Austin house rental - Large pool surrounded by huge patio and lush vegetation.
Large pool surrounded by huge patio and lush vegetation.
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps16
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
4000 sq. ft. 7 bedroom home with pool, on 30 acres, minutes from Downtown Austin

The Rockin' Y Ranch is a private 4000 sq. ft. hilltop home, situated on 30 acres. Cozy up next to the indoor fire place or two outdoor fire pits! Features eclectic, Texas decor and a huge commercial-quality kitchen and bar. Two living rooms, each with a big flat-screen TV, and wireless internet throughout the property. There is a beautiful 2nd-story balcony and large front porch with views of downtown Austin. Garden patio with large pool, outdoor furniture, and hammock. Landscaped yard includes small playground area with swings for children. Party Barn has a pool table, ping pong table, foos ball, music and bar. Fun spot to hang out! Land also includes chickens which can be visited if desired but are far enough from the home to go unnoticed. Hiking trails and wildflowers are among the amenities available on this beautiful property. Hill Country splendor just 15 minutes from downtown, and 1 minute to local dining, groceries, and retail

62 Reviews of Property 169977 in Austin, Texas

7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
average rating of 4.7580647 based on 62 reviews
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Austin
5

We had an excellent time at the Rocking Y

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We had a meeting of 15 family members, and the Rocking Y was tremendous! It was most convenient and comfortable, and suited our needs to the tee. We'll be back.
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
San Antonio
4

30th Birthday Party!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
The Rockin Y ranch was the perfect getaway for my wife's 30th birthday party. The property was well maintained and there was tons of room to wonder about. The "Party Barn" offered a great place to hang out and enjoy company away from both neighbors and the main house in case there was anyone who wanted to go to sleep early. I would absolutely recommend this property for any type of reunion, large party, or gathering. It was very convenient to everything we wanted to do in Austin. The owner was on standby for anything and everything we needed. She was great! We will absolutely be back to the Rockin Y for future gatherings.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Dallas, TX
5

Great Home for a Large Group... Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
I’ve written many reviews before but this is by far the easiest review I have had to write. The Rockin Y Ranch was PERFECT for our needs. Context: My friend and I were responsible for planning and hosting a bachelor party for 15 guys in Austin. We’re all in our late 20s. The weekend ended with every guy saying this is the BEST place they have ever stayed at for a bachelor party. Why is it the best? A number of reasons. (1) It is a large space that is well done. There are 3 bedrooms upstairs, 4 bedrooms downstairs and somehow, the owners managed to find the best beds in the world to put in each bedroom. I frequently stay at 5* hotels (e.g., The Plaza in NY, Ritz, Fairmonts, W Hotels) and I can’t recall one of them having a bed as nice as the one I had – the room I stayed in was upstairs closest to the bathroom. (2) The Party Barn is eclectic. It is furnished with plenty of sofas, a ping pong table, pool table, darts, poker table, etc. It even has a simple AV system and we were able to hook up our iPods and keep playing great music all night. We spent an entire night just shooting the breeze at the party barn. (3) The house is nice and unique. I have rented other vacation homes before on VRBO, etc and I can’t say the same thing. The place isn’t a brand new construction but we couldn’t find a material fault with anything. The decorations are unique (read: not modern, more colorful instead) but it is well done, all cabinets are appropriately labeled, and the kitchen is FULLY stocked with any pot/pan/knife/silverware that you may need for your guests. Again, don’t expect a W Hotel or Westin décor… instead, it’s a bit more of a country flair with random art/sculptures/decorations from around the world (4). It REALLY is just 12 minutes from downtown Austin. We were able to get to 4th street / W. 6th street very quickly. (5) It is NOT in the country. Within a 2 minute drive, you have Gattis Pizza, McDonalds, a massive grocery store called HEB, etc… it is located very close to a major highway intersection (71 & 290). (6) The owners are very responsive and accommodating. Perhaps even better than most 5* hotels, the owners did a check of the house after we left and found a few items we left behind. They promptly mailed those items backed to us at NO COST. I was very impressed by the service they provided.

If it isn’t clear, I am a huge fan of this place. This is place that is great for a guys weekend, girls weekend or couples weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Fort Lauderdale FL
5

Awesome place to stay if you get the chance

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Son was getting married to a local girl and family needed a large enough place to call home for a week. Couldn't have found a better place to stay than the "Rockin Y Ranch". This place was huge with enough things to enjoy onsite. The party barn was fantastic as this was were we spent most of our time playing games and listening to the fantastic record collection. The fire pits were a huge success also as the weather was a little chilly. The kitchen was fantastic and helpful as a few nights we cooked our own meals. One night we had brides extended family show up at house and still had plenty of space for all.

The nights we ventured downtown into Austin it was a short cab ride and it was a blast. Plenty of resturants and shopping within close proximity of house was also great.

The only issue we had was the first day there hot water ran out quickly. I called Natalie and she arrived at home along with her Dad and quickly took care of this situation. Very much appreciated.

Looking forward to renting the Rockin Y Ranch this summer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Dallas, TX
4

Comfortable, rustic, fun Austin ranch visit for seventeen

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We really enjoyed our five days at the Rockin' Y Ranch. Natalie's warm welcome made us feel at home from the start.

The ranch was a great fit for our seventeen-person family reunion, with members ages 12 to 74. The bedrooms were comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked for feeding a large group. We used all seven bedrooms and the younger generation slept comfortably on couches in the livingroom and den, using extra bedding found in the master bedroom and upstairs linen closet.

Our favorite on-site activities were feeding the goats, campfires in the fire pits, pool/ping pong/darts in the funky party barn, hiking and running on the property, cooking large meals in the kitchen, and just relaxing outdoors in the idyllic natural surroundings.

Our favorite off-site activities included:
- Shopping and eating on South Congress (Craft booths and some food trailers are only open weekends, but good on weekdays too.)
- Blazer Tag (laser tag) and Peter Pan Mini Golf
- The capitol tour -- great tour guides give insight into Texas history for those of us who didn't go to elementary school here
- Amy's Ice Cream

Caveats and hints to future guests:
- The kitchen table comfortably seats twelve. The livingroom and firepit can seat at least seventeen, and there are additional small tables for dining outdoors.
- The Rockin' Y's knife sharpener can solve any internet-rumored dull knife issues.
- The traffic to and from downtown Austin can be annoying, but did not deter us from daily trips into town.
- It's hard to sleep in the den when people are still up and talking in the kitchen.
- The taxidermy-a-plenty decor in the livingroom and party barn is fun but may be off-putting to the vegans in your group.
- The wireless router works best downstairs near the center of the house.
- The goats are assertive and very smelly (but much fun to feed!)
- When we stayed there, the upstairs hall shower water was either too hot or dribbled out of the showerhead. I notified the owner when we left, and within days she informed me that this has been fixed.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Palm Desert, CA
5

Our Wedding Reception, October 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We found this vacation rental online. My wife and I looked at dozens of properties throughout the city of Austin. We picked this one for a few reasons;

1. The size of the property was large enough to have the reception with 80 guests, it could have easily held more, but that was our head count we needed.

2. The property has an awesome "party barn" out back, in case the event was rained out, which was a real concern for October weddings in Texas. The large barn has pool tables, foosball tables, ping pong tables and much more. A few of our guests hung out there most of the time.

3. The home was able to sleep our entire wedding party and their special someone. This made it nice to hang out but more importantly easy to get ready before the ceremony since all the Bride's Maids and Groom's Men were there, plenty of bathroom space, both upstairs and down.

4. We had the event catered and the kitchen was set up for commercial applications, making it easy for the caterer to show up and start cooking. Note they have 2 refrigerators, ovens and an icemaker and more, all with lots of counter space.

5. The owners of the property also had enough large round tables, chairs, glasses, utensils, ect. so we didn't really need to rent anything additional for a reception our size.

6. We spoke to a few other rental properties on the phone but found that the representatives for this property truly wanted our stay to be memorable and were trying to help at every turn.

7. The cost, without question, was worth every penny; and we rented over the weekend but the value remained evident.

In the end, we received our full deposit promptly and without question. Absolutely I would recommend this home as a rental for traditional events like a reception, as well as corporate events. There is so much to do and it's all just minutes away from the Austin Downtown 'scene' yet quietly away from everyone on its 30 acres. I look forward to another excuse to rent this property and show it off to whomever we invite.

GLTU
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Houston, Tx
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
13 of us women stayed here for a Bachelorette Party weekend. This home is absolutely perfect for a large group. There are plenty of beds and plenty of room. The layout of the home allows you to never feel crowded. The outdoor areas are just beautiful. We lounged by the pool, walked the grounds, hung out in the party barn, enjoyed the fresh breezes on the front porch, etc. Everything was in working order and the kitchen is nice and open for cooking those big meals. The owners are fabulous and are available 24/7 for any requests/needs you may have. We had none, but it was nice knowing all we had to do was pick up a phone if we did need anything. It's location was also perfect for our trip downtown - 20 minutes away. There is retail/grocery shopping/etc. conveniently located as well. It was perfect in every way and every single one of us had a great time and all want to go back for a reunion party! I highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Dallas, TX
5

Rockin' Good Time

Rockin' Good Time
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our group of friends from college were in town for a reunion and had the pleasure of staying at the Rockin' Y. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend. With it's location, you get the best of both worlds....minutes from downtown and other amenities available in SW Austin and the privacy of a Hill Country ranch.

Everything we needed for the kitchen, pool, living areas, etc. was readily available. We had 13 people in our group and had all the space we could ask from. Some places say they "Sleep 16" and likely do, but 16 people can't function and move around the house. Not so with the Rockin' Y. Plenty of room to not only sleep, but to sit and visit, have meals, play games, etc.

I would recommend the Rockin' Y to anyone. It feels like home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Katy, TX
4

reunion fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a wonderful time at the Rockin' Y with our extended family ranging in age from 1 to 78. Everyone loved the pool, party barn, two large and comfortable dens with tv's and the super large kitchen. The house was so pretty and the grounds were gorgeous. Also the location was very convenient for shopping at HEB!! I would recommend staying here for a large gathering.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
7 bedroom house on 30 acres with pool, party barn. Oasis near downtown Austin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169977
+1 512 497-0664
Austin Austin area
Amarillo TX
1

Eclectic shabby

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family made this a great time-we were together in one place.This is the 3rd. home we have vacationed in and this was so bad it was comical.
Here is what the description and pictures do not tell you.It is beyond shabby chic. The pool had no light rather it has one but did not work this caused great concern with 15 people in pool at night. The steps are not marked causing 2 slips into pool with scratches to legs.The gourmet kitchen _ bring your own knives and come enjoy a scavenger hunt for cooking utensils(nothing is marked and everything in strange places. Other rentals had labels on cupboards etc. so we knew where things were and where to return them) No we are not neat freaks .We just like order. Some light switches did not work ,some did.We could not find a vaccume cleaner or dust pan Ceiling fans,some worked did not ,some had super hidden switches,the fans that did work were causing us to look for a hardhat ,as we walked under them .They wobbeled all over!! One had water in it. It was our psychadellic fan!! Mold smell and water leakage upstairs(black mold?).The water shut off while 3 people were showering! The sofas in great room were filthy.The den furniture sofas torn.The air vents in hallways were filthy .There was not seating for 14 at dinner table,but we were together and had a good laugh at all the eclecticness and made the best of it all !!!
I would not recommend this to anyone unless you bring a repairman and a cleaning lady with you!
Owner's Response: We're glad you had a good time in Austin and enjoyed your visit to the Ranch. We appreciate your review. Our priority is to make sure guests are comfortable, the property is clean, and the property is maintained to a high standard. We strive for this through all of our activities at the ranch. The pool has since been completely refinished, the interior of the house updated, and so many more improvements!
Helpful votes: 6/8