Lancaster cottage rental - Little Stone Cottage
Little Stone Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lancaster Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Our vision is that this would be place of blessing for truly married couples. Our desire is to honor God's definition of marriage 'One man and one women for life.' We believe that His design for Marriage is perfect.

Located just off the beaten path near the village of Gap, you'll find this cute getaway nestled in the quiet, among mostly Amish farms and businesses. This is a fully remodeled and tastefully decorated escape. It whispers romance, relaxation, and renewal.

You can eat on the back deck, relax in the hot tub and count the stars, or sit on the patio and enjoy the view of the tastefully landscaped backyard with a small pond and or watch the neighoring Amish children play.

In the stone basement an old original fireplace and comfy sofa beckons you to sit by the fire. The romantic bedroom suite features a comfortable king-size bed with a partial canopy. The fully equipped kitchen makes in house meal preparation easy. This is an ideal place for honeymoons and anniversaries, and truly a place you'll want to come back to. The vaulted bedroom ceiling with exposed beams and skylight is very distinctive.

This historic cottage is part of Spring Wood Organic Farm which is a 220 acre third generation Mennonite family farm operated by Roman and Lucy Stoltzfoos with the help of their eleven children. Most days you will see cattle and other animals peacefully grazing on well kept pastures nearby. All this is within 20 minutes of Lancaster's main tourist area, many good shopping malls, and excellent restaurants.

Keywords: Honeymoon Cottage Romantic Getaway

Married Couples Cabin Retreat

More Details
Hide Details

Roman and Lucy Stoltzfoos are operating Spring Wood farm for over 32 years which is a 3rd generation Mennonite family farm where Roman was born and raised. They were married on a bright sunny day in July 1978, near Iowa city, Iowa where most of Lucy's family still lives. After more than three years on a church mission near Charlottesville Va we were needed on the Home farm in Lancaster County Pa. So after working for dad one year we took over the dairy and were kept busy since raising our family in the Garden Spot. Eleven children and eight grandchildren later we are still kept busy on this 220 acre organic dairy and turkey farm. We also run 2500 layers that are free range grass fed happy hens. We enjoy sharing our slice of the country and some choice farm raised foods with cottage guests. Healthy children, Healthy food and Healthy marriages are the missions of Spring Wood Organic Farm. We want married couples to be renewed as they pullback from busy schedules and take time to love up on each other and bask in the blessing and fulfillment of the true marriage covenant. It is a gift from God and one of His choice creations.

Roman or Lucy purchased this cottage in 2002

We enjoyed over the years of our marriage getting away as a couple to romantic little retreats and when we acquired this property with a small run down little house on it we thought of perhaps turning into a romantic getaway which would be a retreat for married couples. It is refreshing to see the many that could benefit from their time here. We have enjoyed making romantic dreams come true for married couples and love to host those interested in the blessing of romance inside of marriage.

You will be able to relax and really spend quality time together. There are marriage books, tapes, romantic games, CDs, and DVDs here for your learning and enjoyment. There is something for everyone and you could spend several days or more here without becoming bored. Our desire is to honor the purpose for which God created marriage! Our goal is that you would be bonded in a new and refreshing way as you rest and relax at the cottage. Our great God broods over and protects the marriage covenant and so very much desires and wants us to experience it fully! The definition for marriage according to His eternal word is one man and one women for life. May all the truly married couples that come here be blessed and encouraged to honor the designer of marriage and the creator of love and romance.

64 Reviews of Property 73588 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 64 reviews
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Bethlehem Pa
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
There just aren't enough superlatives to describe this lovely little cottage and our gracious hosts, Roman and Lucy and their beautiful family! It was the perfect getaway, so quiet, so refreshing, so renewing. Every detail was perfect. We already reserved for another year and are counting the days till we can come back.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Hollsopple, Pa
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
What a great getaway. We celebrated our 35th anniversay aug 17-19. The moment we walked in the door we felt like we were home, the only thing different was it was just the two of us. ALONE AT LAST! The hot tub and massage table was our favorite, along with all the homemade goodies. We enjoyed the quiet evenings on the porch. We didn't even miss the tv. The love and peace of God filled the place. We took his peace home with us. Thank you for your wonderful ministry to married couples. Hope to see you next summer!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words and God bless you as use the peace you got here and pass it on to others. We can provide a getaway but only God gives peace. God gives his peace and blessing as a couple seeks it by blessing each other with generous love as God intended. There's always more peace in a household when a husband and wife take time to truly connect with each other. That is a decision you make and an investment of time on your part, then peace is a result you take with you. God bless you as you keep the peace he gave you by deep heart sharing with each other.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Lake Isabella, Michigan
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
What the perfect little place. A must for the couple on their honeymoon or looking to reconnect in their marriage. You can't go wrong with this delightful place. The owners are very welcoming. A Sunday stay needs to be included to visit their church and enjoy the many Amish passing by. We will definitely make a return. Thanks for a great week. A definite 10 out of 10 property.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Erie, PA
5

Couples Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We had high expectations for this little cottage, and I must say they were far exceeded. From the moment we stepped in the door, it was calm and peaceful and beautiful. We loved so many things about the cottage, from the beautiful decorating, to the Hershey kisses around every corner, the obvious thoughtfulness that went into making a great weekend and more. We loved the yogurt and granola the fridge was stocked with, and we especially loved eating it on the back deck while watching the horses graze in the nearby field. There was lots to do at the cottage, and even more just a few miles away if you wanted to venture out. My husband was a big fan of the homemade bread that was waiting for us upon arrival -- that didn't last long, but the memories we built in the little stone cottage will! We hope to return again in the future!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Beaver Dams, NY
5

We can't wait to come again!

We can't wait to come again!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Where can we start? This place was such a blessing to my husband & I. We have been trying to stay here and we were finally able to get away. It was more than we could have imagined.We have recommended it to all the married couples we know. The only problem is everyone else who has stayed here feels the same way so it's always booked. Be sure to book way in advance. We look forward to coming back real soon. Roman, Lucy & Charlene really outdo themselves to make your stay unforgettable ! They have a wonderful ministry, that has blessed so many.
Thank You so much -
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Blessings come from God the creator of love and marriage. Thank you for your kind remarks and for being part of the vision of this place.

Roman and Lucy
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Eastern US
5

We Loved It!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The Little Stone Cottage was exactly as advertised and so much more! The location is wonderful, peaceful and quiet. Just about the only noise was the clip-clopping of horses as the Amish buggies went by throughout the day.

The cottage itself is beautiful. The place is very clean and well maintained. A lot of care has been put into the layout and the amenities. It is definitely a couples' paradise!

It is close enough to Lancaster shopping and other attractions, but still far enough away to make you forget all about all that and just enjoy the peace and quiet of the country.

The property owners have gone to great lengths to ensure your stay is very comfortable. They offer milk, yogurt, granola, grape nuts and eggs from their own organic farm and it is all very good.

We received a phone call from the property owner while we were there to be sure everything was to our liking, but we didn't even have to think about anything not being to our liking because everything was perfect!

We would definitely recommend this property to married couples looking for a quiet, peaceful, romantic place to stay.

A+++++++++++!!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Our intention is for couples to enjoy each other while resting from the daily grind, drawing closer to God, and each other. We call that romance!

Roman and Lucy
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Ft Worth, Tx
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We had an incredible week at your lovely cottage. The new bed was interesting but we did adjust. This is absolutely the most relaxed, romantic place anyone can visit! From the moment you arrive to the time you leave, Roman and Lucy have made certain that your needs were anticipated. There were games for the evenings that it rained and suggestions for places to go and see that were well worth the time! Thanks for sharing this with us!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Newton Falls, OH
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We fell in love with The Little Stone Cottage the moment we arrived. The cottage is anything but "little" for the 2 of us. The cottage was so romantic...you cant help but fall in love with your partner all over again.

Everything in the house is top-notch. This was a completely stress-free vacation for us where we were able to focus on what really mattered - our relationship.

The Stoltzfoos thought of everything in the cottage. There were robes, massage oils, a laundry basket, plenty of towels, hairdryer, and enough candles to illuminate the entire house.

The best part was meeting the Stoltzfoos'. They are such kind, generous people.

We are already looking ahead to see when we can stop by again for a long-weekend.

Thank you, Roman & Lucy, for creating this wonderful place. Your thoughtfulness and love shows in every inch of the house.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Not Specified
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
This was a surprise 10th anniversary trip for my husband. From the moment we arrived it was instant relaxation. Every corner we turned brought a new surprise. The beautiful grounds, the immaculate way the home is kept, the wonderful homemade goodies and all of the attention to every little detail made us feel as if we were guests at an exclusive five star resort. But, it is even better than a resort because it was our own private get away and all of the little extras were ours alone to enjoy. We had plans to eat out and do a little exploring of the local area but found we were so content and relaxed there that we never left. We also enjoyed hiking around the wooded trails. The Little Stone Cottage is truly the best place to relax and reconnect with nature and the one you love away from the hustle and bustle of the "real" world. Roman, Lucy, Charlene and family, we wish you continued success with your ministry and the organic getaway you have all poured so much love and detail into. We will be back.

God Bless,
Paulette and Josh Holland
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Butler, PA
5

Guestbook Comment

We fell in love with the Little Stone Cottage! It is a wonderful place to spend time together as a couple. And it was the perfect place to celebrate...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We fell in love with the Little Stone Cottage! It is a wonderful place to spend time together as a couple. And it was the perfect place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. (Thank you Husband!) Walking through the door for the first time was like stepping into a welcome hug from God, and He didn't let go! Never have we stayed somewhere so beautiful and clean, so intimate and restful! Never have we felt more loved and cared for. We were surrounded with peace and beauty and blessing at every turn. Everything was amazing and beyond our expectation. We had so much fun! We ate well, laughed often and loved much! The fresh milk, eggs, yogurt, granola and home-made bread were an added bonus! It was difficult to leave, but we have great memories to keep us until our next visit. To the Stoltzfoos family, we bless you and thank you for your warm hospitality, excellent service, tender care, and for this wonderful ministry! May the light in the Little Stone Cottage continue to shine for many years to come!
Helpful votes: 3/3