Woodstock house rental - Relax by our onsite waterfalls.
Relax by our onsite waterfalls.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Woodstock House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sitting room, sleeps 2-6

Situated on the legendary Niobe Falls, The Waterfall House is a charming Victorian house at the end of a quiet country lane. Private steps down to these “pride of the Catskills” natural waterfalls make this home unique. Unspoiled Palenville, home of Washington Irving's 'Rip Van Winkle,' is ideally located between Woodstock, Saugerties, Catskill and Hunter. Furnished with country antiques and original art, this vacation rental home has two bedrooms, each with its own full bath plus a den with twin bed convertible chairs. The queen size sofa bed in the living room affords a glorious waterfall view framed by spectacular spring, summer and autumn foliage. The separate dining room seats six. French doors open to a romantic wraparound porch with majestic mountain, river and waterfall views! Enjoy breakfast on our romantic, wraparound porch, or lunch at the Circle W General Store. Stroll over to The Fernwood Restaurant for dinner or drinks.

Especially for Nature Enthusiasts: Discover nearby hiking trails. We provide trail maps and hiking guides. Wildlife is abundant, so bring your camera.

We'll help you plan just the right outdoor adventure hike. In season, tour the neighborhood with bicycles we provide.

Convenient to H.I.T.S.: Our proximity to this major equestrian center makes this home ideal for those participating in, or simply attending the wealth of seasonal events.

Skiers, Take Note!: We are located a mere ten miles from Hunter Mountain!

More Details
Hide Details

'ThinkBig!' creator Bob Malkin and former Emmy award winning film editor, author and former professor Barbara Pokras met and married in 1992. After relocating to New York City in 1997, we discovered the Catskills and in a single weekend, bought our first house. We love the proximity to Manhattan, the beauty of the area and the access to nature. Bob loves to hike the mountain with our dog Lucy, and Barbara

spends time gardening, writing for the Woodstock Film Festival, and finding little 'treasures' for The Waterfall House.

Bob Malkin and Barbara Pokras purchased this house in 2006

We never dreamed we'd be in the Vacation Rental business, but when we first saw The Waterfall House with its magnificent setting and old perennial gardens, we simply couldn't resist.

Fantastic waterfall and mountain views. Sleep to the sounds of falling water. Most guests tell us our photographs don't do justice to the spectacular setting.

49 Reviews of Property 166339 in Woodstock, New York

Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
average rating of 5.0 based on 49 reviews
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
I love the waterfall and love the balcony and I love the flat screen TV. Today we
heard that 4 bears were walking on the street. I was leaning on the fence and I
love your garden.
Josh: I am 7 years old.
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 1, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
A perfect setting for the long weekend and our 20th wedding anniversary. Watching the boys swim in the float fill was reminiscent of an Eakins painting.
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
My husband and I stayed at the Waterfall House and had an amazing time. Even
in late winter, the property was a beautiful, relaxing, and cozy retreat. We were
so comfortable with the fireplace, well-stocked kitchen, and extensive movie
collection that we didn't leave once in 5 days (except, of course, for strolls to the
waterfall with our dog).
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
LI- NY
5

Return Visit, Only Gets Better

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
This house and property are wonderful. Every detail has been thought of - all you need is your toothbrush. The house has wonderful treasures, the waterfall is amazing & the location excellent. This was our second trip. 5 of us from various parts all met up: we were able to relax, shop, ski, and just hang out in this very special, cozy home. The kitchen was well supplied, we made dinner one night and sat by the fireplace, watching the falls-not sure it gets better then that. I would highly recommend this property, great getaway-excellent restaurants, Main St shopping- cute little stores. We skied one day, and it was nice to be off the beaten path, easy drive to the slopes..The three day weekend was just what we needed, and the setting just melts stress away..The plasma TV was a great addition - Count us in for next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. You left the place in perfect condition earning good guest status. No security deposit will be required from you the next time you visit The Waterfall House.
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
NY, NY
5

Guestbook Comment

Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Waterfall House. A great escape from the chaos of NYC right now. We were lucky enough to see the bear at the F...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Waterfall House. A great escape from the chaos of NYC right now. We were lucky enough to see the bear at the Fernwood the first 2 nights we were here. He was having a snack at the dumpster. We are already planning to come back.

(9/27/08)
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
NY, NY
5

Guestbook Comment

"WOW!, is all we kept saying to each other for the first 20 minutes we were here. A dog's smile is one of the best things on earth & o...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
"WOW!, is all we kept saying to each other for the first 20 minutes we were here. A dog's smile is one of the best things on earth & our dog smiled all weekend. We enjoyed hiking and taking in all the beauty of the Catskill.s Bob & Bab's attention to detail provided us with every comfort imaginable. The house is adorable! We love their taste in art and enjoyed the various pieces. We look forward to coming in the warmer months so we may try out the swimming holes.
Thanks for everything!

(10/3/08)
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
long island
5

Graden Of Eden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
YOu have arrived at the Garden of Eden The waterfall looks as good and better then the pictures advertised.Not only is the waterfall incredible so are the sounds of the stream and falls.The house itself was very nice and built so you can enjoy the great views of Niobi Falls and Kaaterskill Creek.As Dr Tenner said highest reccomendation possible
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
brooklyn, ny
5

Guestbook Comment

There is no way to fully describe the unbelievable sense of comfort, relaxation, welcomeness and pure beauty that is the Waterfall House. We spent a w...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
There is no way to fully describe the unbelievable sense of comfort, relaxation, welcomeness and pure beauty that is the Waterfall House. We spent a weekend away with our dog and were able to truly feel that we had escaped our hectic city life. Barbara and Bob have made us true converts to the Catskills and the Waterfall House. They provide lots of small amenities that are so generous, and they are really invested in insuring that if you are staying at the house, you are able to enjoy the area as much (or as little) as you would like. It is such a stunningly gorgeous location though that you wouldn't be crazy for just holing up in the house and enjoying the view of the waterfall and the pleasant surroundings of the house. They also welcomed our very active and well behaved Aussie for the weekend, for which she is eternally grateful. I can't wait to visit again and again.
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Brooklyn, NY
5

Guestbook Comment

We absolutely loved staying here. The falls are beautiful, serene and invigorating at the same time. We have a new appreciation for the entire area a...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
We absolutely loved staying here. The falls are beautiful, serene and invigorating at the same time.
We have a new appreciation for the entire area and will definitly be back.
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Florida
5

Guestbook Comment

Barbara & Bob We love the waterfall house. Thank you for thinking of EVERYTHING and making our stay so comfortable. Hope to stay again soon. Deb...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Oct 2007
Barbara & Bob
We love the waterfall house. Thank you for thinking of EVERYTHING and making our stay so comfortable. Hope to stay again soon.
Deb & Joe