Copacabana villa rental - The Pool
The Pool
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps21
  • 6 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Copacabana Villa Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms + Library - 6 full bathrooms

- FULL VILLA (HIGH SEASON) – 6 BEDROOMS - $1,100 USD WEEKDAYS - $1,400 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS (UP TO 21 PEOPLE).

- FULL VILLA (LOW SEASON) - 6 BEDROOMS - $900 USD WEEKDAYS - $1,100 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS. (UP TO 21 PEOPLE).

- ½ RENTAL VILLA (ALL YEAR-ROUND) 3 BEDROOMS - $550 USD WEEKDAYS - $700 USD WEEKEND DAYS – MINIMUM 5 NIGHTS (UP TO 6 PEOPLE).

NOTE - WORLD CUP 2014 and OLYMPICS 2016 the villa is rented.

1. It is a 4 story 2007 built private home on a gated street in the middle of the tourist zone of Copacabana.

2. There are 4 suites with elegant baths + 2 poolside small cabanas which shared baths.

3. The Metro is across the street and the Copacabana beach 3 blocks away. Main shopping street is 50 feet away.

4 . The house is rented with staff and can include a very full American breakfast. There is a cook who will for a fee prepare snacks, lunches, and other meals. You can rent the house without staff except a daily maintenance man.

5. There is a private third floor pool BBQ and sun deck.

6. The house is run by a multilingual concierge who will arrange all transfers, tours, reservations, and child care.

7. The house is equipped with a kitchen,china, crystal, silver to provide food service for up to 80 guests for functions.

8 It's a family home - cozy enough for two couples to have a great vacation spot and personal attention BUT like any family home there are lots of cabanas sofas etc where we can welcome a student group or bunch of friends.

9. We could provide a short rental for special shooting, etc. but there is a minimum of 3 days for a rental.

The villa has directly across the street a small posada of 7 rooms - so we can combine on one street - 14 bedrooms for the large family or group of friends.

Guests who inquire about the property should know that we are in a quiet neighborhood with great neighbors and it is our policy that during the week - the house outdoor terrace is a quiet zone after 10pm. During weekends we also require respect for our neighbors tranquility.

Basically the villa is organized on 4 levels around a central atrium. All rooms open to this vaulted space via balconies, gardens, or a glass roof which electronically opens to the night sky and marvelous moon views.

Level one is a stone entrance foyer off the little street with entrance doors from a former old Gloria mansion. A great modern kitchen contains every possible culinary gadget, huge island with bar stools,complete business center, and enough an porcelain to serve 100. Off the kitchen is the new decorated atrium (morning room) and a family dining room. The atrium fireplace and over mirror is undergoing completion by the artist who completed faux painting in the restored Teatro Municipal Opera house. The ceiling opens electronically and the second floor balcony gives way to 3 bedroom suites - all with sitting areas and marble deluxe baths with jacuzzi. The dining room is great for a family having breakfast or a sit down for 24. Off these rooms is the wood paneled library with TV/Cinema area and our very special antique Titanic model which the house staff presented this July to the foundation.

There is a small stone powder room off the back stone stairway. All of the major public floor rooms have fireplaces and and make for a great family space. At Christmas - the 15 foot Christmas tree is decorated by the children of the villa staff and we have our annual holiday party and open house.

The second floor suites open by three pairs of antique french doors or stained glass windows to the atrium. Each room makes for a great private sleeping and entertaining space as sofas and easy chairs make it quite comfy. Since the villa is occupied most of the year - these 3 suites are continually in the process of being re-invented.

The third floor is accessed by a stone stairway (with our little Budda in the corner) and panels of native birds and stained glass and a collection of both naif art and the original interior sketches for the house on the walls.

Once you open the door to the third and fourth floor levels - you see the pool with its lion fountain,

a small sitting area with our bird menagerie in cages and the all local birds drinking out of the feeders. Our roof seems to be the greenest spot in the neighborhood and attracts lots of birds and butterflies. The garden is ALWAYS a work in process as the plantings change continually. We try to keep it in flowers year around with hanging planters, plaques of bromeliad and orchids. The barbecue is there and the staff lights the gas lanterns at sunset.

Off the first part of the garden is a trellised walkway of local honeysuckle and some fresh fruit trees as well as a little herb garden. There are two cabanas and small duplex rooftop cottage off of this walkway which are kind of like 18th century wood ship cabins. They share a bath with shower. They have desks with plenty of storage, hundreds of books, and are comfy and cool little spots - full of character. The cabanas can sleep 2 or 3. The cottage consists of - a king size loft above and huge living room below which sleeps 4 on the banquette single beds or the banquettes can be combined into a king. This house has a separate bath and shower with chicken coop type windows which look thru the glass roof all the way to the first floor.

The villa is available as a rental with only one maid to change linens and make beds for guests who want total privacy. On the other hand - the villa has a huge staff for the family or group who wants and needs lots of attention. The daily rental fee depends on the services guests need ( basically price changes when the group is a huge number of guests) and is priced very well as compared to even a three star hotel. We aim to top the service offered anywhere else in our city. We try to make guests feel comfortable from answering their first inquiries to saying goodbye and putting them in a car to return home. We provide a HUGE BREAKFAST EVERY MORNING, and can cater barbecues, and full sit down or buffet dinners. We are quite used to corporate, business, diplomatic, and family parties. We know the best purveyors for buying fresh ingredients, fine meats, great fish, etc. It is a fun spot and we love to throw a party for you.

Now that prices in Rio de Janeiro have become in the league of New York City, Tokyo, or London - we feel it essential that guests have some reasonably priced options for meals. It also seems like guests who have all the intention of eating out every night - change their plans once they get settled into the villa. So we have become quite deft at putting meals together without a lot of notice. We have two lovely street fairs each week with butchers, fishmongers, greengrocers, with dozens of stalls and like to take our guests their to choose whats will be on the table that night.

The Abraços Foundation and Adan have a staff of drivers, tour guides, packaged tour operators, and can help with detailed planning for your trip - from airport pick up until you depart (and even ship those things your forgot back home !!) Guests have the advantage of organizing their schedule when they book or meeting with Adan when they are here to buy tours (Note: prices are 15% lower when purchased in advance of arrival).

Adan handles all the email requests and helps guests who do not know the city and country (or south America) on how to arrange their time based on their interests. We are affiliated with a great Rio travel agency who assists with flights, cruises, etc.

One of the Villa craftsmen is a jazz musician and knows the RIo night life scene. Another consultant is a set designer for Brazilian movies and knows what is hot in town at the moment.

IT has been a busy past three months with a total redo of the villa + movie shoots + a lot of big events BUT we will have a complete on-line villa manual, and menus.

BEFORE YOU MAKE AN INQUIRY-

1. we are totally rented for all of the WORLD CUP PERIOD - We are also 100% rented for OLYMPICS 2016. IF you write thevillainrio@gmail.com (our concierge) he may assist you in locating smaller properties for both CUP and OLYMPICS.

2. We can not offer rentals less than 5 days for large groups - it is just too time consuming to do a changeover after 21 guests have been with us for a short period. There are no short term stays for large groups at regular rental fees, You can stay for three nights BUT WE WILL CHARGE MORE PER DAY FOR THOSE RENTALS.

We can offer a short term rental at a higher fee that reflects our increased costs.

3. Although we can house up to 21 - there is only room for 7 OR 8 couples in privacy. 23 is the maximum but 14 to 16 more ideal unless the group includes children and one uses sofas in the suites or bunk beds.

4. We can offer for the very large group the villa + our other penthouse also advertised on homeaway.com + neighboring pousada and hostels We have arranged stays for a group as large as 55.

5. Rental rates VARY according to the number of guests and services requested. We are indeed an economical alternative for a large groups and offer features not easily available in most apartments or villa rentals.

6. We LOVE a party BUT DO NOT rent to groups who do not abide by the villa quiet hours. We are in a family neighborhood and love our neighbors. We do not rent to any group without questions as we wish to make sure our staff, our villa, and our neighborhood are respected. We have furnished the villa with love and care and special objects and want guests to love our ambiance.

More Details
Hide Details

101 Reviews of Property 174529 Copacabana, Brazil

The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
average rating of 4.9569893 based on 101 reviews
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Turkiye
4

Good vacation home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We have stayed at the villa for 5 nights 6 days , there were 15 people and 2 babies in our group. Everything was good , the villa is as appears on the pictures, the location was good , the property was clean and staff was very very helpful. The owner provide good customer service and the manager, Adan was very helpful with all our questions and our excursions in Rio.
It is really difficult to find a large and beautiful vacation rental like this but I think our stay will be more perfect if we were max 12 people.
I will recommend this villa for everyone planning a trip to Rio,
Again many thanks to Adan who helped us a lot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
New Westminster, BC, Canada
5

Words cannot describe this place (and the staff)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This was our first experience in vacation rental, and we don't know if we'll go back to staying in hotels again. This villa and its staff definitely spoiled us. The villa was perfect for our group of 10. We arranged to be picked up at the airport by the villa. When we arrived at the villa, we were warmly greeted by the manager, and the staff of 5. We immediately felt totally comfortable and at home. The villa itself was just as the pictures on the website. It was very spacious, with lots of room for group gathering, as well as room to escape to if anyone wanted privacy. During our stay, the staff was very accommodating to any of our requests. We even had the chef cook us a traditional Brazilian meal to celebrate the 38th anniversary for my sister and her husband. It was simply fabulous. By the end of our stay, we felt like we've known the staff for years (even though there was a language barrier, with the exception of the manager). We have very fond memories of the villa and the staff.
Starting from the initial contact with the owner, right to the end of our stay, the experience was smooth and we had such a wonderful time. Kudos to the owner for allowing us to staying at his wonderful villa, kudos to the manager and staff for being so warm, helpful, and incredibly Brazilian. Love you all.
Definitely recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
USA
5

Over the top experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
From the moment we reserved it was clear we were in great hands. We received by email an 80 page guide to the villa, the neighborhood, the city, restaurants, shopping, etc. Made it easy to plan in advance. I don't think you get this from even a great hotel. They thought of everything and paying attention to his tips made for a perfect stay. We had underestimated how expensive Rio was and the villa was a real bargain although it was more expensive that our other choice.

Every morning started with our gathering in the dining room for one of Marcia's fine home cooked breakfast. We had her do 3 dinners for us in and ate out 3 times. Not impressed with local restaurants and give her kitchen top ratings. No house by itself makes the experience. It was the sweet, smiling, high energy and fun staff that made it unforgettable. Thank you Adan, Marcia, Marcos, Paula, Kelly and especially Marcos. They helped us plan our touring and we feel like we got the real Rio.

We will be back. You guys should some sort of a blog or Facebook page.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Washington, DC
5

Memorable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is a wonderful place  for a family get together.. Everyone from my two year old niece and 85 year old mother felt at home at the villa.  The accomodations, service and experience were memorable to everyone thanks to Michael, Adan, Marcia and the team.  The villa by itself is a site to be visited; the architectural details and interior design is tastefully well done, combining the design on old Brazilian homes with modern amenities.  

With 14 members in the family, we preferred staying home for meals.. The breakfast and dinners prepared by Marcia and Michael ( as we benefited by his presence) were much better than dining out.
Again, there was always something for everybody, including waffles with chocolate syrup for the kids.  Food is an important consideration to this family and dining at the villa was so much more fun.  

Adan was very helpful in helping out with the logistics in accommodating a big group, including organizing the airport transfers, city tours, and purchasing supplies.  Overall, highly recommended on all fronts, accommodations, location, service and food.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
5

Obrigado to The Villa in Rio staff

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Michael, you are a superb host, chef, baker, entertainer, travel advisor, and villa owner built in one person. The villa is so elegant with attention to the finest details from the classy decors, well kept rooms, delicious breakfast, and well planned exquisite dinners. We would to thank the whole staff - Adan, Marcia, Kelly, Paula and Jairo fro their wonderful job - they were very professional yet they made everyone feel that this was their home away from home. Special mention also to Rob who made extra effort to be with us when Abner needed some medical attention during our stay. Would definitely recommend The Villa in Rio to our friends and colleagues.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

A WONDERFUL STAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Aaah - a wonderful stay as we really enjoyed ourselves. A great location, hospitable and friendly staff, who provided excellent service.
Thanks VERY MUCH
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

2 us group enjoy stay at Copacabana house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
2 dance groups totalling 33 people stayed at this beautiful home! We felt like movie stars. We paid extra for 2 superb dinners and ate together like a family. The meals were beyond fabulous! We also paid extra to have our transportation to and from the airport and have a brief city tour. It was perfect to have all arrangements made by the owner, Michael. He was very good at maintaining contact and assuring me that all would go perfectly as planned and it did!

We were very fortunate to also have Michael, the owner, make arrangements to also rent part of the home next door to accomodate the rest of our group for sleeping purposes.

The home is so beautiful straight out of a magazine! Minutes from the beach, safe neighborhood and the best staff you could ever expect!

Congratulations Michael, and staff (Adan, Sonia, Marcia, Paula & Jairo) for a job well done! We loved every minute of our stay in Rio!
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
5

"Dream Wedding"

"Dream Wedding"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
In July of this year, my husband and I exchanged our vows in the heart of Brazil, Rio de Janeiro. With guests from America and Brazil, we wanted to provide a mixture of cultures with a combination of classy, intimate and a lot of fun. My first concern was where I would put my american family-from my cousin's two year old to my grandma. As we searched for different hotel prices, I came across a wedding blog of a woman whom had not only hosted her family at the Villa, but also had her wedding there. I immediately sent an inquiry which was answered in as little as 24 hours. Within that same week, the owner, Michael called me to discuss my wedding plans and provide an idea of what he could create in case I wanted to have my reception there.

My family, which include 15 people, stayed confortably in the Villa for the week of my wedding. Restaurants were suggested, homemade meals were made for us and everybody felt at home. We even had our dogsitter fall through and Michael's solution was to just bring the dogs with! This is an owner who will make sure that your vacation is relaxing. He will go out of his way to make sure that you are happy.

On the day of our wedding, our only responsibility was to get dressed and arrive at the church. Our ceremony was no more than an hour and by the time our 60 guests arrived the Villa, it had completely transformed. The appetizers were out of this world and some were even passed out by the Villa staff. A bar had been put in where our guests could order typical Brazilian drinks. Everybody was having fun. THe dinner - amazing. Michael accomodated to my vegetarian needs and let me tell you, the bride did not go hungry. Anytime I return to Rio with a group, I will look no further than the Villa. My friends and family walked away saying that it was the best wedding party they had ever been to. People are still talking about the music, drinks, food and staff.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beautiful home

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Thank you for accepting us in this beautiful home. I appreciate the help and amaizing service!! Thank you!!
business
The Villa in Rio de Janeiro - 6BR+ Library/ Pool/ Full Breakfast Included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174529
Copacabana Rio de Janeiro City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

House Superb!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Absolutely the most fantastic time in Rio! House superb! Food superb! Rio superb! Fautless + exquisite - We shall be Brazil!!! Thay you Michael I hope we meet some day!