Hana house rental - Hale Manu
Hale Manu
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Hana House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Maui County Permit # BBHA 2012/0002

Conde Nast Traveler Magazine 'Deal of the Month' & 'Hawaii's Hidden Values'. Please visit our website for November and December Specials.

Hale Manu, which means the 'Bird House', is our larger two-bedroom guesthouse, privately located in the rear of our property with phenomenal ocean views. The spacious Hawaiian styled architecture includes open beamed, vaulted ceilings, a large center cupola for great airflow, an open floor plan and a large lanai for evening dining under the stars or morning coffee with the sunrise.

Over time, we have completely renovated and professionally decorated the home, including a large fully equipped kitchen (a kitchen inventory is available on our website), an all tile bathroom with new fixtures, queen sized beds with high thread count all cotton bedding and teak steamer chairs, gas barbeque and an additional table for dining on the lanai. The ocean facing bedrooms are conducive to romantic sultry evening breezes.

We take a lot of pride in our homes, as is evident from the many comments provided by previous guests (please see our online guestbook accessible from our website). Hale Manu is thoughtfully furnished with a fun vintage Hawaiian flair, including a beautifully refurbished 1930's vintage rattan living room set we found and shipped all the way from a small Texas town and original oil paintings by local Hana artists. Sink yourself into the furnishings and grab a book off the bamboo shelves to relax the night away or choose a DVD from the small collection we supply. We also have a collection of coffee table books about Hawaii and Polynesia and, since the home is the “bird house” we have bird books, binoculars for the avid bird watchers. We have done our best to consider all the details, like comfortable linens, nice soaps, whole bean quality coffee and green tea for your first day and for those of you who need to stay connected, we have high speed wireless internet access and unlimited, free mainland United States phone service. We also have the modern conveniences such as a washer/dryer, microwave and more.

Hale Manu is perched at the rear of our fully landscaped, two-acre property, providing PRIVACY. Since we live at the front of the property, we work diligently to maintain our homes and provide excellent accommodations. We are also available to answer questions about Hana and steer you in the right direction to your ultimate vacation, whether that means an active time snorkeling, surfing, horseback riding and hiking or just relaxing at the nearby beaches and swimming holes. Hamoa Beach, considered the nicest in town, is just minutes away. We provide boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, beach chairs, beach towels, beach mats, a beach umbrella and a cooler. We can also direct you to local in-house massage therapists or to the local spa for pampering.

The Guest Houses at Malanai are named after the gentle cooling breeze, (named Malanai) known for this area of Hana. We are located just three miles (a five minute drive) outside of Hana Town in the Maka’alae district, which is considered the most highly desired area of Hana. You are sure to fall in love with the picturesque and pastoral landscape, the ever-changing ocean colors and the gentle sound of the waves lulling you to sleep at night. We hope you choose Hale Manu at the Guest Houses at Malanai for your dream vacation in the islands! Please see our website for details on our EXTREMELY competitive rates and policies and feel free to email us with any questions. For a limited time we are offering Springtime specials. Please see our website.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Leokane Pryor has long family history in Hana. He is a relative of the colorful Sam Pryor, who was not only responsible for bringing Charles Lindbergh to Kipahulu (just down the road), but was also well known locally for raising Gibbon apes and many other animals which he loved. Charles, Sam, his wife Mary Tay and many of the Gibbons are buried at the famous church in Kipahulu. Leokane has followed in the family tradition by creating his own unique history in the area. He can be heard performing Hawaiian music most Wednesdays and Sundays at the Travaasa Hotel-Hana and he is well known throughout the islands for his beautiful falsetto voice and story telling.

The Owner purchased this house in 2001

Leokane and Chris purchased this property in 2001 and have worked continuously to create a paradise for themselves, their family and friends. Two of the homes on the large property are available for rent, making this unique experience available to the public. As one of only three legally permitted vacation rental properties in the area, The Guest Houses at Malanai are often booked months in advance and well deserving of their consistent #1 TripAdvisor rating and stellar reviews.

The Guest Houses at Malanai are located in the Maka'alae area of Hana, about 3 miles south of Hana Town. This area is generally considered the most desirable of Hana due to its close proximity to world famous Hamoa Beach and the Venus Pool, as well as the gentle breezes and open landscape which keep it cooler and more comfortable than other locations in the area. Maka'alae was once the fishing village of the area and boasts some of the most breathtaking coastline of all Maui. During whale season, it is the perfect place to see their migration and sometimes even hear them playing at night.

72 Reviews of Property 185587 in Hana, Hawaii

By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
average rating of 5.0 based on 72 reviews
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
San Marcos, California
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
Just wanted to say mahalo for making out stay in Hana so relaxing. Of course, if you can't relax in Hana you can't relax. Your rental location was great, away from the Hana Highway and conveniently past the town of Hana. The main house had everything we needed, just wish we could have stayed longer. We will on our next journey.
Mahalo!
Steve & Nancy
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Portland, Oregon
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
Aloha Chris and Leokane -

We had a wonderful stay at Hale Manu. We appreciated your easy, warm hospitality, starting with a greeting from the dogs and the wonderful avocados. The house was perfect for our family of five, and was well equipped for meals when our cousins came over.

Thank you for your helpful insights on Hana. We felt at home at Hale Manu!
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Portland OR
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
Mahalo, excellent spot. Excellent time and one of the finest, most peaceful family vacations we have ever had. Even with the youngest sick the entire time we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Hana. It sure beats all the high-priced resorts, which is how we spent the remainder of the week. Beth couldn't stop saying how nicely appointed the house was and how WELL EQUIPPED. We had everything we needed. Of course, Dave liked the blender (for Mai-Tais) the best. All the best from the Great Northwest....thanks....D, B, S & M T
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Sedona AZ
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
Aloha Chriss &Leokane ,
How can one begin to describe Hale Manu ? , other
than that , it allows me to totally feel that I am at
My home , My private nest , For whatever length of
time spent there , it is simply magic at every
moments of experience , Rain Showers , then Bright
sun , Then more Sprinkles , Then sea Breezes ,
Quiet , then rustling of tree leaves , while I lay in
bed , smelling every aroma traveling from very far
across the vast Ocean ahed of me . My daughter
simply shines when we arrive at the property , and
this time I introduced my new beloved to my secret
hideaway and he fell head over heels with my
sacred , and very special home away from home .
Thank you Chriss and Leokane again for sharing
such a gift with the rest of us . Stay beautiful .
Joel Harms , Joumana , Maya Hunter
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
San Jose, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Aloha Chris and Leokane -

Thanks so much for sharing Hale Manu with us! Your warm welcome and attention to detail made us feel right at home in a wonderful exotic location. The house we stayed at in Wailea the following week, while beautiful, suffered in comparison for not having everything one could possibly need readily available as Hale Manu does. With our two favorite spots in the Hana area - the Venus Pool and Hamoa Beach - both within walking distance, we definitely want to come back and stay longer next time.
- Best wishes and thanks from Nick, Miranda and Phil
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Kihei, HI
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
Holy Wow!!! We had, rain and all, such a
great experience with Chris and Lokeane's
home. That's what it was. They opened up
their HOME to us. At least that was how it
felt. I have family that won't even do that!
We had a mother/daughter/best friend
reunion and it was amazing. We couldn't
have chosen a better place to spend such
quality time together. The rains fell, which
we badly needed, but no one cared. Hikes
happened anyway. Bonding took place and
secrets were told and revealed and relived
and it was wonderful!! We were welcomed
by Ua, the property dog, and were escorted
away by her son, Kimo. It was perfect.
Mahalo gentlemen for making your home
our home. Be well guys! And for those of
you reading this, as my Asian passengers
would say, "You make different choice, you
stupid!"

Aloha Ke Akua
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Orlando, FloridaDe
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
Dear Chris & Leokane,

Coming from Orlando, Florida, the last thing we wanted on our vacation was to see lots of highrise hotels and restaurants overflowing with noisy tourists, and Hana didn't disappoint. It was, in fact, exactly what we were seeking: a quiet, jungly, oasis tucked into the side of glorious misty mountains. Hale Manu was just the right size for us and had all the amenities we could've asked for. We appreciated the use of your beach chairs, boogie boards, and more while down at Hamoa (our favorite) beach. Hale Manu's location, tucked into the corner of the property surrounded by fruit trees and passion flower vines, was wonderfully private. We took advantage of the large deck to listen to the ocean waves, enjoy the fragrances of ginger and angel's trumpets, and watch for shooting stars in skies that were filled with millions of twinkling lights. You even managed to provide us with a telescope! While Hana and Hale Manu were wonderful, they would be nothing without the two of you who did everything possible to make sure our whole stay was memorable. We won't forget you, Ua, or Kimo, and hope to be able to return someday soon. Mahalo!
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Kula, Hi.
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
We have returned for the second time to Hale Manu and loved the relaxing, quiet, peaceful Hawaiian feeling. It's great to be able to eat fruit off of the property and the kitchen is clean, well stocked and spacious. We stayed four nights the first time and that seemed a little too short. Then this time only three nights and that was definitely not enough time. I would suggest a minimum stay of five nights to experience all of the different hikes, waterfalls, pools, and beaches that Hana has to offer. It's really great the way Chris and Leokani try to provide every little thing that you could possibly need to have fun and make your trip filled with fond memories. Thanks again. xxoo
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Oregon and Puerto Rico
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
Thank you so much for lending us this beautiful piece of heaven. Wish we could it stayed longer, a week was just not enough. Everything was so peaceful and so relaxing. It was just the perfect place for our honeymoon. There were no interruptions, it was just us and Mother Nature. We’ll never forget this place. Thank you, thank you and thank you for everything. Also, thanks Chris for celebrating our honeymoon with champagne. That was a very nice detail of yours and we appreciate it from the bottom of our hearts.Mahalo,Brian and Yanyra
business
By Hamoa Beach, 2 Bdrm, Impeccable Decor & Ocean Views. Privacy!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185587vbi
+1 1-808-248-8818
Hana Maui
Alaska
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2007
  • Stayed: Apr 2007
We have been vacationing in Hawaii for 40 years, but it was not until we stayed in Hana that we fulfilled a life-long fantasy of actually "living" in Hawaii. The Hale Manu is much more like a home than a vacation rental.

We appreciated the large, open, well-appointed kitchen; the convenience of having our own washer/dryer and gas grill; Chris and Leokane's attention to detail; the charming decor; the small library; being within walking distance of two beaches; and the PRIVATE lanai. Too many things to list! We fell in love with the Hale Manu the minute we arrived and we're STILL gloating about our lucky choice in accommodations.

Hana has a peacefulness and rhythm that reminds me of a Hawaii that no longer exists on the Ka'anapali/Kihei side of Maui. We loved the quiet swimming beaches, the hiking opportunities, the local organic fruit. And the absence of human noise was remarkable - what a rare and precious treat to have silence interrupted only by singing birds and the distant surf.

Our only disappointment was that we did not arrange to stay longer. Six days and seven nights was hardly enough. Hana is a slow, sensual, authentic kind of pleasure -- the longer you stay, the better it gets!