Bend house rental - Bend Living on Mirror Pond on the Deschutes River
Bend Living on Mirror Pond on the Deschutes River
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Bend House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

This beautifully remodeled classic Bend home sits on 125 feet of Deschutes Riverfront on Mirror Pond. It is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown Bend and all of its stores and restaurants. Spectacular views from all of the living areas of the home partake in the seasonal rituals of wildlife on the River. Evenings on the large covered deck are punctuated by the arrivals of large flocks of geese, ducks, swans, and the occasional river otter swimming on the reflective water. Behind this serene view are the trees of historic Drake Park.

The gourmet kitchen overlooks the river and opens into the family room, wet bar and breakfast eating area. Equipped with high-end appliances that include a classic French Gas Range, two dishwashers, a warming drawer and a wine fridge, this area was designed for entertaining. Lots of counter space and direct access to the barbeque area and deck make for convenient indoor/outdoor living.

The large, covered deck on the riverfront is a beautiful place to enjoy all of your meals in the warm months, and the built-in heaters make even the cool evenings spectacular.

The kitchen, separate dining room and comfortable living room all overlook Mirror Pond through expansive windows. A gas fireplace in the living room adds to the comfort in the cool evenings.

There are two bedrooms and two baths (one en suite) downstairs comfortably furnished, one with a queen bed and one with a king bed. Each has ample closet and clothes storage space. The upstairs Master Suite overlooks the river and includes an office area (with a premium and truly adult-comfortable convertible double bed), Master Bath, and Sleeping area with a cal-king Hemingway bed.

You can launch your kayaks right from the lawn and explore the Deschutes from downtown Bend to the Mill District or even practice your fly fishing into the river.

One unique feature of the property is the detached party room. The room is fully heated, has hot and cold running water and an ice maker, and is perfect for playing cards or games, smoking a cigar, or just relaxing and conversing...especially during the cooler months. (This is the only room where smoking is allowed.)

The three car garage and shop have plenty of room to store bikes, skis, and other outdoor recreational equipment. The large, park-like lawns bloom all season from over 1000 perennial plants. The property is large enough to ensure privacy, yet is located in the center of all of the amenities that Bend and Central Oregon have to offer. It offers quality ''Bend Living'' at its finest!

Things to do: Bend offers almost every outdoor activity known! Staying near downtown Bend puts you in the heart of this beautiful area and makes getting to and from your activities easy.

More Details
Hide Details

I love the outdoors, good friends, active pastimes, and family.

Bing Lantis purchased this house in 2005

I spent hours on the deck reading, with my Nikon standing by, and I am still excited when when birds or wildlife come to visit. The setting is peaceful and yet only minutes from downtown.

I love sharing Fun on the River with guests who, incidentally, seem to unanimously agree with me that this is a special place on earth.

31 Reviews of Property 912907 in Bend, Oregon

On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
average rating of 5.0 based on 31 reviews
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
California
5

Great week in Bend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Fun on the River is an exceptional property. We (3 couples), were so excited to try the restaurants we had read about, but the kitchen was such fun to cook in, and the setting so nice we only dined out once. This is is the best equipped kitchen and thoughtfully furnished house we have ever rented . Location is perfect, everything worked...and crystal stemware! A real class act! Thanks so much, we will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
Victoria, Canada
5

Couldn't ask for better

Couldn't ask for better
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Four of us (two couples) spend five great days here. The house is great and fully equipped; it is only a ten minute walk into downtown Bend (full of interesting shops and very good restaurants); and the location on the river is ideal. We spent mornings and evenings drinking coffee and wine (respectively) on the deck watching all the comings and goings on the river and in the park across the way. Beautiful.
All details were as represented and the home is spotlessly clean. Highly recommend both Fun on the River and Bend.
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
Portland
5

Top-notch accommodations and hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The Fun on the River house is absolutely first rate. We had three couples in our group with three small children, and the house was perfect. We had plenty of room, and the layout of the house -- nice and open with commanding views of Mirror Pond -- accommodates a group well. The house itself is very well appointed with details that clearly show you're in someone's home, rather than someone's rental property. If the home weren't enough, Michelle provided remarkable hospitality. I and the others in our group have rented many houses over the years, and we all agreed that this was one of the best. We can't wait to come back in the summer to enjoy the patio!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Best ever

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Thanks for letting us know about the camera charger. Could you please send it to
Jxxx Lxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
Portland Or xxxxx

The ball is not ours -- it must be from the playground.

Thank you so much for your gracious hospitality at the river house -- we had a great stay. All of us in our group have rented many vacation homes over the years, and we all agreed that Bing's house was one of the very best. The warm welcome we received and the overall hospitality were simply the best.
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
Collingswood, NJ
5

Amazing property, hoping to return!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The location is awesome and so is the property! Most VRBOs have sub-standard kitchen utensils, etc; however Fun on the River has everything you would want or need (including spices and condiments). We had such a great time, catching up with old friends...we're hoping to return in the summer for some kayaking off the property on Mirror Pond!

Thanks to Bing and Michelle for being great hosts!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
Irvine, Ca
5

New Year Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family had an absolutely wonderful time in Bend and can't wait to go back. The home is very comfortable and a great fit for a family. My kids loved the yard and being right next door to a playground!
We can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
albq., nm
5

Perfect for the Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Thank you for sharing your lovely home. My husband enjoyed it so much he never left all week---just enjoyed the home and VIEW! We have stayed in many vrbo homes but never one as well equipped. Made making Thanksgiving dinner a breeze. It was nice not to have to buy 5# of flour when I only need a few tablespoons.

And what a welcome! Michelle, the concierge, was wonderful. Perfect location to walk to everything. We were able to just move in and not have to worry about a thing. Thanks again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
Palmer, Alaska
5

Five Star

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Fun On the River is an extraordinary vacation destination. Listing photos accurately reflect this home's privacy and beauty. This spacious and clean home is ideal for families with children of all ages. Safe place for toddlers, fun spot for teens. River inflatables and kayaks are available for use. Biking and hiking trails are close by, downtown within walking distance. Drake Park, across the river from the house, is lush, shaded by elegant old trees, and offers delightful evening concerts. The house is on a very quiet avenue. . . great spot for authors, poets, as well as older folks who enjoy a slower pace. Owners are very much available to answer any questions, however mundane. We recommend a good long stay. We rented the house for three weeks. Bend offers lots of fun activities for outdoor enthusiasts. Stand Up Paddling, biking, hiking . . . you won't be bored. Or if you wish to be bored, this home can accommodate your style. Very unique.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
Eugene
5

You're Going to LOVE This Home! It's one of a kind.

You're Going to LOVE This Home! It's one of a kind.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
First of all, I'd like to say that Bing and Suzie were extraordinarily pleasant people to work with, not only in the booking process, but in all respects. This home is one of the most beautiful, well appointed, and most relaxing vacation homes we have ever stayed in. It is the incredible setting on Mirror Pond that sets this home apart from other vacation homes. Another feature that made this home such a joy to stay in was how well stocked it was for preparation of meals and dining. We didn't eat out once while we were in Bend because we were so inspired to cook in the gourmet kitchen.
We loved staying in this home and we didn't want to leave it. We hope to come again soon. Thank you Bing and Suzie for sharing your beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
On the River--Mirror Pond! Riverfront. Beautiful Home, Walk to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912907
(831) 402-7661 (California, USA)
Bend Central Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Suzie, we had loads of fun. I am trying to convince my sisters to share the house for a few days in July.