Brooklyn townhome rental - master bedroom gives to the terrasse
master bedroom gives to the terrasse
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Brooklyn Townhome Rental Photos and Description
sleeps 5, one bathroom ,one bedroom

On the third floor of a hundred years old brownstone, la Maison des Sirenes is perfect for anybody appreciating style and comfort. Affordable but not 'cheap', La Maison des Sirenes is well dressed!!! The apartment was decorated with taste and I meticulously picked every single of furnitures myself. This is the first apartment I ever rented as a vacation rental(August 2007).

It is located on one of the most coveted block of Bedstuy(tree lined). It features a master bedroom,an antique bathroom, fully equipped Tuscan style kitchen,dining room,living room and an amazing bamboo lined deck with table,umbrella and wrought iron daybed. Perfect for barbecue in summer,sun bathing brunches on weekends or simply relaxing.

Most importantly the apartment is a few statins away from Manhattan.

Check my other property La maison des Sirenes 2 (384590)

Bedstuy used to be known for its motto 'do or die' . Not anymore!!!! Now it is best known for its incredibly beautiful Brownstone. It was fearures recentlt in the Time Out magazine as ' one of the best neighbourhood ' of NYC.The strong community and abundant beautiful brownstone townhouses contribute to its growth and charm. New cafes,restaurants,bakeries ,boutique ,galleries nd wine bars are sprouting everywhere receiving much attention by Zagat, time out,NY magazines and blogs. A diverse mix of students,hipsters,artists,crative professionals,architects and attorneys of all races continue to move to the neighbourhood.

The area is serviced well by the A abd C train with commute times 15 mn to lowervManhattan and 30 mn to midtown.(times square).

Bedstuy was home to famous artists such as Notorious BIG,Lil Kim,Mos Def,Chris rock,,poet June Jordan and activist Hattie Carthan. Bedstuy streets are often represented in media : Spike lee movies, MIA music video.....

There is a strong sense of pride being part of Bedstuy and being its pioneers.

More Details
Hide Details

I simply fell in love with all the stain glasses and beautiful intricate wood frames.

60 Reviews of Property 171767 in Brooklyn, New York

LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
average rating of 4.8448277 based on 60 reviews
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
uk
4

Brooklyn Adventure

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
i stayed here in May o9 with my 3 teenage children ( 2 girls and a boy)

Nathalie was efficient with the booking process and was very ammenable as we did not arrive at her flat until the very early hours of the morning.

We did not see much of Nathalie during our stay but she was easy to contact by mobile if needed.

The flat was a good size for my family and had everything that we needed.
It was a good location - being a short walk for main tube lines.
The area is fine- I often walked home with my children at midnight and did not encounter any problems. In fact we were there at Memorial weekend- so everyone was patying on their front porch and always said hello.

It was a far better way to see New York than a sterile over priced hotel chain.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
The Sea Ranch, CA USA
5

Bed-Stuy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
It was great to say in Brooklyn instead of the craziness of Manhattan, much quieter for sleeping. Plus, I don't think we would have explored Brooklyn (which we are now love) if we would have been in Manhattan. It was very easy to get around with the subway, especially if you get a 7 day metro-card, so you didn't have to think about it again.
Nathalie was great! Helpful with any information we needed, yet good about respecting your privacy. The apartment was comfy and very clean. Lot's of character that you just don't see anymore in newer buildings. The neighborhood was nice and everyone was friendly. It's an area that is in transition (for the better), so its very multi cultural. Which we found to be a refreshing change for where we live.
We would stay at Nathalie's anytime.
P.S. Nathalie, we're ready for that baguette challenge anytime you are!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: I for sure would love to visit your bakery! I loved the homemade granola you gave me and cannot wait to taste the baguette!!!
My neighbourhood is very cute all year along and for christmas people make a great deal at decorating their houses. It is worth to see.
good news :i lowered my rates to match the economy.The new rates are indicated in the apartment description.It is a 20% discount.All new reservation would get this exceptionnal rate.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
Los Angeles
5

Pure Eden at Nathalie's place...

Pure Eden at Nathalie's place...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Nathalie was a true blessing. Our stay in her home was what made our trip to New York so special. I would recommend anyone with style, class and a desire to be truly comfortable stay here. She was so accomodating, welcoming and even invited me for dinner and wine. In turn, we took extremely good care of her home. There is a lot of great energy and love there! Lot's of light and We felt rich with positivity. I can not wait to go back to Nathalie's place. :) xoxoxo Mo & Frantz
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Through my vacation rental i have met some amazing people and made new friendship.Mo and Frantz are definately among these people.
Mo treated the apartment like it was her own and left it impeccable.their appreciation was a true reward to me.
Both are welcome any time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
Mutterstadt, Germany
5

Great place to spend your holidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Well, what shall I write? Our hearts and minds are still in Brooklyn. We stayed here for 2 weeks in august. Nathalie and the neighbours are lovely and very helpfull. We, a family of 4 (2 boys17 +12 yrs.) really loved nathalies apt. It´s so warm and personal furnished. It was bigger, than it looks on the pictures. We are so sorry, that we couldn´t spend more time inside. The deck was invaluable. It was so great to sit on it, when we came home from our looong sightseeing or beach tours. It´s really easy (and only takes 20 min.) to go to manhattan. Though it´s easy to go to the beaches. Rockaway Beach is only a few metro stops away. A great place in summer! Check out brooklyn too, there´s so much to see. The shops, the cafes, restaurants and parks.
The apt. has everything you need. You won´t miss anthing. But if so, go to the next corner, there´s a little deli where you can find everything.

We highly recommend Nathalie´s apt. We love to come back someday! Best wishes from Nicole, Stefan, Yannic and Cedric, Germany
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: i enjoyed having this family here .My son even had a playdate with the youngest kid. It was such a great lesson for him to see that a 12 years old foreigner could speak English fluently.
Last weekend my son and I went to Governors island and ride our bikes.It was such a great escape , you can see the statue of liberty and enjoy the view on Manhatan ad Brooklyn bridge. Certain day of the week you can rent a bike for free(friday). Definately something worth to do.
I finally put together a folder with all the best of timeout(restaurants,bars,shopping...).I think it would make anybody coming to Ny life's easier.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
Cologne/Germany
5

Lovely apartment in Brooklyn

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We had a great time staying in Nathalies apartment. The apartment is lovely decorated and spacious. We loved all the antique furniture and we felt like home from the first day on. The bed is very comfortable and the kitchen has anything you can wish for. It was very hot when we stayed in New York but it helped to leave the patio doors open at night. We were also happy about the fan. The patio itself is very nice with a table and chairs. Unfortunately we were to tired in the evenings to sit outside after all the walking in Manhattan.
The subway station Kingston and Troop is close by and you reach Manhattan in 20 minutes. We were very happy about the basket in the living room with the tourist information brochures and subway plans. We had a great vacation and Nathalie is very nice and helpful. She even invited me to watch my favorite TV Show together in her apartement.
Thank you very much Nathalie and good luck for the future.

Nadya&Omar
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: thank you
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
Cambridge, MA, USA
5

Stylish retreat in Bed Stuy- Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This is a beautiful apartment in an authentic brownstone with big windows and a stylish mix of antiques and accent furniture from all over the world. The bed is very comfortable with soft sheets. In addition to the kitchen and living room, there's a big deck with a grill, a perfect spot to have coffee in the morning or a drink around sundown.

Nearby there are great cafes and bakeries (Good 4 You Cafe, Bread Stuy, and Tiny Cup) as well as Jamaican takeout restaurants and small grocery stores. The subway to Manhattan is about 5 minutes walk away, and it is quick trip to the city. The owner Nathalie lives downstairs and is very solicitous and responsive to guests' needs.

This is perfect for couples or a girls getaway. I highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Summer is almost done. It went so fast this year.So sad.
People are already booking their fall or winter trips.Hurry up before it is too late.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
Melbourne, Australia
5

A great choice in Brooklyn

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We had a lovely time here. Very close to the subway line and quick and easy commute to Manhattan. The apartment is beautiful, and has everything you need to for a comfortable stay. Definitely recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: so here are some news.I always try to better my vacation rental.
Thus I planning on adding breakfast on the list of additionnal services.
I m working on the menu right now. I will let everybody know when this become available.I cannot wait....
In the meantime you can have lunch or dinner at Saraghina or peaches.both are located on lewis avenue which is just a couple blocks away.
People are starting to book their fall and winter trips, hurry up.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
Australia
5

Our second visit in 6 months

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
So often when you return to somewhere that holds memories for you, you are disappointed, but not so in this case. We visited with family late last year and returned as a couple in June - and Nathalie's apartment worked even better for us this time around. Her warm welcome was very re-assuring and our familiarity with the neighbourhood made us immediately comfortable. As before, the apartment was clean and fresh and neat. All facilities for living-in were still there - including the very good wine shop on Marcus Garvey Blvd and the T-Cup coffee shop near the subway on Throop - and we discovered some new (to us) favourites close by - like the "Bread-Stuy" bakery a block or 2 away on Lewis(?) and the big supermarket at Fulton and Nostrand(?) for those nights where you do want to live-in.
Just to add to the home touches, Nathalie now even has a BBQ to use on the deck on sunny days or warm nights!
We bought weekly subway tickets (@$25 for unlimited rides) which seemed to make getting around even easier - Manhatten, other areas of Brooklyn and even JFK are a breeze once you're familiar with the system.
All in all, we loved every minute of our stay - the apartment has everything you need for living-in, it feels like home and it has easy access to transport and other facilities.
If we can make it back to NYC again sometime we will definitely make a point of staying at Nathalie's.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so happy you came back.You are such a cute little couple and i have enjoyed our conversation ,anedocts about having children.
The neighbourhood have a new addition.It is an Italian restaurant called Saraghina.It opened on the 8th of June and experience a great success.The pizzas (made in an earth stone oven) are fantastic.I go there all the time myself.You would love the waiters and the owners with their Italian accent.it is located on halsey and Lewis.Just a few blocks away from home.
I just discovered a fish market on Fulton st and Throop.You can get a great fish and grill it on the bbq before the summer ends.
I just posted new pictures on the site as I changed the living room a little bit.Change is good for the mind!!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
Barcelona
5

Excellent place in Brooklyn!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Staying at Nathalie's is the best way to get an excellent impression of Brooklyn and its environment.
The place is very quiet and lovely.
The apartment meets the expectations: it is clean, careful, quiet, bright.
Is very near to the subway station and the way to downtown Manhattan is very fast.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am happy when my guests are happy!Thank you for your lovely review.

Spring is finally here. Summer is around the corner and there are tons of things to do in Ny during this season.It is my favourite time of the year so pack up a bag and come to NY.
business
LA MAISON DES SIRENES 1 .
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171767
+1 6464084053
Brooklyn New York City
Brest France
5

New York hors des sentiers battus !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
Plutot qu'un sejour hotelier dans la trepidante Manhattan, nous avons cette fois fait le choix d'une maison d'hotes à Brooklyn...Les avis unanimes des vacanciers séjournant à Hancock str nous ont guidé vers ce quartier de BedStuy. L'appartement correspond en tous points au photos du site, il est spacieux 75m2, confortable, bien équipé, on peut très vite s'y sentir comme chez soi...sans parler de la proprietaire qui manie a la perfection gentillesse et langue de Molière.
Situé dans un quartier populaire Afro Americain, sur une jolie rue de maisons brown-stones, desserte très facile de Downtown Brooklyn ou Manhattan par metro ou bus avec le sentiment de partager un peu de la vie d'un quartier populaire de New York. Gens du quartier, usagers des transports, très prevenants et attentionnés avec nous, pauvres "frenchies" exilés du bouillonnant Times Square.
Venez sans hésiter decouvrir un visage contrasté de la Grosse Pomme dans ces rues de Brooklyn - à peine à 40 minutes du coeur de la cité -
Thank you Nathalie for giving us this opportunity, cheerio !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1