Cazadero estate rental - Austin Creek Retreat at Night
Austin Creek Retreat at Night
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Cazadero Estate Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.0 Baths (Sleeps 8)

Elements Retreat is a majestic compound located on a five acre ridge above historic Austin Creek.

The grounds have been landscape with indigenous grasses and ferns, highlighting the phenomenal native redwood trees. Pathways wind throughout, offering innumerable walks among ever-changing scenery, including a serene pond and enchanting waterfall to delight and awaken the senses. When you hike from the main compound, pathways become forest trails beckoning further into remote adjoining terrains still on the property Extended walks offer seasonal streams and waterfalls, in addition to Austin Creek itself, with its numerous swimming holes and opportunities for creek wading. The entire retreat is professionally lit to a stunning degree, complimenting its allure day and night

Entertaining large groups is effortless and everyone can have their own privacy, while gathering together in the large entertaining areas.

The Main House: The main house is a contemporary craftsman style structure with a great room, master bedroom and two bathrooms. One of which is exceptionally large with multiple shower heads and a Zen inspired private garden. The fully appointed kitchen is centered around a granite island and can accommodate multiple chefs. Appliances include a professional six burner Wolf range/oven, micro wave drawer, Stainless refrigerator/freezer, and garbage compactor. The Great Room does have the latest in video, audio and Internet capabilities if that need strikes. The lodge is replete with fine attention to every detail, from the refectory style dining table, the deep leather sofa, to custom designed candle chandelier, which radiates throughout the main living area.

The West Terrace and Buddha Garden: The West Terrace and Buddha Garden off the main house is an example of what makes this estate so unique. The outdoor kitchen and gardens were crafted from river stone years ago when the property was a summer campsite. The outdoor kitchen has been restored and updated and includes a state of the art gas BBQ, sink, lighting and herb garden. The original river stone fire pit is now, the focal point of a modern and sophisticated outside entertainment area. The dinning table was custom made from the center cut of a local redwood tree and seats fourteen plus people. It’s the perfect setting for a large family gathering or a special event.

The guest house: The guest house has its own terrace and seating area. Its windows have beautiful garden views too, but with different vistas, giving this two-bedroom space a unique atmosphere and privacy. It has king and queen sleeping accommodations. A spacious multi shower head bathroom offers a mini spa experience off a secluded and private patio.

The Cabin is a secluded gem on the compound. It has a king size bed and full bath with its outside shower. It adjoins the large east terrace that has vistas into the Redwoods.

The Yoga Studio is situated in quiet of the lower gardens. It does have adjustable weights and an iPod player for guests use.

More Details
Hide Details

I have been living in Northern California for many years. Although I always consider San Francisco 'home', I have had a vineyard in Napa (Blackbird) and now Elements in Sonoma County.

I was born in Miami Beach but raised on the West Coast. I attended UCSB, and was an avid sailor for many years. I now have started to really enjoy my retirement years spending time at Elements.

Michael Hastings purchased this estate in 2007

The western part of Sonoma Valley has a much milder climate, its why its ideal for the Pinot Grapes. The small towns of Sebastopol, Guerneville, and Monte and reminiscent of an easier time. I choose the area because it reminded me of an early version of Napa Valley. This area has a blend of fine wines and great food, along with a unique environment with the Redwoods and Coast.

I like living in the country, and when I first visited the property, all my senses seemed to come alive. There is a tranquility and peacefulness that seems unique. And then there is the view, over the canyon, and above the Redwoods. All of that, and abundant sunlight just made me realize it was my home.

53 Reviews of Property 238215 in Cazadero, California

Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 53 reviews
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Springfield, Missouri
5

Mini family reunion at Elements

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Absolutely perfect in every way. We will DEFINITELY be back. If you are looking for that perfect place to fall in love with yourself again or for the first time, this would be the place. We spent 5 days there with our family (6 adults & one 2 yr. old) and it was amazing. Our little Lily called it our "cave". We didn't take any toys for her and she had the time of her life playing with rocks, flowers, herbs & pine cones. We made pies with all these things and it was very delicious! Her favorite "cave" was the "yoga cave". We danced, did many downward dog and sang our hearts out! Very close to wineries & excellent restaurants. Highly recommend Raymond's bakery for breakfast pastries and Friday night pizza under the stars & redwood trees. There just isn't enough room here to say everything good about Elements not to mention the fact words can't explain the beauty. Like I said, we will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so gratified when Elements gets this kind of review. It is a pleasure to share this special spot and an immense personal gratification when I know that my guests enjoy it as much as I do. Elements itself is serene, and time here seems to only be marked by the sunrise and sunset. The Russian River area has all sorts of attractions, from the wineries to dining. But I think its the simple pleasures of playing with rocks, and "dancing in the cave (decks)" that is the true meaning of joy.
I am so glad Lilly and her family enjoyed their vacation, and I am eager to have them return.
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Pickerington, Ohio
5

Secluded Redwood Compound...Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
A group of eight (4 couples) rented this 3 unit compound for the week of July 9th. What an amazing property. Everything outlined in the VRBO site and Owners Website is accurate. It's a very special place with out all the noise and neighbors of nearby Guerneville. 5 miles or so to town or the Ocean. And two miles or so to Raymond's Bakery (amazing pizza). Breakfast at nearby Sam's Holey Cow is not to be missed...but you won't want to leave this fully equiped gormet kitchen. The grill, outdoor living areas, redwood soaking tub and redwood deck (with stream) are special places to take in this magical area. The compound (as we called it) is really a 3 bedroom (but 4th bedroom is a nice king pullout couch with flatscreen TV). Very nice for 4 couples....would totally stay here again and Michael the owner is so helpful. He quickly returns emails, answers questions about the stay and follows up to make sure we are happy all via email. I've rented a few high end properties in the area over the past few years and this is by far the best. Relax and Enjoy the views! p.s. be sure to walk down the hill and across the street to creek hop on Cazadero Creek...very sweet!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I know the guys had a great time, they seemed to enjoy my same favorite haunts and dining spots. They also mentioned they tried the new zipline in Occidental. I am particularly happy they enjoyed time at the house, and really took in the surrounding countryside. Elements is such a rare spot, the views are forever changing.
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
San Francisco
5

Great getaway close to the city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We rented this property for friends and family from out of town to celebrate a birthday. It was a wonderful location to bring together multiple generations. The Elements is a gracious host. Generously giving space and facilitating conversation and good times. The beautiful grounds and appointments are the perfect place for a large family group to gather and celebrate. We had nine adults and one child. The property allowed us to all be together and when we wanted to have our own separate spaces.
Michael was extremely helpful, offering contacts for catering and information on local sights and events.
If you travel with an infant/toddler, you will need to bring a high chair and pack-n-play.
We enjoyed the Elements immensely and hope you will too.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Austin,TX
5

A weekend at The Elements

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband and I and two other couples stayed at The Elements May 6-8, 2011. We stayed one evening at Solage Calistoga and had an amazing time, then it was time to drive West to The Elements. I was worried that maybe I had made the wrong decision and should have stayed at the hotel the entire 3-day weekend. Then we arrived. For one, the property was gorgeous: up on a hill surrounded by beautiful redwoods, stream running nearby, and the gorgeous view of surrounding mountains. Each house was immaculate and well-appointed with everything we needed and more, and the outdoor entertainment areas were fabulous. My absolute favorite piece of this property was the hot tub area. A deep, wooden hot tub built into a deck surrounded by redwoods (just as the photo shows). The lighting is perfect and made the experience complete. We could see the beautiful trees and the stars above us.

We were able to spend a day driving around the area and easily made it down to Bodega Bay for beautiful views of the coastline, then to Guerneville to Boon eat+drink (yum!), and on to wineries and dinner in Healdsburg. Despite the remoteness of The Elements, we felt that we easily enjoyed the Russian River Valley. The combination of one night in Napa Valley and two at The Elements made our trip perfect. I wanted two completely different environments in one short trip, and I came home so well-rested and refreshed!

Michael was very nice and accommodating despite my late arrival, took the time to show us around, and even set up our cell phones on his 3G MicroCell signal booster.

One more note: make sure you make it down to Raymond's Bakery. Wonderful breads and pastries (and the pizza looked so good, but didn't get to try any). Raymond and his family, and the staff were extremely welcoming and sweet!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am sometimes forgetful about asking guests for a review, I now how important time is these days. But when I see a response like Jamie's, I get a real sense of satisfaction. I want guests to enjoy Elements like I do, and to really enjoy its incredible serenity. I agree with Jamie about Raymonds Bakery, and Boon Eat and Drink. But Jamie was here for only two days and just began to experience the real magic. When you stay longer, you really understand that time here seems to move slower, and you smile more often.
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Mountain View, CA
5

Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Cazadero is not exactly a well known place to rest while enjoying the wine country in the Russian River Valley or the Sonoma Coast. This beautiful, peaceful abode hidden on a winding but beautiful road adjoining the Austin Creek, is a great place to unwind with some good friends while enjoying the bountiful liquid nourishment of the region.

A few friends and I stayed at "The Elements" over a weekend recently and had a fantastic time at the house. It consists of three separate but adjoining buildings. The main building has a great kitchen and is ideal for those who like to cook as the equipment is all commercial-grade. We were a group of guys traveling without our families trying to relive our days from grad school. In the evenings, we lit the fire in the pit outside and at night, we soaked in the hot tub set in the middle of a fairy ring of redwoods while watching the stars on a cloudless sky.

The host Michael was there to greet us when we arrived on a Friday afternoon and was kind enough to give us a tour of the place and explain everything in detail.

On one of the days, we hired a limo for an all-day wine tour of the wineries in the region and the limo came all the way up to the house (there is a steep grade to reach the house from Austin Creek Road). If you plan to stay here, you should get advice from Michael about which wineries to visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am always delighted to know that my guests enjoy Elements, and the surrounding locales. Its always a pleasure t to help guests with their plans, especially since I know the area so well. There are so many places to see and great restaurants that I often find the choices overwhelming. Visitors to Sonoma all "know" about the well known spots, its a pleasure to share the special spots or services that make the difference in a special getaway.
Thanks Anup for such a great review! I hope you return again soon.

Michael
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
If you’ve been searching for a vacation rental in California’s wine country, look no further. Minutes from world-class wineries, coastal parks, and quaint towns, Elements is a handsome, private and well thought out retreat nestled within the beauty and quiet of the redwood forest. Enjoy some of the most stunning scenery our country has to offer. Elements will enchant you, and upon departure, leave you wondering when you will be returning. A week simply is not enough time to explore the region and to relax and enjoy the experience of Elements.

With our large group, Elements provided areas inside and out where everyone could enjoy each other’s company. Or, if one would wish to break off from the group, find solitude and relax, there were many options – the hammock being one of the favorites.

Our family particularly loved (and are envious of) the professional grade kitchen where we cooked many delicious meals. Everything we needed was right there, including a fire pit under the stars when dessert was served.

We would like to especially thank our gracious host Michael who made our Elements experience complete with his hospitality and attentiveness. Although he was not able to greet our family in person, a long distance call from the other side of the globe to check in on our family was not out of the question for Michael. A comfortable and memorable stay his priority. Thank you Michael.

Terri and family
September, 2010
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had three couples, all with kids, plus baby sitter. Michael steered us in the direction of the Auld's cabin (end of the driveway) for the third couple, which worked out wonderfully.

Elements is truly beautiful, more even than in the website pictures. The level of thought and integration that went into the design of this property is really impressive. Everything is well-thought out without anything being over-the-top. It all produces a remarkable sense of serenity on the property. It seems like you are always in the redwoods, even when you are inside. Our kids played on the property and down at the creek and were never at a loss for things to do. As for the adults, Elements is an awesome jumping-off point for just about anything that you might want to do. We did a fair amount of wine tasting (Russian River, Alexander Valley, Carneros, and even a day in Napa), but we also spent time in the nearby forests, went to the beach, and visited some of the local towns.

A few recommendations from Michael that we second: Go to Raymond's bakery - the fruit pastries are killer and Friday pizza night is a great family activity. If wine-touring, stop in at Sophie's Wine Shop, they are knowledgeable about the local wines and the wineries, and can recommend good visits and provide complementary tasting cards. We'd also recommend Stumphouse for good beer and comfort food.

As you can tell, we had a fantastic time!
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Austin, TX
5

Truly a Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Group vacations can be tricky, but Elements provided a perfect setting for us. There was just enough space to allow privacy for each of our 3 couples, while maintaining a cozy cabin feeling. A luxurious cabin for sure! As we were sitting around the fire pit roasting marshmallows one night, we deemed Elements the perfect place for "glamping" -- glamorous camping! You're both surrounded by nature and in the lap of luxury! You can sit around the fire, relax in the redwood soaking tub, nap in the hammock, or just enjoy the beautiful grounds. You feel totally secluded, yet you can be at a lovely Russian River Valley winery in less than an hour. There are tons of activities nearby -- Armstrong Redwood preserve, beaches, creeks, wineries, farmers' markets, and plenty of quaint little towns if you need a little shopping or a great restaurant. Elements is in a perfect location, though you may not want to leave once you arrive! Also worth noting, we loved cooking at Elements, and found the kitchen to be very well-equipped. Elements is a magical place. Surrounded by beautiful Redwoods, its a bit like a treehouse for grown-ups! On the last day as were preparing to leave, we realized that we hadn't turned on the TV one time. Elements is truly a very special retreat, and we can't wait to return!
Owner's Response: I am so complimented by your appreciation of Elements. Having a guest enjoy the property is truly one of the most satisfying aspects of a vacation rental. I really love your new term for Elements, "glamping". Glamorous camping is one of the most original descriptions I have heard about the property. I love it, thank you.
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Chattanooga, TN
5

Great Place For Visiting The Russian River

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My family and friends (10 adults and a 1-year old) spent May 21 - 24 at the Elements as we visited the Russian River area. This is an excellent property. It was very well maintained. Michael provided very good customer service, and its proximity to the Armstrong Woods redwoods, the Pacific Ocean coastline, and many wineries made for a very nice stay. I would recommend it to my family and friends. My oldest son is already planning to go back with some of his friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sophisticated, private compound that balances nature's beauty with luxury
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238215
+1 4158307843
Cazadero Sonoma County
Huntington Beach, California
5

A wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
"Eight women headed up to the wine country to celebrate the 60th birthday of our good friend, Toni. I looked at about 100 places to stay and this by far won out.
We were greeted by Michael, given the grand tour and were amazed to all the detail put into making it the special place it is. We took advantage of all the amenities--the outdoor kitchen, soaking tub, beautiful patio views and the new tree house, where we enjoyed the sound of the waterfall. If you like to cook, you will find a well stocked kitchen and plenty of space to enjoy a meal. It is a wonderful house to create memories to last a lifetime.
Thanks Michael, for sharing this special place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: I am really glad your birthday turned out so well. It was a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed both the property and the nearby area.