San Rafael apartment rental - Welcome!
Welcome!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

San Rafael Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 BEDROOM / 1 BATHROOM

We reside in a unique neighborhood in San Rafael, CA that is almost right on the bay of San Pablo for your morning walks or if you bring your kayak you can walk to the Bay to put out.

You can also see the boat masts from the living room window as you sit back and enjoy the bay view. Our quiet, scenic neighborhood offers an opportunity to relax and kick back after a day of visiting the city of San Francisco or the nearby wine country.

Our close proximity to the town of San Rafael(3 miles) is also easy for you to enjoy the variety of restaurants we have there and attend an amazing concert or view first run movies.

County details: Beautiful Marin County is home to some of the most amazing fresh fruit and vegetables available. There are weekly farmer's markets and in the summer, on Thursday nights, the main street of San Rafael hosts a farmer's market as well as entertainment. The world famous architect, Frank Lloyd Wright built his final building in San Rafael. It is home to the county offices. We also have a famous mission that is part of the California Missions Trail which reflects early California history.

We are also near Marin General Hospital as well as Dominican College for those who might have short term jobs at those places as well as Autodesk and Fair Issac.

Weather: The weather in San Rafael is mostly temperate year round except for the winter rains which help our ground water supply. The surrounding hillsides reflect the winter moisture in the Spring when they are covered in lupines as well as the well known mustard flowers. Our rental is so close to the Bay that we get the cool breezes in the summer and more temperate weather in the winter.

Scenery: Because we are located on the Bay of San Pablo, there are times you can see art students with their easels up and painting the incredible views of the bay very near our home. Mount Tam can also be viewed from outside the guest suite and affords many hiking trails and incredible views from many vistas.

More Details
Hide Details

We came up to Marin County in 1991 and fell in love with its beauty. Both of us have been in the film and television industry and

where Paul decided to retire, Elise continued to travel to Los Angeles and work on different film and television projects. We both are semi retired now and love to travel as well as welcome those to our lovely area that are fellow travelers.

paul and elise samuelson purchased this apartment in 1991

This area of our rental is truly unique. It is on the Bay side of a quaint area called 'Chicken Point' - perhaps because there might have been people raising chickens - which is a common happening here!- It is not far from central San Rafael and yet it feels rural enough to enjoy walks up in the hills and around the Bay.

The style of our rental is a bit of New England. We have temperate weather due to the proximity of the Bay and since we are near a little beach, it is easy to put out a kayak or stand up paddle board.

51 Reviews of Property 187954 in San Rafael, California

Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 51 reviews
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Nineveh,in
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
What a great place to stay when you are away from home... So warm, relaxing and unique. Would diffently stay there again and recommend to family and friends. A big thanks to Elisa and Paul for their hospitality and a special greating to Rosie.... Eletta & JoAn
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Gilroy, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My husband and I stayed for a getaway weekend that we are now dubbing our second honeymoon. Elise and Paul provided our very own concierge service and were readily available to give us restaurant recommendations and even make reservations. The condo was the perfect size for the two of us and VERY clean. It had a very relaxing and tranquil atmosphere. We will definitely be back.
Owner's Response: We definitely enjoyed having Stacy and Darin stay here and look forward to their return.
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Fresno/CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We just returned from our weekend stay at this beautifully appointted property. This home is much more than one could ask for. The easy access to a private beach and friendly neighborhood market makes this location perfect for someone not looking to use their vehicle for their entire stay. If it is City life you're looking for at night and peaceful serenity during the day this is the perfect spot. With easy access to San Francisco it is no surprise that we are already planning our return. Thank you very much Elise and Paul for allowing us the opportunity to stay at such a wonderful place to escape the heat.
Owner's Response: Well, we are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. I know that the heat can be a bit much and our area for the most part is moderate in temperature. Thank you for your comments.
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Cave Creek, AZ
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Perfect, peaceful, beautiful, and tranquil after running around on business all weekend. Elise & Paul thanks so much for referring places to eat and shop - great recommendations. Would visit again when we are in the area. Your hospitality is awesome!
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
What a delightful place! We were there for 5 days with the main purpose of attending a wedding in Mill Valley. The place is conveniently located to San Francisco, Berkeley, Sausalito, San Anslemo, Muir Woods, Stinson Beach and many other fabulous sites to visit. the rental place itself had many little "French touches" which you felt you might even be there, especially with the garden, fountain and fragrant flowers out side. Lemons in a bowl on the counter and fresh flowers in little vases throughout added to the charm. The hosts were always eager to know how the visit was going. Would recommend it to anyone.
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Plover, Wisconsin U.S.A
5

Guestbook Comment

While waiting for our daughter's first baby to arrive, we spent two wonderful weeks with Elise and Paul. We so enjoyed having such a beautif...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
While waiting for our daughter's first baby to arrive,
we spent two wonderful weeks with Elise and Paul. We
so enjoyed having such a beautiful and pleasant place
to stay beginning with Christmas 2008 and into 2009.
Thank you for all the special memories.
Owner's Response: We definitely enjoyed the Gilberts and hope they will return to see their new grandchild soon.
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Detroit, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

We stayed here for 5 days while visiting friends. The accommodations could not have been more pleasant. The apartment was very clean and nicely furn...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
We stayed here for 5 days while visiting friends. The accommodations could not have been more pleasant. The apartment was very clean and nicely furnished. Our hosts were pleasant and helpful. Thanks guys!
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Ottawa, Ontario
5

Guestbook Comment

We were delighted by our accommodations and the warm welcome we received. The apartment was perfect for our needs and we hope to return soon. Many t...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
We were delighted by our accommodations and the warm welcome we received. The apartment was perfect for our needs and we hope to return soon. Many thanks for all the extra special touches.
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Samoa, CA
5

Bring Your Bicycle!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
We had a great retreat by the bay. Cozy, clean space away from the busy part of San Rafael. We had a couple great bike rides out to China Camp and incredible weather for Dec.

Thanks Paul and Elise for your hospitality.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes, bikes are a great idea as the area we live in as well as the surrounding areas are great for trail riding as well as site seeing along the water front.

In the future, we may even have bikes available for using!
business
Bayside, Private Downstairs Guest Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187954
+1 415 459-5352
San Rafael The Bay Area
Coppell, TX
5

Guestbook Comment

We really enjoyed the cute neighborhood location with a secluded air, yet within walking distance of a nice market. The cottage itself is beautiful a...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
We really enjoyed the cute neighborhood location with a secluded air, yet within walking distance of a nice market. The cottage itself is beautiful and cozy at the same time, like it came straight out of a magazine, and made our stay in the San Rafael picture perfect.