Dauphin Island cottage rental - The Whale House, built in 1916
The Whale House, built in 1916
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Dauphin Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

Experience Dauphin Island the way it’s been experienced for a century. This updated 2 bedroom, 1 bath shotgun built in 1916 is in the center of Dauphin Island Village, less than a block from biking trails and a short walk to the Indian Mound, Goat Tree and Green Parks. Sleeps 6: king, double & sofa pull out. Comes with reserved boat slip on Indian Bay.

A Central Location: The Whale House is really in the center of 'town'. I use quotation marks because there are only about 1,100 full-time residents and the entire Island is only 14 miles long. You're able to walk to most activities and bicycle riding gets you to the places that walking doesn't. Three of the island's 4 restaurants are within walking distance...not including the Bakery, behind the cottage. The beaches are accessible via bicycle, short car ride, or the town's public transportation (two minivans).

Things We Love About the Island: There is a large bird sanctuary that provides excellent walking paths - you'll see beach, forest and swamp on the walk. We love to go there. There is also a small forested bird watching area that we like to walk through as well (an old Indian mound). The Estuarium is great. They often have fun classes as well as a great tour through their fish/sea life exhibits.

More Details
Hide Details

41 Reviews of Property 227212 in Dauphin Island, Alabama

The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
average rating of 4.780488 based on 41 reviews
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Monett, MO
5

Perfect Whale House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Absolutely perfect! The house was fabulous, the island is beautiful, we enjoyed the West end beach. Would have liked to have a grocery store closer. Learned after we arrived that we would have to drive about 45 min for a Walmart. So stock up before going to the island. Going out to eat was a little expensive for my family of 5. Opted to cooking at the wonderfully stocked Whale House kitchen. Loved the satelite TV. The house was beautiful and clean. One evening we had a problem trying to get a movie to play, called the owner and he came right over to help. Would definitely recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. You are right that grocery shopping before getting to the Island is best. The grocery selection on the Island is limited and fairly expensive. There is a grocery store about 15 miles north that is pretty well stocked and competitively priced, but the superstore is about 25 miles north. Thanks for posting such a helpful message.

Teecie and Robert
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Paxton, Il USA
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
What a wonderful experience the Whale House was. We spent more time there than if we would of had a hotel room. Clean and quiet. Would stay again. Dauphin island is also a great place. The west end beach was awesome for us to kick back and enjoy the sun. Met many wonderful people there. All very nice and ready to help the vacationers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed the Whale House and the Island. We agree - the west end beach is great!

Teecie and Robert
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Missouri
5

Quiet Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We really enjoyed our stay on Dauphin Island. The Whale House is a neat house with an interesting history. It's out of the way, quiet nejghborhood, has all the amenities. We really enjoyed the stocked and well equipped kitchen, we like to cook and it fit the bill perfectly. The gas grill fit right in also.

Good restaraunts we ate at: Barnacle Bill's -- The shrimp AND the service was excellent. The Oar House -- great place, good food, good drink, the locals hang out there so it's got to be good. Public Beach was excellent, my wife and I walked for miles. West End Beach was good for facilities, bar, bathrooms, night activities, but no room for walking.

I'd highly recommend the Whale House, the price was right and the acommodations were excellent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments about the Whale House and the Island's amenities.

Teecie and Robert
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Potosi, MO
5

The Whale House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We enjoyed our stay at the Whale House SO MUCH! The house was clean, up to date, cool in 100º and above temps, and had many of the necessities needed for a vacation, without having to bring them all yourself. The owner was very easy to work with. He was always reachable by phone when we had a question. I would highly recommend this house to anyone wanting an affordable, but nice vacation spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to comment. We really enjoyed having you as our guests.

Teecie and Robert
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Missouri
5

Wonderful vacation House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We stayed at the Whale House and absolutely loved it and the Island. Perfectly pictured and wonderful!! Loved the king bed, wanted to take it home with me! It was so homey and comfortable! I will be returning in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Excellent! So happy you enjoyed your stay.

Teecie & Robert
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Seattle, Washington, USA
5

Cozy and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We are a family of four traveling around the country and booked in a week at the charming Whale House to get off the road and re-group. We all felt very relaxed and at-home there. We enjoyed our stay greatly. The landlords were very accommodating when we needed a few extra items. Our favorite things: the big bed, the bakery out the back and hanging out on the front porch.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are delighted to have had you as our guests. We strive to keep the Whale House at the top of the list for value, comfort and relaxation.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Mobile, AL
5

GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We enjoyed our stay very much. The house is so cute and wonderfully decorated. It has everything you need. The beds are very comfortable with great linens. Would recommend to anyone.
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We were delighted that you brought your boat and were able to take advantage of the boat slip on Indian Bay. Thank you for your post.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Sparta, NJ
5

Guestbook Comment

My family had a wonderful time on Dauphin Island and it was in no small part do to our excellent accomidations. The Whale House is conveniently locat...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
My family had a wonderful time on Dauphin Island and it was in no small part do to our excellent accomidations. The Whale House is conveniently located and the boat slip that comes with the house is also within walking distance. The house is adorably decorated. The beds are extemely comfortable with luxurious linens. It has two porches to relax on and a huge kitchen that has all the necessities you could want. You won't be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
mobile, al
5

Guestbook Comment

my husband and i are members of a dinner group that meets every three months for a "dine-around" at eachother's houses. however, we are...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
my husband and i are members of a dinner group that meets every three months for a "dine-around" at eachother's houses. however, we are the only couple in the group who does not live on the Island, so we stay in the Whale House for that weekend. we always enjoy our stay! everything we need for a weekend getaway with the grown-ups!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p227212
+1 251 209-0723
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Theodore Al
5

Guestbook Comment

MY boyfriend and I stayed at the Whale House for a weekend. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The beds were super comfortable. It was i...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
MY boyfriend and I stayed at the Whale House for a weekend. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The beds were super comfortable. It was in a perfect location for everywhere we need to go on the island. I would recommend this house to anyone who is interested.
Helpful votes: 3/3