Harrisonburg cabin rental - Front View of Dry River Cabin in Autumn.
Front View of Dry River Cabin in Autumn.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights
 

Harrisonburg Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom (Queen Size) 1 Full Bathroom with 1 Queen size sofa bed

HOMEAWAY HAS CHANGED THEIR POLICIES: KIDS ARE NOW BEING CHARGED THROUGH THE BOOK IT NOW OPTION. WE DO NOT CHARGE FOR KIDS UNDER 18. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO BOOK THROUGH THE BOOK IT NOW, JUST PUT THE NUMBER OF ADULTS. ADD A NOTE OF HOW MANY KIDS THERE ARE AND WE WILL CHANGE IT IN THE RESERVATION. THIS WILL ALLOW YOU TO BOOK IT YOURSELF AND NOT HAVE THE EXTRA FEES.

Please read the entire description:

Dry River Cabin is rustic, cozy and comfortable real cabin that was built in the World War II era. It was originally built as a Summer getaway in the mountains. It is a very cute cabin, the second to last cabin on a dead end private road that is almost at the top of the mountain. The road can be rough at times (after heavy rains or snow), but we've had guests with every kind of car (including very nice luxury cars) make it up to the cabin. We drive up every day in a little Volvo with no ground clearance easily... snowy or rainy days may need higher clearance or 4 wheel drive. This is our cabin with the best views of the mountains.

We (Katie & Steven) live here on the mountain and are available almost always should you need anything. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything at all we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. If there is ever a problem please let us know so we can do our best to make it right.

The cabin has one bedroom with a queen size bed and then there is a pull out queen size bed in the living room. The bedroom has an old stone fireplace and there is fireplace insert (with glass) so the fire can be seen. The cabin has a knotty pine in the interior, and a screened in porch with a great view of the mountain on the front. The cabin has full bath with claw foot tub, and a full kitchen with all the essentials: refrigerator, microwave, stove, oven and coffee maker and utensil and cookware. The kitchen and bathroom are not updated, but they fit with the theme of the cabin.

All linens and comforters are washed after every guest. The cabin has access to fishing and trails for hiking or mountain biking. It is about 10 miles from Harrisonburg and Bridgewater, so you're only minutes away from shopping and dinning as well.

Beloved pets are welcome but we do require a Pet Fee of $49 to $89. There is also a Property Damage Protection Fee of up to $49 - $89 (depending on length of stay)

Rates will vary during peak and holiday seasons.

Dry River Cabin is a great place to see the stars. On clear nights, you can see thousands of stars overhead. It is a beautiful sight. Also during the spring and summer months, you can see humming birds everywhere. We place feeders off the front porch of the cabin and have personally seen upwards of 20 birds feeding on them at one time. The humming birds should be arriving in April. You don't want to miss them.

Check in time is 4:00 pm and checkout is 11 am

This is a real cabin in the mountains built long ago. Therefore it will not feel like new construction, but then again, that is what gives the cabin its beauty because it is unique. The cabin is on the top of the mountain bordering the George Washington National Forest. The forest contains all sorts of wildlife and deer can even be seen at times walking through the yard. Because this is a real cabin, there may things you should expect to find in an older real cabin such as spider webs (we clean them for every guest but they do reappear quickly), ladybugs and occasional stink bugs during certain times of the year.

Pets are welcome at all of our properties. If you or someone in your group is allergic to pets or anything else (detergent, air fresheners, etc), please let us know in advance so we can discuss this prior to your booking and then also prior to your arrival. We will do our best to accommodate any special requests.

More Details
Hide Details

We moved to Virginia from Texas so I could finish my college degree. We have two daughters, one who is 4 and the other 1. We have another baby on the way. They both love to go for walks and play at the cabins. We are down to 8 dogs now, and we have 2 cats, 2 ponies, 7 goats and a lone rabbit. When we travel everyone gets to go along (pets included). Our pets love to be in the car as well as explore all of the trails here in Rawley Springs.

Katie & Steven Robert Jones purchased this cabin in 2011

We bought this cabin because it was right next to our house, and we decided it would be a nice property to own. We love to spend the night up there when the cabin isn't rented out.

This is our most remote cabin, on the end of a private dead end road with direct access to the national forest.

53 Reviews of Property 932490 in Harrisonburg, Virginia

Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
average rating of 4.773585 based on 53 reviews
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
Kitchener, Ontario
5

Just What We Needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We booked our trip to Dry River Cabin to escape the long, wet and cold Canadian spring. Dry River cabin was everything we could have hoped for! The cabin is everything a cabin in the mountains should be. Rustic, cozy and most importantly, super clean.
The four of us and our two dogs still had room to move around. The screened in front porch was my favorite place to sit back and enjoy a cup of coffee. The master bedroom is so adorable it's beyond words!
Steven and Katie are wonderful hosts who answered all of our questions and made us feel very welcome. They even surprised us with a dozen fresh eggs from their chickens.
There is a path up the mountains that we walked the dogs up every morning and evening. Harrisonburg is only fifteen minutes away with shopping and dining options. We drove out to the Shenandoah Caverns and spent a couple of hours there. Definitely worth the forty minute drive there. Amazing caverns!
Our trip was too short and we fell in love with the cabin and the area more each day. We can't wait to go back and explore the area more next spring!

Thanks Steven and Katie!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
NJ
5

Nice Mountain Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Cabin was nice and private. Cabin had everything you could need. Looking forward to returning again.
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

My Favorite Mountain Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cabin has a great front screen porch which provides a fantasic place to watch and listen to birds. Especially the hummingbirds. Wish it had been Winter so that we could have had a fire in the bedroom. I imagine the warmth of the fire would be very relaxing. It must be beautiful in the Winter with the snow. The kitchen had everything that we needed to cook. Steven and Katie are two very special people. We will definitely be back again.
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
Kitchener, Ontario
5

Good Times at a Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family and I booked a last minute, three night stay at Dry River Cabin to escape our seemingly never-ending Canadian winter. We arrived in the early evening and were welcomed by Steven, Katie and their daughters. They gave us a tour of the cabin and then surprised us with a dozen fresh eggs from their very own chickens! They were both very informative and helpful in answering any questions we had.
The cabin was everything a cabin in the mountains should be. Rustic, cozy and most importantly, very clean. The bedroom is picture perfect and the wood fireplace in it was wonderful. The bed was really comfortable and the linens top notch. Soooo soft!
It was really relaxing sitting on the screened-in porch in the early morning sipping a cup of coffee. Every morning and evening we took our dogs for a walk up the mountain path behind the house. They enjoyed the place just as much as we did! My husband and daughter saw about five deer when they went for an evening bike down the road.
Harrisonburg was only fifteen minutes away with plenty of grocery stores and places to eat. We also made a trip out to the Shenandoah Caverns. Definitely worth the forty minute drive. Very cool place.
Lots of fun was had and we will most certainly be back. Thank you so much Steven and Katie!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Mountaintop Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This perfectly appointed and charming cabin was even better in person than we could have imagined. Endless views of the mountains, romantic bedroom w/ super comfortable mattress, well-stocked kitchen, claw-foot tub for baths, the sounds of rushing water in the distance... the owners really take pride in their rentals. The cabin was decorated thoughtfully and very clean. The screened porch is amazing and is a great place to curl up and read a book. Also, the hike down the mountain is breathtaking. And of course our dog loved it too. We also enjoyed our outings to downtown Harrisonburg and were pleasantly surprised by the diversity of restaurants. The fly-fishing was great as well in both Dry River with stocked trout and Black Run with native trout. We can't wait to come back! Thank you Katie and Steven!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Blown away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I, along with our dog, had the pleasure of staying at this cabin this past weekend. We could not believe the level of effort that the lovely cabin owners went to to make us comfortable. They welcomed us with a blazing fire, handwritten directions to the best hiking trails around, delivered freshly laid eggs for us in the morning, and repeatedly offered to take us anywhere or bring us anything we needed -- and meant it! The cabin itself was exquisite. Everything was beautiful and clean, with really adorable details all around. I can honestly say it was one of the happiest times since we have been married. I wholeheartedly recommend this little piece of heaven to anyone who needs to feel restored and recharged in their life. Or just for fun :) We will certainly be back in the years to come! God bless you, Steven & Katie!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
4

Dry River Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a cozy cabin on a hill near Rawley Springs. There is furnace heating plus a wood fireplace in the bedroom that can emit a lot of heat, if you are interested. The kitchen has standard cooking equipment. There are a lot of areas to hike nearby. We don't have a 4WD vehicle, so the owner drove us up and down the icy hill, which was nice.
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Very cute cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This is an amazing cabin and we loved to stay here.. Some of the features we absolutely loved were the two swings, two grills, nice picnic table and the decor of the cabin. It gives the perfect feel of woods along with the comfort of electricity and water. The owners are really sweet people and and made us feel welcomed. In all a perfect getaway!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Weekend away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had an amazing weekend. The cabin was so cute and quaint. The fireplace was amazing and the dogs had a blast. We would recommend this location.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Dry River Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our experience at Dry River Cabin was lovely! The cabin was set up very nicely & had all the necessities. Our host was charming :)
It was a very peaceful place. Waking up to gentle rain in the morning & having sunshine by the afternoon puts a whole new spin on the word "relaxing." We especially enjoyed walking the area trails.
There is such a rich history in the area & with JMU so close, there are many different things to do. It would be impossible to do them all in one visit. We enjoyed the Farmer's Market, a museum in Dayton & the Caverns in Grottos.
So glad we found this cabin & we're looking forward to returning.
Helpful votes: 5/5