Santa Fe house rental - Sunset at Rass Mandal
Sunset at Rass Mandal
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Santa Fe House Rental Photos and Description
5br/3ba sleeps a maximum 12 (1 King bed; 2 Queen beds; 6 twin beds)

Rass Mandal is a unique adobe vacation residence situated on a mountain range of pine forests with spectacular views. Entering brings you to another time and presents a serene and inspiring atmosphere for all. The house and grounds of more than 10 acres offer abundant locations for quiet time. There are numerous hiking & mountain bike trails immediately accessible, some of which take you directly to the center of Santa Fe.

Rass Mandal was featured on HGTV's House Hunter's on Vacation with the initial airing on June 22nd 2012.

I put up a short clip of the show on YouTube (please paste the link into a new window on your browser): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TU0CS9gJrvs&feature=g-upl

Additionally, you may enjoy visiting the Rass Mandal website for more pictures. Please paste the link into a new window on your browser): http://www.rassmandal1.com

Upon entering the home you encounter a large domed circular living room complete with a fireplace, eastern antique furniture and beautiful views looking out to a pool. This space is ideal for group sessions, gatherings and entertainment. Off to the left of the living room is the dining room and kitchen area. The dining table has room to accommodate 12 and is a great area for entertaining and formal meals. The kitchen is open plan and has a Moroccan style fireplace and a very comfortable breakfast nook ideal for bird watching. Behind the kitchen is a queen size bedroom and a bathroom, secluded from the rest of the house with its own private entrance.

To the right of the living room are guest quarters, each room offers views overlooking the grounds and the entire Santa Fe valley. The master bedroom is complete with a fireplace, a large meditation/work area, beautiful bathroom and sunken Jacuzzi with views. Additionally, there is a 2nd story observation deck that provides expansive views over all of Santa Fe, the Jemez Mountains and beyond. The house is not air conditioned but given the cool evenings it is not actually necessary. Fans are provided should they be desired.

Heading outside, there is a large private pool with waterfall, hot tub and sauna. The pool is heated during the summer months (June 1st - September 30th) - however it is 35,000 gallons and heating is not feasible during the other times. Generally the pool water temperature will be maintained at 78 F in July and August but ranges about 74 F - 76 F for June and September. The hot tub is kept at 104 F. All this is surrounded by a deck and patio ideal for outdoor dining and relaxation. There is also a gas-fired Fire Pit for enjoyment during the cool evenings.

Rass Mandal is simply fabulous, providing a truly unique experience in Santa Fe. It's incredible architecture, shapes, and spaces transport one to ancient India yet with all the modern conveniences in an amazingly beautiful location high in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo mountains above the City with spectacular views. While only minutes to the historic Plaza, all the downtown cultural amenities and many fine restaurants, Rass Mandal is a quiet and peaceful retreat not to be missed. I encourage you to read the reviews from our previous guests.

More Details
Hide Details

Hi, my name is Richard Woodruff and I am an American born in Jersey City, NJ and now living in Santa Fe after having spent the last 28 years living in Europe. You can find me on LinkedIn and on Facebook.

Richard Woodruff purchased this house in 2011

Rass Mandal has unique architecture and is on 10 acres with fabulous unending vistas. It is in the mountains for easy access to hiking and mountain biking yet only about 10 minutes from the center of Santa Fe. The feeling in these hills is truly refreshing and energizing!

Staying at Rass Mandal provides a unique atmosphere that is not found at most vacation rentals. The house and grounds offer abundant space for renewal & reflection as well as exercise & sharing.

69 Reviews of Property 922520 in Santa Fe, New Mexico

Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
average rating of 4.96875 based on 69 reviews
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

A remarkable place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Rass Mandal is a really extraordinary retreat. As other reviewers have noted, the pictures of the property, as beautiful as they are, do not do the reality justice. The building, the furnishings, and the views are all really unique. As a headquarters to experience the funky stew that is Santa Fe, I couldn't recommend Rass Mandal more highly. It was very satisfying to our whole family. The kids particularly loved the enormous pool and the commanding views from the tower. The architectural details and thoughtful hospitality impressed the adults. The stunning white homing pigeons were a particular treat, not only with their aerial acrobatics, but also their peaceful presence as guardians of the yoga pavilion. Their gentle sounds and patience with our clumsy antics were quite reassuring. Thank you, Richard for sharing this fantastic place with us.
Owner's Response: Hi Robert,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Rass Mandal. You came a long way to visit Santa Fe and I am so happy that you were not disappointed with you choice of a place to stay. It is great that you enjoyed the Janssens (white homing pigeons). They are special! All the best, Richard
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Exquisite!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The property offers everything it promises...to begin with, incredible design! You feel transported out of time into a surreal dimension. It is a very quiet area with stunning views. The owner was very friendly and laid back, adding to the great flow. We enjoyed doing yoga, using the sauna, and the pool.
Looking forward to coming back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family gathered here for a Santa Fe wedding and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Fully equipped with everything we needed and more. Beautiful setting, Home design and furnishings exceeded our expectations. The owner welcomed us warmly and his care and attention to this unique property were evident from all of the amenities and special touches. We had originally thought we would check out Santa Fe's great restaurants every night during our stay but we ended up enjoying the house so much that we stayed home and cooked or grilled and watched beautiful sunsets. Though we were several miles from downtown Santa Fe, the drive into town did not take long and took us right to the Plaza. My 8 year old grandnephew, who swam every day in the pool, asked if we could go back every year--I'm seriously considering it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

relax to the max!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family rented this property in lieu of getting a bunch of hotel rooms for a local wedding. The property is large and housed us well. It's not as if everyone had their own room, but we are close and it was comfortable none the less.
The house and property is clean and well maintained. There is so much to do (or not do, ahhh) at the house that we didn't even want to leave.
This is the most comfortable rental that I've stayed in. So many little things were taken care of and all the basics were covered (extra toilet paper, tissue, and plenty of towels in all the bathrooms). Richard goes above and beyond to make his guests comfortable.

My favorite thing was that there were binoculars and a bird identifying card left out for use. It's touches like that that make a place special in my mind.
We all had such a wonderful time sharing and enjoying such a special place and house.

I would recommend this gem to anyone and everyone and hope to get back there myself!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Rass Mandal is Truly Exceptional!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Rass Mandal is a truly exceptional home. Our family stayed there for five days in June and we didn't want to leave. The location and surroundings are stunning. The house and property are very well maintained and Richard is a fantastic host. The house has all the amenities we could need to feel comfortable and start enjoying our vacation from the start. We would stay here again and would recommend Rass Mandal to anyone looking for a little slice of heaven in Santa Fe.
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
amarillo tx
5

rass mandale

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Awesome, awesome it was great to be able to just relax I enjoyed the home to the fullest the owner was very nice and we made our self at home. only regret I wish I woulda left the Bible. but did not want to be disrespectful in doing so. I'm sure we'll stay there again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Alyson,
Thank you for the wonderful comments! Rass Mandal has an energy and spirit that is open. Looking forward to welcoming you back one day! All the best, Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

A Perfect Setting for A Perfect Family Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Rass Mandal turned out to be everything (and more) than I hoped for when I first found your website many months ago. Every room, wall, cubby hole, deck, cupboard, bathroom, and bedroom were filled with the most special items and beauty. I tried to take it all in but there was just so much to absorb. Twelve of us gathered and made wonderful meals, and memories that will last us a lifetime. I think we enjoyed every room (although there are so many, we might have missed one or two). The scenery and architecture are spectacular, the house is fully furnished and was immaculate and left us wanting for nothing. You can feel the warmth and inspiration everywhere. This is a vacation I'm sure none of us will ever forget. The most difficult part for me was leaving to go into town. I was truly torn. There is much to see in Santa Fe, but I really didn't want to leave the house. Thank you Richard for letting us experience your jewel in the hills!
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Rass Mandal-A little bit of heaven here on earth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My group of 13 women, all related-sisters, sisters-in-laws, nieces and great nieces spent three fabulous days at Rass Mandal. (Ages ranged from 8 to 64). Even though I had visited the property back in December 2012 on a brief trip to Santa Fe, I was amazed each day at the amenities that kept popping up that I hadn't noticed before. The house was immaculate and appointed with beautiful things of a Middle Eastern nature. Buddha and his friends could be found in many an alcove or niche. The kitchen was stocked with beautiful dishware, spices, tea, coffee and a jar of fresh made chocolate chip cookies were found upon our arrival. The pool, sauna and hot tub were a pleasure and the surrounding environment conducive to relaxation, meditation, visiting, reading etc. etc. The hi tech TV and docking stations were in many of the rooms and the fireplace in the living room and kitchen were ready to be lit. The towels and linens were high quality and abundant. The furniture, pictures, vases, books, games and even gum ball machines with change for their use were amazing.

We spent most of our time at Rass Mandal, however, most of us went into Santa Fe (15 minutes away) both Saturday and Sunday. We shopped at Double Take which is a consignment store on Aztec that has unique, quality second hand clothing, shoes, furniture etc. We also went to the Georgia O'Keefe Gallery which was a treasure. We also shopped at Trader Joe's and, of course, at the Plaza where we bought jewelry from the Native Americans. We had lunch at the La Fonda (perfect for a large group); the Coyote Cafe and at Mangiamo Pronto (fabulous).

I compliment Richard Woodruff on the most amazing place I have ever stayed at. His kindness, attention to details and pride in his home were felt by all. I have spread the word of Rass Mandal to many and I hope others have the opportunity to experience this wonderful place. I just hope that when I am ready to return it will be available!

I have a friend who has booked the property with 11 other women for Labor Day. They will invite a Yoga teacher and make use of the Yoga Pavilion. (We have some great pictures taken there) I plan to bring couples there before year end for another special gathering.

This was everything we were told it would be and so much more. It was absolutely devine! Thank you Rass Mandal and Richard Woodruff!

P.S. Did I mention the homing pigeons? Wow....you have to go there to learn more!
Owner's Response: Hi Donna,
What a wonderful review that will surely help future guests evaluate Santa Fe and Rass Mandal for a future holiday or reunion. It was really great how you mentioned some of the fun things to do while in town. Santa Fe has so much to offer everyone that visits and I try to make Rass Mandal a special place to stay. All the best,
Richard
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
A group of twelve women in our family came together to reconnect and enjoy the beauty of Rass Mandal and Sante Fe! Rass Mandal far exceeded my expectations. There was plenty to enjoy, from the pool to the sauna to the relaxing views from any room in the home! I hope to return one day! I will carry a piece of Rass Mandal in my heart always! I highly recommend a stay at this magical property!
Owner's Response: It was great having all of you enjoy Rass Mandal and I do hope that you return one day! Thanks so much, Richard
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Dream House for a Dream Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The five of us arrived at the Albuquerque airport from all across the United States - Los Angeles, Chicago, Cleveland, Atlanta, and Richmond. We were all travel weary and we still had to drive to Santa Fe. Arriving at Rass Mandal was like stumbling on an oasis in the desert! Richard was there to warmly greet us and give us a tour of this amazing house! We quickly divvied up the bedrooms and began the serious task of relaxing! The house provided so many comfort spots, and we found them all, lounging on the patios, soaking in the hot tub, stretching out on the sofas. The house is as beautiful as the pictures convey, and the grounds are as vast and picturesque as described. We thoroughly enjoyed our time together, and the sights of Santa Fe that we explored included eating at El Farol and Osteria D’assisi, and spa treatments at Ten Thousand Waves. We would all recommend Rass Mandal, and agreed that it is a place we would like to return to in the future. Richard was a wonderful host, inviting us to try anything in the home, and coming to our rescue when we inadvertently locked a door and then couldn’t get it opened! We spent the last night cooking a meal together, and when we left the next day we were all relaxed and refreshed, and ready to face our world again. A perfect long weekend!
Owner's Response: Wow, thanks for the wonderful review. I am certain that your recommendations will help future guests. It was really a pleasure to meet and welcome your group! I am so happy that you all enjoyed yourselves!
All the best, Richard