County Wicklow farmhouse rental - Beach in Spring
Beach in Spring
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

County Wicklow Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
A one-off comfortable period cottage right on the Irish Sea coast line

A unashamedly romantic secluded period farmhouse, “Park” has sea views from every room (from every bed if you want to be exact) and is set in a magical unspoiled coastal vista with an unrepeatable “get away from it all” atmosphere.”

A private holiday home and bolt-hole for the same family for more than fifty years, there is a calmness and a healing property that makes it perfect for honeymooners (not necessarily their first) and also idyllic for young children who might find they can explore the abundant natural beauty of the farmland and coastline with a nowadays unusual freedom.

The informal seaside style gardens feature ancient stone walls and extensive grassed areas and suggest the urgent need for a little more relaxation before indulging in anything as vigorous as a walk on the beach let alone a swim. There is a sheltered cove on the property and also rock pools and an amazing rock archway.

29 Reviews of Property 96709 in County Wicklow, Ireland

Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 29 reviews
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
London, UK
5

10th April - 17th April 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We were very fortunate in being blessed with glorious sunshine for our week at Park. This meant that we were able to take full advantage of the delightful terrace and garden. We had many breakfasts and lunches on the tables outside the house, basking in the warm spring sunshine. It was a really special treat to be able to walk to the end of the garden and take the steps down to the pretty beach. We took a lovely walk along the beach every evening before supper. It was still April and therefore when the evenings drew in the temperature plummeted and we loved making our way back to the farmhouse where we enjoyed the warmth of a real fire. The farmhouse was comfortable and cosy and little touches like electric blankets on all the beds were an added bonus that were very much appreciated. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning and to be able to see the spectacular views and the sea from the bedroom windows. The house is very well placed for sightseeing around Wicklow and one day we spent a day in Dublin which was very manageable too. The setting is truly idyllic and perfectly tranquil. Our teenage children spent quite a bit of the week revising for exams and could not have wished for a more peaceful place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
Chadds Ford, PA - U.S.A.
5

It Was Like Going On A Monastic Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
If you like cottages near the Irish Sea that are 3 miles away from any "bustle" of people, Go to "Park" - isolated, secure, cows, horses, every appliance needed. There was a gardener-handiman who came once a week and a woman who cleaned the house once a week. It has a private and large beach and it has views that you would die for. Fires in the evening; miles of walking paths. So QUIET! Listen to the birds; take hundreds of photos of the changing skyscrape. Everything that was advertised was true. Arklow is the nearest town. Good and cheap pub and grub at Christy's. Go! You'll be enchanted. (Then again we had 14 days of straight sunny weather.......SG and BG, Chadds Ford, PA - U.S.A.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
5

Fantastic family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Although the house is quite a bit off the beaten track,the very accurate detailed directions made it very easy to find. The location is stunning, the gardens beautiful and the beach greatly exceeded our expectations. The house itself is completely original, totally charming and extremely well supplied,we would pack much less on future visits!. Our three children aged 4,6 and 8 absolutely loved the house,gardens and most of all the beach. They had such a wonderful time playing hide and seek in the grounds, exploring,and collecting stones - and crabs on the beach. The beach is easily reached in minutes and is truly breathtaking, the kids were in the water every day, no matter what the weather, and loved our daily trips along the beach collecting driftwood for the fires.
The house is equipped with central heating, is easily heated and very cosy. There is an electric blanket on every bed and plentiful supplies of linen and towels. I cannot think of one thing we needed that wasn't there.
The village of Avoca is very close by as is Clara Lara water park, a huge water based activity park set in the forest. This place was well worth the visit, the kids had a fantastic time and there are excellent picnic facilities. We easily passed an entire day there, but were very lucky with the weather! Anyone planning a visit, remember to take a change of clothes! Arklow town has a good shopping centre and cinema, but we preferred to snuggle up beside the fire and watch a dvd!
Overall we found Park the perfect location for a family holiday, I can honestly say we had one of the best family holidays ever, it was so peaceful and relaxing, and great that the kids had so much freedom. I would not hesitate to recommend the property to anyone seeking a laid back relaxed, peaceful holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
Sandwick, Shetland
4

Isolated cliff top cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This amazing cottage is to be found in a very isolated spot the last km over a rough track (takes approx 15-20mins ), with three gates to open and shut, but worth it once you get there. Remember this cottage is 17th century, it has central heating, easily controlled, electric blankets on comfortable clean beds, modern kitchen facilities (oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, fridge washing machine) and bathrooms making it cosy warm and homley but is most definatley an old cottage with tlied floors, creaky stairs, low ceilings and spiders in the rafters which add to the inherant charm of this beautifully preserved cottage.
You can lie in bed watching and listening to the sea just yards away, reached by a specially cut pathway in the cliff leading to your own personal beach, great for picking up shells and stones. The grounds are laid out with sheltered lawns, sit outside the front of the cottage with glass of tea/wine and enjoy the sun coming up or going down.
Although isolated the large town of Arklow is about 15-20 minutes away with a huge modern Tesco which had all the supplies needed (including bottled water and cheap kettle, as we are not used to hard water where we come from, also had to make sure we bought the english water as bottled irish water was just has hard, no scottish available!)
Arklow also has a shopping centre with a 9 screen cinema, great has the new Harry Potter was realeased the week of our holiday! Eddie Rockets American Diner in the shopping centre was a great hit with all three generations in our party!
The isolated spot made it easy to lie around reading and relaxing, but we did some sightseeing, the main roads in Ireland are amazing, the N11 reachable within 15-20 mins All tourist sites are so easy to find, we didnt have a proper map but if you just followed the signs onto the motorway and off again onto the main N roads. We reached everything with no problems visiting Avoca with its working mill shop and fabulous cafe, sampling Guinness in the local pub. We also headed to Glendalough,a magical anceint monastic site, which also has woolen mills nearby with outlet shops. We had a splendid day in Dublin as we had to drop some of our party at the airport (1.5 hours journey) Again the roads were great , we took a city bus tour and chose to visit the historic Kilamainham Jail, and shopping centre surrounding O'Connel St. We also visited the Japanese Gardens and National Stud by Kildare.You must have a car to holiday here.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
England
5

A quiet and scenic retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Park is a hidden treasure and we were really fortunate to have found such a wonderful place for our family. We mostly enjoyed the fantastic views of the sea and the privacy of the setting. The house was cozy and charming, clean and well equipped. We found everything as it was supposed to be with much attention given to the details. Our four kids had a great time exploring and playing down at the beach. It was the perfect place to retreat and relax and make many fond, happy memories. We found the owners to be very accommodating, friendly, and helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
Toronto, Ontario
5

A Romantic Irish Escape - It's Perfect

A Romantic Irish Escape - It's Perfect
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My husband and I recently had a wonderful week at Park Cottage near Arklow. Having seen some of the pictures, we were hoping that it was as secluded, quiet and romantic as advertised. The owners of this property are to be commended with the care and attention to this property. It is a photographer's dream!
We could not believe our great fortune when we arrived. It is a drive of discovery to find it, but upon arrival your breath is taken away by the beauty of the location, the tranquility of the surroundings, and the sheer magic of the period farmhouse. The property is extremely well-maintained, with good facilities, fireplaces working, stocked with peat for the fireplace, and lots of linens, even an electric blanket to warm you on the cool seaside evenings. Strolling the long beach watching the waves crash in....who could ask for more? We even enjoyed watching the cows in the surrounding fields. TV there, but not required. The nearest town has an excellent shopping plaza with cinemas, bistros and good local stores and bars when you tire of self-catering. Dublin approximately 45 minutes to an hour away.... All in all, a wonderful holiday spot which we would highly recommend to friends or families wanting to reconnect - a perfect Irish escape! And romantic for couples on first (or second!) honeymoons!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
Montara, California, USA
5

"Park"....Charming 400 Year Old Home

"Park"....Charming 400 Year Old Home
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Our recent trip to Ireland included a week at "Park". It was an opportunity to live in a home which was steeped in Ireland's past with most of the modern conveniences. The location, overlooking the ocean, was breath taking. The beach access was easy and the property was very well maintained by a dependable handy man who was very available if there was ever a problem. One of the family members in our group had a broken foot so the downstairs bedroom and bath was a big help.
"Park" is an easy drive to Arklow for shopping at a good market. It is also an easy drive to Avoca and the tour of the weavers. But once you pass through the three gates to get to the property you are away from any noise from the nearby towns and roads. The only sound at night is that of the ocean. We would definitely return there and recommend it to friends. One thing that might be interesting to have available is a short history of the house. Also, a note stating where the directions are for the very modern kitchen appliances.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
München
5

Great Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
look - hear - feel - taste and breathe - no additional ist needed here ! Come to yourself, relax and see things, what only nature brings out - enjoj !!!!
Of course, the house is very old and awry, but well equipped and charming. After many days searching for a secluded location we found a perfect place to rest and Colin is very helpfull.
Lost in Irland ! Ronad und Andrea - Munich-Bavaria
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96709
+00 44 (0) 20 7821 9936
County Wicklow Ireland
Germany / Bavaria
5

Spectacular and breathtaking location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
When searching (for hours and hours) for a suitable cottage for our one week trip to Ireland, we suddenly found this website.WeI already knew that this would be the right place for us. As we finally got there, the house and its surroundings even exceeded our expectations. By the way: With Colin's detailed description it was very easy to find this hidden treasure. Park Cottage is wonderfully located at the cliff, the view is breathtaking. We enjoyed our walks along the private beach, discovering and collecting stones and mussels of all kind and also driftwood for the fire which we had in the living room every evening. When you get into the house it feels a bit like entering a museum, which is especially charming. You won't miss anything in the house, there are plenty of linen and towels, and also the kitchen is very well-equipped.

We would like to recommend this place to all people who like to live in close touch with nature, and want to be away from all the hustle and busle of everyday life, who would like to get back to silence and serenity, and finally back to themselves.

Katja, Kerstin, Evelyn and Marion
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3