San Diego house rental - Pool Lanai, unbelievable ambience! Ahhhhhhh.
Pool Lanai, unbelievable ambience! Ahhhhhhh.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

San Diego House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 10

Resort Style living at its best. Contemporary Architecture, Tropical Hawaiian palate, your mind will drift once you've arrived. Indoor outdoor living, featured in San Diego Magazine, it's a perfect setting for special getaways both vacation or corporate. Infinity edge pool/spa on the canyon's edge (Ask about pool/spa heating charges) panoramic views, cascading 10 ft. waterfall. OUR VIRTUAL TOUR IS A MUST SEE! SCROLL PAST AMENITIES AND CLICK ON VIRTUAL TOUR! NO PARTIES/LOUD MUSIC. Our home is truly meant for 'SMALL' quiet family and friendly retreats. A maximum of 10 people on property at 'all' times unless approved by owners - Strictly enforced. You will be surprised how close you are to all there is in San Diego, yet once behind closed doors, you can enjoy San Diego's sunny weather in luxury. Get tickets to Pet Co Park, the Old Globe Theatre in Balboa Park or have your own private dinner at home alfresco under the falls.

Hello, My name is Bob & I have been living in my native hometown of San Diego for 48 years. I have been many places in the world and San Diego has simply stayed in my comfort zone because of it's sunny weather, eclectic lifestyle as well as the beautiful coastline. I am an Ice Skating Instructor, interior designer, Real Estate Agent & dog lover. I am very much a people person and the vacation rental industry has given me such pleasure, affording the opportunity to meet such awesome guests from all over the world that we have welcomed to our homes here in San Diego. I can only say; 'I hope that I have the pleasure of meeting you someday & if so, look forward to the many return visits that most of our guests take pleasure in!

Bob Pellaton purchased this house in 2001

Originally this home was bought to remodel and sell, because of the business I am in. The location is just so convenient and freeway accessable that it became obvious that living here would be quite comfortable. So after the first 2 years the (then) 2100 sq.ft., 2 bedroom, 2 bath was remodeled. Within the next year the downstairs spa retreat was added and finally within 5 years, the second floor, family room & pool were complete. A lot of thinking was enabled, because we remodeled and added in stages. We have had the home for 13 years now and truly love the tropical, resort style feel this home exudes.

When you enter the home, you will feel a sense of calmness & relaxation. The sound of the cascading waterfall will sooth your senses. Although the home is 3300 sq.ft., there are so many intimate spaces and + over 1000 sq. ft. lanai and outdoor living space that it doesn't feel overwhelming. The best part about the home is that you find yourself wanting to simply settle at the home and won't feel the need to leave in order to believe that you are on vacation!

87 Reviews of Property 194916 in San Diego, California

PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
average rating of 5.0 based on 87 reviews
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Michigan
5

Best Home in San Diego

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I recently stayed here with my wife's extended family and I can honestly stay it's one of the most beautiful and relaxing homes I've ever seen in my life. Driving through the neighborhood, you will see relatively modest homes and then when you arrive and walk in the front doors, you will see that enormous effort and creativity were put into renovating and designing this home. Our favorite part of the home was the back patio, with a beautiful infinity pool and hot tub. It was too cold to swim, but we used the hot tub most evenings (it doesn't begin heating until 3 PM, so it wasn't usable until around 6 PM), and the views are fantastic.

The interior design and decor of the house are also extremely beautiful, and some of the bathrooms have rainfall showerheads and gorgeous tilework. We also enjoyed the outdoor decks upstairs on the warmer days. The house is stocked with nearly anything you might need, and we used the grill twice and the Viking appliances several times.

Our family did have several small children, ranging from age 4-8. I would say the house would probably not be as appropriate for children younger than that due to the many marble and granite surfaces, sharp stonework, gaps in some of the railings, etc. There is also a wall of mirrors on the main floor that the kids kept bumping into (and I think an adult or two), so we used post-it notes to remind everyone not to walk into the mirrors. However, our kids absolutely loved the house. There was so much room for them to play, and my eight year-old daughter even decided after visiting Sea World that she wanted to move to San Diego, become a dolphin trainer, and get married. She said she hoped Bob would give her this house as a wedding present!

Bob also was fantastic to work with. He explained the details of the house in excellent detail, and he's extremely friendly and outgoing. He answered a couple of calls we made very promptly.

Maybe there is a better house somewhere in San Diego, but I doubt it. You can see by all the five star reviews that this house is something special, so you should go book it right now before someone else does. It will make your stay in San Diego a beautiful and relaxing one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow!! Quite a review. It was great to meet you and your family and hope to have you back again real soon!!!!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Portland, Oregon
5

Great week spent at this fabulous home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My family and I stayed at this property over Thanksgiving week and had a fabulous time! It was quite a treat to have this be our home base during the holiday week. We enjoyed morning coffee and evening meals on the gorgeous patio overlooking the pool and spa. Coming from the Northwest this was my first Thanksgiving meal I got to eat outdoors which was glorious. The home is beautiful and it there is so much room for everyone to spread out and enjoy. The owner was great too, very thorough and accomodating. Thanks so much for sharing your home wiht us Bob!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are so welcome. We hope to have you back again real soon!
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
5

FIVE STARS!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
THIS house is a true destination! It was a perfect place for a small family get together...the house is truly as beautiful and well appointed as the pictures suggest.
The location was great for us, close to San Diego State University where my niece is
attending school, so it was an easy drive to have her come and visit each day. We spent much more time 'at the house' than planned just because it WAS so lovely and
we didn't have to fight crowds to just be together. The kitchen is perfectly appointed,
the master suites are (both!) amazing. We could not have been happier and
felt more at home. Highly recommend this lovely home...
Owner's Response: Thank you sooo much!! Take care for now and hope to see you real soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
New Orleans
5

The perfect gathering place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Our group of five women do a Girls Weekend every year. Lots of B&B's, the occasional hotel, a few condos... but after fifteen years of getting together, this was the first time our group rented a house. Wow, were they sold with this one! The home is literally 15 minutes away from anything you want to visit. Beautifully equipped kitchen, rain showers, jacuzzi, lighted pool, gas fire pit to light at night, built-in wok in the kitchen, gas tiki torches, big screen TV with a kazillion channels, wifi, heavenly bedding, even an orange tree dripping with ripe oranges! The only dilemma was deciding which "lanai" area to choose for our morning coffee or evening drinks. I had two favorite sitting areas - in the morning it was the table outside on the upstairs patio with the umbrella; in the evening it was sitting in one of the chairs outside the sauna area. Amazing sunsets or sunrises visable from the top floor as well. The home has an fabulous view.

We watched videos in the evening (thanks Bob for the easy-to-understand remote control instructions!) and made breakfast that we ate by the pool in the mornings. Hard to leave to do any sight-seeing - you have everything right there.

Bob does such an awesome job making sure you know how everything works when you arrive; it couldn't be easier. On behalf of my Girls Weekend friends, thanks Bob for sharing your lovely home with us! Pity the poor gal who has to pick a place for next years' girls weekend. Will be tough to top this one. - Kathy (& Friends)

p.s. Thanks for both the "Ponces" and the "Bleu Boheme" restaurant references. Went to the later restaurant twice. ("Anna" was our server both times - she was awesome)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow!
Now that's a great review.
Thanks so much for your kind words.
We certainly hope to have you back again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Hillsborough, New Jersey
5

Artfully Designed Luxurious Home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We could not have asked for a more beautiful or relaxing home base for our family trip to San Diego. We truly enjoyed the set up of this thoughtfully designed space. A new detail would reveal itself at every glance. While being beautifully furnished and decorated, this home allows total relaxation and comfort. With 2 teens, we all appreciated having our own private spaces to shower and sleep or just have some quiet time. This home is conveniently situated within 15 minutes of everything we wanted to experience in San Diego. At the end of each busy day of soaking in the sun and sights, we thoroughly enjoyed grilling, swimming and spending time in the spa. Bob and Anthony were always so helpful, flexible and a true pleasure to work with. We've been renting vacation homes through VRBO for many years and have rarely experienced such well presented accommodations and such caring owners. It is evident that they genuinely love to have their creation enjoyed! Thank you, both!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for such a great and articulate review. We would love to have you back again in the future!!
Take care for now.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Anthem, AZ
5

Absolutely Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
A wonderful week was had by all in this amazing vacation home. From the moment you enter the front doors, you are greeted by a most spectacular view. Ohs and ahs followed as we went from room to room throughout the house. Our family of 10 was very comfortable in the spacious accommodations. The bathrooms were luxuriou! Definitely spa inspired. My husband and I loved the Tempurpedic mattress in the upstairs master bedroom. The large kitchen provided enough space for several people to be preparing food and cooking at the same time. There were plenty of quiet, comfy seating areas in the house, but the lanai was an espescially favorite spot to relax and enjoy meals. We appreciated Bob, the homeowner, being onsite at the property upon our arrival. He gave us a thorough tour of the home and its amenities. Bob was a wonderful host and always available to answer questions or assisit us in our needs. The listing description and photos of the home truly speak for themselves. We would highly recommend this property to any family looking for a relaxing getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are oooing and aaahhhing at your awesome compliments.
Thanks soooo much and hope to have you all back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
5

Perfect ending of a fantastic vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We are a Danish family who had arranged a 3-week vacation where we drove around in California. We started in Los Angeles and was to end with 4 days in San Diego. We decided that we would not be at a hotel and we therefore searched for rental houses. When we found this amazing house, we knew that we did not have to search anymore.

When we arrived to San Diego, we had high expectations for the house where we should relax in the last 4 days of our vacation. We hoped it would be great, but it was not. It was just FANTASTIC and we had 4 wonderful days in this house and it was the most perfect ending to a fantastic vacation.

This house must be experienced. You will not regret it. It has it all. Great relaxed atmosphere, a lot of space, great pool, spa and patio with a beautiful view.

Although we never met Bob personally (was unable to meet us when we arrived), we always felt that we got a excelent customer service via email and telephone. Many thanks for that Bob. It means a lot when you are in a foreign country and shall book a rented house.

We will recommend it to friends, acquaintances and colleagues that are going to San Diego. That's for sure.

Dear Bob. On behalf of the entire family. Thanks a lot.

Alice and Frank Morkenborg.
Denmark.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much. So glad that your experience at our home is exactly how we feel when we get the pleasure of staying at our home as well.
Take care!!
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
null
5

My family got spoiled with this house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This was the first time my parents had ever rented a house through the internet. They were quite hesitant at first, but I kept saying, come on, look at the pictures! It's amazing. But once they stepped foot into this gorgeous home, they didn't even want to leave.

And you didn't really need to (well, except there's no shampoo or soap in the showers, so we added that to our grocery list).
The house was modern, magnificent and perfect for a family getaway. Close enough to all San Diego has to offer, but without the high cost of small hotel rooms. My nieces just loved the jacuzzi. They sat out there most of the day, while we lounged, cooked and took in the views.

And you won't find a nicer person than Bob. He was the greatest! My parents had such a great time and loved it so much, that now, when we talk about vacations, my mom always says, "I want to stay in a house like Bob's."

Thanks Bob, you've spoiled us now ;-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: That was such a fun review ~ thanks for the nice compliments and hope to have you back again!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Beckley, WV
5

It's NOT too good to be true!!

It's NOT too good to be true!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I must admit that I was a bit skeptical when I found this fantastic house available for the week that we were coming to San Diego. Instead of getting three or four hotel rooms for two different families, we ended up with this fabulous vacation "resort" all to ourselves. It exceeded our expections and we would highly recommend this home. It has comfort, convenience, luxury, and privacy. On our next trip, we will plan less "touring" and more relaxing by the pool! Thank you for sharing your treasure!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was so nice to meet you and your family. Hope to have you back again real soon!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Channahon, IL
5

Great Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We attended a niece's wedding in San Diego and took our family with us. We stayed the following week to see many of the local attractions. Our vacation home was absolutely beautiful and perfect for our two children, their spouses, and our three small grandchildren. At first we felt the house might not be "kid friendly", but everyone quickly settled in. We loved the infinity pool and hot tub, and the back yard was quiet and very private. Everything, both inside and out, was clean and well-maintained. This home provided everything that we needed and more. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and relatives.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much & take care!!
Helpful votes: 1/1