, noise is for sure an issue but if you turn on the A/C and there should be no problem even for a light sleeper like me.
I will for sure recommend the unit to others and will definitely come back to stay if I revisit Florence next time.
I miss the beef bun at the Central Market and the T-bone steak at Mario, the wine shops around the street and all the nice food everywhere.
Luca, once again thanks for everything and look forward to see you again, and will refer our friends to stay in your flat next time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Ithaca, New York, USA
5

Florian Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My wife and I stayed in this wonderful apartment for a week in May-June 2011. It is right next to the Duomo! The windows look right across the piazza at the North wall and transept. The apartment is on the top floor and is a walk-up, so take that into account. You control air conditioning, there is a very nice kitchen area, and a modern bathroom with shower. We were totally enchanted by this lovely apartment which is tastefully modernized, but which has exposed beams and brickwork of the 500 year old building. The owner, Luca, is extremely gracious and helpful and provides the renter with useful information about how to get around the city, where to buy groceries, etc. The location is fabulous ... you can walk to all the museums, churches, and shopping. We would definitely stay there again and it gets our highest recommendation. Thank you so much, Luca, for making our stay in Firenze so comfortable. We wish you all the best.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Canada
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Stayed here with my mom in the last week of our three-week vacation in Europe. This flat was our favorite of all the places we stayed! It is beautiful - even better than it looks in the pictures, and it is in a perfect location! You can walk anywhere!
Luca was there to meet us and took the time to show us the apartment and explain how everything worked. He was very welcoming, and gave us many helpful recommendations for where to shop and buy food. It was also really nice to know that Luca was available if we had any questions or concerns. You can tell he really cares about his guests and takes pride in providing an enjoyable experience. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this property to friends!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Gulfport, Mississippi/USA
5

The Perfect Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My wife and I stayed in Luca's apartment for 5 nights (April 16-20). The apartment was very comfortable, well decorated and well equipped. Luca is a great host and will meet you when you arrive to show you how things work. He told us where to buy groceries, made recommendations on where to eat and shop. He even called the taxi company and made an appointment for us to be picked up and brought to the airport. The apartment is in a great location and is near most everything Florence has to offer. It is a short five minute walk from the train station and we had no trouble maneuvering through the streets getting to the apartment. This is a great place for a couple and a small child or two as the couch doubles as a day bed. I highly recommend this apartment and would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

A week in Florence.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
The apartment was spotless, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The location was ideal and allowed us to walk to all the museums, churches, markets, and restaurants. Lucca was very hospitable and helpful. He gave us some tips on where to eat and shop. We enjoyed our stay right in the heart of Florence and would certainly recommend it. Thank you Lucca.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Ciao Vince,

Grazie siete stati ospiti eccezionali.

Luca
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Salt Spring Island, Canada
5

The perfect spot for a short or long stay in Florence!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
The description which Luca gives of the apt. is totally accurate - it is a small but extremely well-designed top floor apt. in a beautiful old building from which you can almost touch the Duomo. What a location! The owner, Luca, is very friendly and helpful and will arrange a cleaner for you if you want (as I did). I stayed in the apartment for a month while at a nearby language school and enjoyed it's proximity to everything. I especially enjoyed being able to shop for food at the covered market and make my way home from everywhere. I am prone to getting lost but not here - you can see the Duomo from all over Florence. There are many steps to climb but I loved this - could eat all the pasta I wanted. I had friends come to stay for two weekends and found the fold-out bed in the living room easy and comfortable. STAY HERE!
Luca will give you some eating recommendations. I also enjoyed Il Santo Bevitore on the Via Santo Spirito across the river - for a more upscale dinner. It has a small winebar/deli beside it which is fantastic for a glass and a snack...an easy walk from the apt.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Atlanta, GA. USA
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This was by far the best vacation my wife and I have ever had. Luca the property manager was great to work with. The property was everything described. The airlines lost my luggage and Luca helped me find the best places to buy some and helped when the airline needed to deliver it 3 days later. You will get your exercise in on this trip. There is a lot to see all within walking distance. There are two markets with in walking distance. Going to them and getting the was a unique experience and saved money. We bought what we needed to get for food each day and was able to cook at the property. The train is easy too. We took a day trip to Sienna another nice city to visit.

Great Time, Great Place and Great Host.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to meet you.

Luca
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Colorado, USA
5

excellent location for a getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had an excellent time at the Florian. It was very comfortable for two adults and one baby. We were very impressed with Luca, such a wonderful host. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen and watching the people walk in the Duomo square below. The central location is perfect for a trip to Florence. Thank you so much Luca!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Florian Apartment give you the feeling to touch the Dome
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318191
+39 340 58 01 609
San Giovanni-Duomo Historic Center
Canada
5

Perfect Apartment in Florence

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I stayed in Luca's apartment for September and could not have been happier. The location is perfect, and the apartment is clean and modern, with all amenities. The description is perfectly accurate. Luca is a great host and very helpful. I could not recommend this property more highly, and would certainly return to stay here on my next visit to Florence.