Beaufort house rental - Sunset from the backyard
Sunset from the backyard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Beaufort House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to the Low Country and slightly off the beaten path antebellum Beaufort, South Carolina. You've seen it in movies like Prince of Tides, Forrest Gump, or the Big Chill. This area is steeped in history with Charleston 70 minutes to the North and Savannah, Georgia 45 minutes to the South. A gradual and continuing 'discovery', which started here in the 1970's, has given Beaufort some fine restaurants and night life, but the pace is more relaxed than on famous Hilton Head Island, 35 minutes away.

Parris Island, with its Marine recruit depot, is 10 minutes away. Our house is very popular with families in town for Parris Island graduations. We offer a refund if, for any reason, the recruit cannot graduate as planned.

Our house sits on a high bluff which allows a furnished basement with a 9 foot slate pool table. Its view through the sliding glass door is of the fully fenced backyard sloping down to the live oak guarded marsh. The upstairs single story house is light and cheerful due to an open floor plan, lots of glass, skylights and celestial windows. The Master bedroom (with huge Master Bath) and the Great Room (with a Buck wood burning stove) face the marsh and river with an expansive westerly sunset view.

The kitchen and eating area have the same view through the dining room with its walls of glass that make you feel you can reach out and touch the river. An 8 foot wide porch (with 3 ceiling fans) that runs the length of the house faces a landscaped front yard.

The dock (with water, lights and electricity) comes off one corner of the backyard and offers easy access to the river and pristine marsh. The backyard has hosted numerous oyster roasts and crab boils. Shrimp, fish, and crabs can be caught off the dock (permit free).

The large floating dock has 6 feet of water at dead low tide (and 12 or more at high tide). A boat towed to the area can be launched at a close-by landing and following a 10 minute trip, tied up at the dock. Open ocean is about 30 minutes away with numerous fishing reefs easily accessible, or travel by boat to Hilton Head or Savannah relatively quickly.

This house is in a quiet residential neighborhood. Ride bikes that are provided, or jog or walk around the tree shaded mile-long oval that runs the perimeter of this older subdivision. Sitting on the front porch or the dock is always a treat.

Great value golf is available to the public at several courses in the area. Bluffton and Hilton Head offer world class golf at higher prices. Downtown Beaufort is about 10 minutes away and the public ocean beach at Hunting Island State Park with lighthouse, fishing pier, camping and nature walks is 30 minutes beyond. We provide a State Park Pass for free of charge access.

Beds: 2 queen pillowtops, 2 double beds

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

86 Reviews of Property 69054 in Beaufort, South Carolina

Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
average rating of 5.0 based on 86 reviews
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Edison, New Jersey
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed at this home while visiting South Carolina for my son's graduation from Parris Island in September/ 2011. The house was beautiful, the rooms were spacious and everything we needed was right there for us. We had a lot of family joining us for the graduation and we wanted a place we could all gather so that they can all spend time with our new Marine instead of traveling between hotel rooms. After the graduation, we all spent a great day at the house where everyone enjoyed fishing, playing pool and just relaxing. My new Marine thoroughly enjoyed being where it felt like home! We plan on staying there next year when we travel back there for another graduation. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay in your beautiful home!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
San Leandro, CA
5

The comforts of home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Thank you so much for making your home available for this rental. Our daughter was so surprised and happy that when she was finally able to leave Parris Island, she was able to spend quality time with family, in a beautiful and comfortable setting.

With only a 10-15 minutes drive (and that includes the slow-downs for construction!) in a pretty linear direction to Parris Island, the house is conveniently situated for the family of graduating recruits or for family visiting permanent party stationed there.

Our family came from Washington, Arizona, California, Florida and Texas for this event. Being able to enjoy Beaufort without hotel-motel drama truly lifted the weights from our shoulders.

Rarely do pictures tell a true story about a place, but the photos and descriptions presented here are very accurate. The house is beautiful and well maintained, and carried that comfort that can only be found in a Home.

In addition, the owners were pleasant and easy to work with and very responsive. We would happily rent from them again if our travels have us returning to the Beaufort area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Charlotte, NC
5

Had a wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We stayed in the house for our son's October 2010 USMC Graduation at Parris Island. The house is very roomy and comfortable. The rec room downstairs was a big hit with our son's friends. The property is gorgeous and the location is very convenient to Parris Island and shopping.
We've stayed at other vacation rentals over the years but everyone agreed that this was the nicest one.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Carrollton, Texas
5

Salve to the Soul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family stayed on this property in August '10 when we traveled to Beaufort for the funeral of our grandmother. Since ours was not a pleasant vacation, I wanted someplace homey and soothing for us. This house just felt "right". It was homey, lovingly decorated, convenient, spacious, and beautiful, and was exactly what we needed. The house seems to have an aura of family and happiness about it, clearly there were a lot of good times had here over the years by the family. Mema would have loved it, and it made us all feel at home. Thank you, thank you thank you for allowing us to rent your home, and please don't ever change it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Taken from email sent to homeowner:
We LOVED your house and we had a wonderful time. When I woke up (at home in MD) on Monday morning, I realized I'd been dreaming I was still at your house - and I was sorely disappointed!!

Yes, it was so wonderful to see our son after all these months. There was not a dry eye among us when we finally got to hug him! He is thrilled with his decision to join the Marines and we're so happy for him.

I wrote in the Journal book on your coffee table, but I was tired and in a hurry, so I don't think I expressed myself very well. Your home and property are so amazing. The kids loved the dock, the pool table and the basketball area. The adults loved the hot tub and the front porch. And I could live in the master bath! We appreciated all the helpful info, directions and pamphlets in the binder, and the guest pass to Hunting Island State Park.

We loved everything about our visit to SC. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. We were fascinated by the effect of the tide on the river, and the foliage, which is so different from our area. We even went to the beach on Saturday and had a great time. We couldn't believe how warm the ocean was! In Maryland, the ocean is not that warm - even in August!

If we're ever in your area again, we will definitely contact you! (We have 3 sons who are younger than Tim, our new Marine, and they are all very impressed with their brother, so it's possible that we'll be going back!)

Many, many thanks!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Taken from email sent to homeowner:
We had a great time! The kids loved swimming at the beaches, but also off of the dock. Had great meals at 11th St Docksides in Port Royal as well as at Panini's. Went on numerous trips to the Sand's Beach Boardwalk where the fishermen were so kind in letting the kids pull in some shark and stingrays. Overall had a great time, your home was thoroughly warm and comforting. Thanks again for allowing us to use it.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 18, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Taken from email sent to homeowner:
We had a blast at your house. We could not find anything we did not like. We do a lot of cooking and the kitchen was great. The front porch was nice but my favorite was the dock. I drank my coffee there in the morning. We had two boats and went out a bunch. Did some fishing but didn't have any luck, but didn't care. Any day on the water is a great day.
We hope you would allow us to rent it again some day, if we have the next conference there in two years or maybe for the weekend sometime.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Taken from guestbook:
Our family cannot get over how stunning this house is. Like many of the other people who have written in this guest journal, we were here for a Marine graduation and staying in a place like this with the breathtaking view and serene neighborhood made the whole experience so much better. Also, we're from Pittsburgh and couldn't completely wrap our heads around the different, yet gorgeous terrain. So thank you very much for allowing us to stay here. Nothing could have been more perfect.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Taken from guestbook:
This is a lovely house and I can't tell you how wonderful it has been to spend this happy time (our grandson's graduation from the Marine boot camp) in such a warm, friendly, and comfortable house.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
Taken from guestbook:
Spent 3 lovely days enjoying our stay here in this comfortable surrounding. Fishing was good. Our grandson Marine was here with Mom, Dad, sis, girlfriend, 2 grams, and a gramps. Would like to come back! God is good.
Helpful votes: 1/1