Kealakekua Bay apartment rental - Ocean View
Ocean View
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kealakekua Bay Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

IMAGINE unwinding completely in a quiet and private country setting 10 minutes from the best snorkeling reef on the island.

You're tucked away, well off the road, by an easily accessed lane that brings you to your tropical sanctuary complete with lush gardens and sounds of nature.

The ohana offers ocean views and feelings of expansiveness. Spotlessly clean and supremely comfortable, including new furnishings, a king size bed, and everything you'll need to relax and enjoy. Wi-fi is included when you want to be connected!

The bamboo and redwood hot/cold outdoor shower area surrounded by lush tropical plants that provide privacy and beauty is a treat to experience after a day of play. (There is a hot/cold shower within the unit also)

The 2.4 acre farm is nestled at an 800 foot elevation on the lush and breezy slopes between Kealakekua Bay and Pu'uhonua O Honaunau National Park (City of Refuge)in the midst of the Kona coffee and farming belt. Our orchard includes 19 different varieties of fruit trees, as well as many unusual tropical plants and an organic vegetable garden. In true Hawaiian spirit, we love to share the fruits of the land as they are available.

We are located 30 minutes south of Kailua-Kona, through the mountain towns of Kainaliu, Kealakekua and Captain Cook in the up-country area of South Kona. A grocery store, favored by locals, is only 15 minutes up the hill. Restaurants, a natural food store and shopping are also close by.

They call it the BIG ISLAND for a reason! We are a couple of hours from Volcano National Park and a perfect base location for those who want to go exploring.

Keywords: Ohana with Separate Entrance

More Details
Hide Details

For over 30 years, I have felt deeply connected to the Hawaiian islands and Hawaiian culture and knew that South Kona was my true place. With a desire for a more sustainable lifestyle, I set about to relocate to the Big Island and find a farm where I could manifest my long held desires. I am an artist and farmer who enjoys swimming, yoga and listening to the incredible array of nature's sounds that abound on this property.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2009

The swimming and snorkeling spots closest to the property are some of the best on the island. On special occasions, I have swum with the spinner dolphin pods that visit those places.

The on-site art studio combined with the Hawaiian plant and animal life inspire a sense of creativity, reflection and well-being. I enjoy sharing the beauty, spirit and my knowledge of this area with our visitors who inevitably leave more relaxed, enriched and wanting to return!

40 Reviews of Property 306573 in Kealakekua Bay, Hawaii

Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
average rating of 5.0 based on 40 reviews
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Seattle WA
5

The Perfect Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
The comfortably classy ohana at Stacey and Tony's farm is the best place we've found for true relaxation on the Big Island. We so enjoyed just hanging out, listening to the birdsong and enjoying the view that it was sometimes a bit of an effort to leave. We found ourselves rising early for Kona coffee and fresh fruit, and still having plenty of time to reach the beach (Two-Step and Ho'okena were our favorites). The snorkeling was first class (fish, turtles, spinner dolphins, warm water), and we enjoyed poking around nearby botanical gardens, coffee and nut plantations and the Place of Refuge. Then back to the ohana for lunch before we ran off to explore another facet of Hawai'ian culture. It was perfect in every way! Previous reviews have described Stacey and Tony's warm hospitality, and we add our enthusiasm wholeheartedly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Portland, OR
5

This is what VACATION is all about!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Reading the other reviews, I don't know that I can say it any better, but will give it a shot. Day one in the ohana I woke to a cacophony of birds that could be described no other way than as magical. A smoothie breakfast with local fruit followed by a warm, welcoming chat in the garden with our warm and hospitable hosts, made for a great start of a vacation. As the week rolled by I lost the watch, wore less clothes, smiled a lot, turned off my cell phone, ignored the internet, enjoyed quality time with my partner, sang out loud, and truly had an amazing, relaxing, vacation. Stacey and Tony were generous, thoughtful, gracious with their garden bounty, and gave great advice regarding restaurants, beaches and other activities. They respected our privacy, yet were always available if we needed anything. The ohana was cozy and welcoming and the outdoor shower a highlight everyday - a shower outside among the birds, sunshine and beautiful foliageā€¦it doesn't get better than that! I agree with all the wonderful things that the other guests have posted. For us, we would simply like to add that this ohana is the perfect place to melt away from the hustle and bustle of life.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Oregon
5

Tropical garden setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We spent 12 days/nights at the ohana in February/March 2011 and had a fabulous time. The ohana is very private, surrounded by a tropical garden full of ornamental plants and trees and also many fruit bearing trees with a beautiful view of the ocean. In the morning you will awaken to a symphony of bird songs. The owners are two of the nicest people you will ever meet and they like to share the fruits of the garden with their guests. The ohana is located only minutes from two of the best snorkeling places on the island. Also Volcanoes National Park is less than 2 hours drive. We hope to return again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Sebastopol, CA
5

Pukalani (Heavenly Gate) is a fitting name

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We stayed nine days/nights and we so wanted to stay longer. The owners were very gracious and they live in the Aloha spirit. Everything was clean and inviting and very well maintained. The owners are respectful of privacy and very helpful about where to go locally for snorkeling, food, sightseeing, etc. They also provided snorkel gear, beach chairs and mats, which we very much appreciated having available. We had fresh citrus juice every day from their fruit trees and they also shared veggies from their garden. And the sunsets with the monkey pod tree in the foreground were incredible. This was a home away from home and we could have stayed right there for most of the vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
San Francisco, CA
5

We'll be back!

We'll be back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
My husband and I stayed four nights, and that wasn't nearly long enough. The location is perfect; I love this part of the island for relaxing, sunsets, the Place of Refuge, birdwatching, coffee drinking, hiking, and especially snorkeling. The property is very close to the best snorkeling we've ever encountered. And we got lucky and swam with dolphins there! The ohana is wonderful. It's so bright, clean, and comfortable that it was hard to drag ourselves out of it in the morning to go exploring. It has everything you'll need if you want to cook, and the enormous bed is heavenly. The owners have done a beautiful job decorating and outfitting this space. The owners! You won't meet a more warm and respectful couple. They are absolute gems! We recommend this rental wholeheartedly and without any hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Maui
5

Big Island Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Drinking freshly squeezed juice from the citrus farm, strolling through the lush green grounds and attending yoga class with Stacey (one of the owners) were just a few of the highlights during our stay. This area of the island is truly paradise and staying in this impeccably clean and well appointed space made the time all the better. Stay here, I promise you'll love it!
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
San Francisco
5

Relaxation in Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We were more than happy with our stay at this quaint and elegant studio. The surroundings were spectacular, especially the spacious and all inspiring Monkey Pod Tree that greeted us every morning along with the pleasant sounds of nature. The hosts are amazing people, salt of the earth, with local knowledge to share on yoga, snorkeling, sights, and when/where to swim with the dolphins. This was a great way to start our journey around The Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
portland
5

Charming location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this lovely and comfortable apartment. The studio was immaculate, spacious and well equipped. Our hosts were very gracious, doing whatever they could to make our stay memorable. They provided delicious fresh fruits and veggies from their garden, created a handy, detailed book with local maps and restaurants, and guided us to the best snorkeling spots. The apartment has a beautiful view of the ocean and the grounds are lush. There are yoga classes within walking distance and great Kona coffee everywhere. We loved the outdoor shower and preferred it over the indoor one because of its novelty. This place truly provides travelers with the Aloha spirit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
San Diego, CA
5

Exceptional Setting and Accommodation! E.B. San Diego, CA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Our experience staying at this beautiful property was truly wonderful. The simple luxury of the ohana along with the lush natural surroundings provided a lovely and serene retreat.We had everything we could ask for in comfort and ammenities and felt at home in the ohana. The owners are warm, friendly and devoted to caring for the property, with a deep respect for the Hawaiian spirit.When at Pukalani we had a peaceful sense of seclusion, while activities, shopping and amazing swimming and snorkeling spots were just minutes away. We definitely hope to return to stay here again in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Aloha Spirit! Peaceful+ Beautiful Small Farm in Primo Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p306573vb
(808) 333-2393 (Hawaii, USA)
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Los Angeles, CA
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I can not say enough good things about this property and the owners. The rental was immaculate and had all the amenities to make our vacation comfortable. The bed was fabulous. The owners were quite helpful in providing information regarding great swim and snorkeling spots and other activities in and around Kona.I would highly recommend this property and will definitely make a return visit!
Helpful votes: 1/1