Granby lodge rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Granby Lodge Rental Photos and Description
Lodge, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-14)

This is a spectacular Appalachian style log home nestled between the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park and Winter Park Ski Resort.

Built of hand-hewn logs, this luxurious mountain retreat is famous for the 'best views in Grand County' as you look out over the Continental Divide and Lake Granby. Its long wrap-around porch allows for excellent wildlife viewing in all seasons. You will enjoy a five-star kitchen with granite countertops, Viking cooktop and oven, GE Monogram refrigerator, other Bosch appliances while cooking for a small party or a large family.

Our hand-made dining room table seats 10 people. It is generously positioned to view Lake Granby and the Continental Divide. From every window in the house you will enjoy a wonderful view. Original contemporary art and antiques fill the home. Quality linens and soft goods are provided throughout. Two fireplaces and a large fire pit outside help you stay cozy as well as the in-floor radiant heat and sauna.

The elevation is 8800 feet so you really are on top of the world!

Keywords: Private Luxury Log Lodge

More Details
Hide Details

The Wunder family lives in Boulder, CO. We are a husband, wife and a teen girl. We enjoy traveling, snow sports, contemporary art, fine wines and gourmet meals. We moved from Santa Fe to Boulder to take advantage of the outdoor sports and athletic mindset that prevails in Colorado and Boulder especially.

Tom Wunder purchased this lodge in 2009

Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP), wildlife, fishing, hiking, canoeing, skiing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, horse back riding, golfing, snow shoeing, lakes, and sledding are a few of the reasons we chose to build in Grand County. There is aggressive hiking for the adventurous, beautiful less strenuous hikes along the Colorado River, and, at dusk, some of the best animal watching on the planet. Grand Lake is an unpretentious western town with the deepest lake in Colorado.

The views transport you and it is easy to spend hours on the porch or looking out the windows watching the colors, the sky, and the animals come and go. This lodge realizes all the images we hold of what a 'lodge' is: the hearth, the warmth, the beauty, the serenity, the comfort, the quiet, nature finding her way into the home. The windows are abundant allowing guests to enjoy all the views.

Cooking at the lodge is a communal experience with the kitchen producing meals that everyone proudly takes ownership of--crepes are a lodge favorite. On the wraparound covered porch is a large grill and a picnic table for 14-16 people. There are plenty of rockers on the porch for everyone to sit outside--chipmunks and humming birds are regular visitors.

If puzzles and games strike your fancy, there are dozens from which to choose. If you are a film buff, we have a serious collection of DVD's you can enjoy on our large screen. A beautiful 25 acre llama and alpaca farm can be visited across the road.

51 Reviews of Property 240966 in Granby, Colorado

Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
average rating of 4.980392 based on 51 reviews
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our week here was perfect. The location, the view, the scenery, the slopes--we couldn't have asked for more and to top it off, you seemed to anticipate all our needs--from tips on the best places to eat, to a pair of binoculars to scan the terrain. Thanks for letting us share your home. See you again next year!
Mindy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
Tulsa, Oklahoma
5

Spring Magic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
"Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home! The beautiful cabin exceeded all of our expectations and couldn't have been more perfect. The attention to detail in your home is perfect, we loved the decor' and all the art. We could not have asked for more! We enjoyed the fires (inside and out); we loved the alpacas (Paul & Judy were great); we loved Sol Vista; we enjoyed Grand Lake, but mostly we just loved hanging out and relaxing in the cabin. Thanks again!" Ken from Tulsa, OK
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Great house in Granby

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was our second stay at Wunder-view. Four active couples from Fort Collins get together each winter in Granby for cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. The house is spacious, modern, clean, and comfortably furnished/equipped. The large kitchen, dining table, bar and sitting areas make socializing for eight people very comfortable and accommodating. Then each couple has their individual private bedroom and bath. What more could you want? Oh that’s right- the view! There is a spectacular view of lakes and mountain ranges out the many windows to the east and south. We plan to return.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Fabulous Place for Family Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our family had such an amazing time at Wunderview! We all agreed-the pictures of the house that you see on the website, truly don't do it justice! It's even prettier in person! The house is gorgeous (and so clean) and the views are spectacular! Tom is SO helpful and goes out of his way to make sure you have the perfect stay! We have rented many vacation homes in the past, but Tom definitely has been the best we have worked with.
Highlights of our trip included snowmobiling, tubing, taking a sleigh ride, and having LOTS of snow to play in! We especially enjoyed being visited by a herd of 40-50 elk that literally were right off the porch on the hillside next to the house. We also saw three moose about a mile down the road.
We already miss not being back at Wunderview and are looking forward to planning another great trip there soon!! We can't wait to see what it's like there in the summer!!

Thanks for the fun memories!

The Marshall Family
(from MS, AL, and GA)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Awesome Christmas Getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family enjoyed a wonderful Christmas at Wunderview!!! An amazing property with owners who are dedicated to making sure that you have the best stay possible. They house is beautiful with tons of room. If you feel like up to it the hill behind the house is an excellent climb with fantastic views! Great skiing in nearby Granby. Enjoyed the quaintness of shopping and dining in nearby Grand Lake. The townspeople in Grand Lake were so friendly and made it such an amazing holiday for me and my family. We would definitely consider staying here again!!! We would like to thank the Wunder family for an amazing stay!!!
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
Colorado Springs, CO
5

Amazing views from a luxurious home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Wunder-view is an incredible value for your money! If you love Colorado’s natural beauty, you’ll probably spend most of your time in one of the rocking chairs on the wrap-around porch. This beautiful cabin is about 200 ft . higher than the lake , giving a truly stunning view of Lake Granby, rolling hills, the neighbor’s alpaca ranch and countless peaks. This property is a short drive to Grand Lake and Rocky Mountain National Park.
The owner, Tom, is incredibly informative and friendly. He gave us great information before we arrived and we could tell he cares about making his house guests comfortable.
Arriving at the property was easy. The house is just about 2 miles off of the highway. The road leading to the cabin is a well maintained dirt road. The driveway is aggregate and circles the house, providing easy access to the garage, the lower level and the front door.
The cabin was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The main level has an open kitchen and living room area, with a vaulted ceiling in the living room. Wunder-view is a true log cabin, with exposed beams and logs visible in almost every room. The high windows let in natural light so that indoor lighting is not needed during the day.
The fixtures, appliances and furniture are all high-end and give the feel of a small luxury mountain resort with a western flair. Most light fixtures are on dimmers, allowing you to set the mood. The Viking gas range is amazing! The furniture is very comfortable and looks as good as it feels. The radiant floor heating heats evenly and it feels great after being in the snow. The fire places are very efficient and easy to start. There was ample firewood ready for us. My wife and I especially loved the sauna and the extra deep soaking tub.
We also spent a few hours at the neighbor’s alpaca farm. They treated us like family and they were happy to let us meet their animals. This is an amazing experience!
I would recommend Wunder-View to anyone who wants a quiet place away from traffic and noise. It’s also a photographer’s dream come true. The changing light on the expansive landscape and the proximity to the lesser traveled side of the national park is ideal. I would choose this home over the four I’ve rented in Estes Park. The setting, the view, the tranquility and the price make this property a perfect package.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
Labadie, MO
5

Wonderful Wunderview!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We arrived at the cabin after dark and Tom, the owner, knew that we might have some trouble locating it so he left red Christmas lights on to guide us. This made finding the cabin so easy. The cabin was toasty warm, soft jazz was playing on the Bose and a wonderful bottle of wine was waiting for us on the counter, doesn't get much better than that for a group of weary travelers!

The cabin is so comfortable and has every amenity you could possibly want. It has a wonderful wraparound front porch with breathtaking views in every direction. It's so nice to sit on that wonderful porch in one of the rocking chairs and watch the alpacas that live on the farm across the road. Tom and Melinda left info about visiting the farm and learning about the alpacas.

Tom and Melinda were very easy and thoughtful to work with throughout the entire process. They provided lists of things to do, places to go, where to buy groceries and the best places to eat. The cabin is located near Lake Granby, Grand Lake and Rocky Mountain National Park so no matter what time of year you visit there are always things to do from boating to skiing to just relaxing by the fireplace. We were out and about every day but enjoyed the fire pit outside, the fireplace inside and the quiet evenings.

I highly recommend this wonderful cabin to anyone looking for a get-away in the Colorado Rockies, you won't find a more beautiful cabin, location and Tom and Melinda are just the best hosts you'll ever have.

We can't wait to go back next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
NY, NY
5

Can't Beat It!

Can't Beat It!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Thank you so much for your hospitality. At this point I would consider ourselves to be veteran house renters and what we've realized is that its' the little things that matter. You clearly understand that and have made your house extremely comfortable to stay in—it feels like home. From your personalized notes on what to do and see (we covered most of them) to a stocked cupboard and refrigerator, to toys for the kids—it made it really easy to settle in. Most home rentals just provide you four walls. You provided so much more and it makes a huge difference. We're really glad we spent some quality time here. Our little girls have a lot to remember….its their first 'smore' experience…such as city life! Your house is "wunderful", we wish you more happy years enjoying it with your family and friends.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a great time during our week! Besides beautiful, the home was clean, comfortable and has great views! Tom was very informative on local attractions and activities that were specific to our family as well as quick to answer any questions we had . We were made to feel very welcome from the start. The area is full of things to do. We boated, fished, atved, shopped in Grand Lake and relaxed-all were great! In short this home is as described in every way and we can’t wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Wunderview, truly Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
From the time Tom met us at the door until we left a week later, our Colorado experience was even better than we expected. For 10 people from North Carolina, these were a wonderful 7 days in the Rockies. The house is beautifully decorated and is so very well equipped it easily accomodated 6 adults and 4 children. We stayed busy each day doing as much as we could from Tom and Melinda's list of "Cool Things to Do". Hiking, horseback riding, boating, enjoying the delightful small town charm of Grand Lake, wildlife sightings - all were wonderful experiences but I must say our favorite times in Colorado were just hanging around the house. The views of the mountains, the lake and the alpacas; the "chippies"; time around the firepit, the hikes up the backyard mountain; a kitchen large enough for 3 cooks and a large dining table where we could all sit together to share our favorite activities of the day - all of these are the memories we will most cherish. Thank you, Tom and Melinda, for this wonderful setting for our family vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1