Captain Cook house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Aloha, and welcome to Marci's Tropical Dream. This private and spacious 4 bedroom and 2 bath home is perfect for a large family or a small group. Sleeps 10 people comfortably.

Conveniently situated on beautiful Painted Church Road, Just 2 miles to the best, local snorkeling spot on the Big Island, South Kona's Two Step. Also find the historic Place of Refuge, once reserved for Hawaiian royalty. Enjoy swimming with dolphins and turtles, or hiking on ancient Hawaiian trails, or a peaceful sunset picnic at the beach. Marci's Tropical Dream is the ideal location.

Experience lush Hawaii at a beautiful 800' elevation for warm, sunny days, and pleasant nights. Pick fresh fruit right from our yard: bananas, avocados, mangos, papaya and more are all available seasonally for you to enjoy. Everything you need for the perfect getaway - full kitchen, washer and dryer, bar-b-que, beach and snorkel gear and bikes, is waiting for your visit.

Allow your tropical dream vacation to be our tropical home. Aloha and see you soon.

More Details
Hide Details

Marci and I(Chuck) moved here from Seattle and are crazy about living here, no thought of what clothes to wear, always shorts and flipflops! 80+ degree ocean water, It just doesn't get any better!

owner/property manager purchased this house in 2007

We love being close to the water for swimming, snorkeling, and sunning. Also we are down in 'Old Hawaii' and far from the hustle and bustle of more upscale or congested areas.

There is nothing like picking your own fruit for breakfast, with a 365 day growing season! We Live in the Area, so if you need anything just call us!

42 Reviews of Property 359257 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
average rating of 4.8717947 based on 42 reviews
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
El Dorado Hills California
5

Like a dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Waking every morning to the sound of the birds in the back yard and then just opening the door from the master bedroom and walking out on the upstairs lanai to look down on the yard was paradise. Walking the yard seeing all the plants growing with the fruits on them, banana cacao papaya and then seeing the Kona Snow without having to drive anywhere was fantastic. My friend and I couldn't have had a better time. Just about everything you need is already at the house you don't need to bring anything with you except your clothes. There are many wonderful places to eat nearby, within 6 miles. That's nearby in Captain Cook. It was just the 2 of us but this is a great home for several couples or a family.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Beautiful, Lush, & Bountiful

Beautiful, Lush, & Bountiful
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The 4 of us (2 couples) had a wonderful time stay at Marci's Tropical Dream House in Honaunau. As soon as we got there, we were impressed by the numerous beautiful fruit trees surrounding the house from cacao which chocolate is made from to avocado, coconut, banana, soursop and even the mysterious Monstera deliciosa! There were already a fresh-picked pineapple, avocado, & papayas waiting for us inside when we arrived, and Chuck came over and greeted us soon after with tons of good local info.

Inside we found absolutely everything we needed it was so well stocked. We cooked several meals there and every utensil or kitchen appliance we needed was readily at hand.

I'd definitely recommend this house for any group of up to 8 people as a great retreat just a short walk from the gorgeous Painted Church, Place of Refuge snorkeling, 12 trees fruit orchard, Kona coffee collective, and much more!
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Hilo
5

Beautiful, Lush, & Bountiful

Beautiful, Lush, & Bountiful
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The 4 of us (2 couples) had a wonderful time stay at Marci's Tropical Dream House in Honaunau. As soon as we got there, we were impressed by the numerous beautiful fruit trees surrounding the house from cacao which chocolate is made from to avocado, coconut, banana, soursop and even the mysterious Monstera deliciosa! There were already a fresh-picked pineapple, avocado, & papayas waiting for us inside when we arrived, and Chuck came over and greeted us soon after with tons of good local info.

Inside we found absolutely everything we needed it was so well stocked. We cooked several meals there and every utensil or kitchen appliance we needed was readily at hand.

I'd definitely recommend this house for any group of up to 8 people as a great retreat just a short walk from the gorgeous Painted Church, Place of Refuge snorkeling, 12 trees fruit orchard, Kona coffee collective, and much more!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Nobleford, AB, Canada
5

Crystal and Lorne

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our family spent 10 wonderful days in Hawai'i, and we loved being able to call Marci's Dream our "home away from home". The home and property were absolutely fantastic, the kids enjoyed picking fresh fruit for breakfast, and the house was very roomy - it didn't feel like we were tripping over each other (there were 7 of us). The amenities were very thoughtful: the beach towels, raingear, boogie boards, snorkel gear, bicycles, and especially the use of the washer and dryer! Marci and Chuck were so helpful in telling us of the best places to boogie board, snorkel, relax, and sightsee, and they gave us lessons in cacoa eating and local wildlife. They made sure that we didn't hesitate to call them if we had any questions or concerns. The house looked exactly as the pictures showed, and it was clean and well stocked with spices, fresh coffee and fresh fruit, toiletries and towels. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Marci's Dream to family and friends, but part of me wants to keep it a well kept secret...it is like finding a gold mine! Visitors should be sure to snorkel at Two Step, visit The Place Of Refuge, see the volcanoes, and grab a pizza at Boston Basil's in Kailua-Kona! I simply cannot wait to visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Sebastopol, Ca.
4

Garden of Eden

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Everything at Chuck and Marci's is as advertised. Clean, spacious house with well maintained proptery and helpful exra stuff ( beach chairs,games, bikes, etc). A nice walk up painted church road leads to various fruit on the ground, the lovely church, a place on the side of the road to watch the sunset, Bay View coffee farm (must check out!). 2 step is a fantastic place to snorkel and Captain Cook was a great kayak trip.It was great meeting the owners and they provided helpful information, fruit, and......COFFEE!!!
what a treat. Foraging for fruit in the yard is a fantastic daily adventure and a game of extreme croquet is a must (in the lower hilly area of the yard). Or a more pedestrian game of coconut bocce ball in the grassy/driveway is good for a laugh. Thanks for a great time! We'll never forget our stay with you and hope to make it back some day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle
5

Wonderful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Marci and Chuck have a gorgeous and spacious home that's perfect for families. It's well supplied with everything you could possibly want--but make sure to stop at Costco en route from the airport before arriving to stock up on food for your stay, not that you wont want to buy more later.
The patio area is relaxing and comfortable and there's plenty to explore below in the badminton area, like all the tropical fruit trees--incredible. Two Step beach is conveniently close and perfect for snorkeling. The variety of sea life there is out of this world. I never imagined I would ever swim with sea turtles or such a variety of beautiful fish.
Really, everything you need to have a wonderful stay is right here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Fresno, CA
5

Christmas in Hawaii 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We rented Marci's Dream House for my mom's 75th Bday Celebration, and it was wonderful! Yes the description on VRBO was accurate; beautiful clean house, lots of exotic fruit trees, a view of the ocean, and just a great place to hang out with the family. Marci and Chuck were both friendly, helpful and responsive.It is about 2hrs to the volcanoes, 3.5 hrs to Hilo (via saddle road which IS paved), and 45 min to the airport. Many beaches close by. Try Big Jakes BBQ and do visit Greenwell Coffee farm (check out the Chameleons on the orange tree)! Check out the Peace Garden's galaxy garden. Thanks for the Oka Kokoleka Marci! Hope to be back again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Tropical Dream!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Thanks for the snorkeling and boogie boarding gear, we did not have to rent a thing. We also really enjoyed all the fruit on the property, esp. the bananas, mangos, and papaya. FYI, in the winter the best place to see fish in relatively calm waters is Kalalu'u. There is sand there to and shade! P.S. Don't forget to try all the Kona Coffee!
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Emerald Park, Saskatchewan, Canada
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Thanks, Marci and Chuck, for being such wonderful hosts! Marci's Tropical Dream is so thoughtfully stocked with not just the amenities, but all the things that make this truly a home, from organic shampoo to bandaids to condiments to fresh local coffee beans to boogie boards and snorkels. Not once did we catch ourselves feeling like we were missing anything. Location was superb - just 10 mins away from the Place of Refuge (great historical park) and the best snorkeling on the island (Two Step). The house itself is so spacious and comfortable; we had 5 adults and 2 children here, and there was plenty of room for us to do our own thing, or have a sit down meal with guests. The kids loved their room, especially the stuffed animals (thanks, Marci), and all the kids' books available. Every morning, they'd wake up and scour the garden for ripe fruit - mangoes, avocados, apple-bananas, cacao fruit, papaya - wonderful!!! When it was time to leave, my son said "I don't want to leave this house!" We would definitely not only recommend this to anyone we know, we'd come back ourselves in an instant!
business
Tropical, Family Friendly Home Just 5 Minutes To Swim with Dolphins
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359257vb
8083289541
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Emerald Park, Saskatchewan, Canada
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Thanks, Marci and Chuck, for being such wonderful hosts! Marci's Tropical Dream is so thoughtfully stocked with not just the amenities, but all the things that make this truly a home, from organic shampoo to bandaids to condiments to fresh local coffee beans to boogie boards and snorkels. Not once did we catch ourselves feeling like we were missing anything. Location was superb - just 10 mins away from the Place of Refuge (great historical park) and the best snorkeling on the island (Two Step). The house itself is so spacious and comfortable; we had 5 adults and 2 children here, and there was plenty of room for us to do our own thing, or have a sit down meal with guests. The kids loved their room, especially the stuffed animals (thanks, Marci), and all the kids' books available. Every morning, they'd wake up and scour the garden for ripe fruit - mangoes, avocados, apple-bananas, cacao fruit, papaya - wonderful!!! When it was time to leave, my son said "I don't want to leave this house!" We would definitely not only recommend this to anyone we know, we'd come back ourselves in an instant!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway