Indian Shores condo rental - Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4

Please scroll down to see the link to comments from our previous guests. They all loved it and you will, too!

Wake up on Indian Shores' intercoastal waterway... view playful dolphins from the comfort of your king-size bed... watch the boats head out to the Gulf... Walk the powdery-white sands... Relax on the private balcony overlooking nesting sea-birds...

• Waterviews, waterviews, waterviews!

• Just steps to beach (approx. 150 yards)

• Washer/Dryer in unit

• Computer with high-speed cable internet and WiFi

• Unlimited long-distance calls (USA and Canada)

• Upgraded digital cable TV package

• Private 1 car garage with 2 remote openers

• much more!

Keywords: Waterfront Condominium

Isabel is from Spain and we met while I lived and worked there for ten years. During our years there we enjoyed traveling throughout Europe and especially staying in the quaint Bed and Breakfasts that are so typical there. We made notes of all of the things we liked and disliked about everywhere we stayed and planned to one day have somewhere unique and cozy of our own to offer to vacationers.

In 2000 work brought us to St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2004 we purchased a condo in Indian Shores, just a few miles from our home. We decorated it with nothing but the best (Isabel is an Interior Decorator and has her own business). As guests began to know us and word began to get around we soon had a steady flow of visitors and a full calendar. Just repeat visitors were nearly keeping the unit booked. In 2008 we decided to buy a second unit, with the exact same floor plan and the same extraordinary views, just a few steps away. We call them our Gulf Retreat 1 and Gulf Retreat 2.

Darryl Glenn purchased this condo in 2004

We love Indian Shores because it is the quietest, most relaxed part of Sand Key, the barrier island that runs along the Gulf shore from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater. It is the narrowest part of the Sand Key, only 150-200 yards across where we are located. That means you can enjoy both the Intracoastal Waterway and the Gulf of Mexico only a few steps apart.

Indian Shores is the last part of the coastline in Pinellas County that preserves a small-town feel. Gulf Blvd. is still just a two-lane road and the speed limit is 35 m.p.h. There's is only one traffic light in Indian Shores. There isn't as much asphalt as you see to the south or north of us, a lot fewer high-rise buildings and none of the tourist traps. While you will find all the restaurants and conveniences you need near-by Indian Shores is still primarily a residential, family-oriented community.

Our view is of the Intracoastal Waterway, the body of water that separates Sand Key from the mainland. We love it because of all the boat traffic - it's fun to watch. The dolphins are always a joy to see, too. They are most active early in the morning or at sunset. Manatee are a little harder to spot, but are always around, too.

When the tide is low there is a sandbar that emerges from the water just off our balcony. The seabirds all come to feed there and it's wonderful entertainment.

And the Intracoastal Waterway is beautiful to behold at night, when the lights from the boats and other properties reflect off the surface. You must see it to appreciate it!

And of course the beach is just across the street. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there walking. It's never crowded and always relaxing. We have beach toys, inflatables, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler... everything you need except a good book and suntan lotion! And we even have a handy cart to put everything in and wheel it across the street!

122 Reviews of Property 43893 in Indian Shores, Florida

100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
average rating of 4.9693875 based on 122 reviews
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Equally well placed for both Golf and Beach

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Dear Isabel and Darryl – The promise we gave 2009 in our internet review after our one week's stay at your Gulf Retreat Condo in May, we could fulfill this year and with a stay of 2 ½ weeks.

From our first stay we knew what to expect. And really, we were not disappointed. Weather wise it is certainly a difference between spring and fall, also in Florida. The weather forecast for the area was not too brilliant when we left Switzerland, but for the whole stay with the exception of a single day of partially scattered showers weather otherwise was sunny, blue sky, some white clouds and very agreeable water and air temperatures.

The beach was as last time, white, clean and never crowded. This time we wanted to split the time between one day golf and one day beach. And we found that Indian Shores is equally well placed for both. We knew that most of the golf clubs in the area would rent golf sets but as we wanted to play on different courses and would not like to have different sets every time we rented the set at an address we found in the internet while still being in Switzerland (Ken's Quality Golf, Clearwater, phone 727 531-8871) and for bargain green fees we found www.teeofftampabay.com to be very valuable.

From the restaurants in the area we especially liked "Villa Gallace" and "Salt Rock Grill", but with the very well equipped kitchen and the beautiful and interesting view from our balcony, where we had some of our diners, we sometimes also liked to stay "at home". The new, slightly higher chairs and table on the balcony allowed us an unspoiled view to the waterway where we spotted dolphins and – as we believe – also the movements of manatees. The variety of birds on the sandbank at low tide and in and above the mangrove swamp is amazing; not spoken about the large number of huge fish in the little stream just below the balcony. For us this wildlife was more interesting and much better than any television or cinema program.

We really felt at home again as soon as we had opened the key lock box, turned the key and crossed the doorstep. Thank you again, Isabel and Darryl for a wonderful vacation! We certainly hope that we will have other chances to spend holidays in your condo.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Kirkland, Washington
5

Lovely time at the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We returned a few weeks ago from a lovely week at this rental. The photos do not do it justice - the place is wonderful and seems much bigger than 1400 sq ft. After spending a week in hotels in Orlando the spaciousness was very appreciated by everyone in the family. Everything was as stated, and Darryl was very reachable by phone when we had questions. My daughter was able to catch small fish off the pier, and children 16 and under do not need a license to fish. Very, VERY clean! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Port Orange, Fl
5

Five Stars All The Way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We were so impressed with this Beautiful condo with its Awesome Views inside and out. So well appointed, A great location and so comfortable and clean. We enjoyed everything about it and hope to come back again. Enjoyable and 5 stars all the way.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Princeton, NJ
5

Highly Recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Our family had a wonderful week in this immaculate and beautifully decorated condo. We found it to be even nicer than we anticipated from the pics displayed. Great views of the water from main rooms and the gulf right across the street. MANY thoughtful touches included (nightlights, drying racks, beach chairs and toys, computer and 3 tv sets) that made packing easier than many beach homes. The stairs were a bit steep, so do consider this factor if is is an issue for you or your guests. (it was fine for us, but tough for my Dad who has some problems with balance) Would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Ohio
5

Mra

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Wonderful water view, close to beach, beautifully decorated, very clean!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Denver, Co
5

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Spacious accommodations with all the amenities. My wife and I took our children (7 and 5) for a quiet week at the beach in late fall. The condo was perfect for our needs, with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a full kitchen, dining area and living room. Beautiful view of the waterway and a 500yd stroll to the beach (pulling the cart full of sand toys we found in the garage). We found stores for food and essentials a short drive away. After a fun day at the beach the kids would sleepy soundly in their own bedroom and my wife and I could enjoy a movie without disturbing them, or simply have a quiet drink on the balcony.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Woodbridge, ON Canada
5

One of the best condos in Indian Shores!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This was our first trip to Indian Shores and will definitely not be our last. The description of the location and condo was completely accurate. It's beautiful, spacious and CLEAN. We immediately felt like we were at home upon arriving at the condo. Isabel did an amazing job at decorating the condo to make you feel welcome and cozy. The welcome basket was such a nice surprise and the view was just breathtaking. All of the amenities you needed were there and nothing was missed in this place at all. It's such a close walk to the beach and getting there with that awesome wagon was a plus. My boys loved the beach toys and floaties for the pool. It was nice to know I didn't have to drag all that stuff with me from home. The beach and pool were both awesome! Darryl was extrememly professional and helpful with his suggestions via email before we had arrived. We had the pleasure of meeting him when we left and couldn't thank him enough for a most memorable, enjoyable stay. Darryl and his wife Isabel clearly have their guests' interests at heart and take great care of the condo to keep people coming back for more. We have already recommended your condo to our family and friends as we beleive it is so worth every penny. Thank you again for a great week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Houston, TX
5

Wow! What a great place, what a great location...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I'll start by saying this was our first visit to the St Pete gulf coast area so had no idea what to expect of the community. All worries were cast aside the second we drove in on Park Blvd and crossed the bridge into Indian Shore and we immediately sensed there was a good balance of sophistication and casualness in the community. Gulf Blvd between the bridge and condo was sparkling clean and lined with places and restaurants we immediately looked forward to visiting.

Now to the condo, all I can is, WOW!!! It is beautifully, tastefully, comfortably decorated, and huge. After our long drive it was so nice to be able to stretch out. Our fantastic hosts, Isabel and Glenn, generously left a wonderful welcome basket full of goodies and nice cold bottled water in the fridge, which was a wonderful treat.

Five minutes after walking into the condo we were on the large deck off the living area watching a pair of bottlenose dolphins swimming by!!! Absolutely incredible. What a great start to our week here at Gulf Retreat. We spent a fair amount of time throughout the week here on the deck watching dolphin, osprey, and yes, manatee!!! Our two kids just absolutely loved it all.

Back to the condo, have I mentioned anything about the bedrooms? The kids (6 and 12) found their room, complete with twin beds and their own small tv, and right next to their own bathroom, which was just great and perfect for the two of them. Now the master bedroom, again with another WOW!!! What a great big beautiful suite with huge windows and access to the deck and more of the fantastic waterview. There was just something so relaxing and restful about the night view with the lights across the water and then waking again to that waterview. Geez, I'm missing it right now that I'm writing this...

Thanks Isabel, Thanks Glenn, for letting us stay at your place. Our family really looks forward to visiting again someday, hopefully soon...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Bethel Park, PA
5

Fantastic rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This condo was so beautiful. It was also very clean (spotless!!!). The owners took care of everything. We have a baby and they had the highchair ready , safety tub supplies, toys and the crib set up with a diaper by it!! They also had a lovely gift basket waiting for us.
The view was spectactular of the bay. The computer was in a perfect spot and all the TV's were great. The beach was so close to the condo and the wagon to pull all the beach toys was perfect. The beach was also beautiful and not overcrowded. You really couldn't ask for anything more in a rental. I would recommend this place to anyone and if I come back to Indian Shores I hope to stay here again. Thanks for a great week!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Austin Texas
5

We love Florida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The condo exceeded our expectations .We immediately felt at home . It was very clean and well maintained . Plus it's huge . I don't think we needed anything that wasn't provided . Thank you so much for making our first trip to Florida a memorable one . We will be back .
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1